Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Monkey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
4.9

We got there and they were redecorating the hostel, so it was a messy. The owner took us to his another hostel but it was the same situation, redecorating, messy, a lot of dust and noisy. The room was fine, clear and there was air conditioning by the way. The breakfast was fine as well. But there wasn't internet in the room so we had to stay in the dusty lounge with no air pconditioning if we wanted to use it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Aug 2017
4.9

We were supposed to stay here but got an email to stay at a sister hostel. Anyway we turned up at the sister hostel and it was like a building site. Dust and building material everywhere. Really wasn't impressed. Would recommend staying well away from both as we weren't warned that the sister hostel was under repair. There were live wires out next to every bed as well. We ended up staying at Niny hostel instead which was way better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

great to stay , good location and helpful staff , good value and breakfast included , will come to stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
4.9

Black mold in the room Vomit in the toilets Wifi doesn't work in room Very unclean- one of the worst hostels I've stayed at in Southeast Asia

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.9

The mixed room I was in had a weird odor and the aircon was not in good condition. Though management was very gracious for accomodating me even if I made a mistake in my reservation. Checked in a day earlier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.1

The hostfamily is really lovely and friendly, they help you with everything! The location is great, right next to the night market, in a cool street where you can find lots of restaurants, bars and hotels/hostels. We had a private room (ensuite) and it was clean, spacious and had ac and a fan. The bed was comfy. Overall great stay would definitely recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th May 2017
4.3

Personally I would just avoid this place all together! From the moment I walked in to leaving I didn't like it! Cleanliness was at a -0, staff rude, they checked me into my room with it not even changed over from the last sleeper! Avoid!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
2.0

Tried to cancel my reservation and no one replied. The address posted brings you to an empty lot in Hanoi. Pretty terrible to arrive too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Pandabearjeff
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, loved it there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.0

Staff was really friendly and we were "upgraded" to a bigger room. AC worked nicely, but room had a very dingy gross feeling. Walls were stained (or just not wiped down) Cob webs in corners, just not clean. Also quite a few mosquitos. Tv worked well and location is really good for Vientiane. Staff was helpful in booking airport taxi in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×