X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Funny Palace Hostel Reviews

Via Varese 33/31, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3077 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Was really nice room, was like staying in a hotel with turn down service and cleaners coming in every day. Would reccomend to anyone planning a trip to Rome as its central and within walking distance to the majority of the sights on Rome. Really good restaurant across the street as well which was a bonus (meid in nepols)

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome staff, very friendly and helpful!


94%

Best part of the hostel is easily the location, just a couple blocks from Termini. The wifi was slow but worked. Biggest complaint was the bar that was apparently located around the block, but was closed the whole time we were there, so there wasn't really a common area to mingle and hang out in. The room was awesome, no bunks in the room we were in, just normal beds. Good staff, who happily mapped out Rome for us and helped us find the Metro, buses, and what to take and where to go.


100%

Really nice placa to stay, really helpfull people!


89%

Very good staff and location but it's hard to meet new people

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very clean. They actually make your bed everyday. The staff is friendly. Shower is not great. Also, bad for lone travellers since there is no kitchen, no common area, and no bar. You only meet the people in your room. Internet is good! Recommend for a group.


91%

The wi-fi was really bad in 5 floor. Really poor connection. Everything else was good, you have one bathroom per floor and they clean everyday. You have your securitybox for yourself without charge. You can use computers without charge.


91%

The internet not fully working during my two day stay was my only issue.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

THE STAFF WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP IF NEEDED. AND INDEED VERY HELPFUL. HAD A GREAT TIME, ALSO NEAR BUSES AND TRAIN

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

i had a great time there. the people were so nice in helping me in everything i needed. thank you ill be back.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

First, I had booked a bed in a 4-beds room online before going to this hostel. However, the hostel has put 5 beds in the same room which is not matching my expectation. The feeling was very unhappy. In addition, the staff asked extra 3 Euros for the so-called, "Tax" for each night. These two aspects are the most disappointed things staying with this hostel.


86%

The beds were good, very comfy. The heating was also good but we didn't know how to adjust it. The welcome hall in the Internet Café/Laundry place was a bit off though, the place looked "low quality". The welcome itself was very good though :) Other than that, I had a really nice stay. Recommend this place.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very sefety! The beds is confortable! Clean and the staff is helpfull! Good location next to the main train station and bus station from airport! The only negative is that when you go there except the price that you book you must pay also extra €3 for tourist fee & taxes. They said me that is a new legislation in Italy everywhere but the next hostel that i went in Rome there isn't this.


100%

Excellent hostel--not much to look at, but you probably won't find any better hostel for the money. Has all the essentials (WiFi, towel, breakfast, clean bed) and the location is just about perfect.


100%

Very good stay in this hostel which is for me more a hotel than a hostel. We booked a private room with separated beds and a private bathroom. Everything was good, it was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. I highly recommend this place which is very convenient in terms of service and location.We got free breakfast at a local coffee shop and discount for dinner at a nearby restaurant (Andrea restaurant is a must-taste).Plus it's 2 mins away from Termini station!

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, Jonny was really friendly and helpful with our stay. He gave us a map and all the information we could ever need about how to get to all the sites in Rome, and even upgraded our room for free. We will definitely stay there again if we return to Rome!


60%

Poor location, some members of the staff couldn't care less if you're there or not and the walls are really thin.


97%

A little unconventional to check-in and room was a little walk away, but a delightful place to stay. Breakfast was only a croissant and a coffee at a cafe down the street. Staff were helpful and made laundry a breeze.


60%

It is not a hostel, it's more like a hotel, if you are travelling alone don't go there, there is no place to meet new people. The room was very good, i shared with 2 friends and it was clean, has wifi, but we wanted to meet new people and this was impossible. Zero contact to other people


97%

The check-in area is in a laundry and computer room, which does not look so inviting so do not let it fool you. The rooms are in the building next to it and it looks much nicer, so do not worry. After we arrived, they checked us in and gave us free map of Rome, drew on it where we should go depending on the length of our stay, gave us great tips. You will also get breakfast vouchers, as breakfast is always included, as well as 10% discount voucher for the Italian restaurant nearby.

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(126 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback