X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fusion Guesthouse Reviews

Rua do Bispo, 09, Pelourinho, Salvador, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
131 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Hostel is in good location, in the middle of the old town. It's cheap, but the bedrooms are pretty basic. There is a really nice area to hang out on the first floor. My only problem was that the toilets and showers are two floors below the bedroom! So if you have to pee in the middle of the night or you go to shower and forget something, it's really inconvenient.


69%

Its a nice hostel in a nice location. Common area is fantastic but dnt expect mch from the kitchen facilities and no hot water. Nice place to chill tho. Recommended.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Such a good place. Relaxing and good vibes. I'll never forget. totally recommended


77%

in my first two days stay ,there is no cleaning of toilet and shower room nor bed room ! as need to take off of shoes ,it is very dirty to walk in the floor after while ! and to both toilet and shower room ,need to go down two floor,not convenient at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot, we are working to make it be better.

54%

- female toilet was under construction - room too hot and unconfortable bed (double) - dont provide breakfast - cold showers


100%

Hostel good !!


34%

Noisy, dirty, insecure. The owner=staff is non communicative, unwelcoming, non informative, no knowledge about cultural events, delusional. He called us 'stupid people' showing the same his intellectual level and lack of knowledge of worldwide budget hosteling and was ashamed to admit afterwards that he was the owner. Obviously he has no ability to handle cultural diversity of international budget travellers who might have extensive knowledge about both budget hosteling and cultural centers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
unfortunely the guest ask towels and many things that we don´t offer, second didn´t respect that nin this house happens cultural activities, so always complaining,speaking as superior because was paying R$ 23 a days, we are happay because the people that pass here do think like yoy, wrong person in wrong plaçe,the next time look for some thing like 5 stars, please, so you will have all included.

89%

Its just different from any schematic normal hostel which tries to be different. Fusion is a place where you can see that people tried to establish a different architecture, different solutions for daily problems - just inspiring! Thank you crew from Fusion guesthouse!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you guy, we are working to make it be better, untill the next time!

100%

Excellent place to stay and enjoy Salvador in 100%! This place surprises a lot with an artistic spirit. Definitely it is a perfect opportunity to meet up new people and discover different cultures by taking part in cultural activities (capoeira, daces, etc). If you feel like you are open for people with artistic soul you should not hesitate to go for this option and give something from yourself. It is all about experience when travelling :-)

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The atmosphere of the hostel and its staff are easy going. You can have lockers and great security. The location is right in the middle of Pelourinho, the historical center. Good and cheap restaurant right next door. Sometimes there are cultural activities such capoeira and afro dance...

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

I booked for one day but I finally stayed more than one week. It's a particular rustic place, with collective kitchen. You can have capoeira classes at different times in the big area of the first floor, where you can also chillout. Possibility to drink beer at the bar, and you can ask the staff for local information and clues. The neighbourhood is active, rythmic and colourful, in different ways but as a prudent host, be aware and you can easily move in it. Reduced price if you stay longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ! we are working to be better. untill the next time.

80%

A good place to stay. The English speaking owner is friendly and the hostel itself is a spacious place. Fusion also acts as a cultural centre and you can also attend dance classes here and buy paintings. Location is excellent as it is right next to Praca de Se and security is good too. The dorms are comfortable and lockers are provided. The walls between the rooms are thin though so noise from other rooms carries easily. Showers are cold but this isn´t a problem with Salvador´s warm climate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you man ! we will be working to make it be better, thanks alot.

49%

no shoes inside well than please clean the floor ? however they dont only vacum its verry noise bc only fabric wall between each room. on hot water for your sower! NO WASHROOM (BATHROOM) in SaMe floor ! the guest stay at 3floor how ever all facility at 1st floor (dont forget about shoes)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The bathrooms are cleaned everyday dear Seijin, the activity room,place that the people sit and do activities, capoeira, some times yoga and others activities,nobody use shoes in this space,just people that doesn´t respect the others, we sorry if something was not well in your journey making you fell so frustated,we thank for god cause we have more satisfied guest than frustated.

43%

Fusion is overcharging for what they offer. It was the most expensive place we stayed at, and had the least. The bathrooms were gross and the showers had no hot water, no privacy in the showers (especially for women), no breakfast (not necessary, but for this price you'd think it was included). Pros: good bar with cheap drinks, occasional drum classes, nice staff.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Katherine, you should check out how much the others hostels charge in the historical centre during the FIFA world cup, provide us with the link and we will be happy to refund you...Thank you very much...

57%

For what the hostel lacked in terms of amenities and staff help, it more than made up for in location. You will not be able to beat this location; located right in the heart of things in Pelourinho, you can walk everywhere in the historic center from here. Beds are dorm style, although there are private rooms. Walls do not go to the ceiling, instead are filled in with sheets. Thus, it is a bit noisy. Staff does not offer help or recommendations unless you have a specific question.


100%

This is such a great hostel with a perfect location, atmosphere and a great common área and bar. We stayed here for three weeks and did not have one complaint the whole time. The main reason though why i loved the place so much is because of the staff. They are some of the nicest people i have ever met in a hostel and make you feel as though you are their family.. I appreciate everyything so much Alfredo, Washington, Diego, My friend and Nico. I will definitely be back Jake and Mitch

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks guys, the doors will be open and we will work to make it be better.thanks alot.

54%

No hot water, very bad wifi, no breakfast, very noisy... 60€ per night is quite expensive for such a service (also, don't expect anyone to open the door if you arrive early in the morning from the airport)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Even though during the world cup all the prices goes up, we are the cheapest guest house anyway. Very sorry for Florian but when arriving late in the night we always suggest to give us a call as soon arriving at the airport (simple ask to the taxi driver to do it) but some guests find easier to complain instead of assuming a simple responsibility...Yes the noise..this is not the place just to recharge your battery...we are proud to set up a cultural center with a guest house attached...

46%

Great location in a beautiful old city. It's a Brazilian 'experience' not for the faint hearted, allergy sufferers, or admirers of hygiene. No hot water, dirty showers, near permanently blocked toilets, dusty floors because they're never mopped make time there something to endure if you're used to the Western world. Be prepared. The staff aren't immediately all smiles and welcoming but they warm up over time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The guest was complaining already before arriving! We nearly cancelled the booking as the offensive insinuations written by the guest. Finally we confirmed the booking after the guest were insisting for a reconsideration. Upset because his friend did not show up the guest tried to cancel the booking at the last moment. What do you want to expect from such a character? Anyway Brendan is a nice guy maybe he just did not realize that Salvador it is not Miami beach....

97%

its a very cool place, not the usual hostel that you would expect thou. its not the place you should expect for a guy that will take your luggage or a guy in the reception 24/7, its the place you will meet different people, see interesting movies and have a good and calm time. In the guest house there is a big hall with a place to do a lot of things and hammocks to relax with. If you are looking for the cultural vibe place and not the fancy place, you will like it.


100%

Amazing space.the environment was as a big art loft. i found a special and unusual hostel atmosphere.it s ideal for travelers who likes sharing not just a bedroom but common spaces.i met people i had a nice barbecue and even a guitar jamming with other guests. Really loved the location,

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Salvador Hostels

Please give us your feedback