Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funny-Farm

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
9.4

Our stay here could not have been better. The hostel has beautiful facilities with lots to do on the ground as well as being a short walk to any activity or excursion Interlaken has to offer. What really made the trip the special was the friendly staff, James in particular. After finding out we had an awful experience on the train and arrived almost a half day late James went out of his way to lift our spirits and make us feel at home. The rest of our stay the staff greeted us by name.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
10.0

Read some negative reviews, so I was a little hesitant booking this location. It turned out to be one of my favorite hostels. The property is actually a hotel/resort with 2 connected buildings, one of them the hostel, and another for backpackers. The hostel building I stayed in was great. Nice balcony with breathtaking view of the mountains. Only complaint were rather small lockers. Seems the place is family operated - very friendly staff, as well as 2 friendly cats. 110% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
4.0

Seems like parts of the hotel were crumbling so they turned it into a hostel because people would expect less. First impression was fine, the lounge is ok, the history is pretty cool. 4 bed ensuite. Balcony covered in broken glass and had a yellow jacket nest. Surfaces covered in dust and grime in the bathroom. Toilet seat was broken. Bed sheets were stained. Stained mattress proped up against the wall next to our door. Only one room key to share between different guests. No lockers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay. Good location. Between Interlaken East train station and Wilderswil train station. Facilities are fun. Kids enjoyed the pool and trampoline. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Good location to make day trips in the area. We went to Jungfraujoch which is amazing. Facilities are old but reasonably clean. Great value for the area. I would stay there again and recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

It was good experience. I enjoyed my stay. Staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
4.3

One of the worst hostels we have stayed in this trip out of 50+ hostels. The rooms were about 45 degrees at night, the washrooms in the bedrooms were flooded, mouldy, and the shower ceilings were about 5'10 so I had to duck when showering. The wall in our room was falling off the stud and the bunk beds were from the 1940's. And only one computer for the whole hostel to share caused huge lines. This hostel definitely needs some renovations...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • vendramini
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Honestly one of the best experiences I have had at a hostel! The staff is amazing, they provide great conversation, professionalism, they have fun with their guests, and have great info about what to do in Switzerland. The staff I like a tight knit family that will make sure you have a great time during your stay. The alchoal is reasonably prices and the food is good. Fair warning though the rooms are not the nicest and the bathrooms are not top of the line, I if you can get past that, check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
10.0

We had a 4 person room for our family. Lovely view of the mountains. Fairly close to city center but a bit of a walk from the Bahnhof Ost. Staff friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2017
7.7

The location of this hostel is great for bus routes to the centre of Interlaken and both lakes (on arrival we were given a card for free bus travel). Staff were very helpful in advising us which buses to get and where to go etc! There isn't much atmosphere in the lobby area as this is shared with the hotel rooms. Also, on a Friday or Saturday the nightclub is open; which we could hear loudly on the second floor until 2.30am. No kitchen is also a big nuisance since everything is super expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
5.4

Location was good but no lockers in the room. Staff allowed me to leave valuables behind the desk when we went out. BUT, there was MOLD. Literally mold ALL over the shower and in the corners of the room. And heard it was in other rooms too. So gross. So unsanitary. Wifi only in lobby but connection was decent. No kitchen so can't make own food. On the plus side, had a balcony and great view.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.