X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Funny Palace Hostel Reviews

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2721 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Amazing staff who really look after each guest with a great first impression. Rooms were awesome and so were the bathrooms. I do wish either a fridge or some sort of kitchen facility was available, but with the breakfast voucher for a great pastry shop around the corner, that helps with staying on a food budget.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location,friendly staff, we've got better room as originally booked for the same price. So everything was fine:-)


100%

The owners were so helpful and welcoming. They helped us finding our way around Rome and have us invaluable tips to avoid ques which absolutely made our trip!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

overall our experiene was great -m they are very helpfull and friendly, the included breafast is great right down the street at a really above average breakfast cafe with really good pastry, the room was safe and was really nice, tv is a plus wifi was shaky but when working well was good, location was really conveint as it was so close to termini station just 2/3 blocks. Ac could have worked better in private room. 11 guests to one bathroom is rough early in the morning - is the only complaints


89%

My room had a problem with a motion sensor light switching on and off rapidly. I told the staff and they dealt with it immediately. Another the day the wifi went out and it was again resolved quickly. Nice hostel even if the laundromat check in was peculiar. Great recommendations for seeing Rome and breakfast included. Met some interesting people in my room and having free bottles of wine surely helped. Would recommend.


94%

The place is quite near termini train station, and it is easier to find where it is. The staff of the hostel is very kind and nice, and they are patient to tell where you should visit and detail route of the whole city. but a little expensive for one night tax in Rome. anyway, it is a nice place.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice location close to termini station the staff are very accomodating and the room is clean.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were helpful with any questions I had

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

老板超级nice,给了很多有用的建议,还送了一瓶红酒


80%

Funny Palace has great friendly owners that would help you with everything you need it has nice spacious clean rooms and great location there were some problems with hot water, but i guess they will fix it asap. so i'd deffinitely recommend staying here while in Rome plus hey, welcoming bottle of wine!


100%

This is a fantastic hostel, very clean, secure, super friendly helpful staff who will help you plan you trip in Rome. The area is fine with many reasonably prices restaurants to choose from. So close to the main train station and airport buses. We walked to all the sites in one day. The room was nice, the bathroom was modern and clean. Well done Funny Palace on your dedication.


83%

The owners were helping us to get our lost luggage from the airport. We did not expect such a outstanding service. Thank you very much!

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed at this hostel for 1 night, so I did not get to experience everything but from what I got it was worth the money, nice small clean room, decent wifi in the rooms, breakfast included and a free bottle of wine when I checked in :).


80%

Good: Friendly staff, helpful sightseeing route suggestions, very clean, modern bathrooms, great laundry service (wash dry fold for €6), convenient location. Bad: Very flaky wifi, no kitchen, minimal common areas


89%

Good location and amazing staff which provides whatever you need, incl. detailed instructions about sightseeing, transportation and etc. Plus a bottle of wine as a welcome gift - perfect!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Initially we were a little dubious with the check in being in the laundromat, however we were pleasantly surprised with the level of detail and service we received at check in. Even though we were only staying one night we were given multiple options and tips for getting the most out of our short stay in Rome. The location was great for transport!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Excelent staff, they gave us a bottle of wine , they show u the room , super clean, they clean beds every day


89%

Nice clean hostel, not really conducive to meeting people though due to the small rooms and the layout of the place. Helpful staff and great WIFI throughout. Very close to Termini station


100%

We stayed in the double room with ensuite bathroom. It was nice and clean with comfortable beds. We had satellite tv with some English programming. Wifi worked great also. Close to Termini station with restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast included at a nearby bar was good. Owner was nice and helped in planning our time in Rome.


100%

lilly and her brother are really kind , hostel was very clean!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback