X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Funny Palace Hostel Reviews

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2908 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I have stayed here twice now! Enjoyed it both times. The hostel is so clean and your bed is made for you each day! The staff, especially Mabri, is so friendly and helpful. I have already recommended this place to several people.


91%

It was perfect. Funny palace was great .The staff was very helpful with the map and helping us get to know Rome. We had a bathroom for us while we have paid for shared bathroom.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Hostel! Lovely breakfast bar! Everything was perfect. Thanks for a great stay

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Funny palace was great for what we needed. The staff was very helpful with the map and helping us get to know Rome. We had a delicious meal at his friend's restaurant and got coffee every morning at the cafe near by, free of charge, because we were from funny palace. Overall it was a good experience!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I was very impressed with the staff at the funny palace hostel. As soon as we arrived, a staff member sat down with a map and not only circled the locations of every site we wanted to visit, but then highlighted walking, bus and metro directions on the map as well as giving us the prices for every monument and the insider tips on which lines were shortest, which tickets to buy in advance etc. He also circled the best areas for nightlife and restaurants. This made the trip incredibly easy!


69%

The rating does not reflect the hostel. The location is great. It is okay value for money especially near Termini station. It was mainly convenient, because we took a train to rome and plane from Rome. No place for socializing. No lobby/reception. Very cheap motel like... I was very disappointed.


100%

everything was perfect! even though i booked a shared bathroom the owner gave us a private one. that was very nice! the room and the bathroom were very nice and very clean! i would go there again!!! great location too!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Funny Palace were more than welcoming

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place to stay, I would recommend it! Really close to the train station Termini, breakfast included. You have your securitybox for yourself without charge. Personnel is really helpful and gives you a map with some tips what to do in the city.


86%

My stay was brief but enjoyable. Johnny was excellent in getting me organized and settled, and was very helpful in arranging for tickets to the Vatican and other sites. The room was clean, facilities were fine, and the location was excellent: a 5 minute walk max to/from Termini.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Was really nice room, was like staying in a hotel with turn down service and cleaners coming in every day. Would reccomend to anyone planning a trip to Rome as its central and within walking distance to the majority of the sights on Rome. Really good restaurant across the street as well which was a bonus (meid in nepols)

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Best part of the hostel is easily the location, just a couple blocks from Termini. The wifi was slow but worked. Biggest complaint was the bar that was apparently located around the block, but was closed the whole time we were there, so there wasn't really a common area to mingle and hang out in. The room was awesome, no bunks in the room we were in, just normal beds. Good staff, who happily mapped out Rome for us and helped us find the Metro, buses, and what to take and where to go.


100%

Really nice placa to stay, really helpfull people!


89%

Very good staff and location but it's hard to meet new people

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very clean. They actually make your bed everyday. The staff is friendly. Shower is not great. Also, bad for lone travellers since there is no kitchen, no common area, and no bar. You only meet the people in your room. Internet is good! Recommend for a group.


91%

The wi-fi was really bad in 5 floor. Really poor connection. Everything else was good, you have one bathroom per floor and they clean everyday. You have your securitybox for yourself without charge. You can use computers without charge.


91%

The internet not fully working during my two day stay was my only issue.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

THE STAFF WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP IF NEEDED. AND INDEED VERY HELPFUL. HAD A GREAT TIME, ALSO NEAR BUSES AND TRAIN

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

i had a great time there. the people were so nice in helping me in everything i needed. thank you ill be back.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

First, I had booked a bed in a 4-beds room online before going to this hostel. However, the hostel has put 5 beds in the same room which is not matching my expectation. The feeling was very unhappy. In addition, the staff asked extra 3 Euros for the so-called, "Tax" for each night. These two aspects are the most disappointed things staying with this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(121 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback