Hostelworld.com

Funky Monkey Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Pretty good place. A lot of mosquitoes in the room, had to kill and kill again. Location is excellent, next to the night market. PRO TIP: There is a public swimming pool 500 meters to the north, 15k kip entry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Dec 2016
6.9

Not a bad place to stay, nice social area with pool table.Good laundry service though clothes came out well!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

We loved this place. spending 3 weeks in hostels it was nice to be in a place that was a lot calmer and quieter. The staff are wonderful and help you with everything. We were able to change our booked last minute and they were very helpful. The rooms are a good size and come with a fridge, ac and a fan and we could sit outside after dark and drink a beer on our patio. We booked a night bus and they allowed us to keep our bags here and shower before. Their breakfast is good and great location!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Nov 2016
4.6

Arrived after a 22hr journey with a private room booked which seemed not to exist. Made to wait in the lobby for over an hour with 2 different stories as to why we couldn't get into our room. Lead 20 minutes away to another hotel which was nothing like advertised. Stuffy dirty and smelly. Decided not to stay in the hotel after all the hassle and poor service. Awaiting refund from hostel world...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
5.4

Honestly nothing special. Have spent the past few weekends at Dream Home Hostel and decided to try something different but I don't recommend it whatsoever. Poor service, poor cleanliness, not a very good breakfast, and most of the outlets in the dorm room didn't work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

Biggest complaint is that the staff gave away our room when we got there. We arrived at 5:30 PM, but had left the hostelworld default of 2 PM because we did not know our time of arrival. When we arrived (at 5:30 PM) he said he gave it away because he wasn't sure if we were coming since it was after 2 PM. He also lied about emailing me to inquire. He put us up at a nearby place, but he still gave up our room and then tried to get us to pay an upcharge for the other place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

The people running the hostel are probably the nicest in Laos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
7.4

Only stayed here one night but it was fine :) Friendly staff and free breakfast is always a plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.