Hostelworld.com

Funky Monkey Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
Funky Monkey Hostel Located at Francois Ngin Rod,Ban Mixay, , Vientiane.
Funky Monkey Hostel
Laos
Vientiane Francois Ngin Rod,Ban Mixay
66% 374
17.9642618 102.6043224
Funky Monkey Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Feb 2016
6.0

If you're a low maintenance backpacker this is a good base. Provides free breakfast, toilets & showers are decent too. The staff speak little English & do not provide much info on tours and tickets. Location is ok but mainly because Vientiane is so small anyway. The cleanliness could be improved both in the toilets & rooms. But not the worst hostel around, a little over priced considering its meant to be for a low budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
6.0

Well located. But there are cleaner, more fun (better) places to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
8.6

Really helpful staff, and the general atmosphere at the hostel was very welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
5.1

The room we were in was disgusting. There were spiderwebs in the bathroom ceiling. All the walls were showing signs of wear; there were cracks and paint chipping. Shower had low pressure. Breakfast was bland and they charge for jam/butter. Towels seem to be taken from other hotels. Would not recommend anyone to stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
2.6

The hostel probably wasn't cleaned for more than three years! There were spider webs at the bathroom, bedroom and even at the reception desk! The staff didn't seem very happy to be working, we had originally booked four nights, but after the first night we decided to stay at another place. There's only one bathroom for each floor, therefore we always had to wait to use the bathroom. The atmosphere was creepy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Feb 2016
3.7

The stuff was extremely rude and was bad at English. The bathrooms and showers weren't very clean and they were used both by men and women.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2016
7.7

As far as value for your money goes this place is great. With breakfast included for $8 you can't go wrong. However, sharing 1 bathroom between the whole floor (around 25 people) was a bit much. The other thing I will mention is that our room smelled like really bad BO, but it could've just been an off night with some smelly guests. Overall it was a great place to crash and would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jan 2016
7.1

Had no problems with this hostel. It is in a nice part of town with good restaurants and bars nearby. Only one bathroom to be shared between an entire dorm room, so sometimes had to wait a while to get a shower. Was quite quiet when I stayed so not much going on, but if it was full it would probably have been a lot more fun. Downstairs common area with a bar and a ltable was nice to relax in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jan 2016
6.9

Was good for a night but not really helpful staff, wouldn't stay for more then a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jan 2016
5.7

Basic accommodation. Unfortunately, a few members of staff let this place down, considering how helpful we have found staff in hostels all over South East Asia, here at Funky Monkey they couldn't be bothered to offer any advice and anything seemed too much to ask. (One member of staff was in fact helpful but overall we didn't get a good vibe). Our room was small and had no windows to the outside. The shared toilets weren't cleaned and were in a disgusting state. The hostel's location was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.