X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Galata West Reviews

Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
323 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The obvious highlight of this hostel is the 6th floor terrace with great views over the city. A great place to sit and relax. The location is very good and I found the bed very comfortable. The breakfast is a bit sparse, with just a few baguettes with butter/jam. The location is very good and easy to get to the major sights by walking or tram. A good starting point to explore a great city.


83%

Excellent location, helpfull staff and comfortable beds. A good hostel for the price paid.


74%

Galata West is a very special place. On the one hand you have the very small bathrooms and toilets that seriousely (!) need renovation, on the other hand you get a great view and athmosphere at the rooftop lounge and have very friendly staff. The near to Galata Tower is perfect for any trip.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location in Istambul in Beyoglu vivid district, the hostel is not that easy to find in a small street. Shared bathroom and toilet at each floor. Helpful staff. Good value for paid price.


74%

Light in the toilet (2. floor) is not appropriate for short people. It always turns off before you're done.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello dear customer you right we already repaired it thank you very much for your commend.

71%

The noise level in the hostel is too high. Cleanliness of bathroom could be further improved. Nice location and good breakfast, though!

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was quite good for the money, especially the location. A litlle small rooms but friendly and helpful staff. If you need somewhere cheap to sleep this place is o.k. You can also hang out on the terrace at the rooftop wich has a nice view.


63%

The hostel itself was sort of ok, but extremely noisy. Double rooms have no windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest i think you are right because sometimes hostel be noisy for example we had some group that time i can understand but all the rooms have windows we have 6 double rooms with 2 double rooms that are only facing an adjacent building. Thank you for your review

97%

Very close to central places but it was to find difficult and helpful and friendly staff i think that more important just i am not happy about stairs :) the views of the city from the terrace was amazing. i hope will come back to terrace again

  • 17th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

very well located in the mid point of the new and the old Istanbul, terrace on the roof with a nice view of the roof tops and mosques i think there is best place in the Hostel but it was hard to find at the first time after that was easy . coffe and tea free it is most important for us :)

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

that's a good cheap solution for who wants to stay some days in the center of the city...


63%

Poor state of bathroom facilities. How about fixing the light (1st floor) and the toilet seat (4th floor)?


80%

After seeing several hostel in Istanbul, i found this the best relation value for money, breackfast basic but good, kitchen hugh, terrace great (amazing view of Galata tower in sunrise). The rooms with double bed is really good, with fridge, AA and calefaction. Bathrooms are in veery good condition, but there is only one for 10 people in each floor, and they don't clean every day.. Location is great, close to the trainway who leave you to airport, close to Taksim, Ferrys and Sultanahmet.


66%

Bathrooms were very dirty and toilet paper not replenished. My main issue with this hostel was the noise...it travelled throughout the whole building anytime somebody opened a door, walked down the stairs etc. Very hard to get a decent nights sleep. Great location, friendly staff and loved the terrace.

  • 30th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

small room, but this is normal taking into consideration the price. the showers were very dirty, I had the impression nobody cleans them, it was awful to come back at night and have only that option... poor breakfast as well and i had questions the staff didn`t know to answer. the location is ok. i wouldn`t recommend it at all, i wouldn`t come back there!

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly and helpful staff. The 6th floor common area has a wonderful view but sadly the customers often leave it in a mess....along with the kitchen. Regardless of the mess, we enjoyed the great view every morning. Breakfast is very basic ( bread and preserves) but included in the room price so no complaints. 24 hour desk was very helpful for us. Thanks for a great stay.


83%

A solid hostel with nice and quiet location. The room was quite small, but otherwise the hostel is good value for your money!


66%

The hostel is difficult to find, the street is more of an alley which has no name. During on day the power went out and no on had electricity(refrigerator or lights). Th showers were either scorching hot or cold and the bathrooms always smelled strongly of sulfur. The double private had a very comfortable bed and the lounge upstairs was fantastic!! Great views and atmosphere. The location was between the blue mosque and taksim but not incredibly close to either.


77%

Very clean and good value for money. not easy to navigate to though

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

it is close to galata tower but the hostel's way our in the stick. so we were little scared. and there are too many stairs to kitchen.. balcony was good. u can see galata tower in balcony it is romantic price is good too. if you are backpacker who want to save money for travel, i recommend it :)

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(158 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback