Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Monkey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th May 2017
4.3

Personally I would just avoid this place all together! From the moment I walked in to leaving I didn't like it! Cleanliness was at a -0, staff rude, they checked me into my room with it not even changed over from the last sleeper! Avoid!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
2.0

Tried to cancel my reservation and no one replied. The address posted brings you to an empty lot in Hanoi. Pretty terrible to arrive too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.0

Staff was really friendly and we were "upgraded" to a bigger room. AC worked nicely, but room had a very dingy gross feeling. Walls were stained (or just not wiped down) Cob webs in corners, just not clean. Also quite a few mosquitos. Tv worked well and location is really good for Vientiane. Staff was helpful in booking airport taxi in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.6

Not the softest beds, but ok. Room wasn't the cleanest, neither was the bathroom, as there were ants crawling on the toilet... Also shower hose had a hole in it so it was a bit annoying to shower. Was an AC in the room, but didn't really work so it was too hot to sleep well. Great location tho.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Mar 2017
5.7

Not very funky.. the common area was alright - they had a pool table and cheap beers. Location is excellent - well placed just next to the night market. Staff weren't too helpful and English was limited. Security was average - lockers under beds, but even when locked, still able to get my hand in. Toilet was clean, showers were ok. Dorm room had plenty of space and air con. Good for a night or two, not great for meeting other people. Poor wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.6

The hostel os super nice. Several sofas and tables, and really cool decoration. The staff was very nice and helpful, but they got late for my breakfast (which was very the worst part of the hostel).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
10.0

good hostel and very good service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Mar 2017
7.1

Nothing in particular wrong with the hostel but just extremely basic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
8.0

The hostel is fine, but nothing special. There is definitely a mosquito issue, I was lucky to be on the bottom bunk so I could hang my mosquito net up. The bathrooms on the bottom floor are definitely the nicest and usually have toilet paper which is a bonus. Location was great, very close to the night market, lots of restaurants and the national museum. Overall hostel has good vibe and is manageable but not the nicest by any means.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel i have stayed in Vientiane -Laos , Very good location and have a great atmosphere , breakfast included , cheap hostel and helpful staff . High recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.