X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Galata West Reviews

Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
323 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Der hostel war einfach toll, der privates Doppelzimmer war perfekt, sauberkeit super, die Terasse mit blick auf die Galata Tower war toll, und es gab jeden morgen Türkisches Frühstück dank eine der netten Mitarbeiter The Hostel was just great, our private double room was clean and comfy, on the last floor the wiew of the Galata towedr from the terrace was just great, and thanks to one of the crew members, there was turkisch breakfast every morning.


91%

Perfect location close to Galata Bridge, so it is close to all important place in the city. Staff is very positive, friendly and helpful. Very good atmosphere. Hostel very clean, hot water all time, breakfast was good too. One of the best hostel where I have been. I would definitely recommend.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location. It is close to Galata Bridge, Istiklal Street and Galata Tower. Friendly and helpful staff. The terrace has a view of top of Galata Tower and very small view of sea. The shared toilets were generally dirty. The shower was cleaner than toilets but water was so cold or so warm it was hard to get a good temperature.The breakfast was poor. All foods (cheese, jam, honey, etc.) are from an unknown brand, cheese taste and look really bad.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review also your opinions and suggestions are so important for us so we have developed breakfast and now we have tea, coffee, fresh bread, egg, tomato, cucumber, olives, strawberry jam, chocolate, cheese, butter and honey. And we hope it is enough for every taste.I am wondering if you could distinguish between different Turkish brands:) because the ones we provide to our customers are products from a famous company and just so you know the brand is Lokman

74%

Rooms are a bit too small for four people and the lockers should be repaired but otherwise good value for money and friendly staff.


91%

great location, comfortable bed, luxury bathroom, friendly staff and the best thing is that terrace with it's awesome atmosphere. breakfast and cleaning could be a little bit better but it worth the stay there with these good prices.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff and absolute value for money. Everything seemed new to me especially bathrooms and terrace. And also all the walls painted in warm colors which was really nice. I heard that they just had renovation done. The breakfast was okay too. The only problem I faced was the stairs since there is no elavator at hostel. Apart from this everything was nice.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

Hostel is quite basic, just to spend a night there. We spent there 4 nights, 2 of them were very noisy and staff doesnt care about noise. Very thin walls, you hear everything. If you expect hot shower after long day, notice that water pressure for hot water is very poor, as well as drain. Breakfast is very basic, just bread, butter, very sweet jam/nutella and honey and not always served on time. No table or chairs in rooms, just very small rack for your stuff. Good location and nice terrace.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thank you so much for your comment . Absolutely we care our guest stay also you didnt say anything about noise in your staying time and we offered for breakfast are jam, nutella , cheese, honey, butter i think this enough for prices also always breakfast start at 8:30 am on time also what did you mean ''very sweet jam '' :) jam should be sweet and you could see our room pictures before made a reservation we dont have table in dorms just we have tables in private rooms

89%

Located close to the city center where you can find a lot of restaurants and bars. Cheap hostel so really value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly and invited us out with them.there are so many stairs so if you have big luggage it gonna be so hard for you but everything was great.


83%

Very well placed! Very cheap and if you are not afraid of walking 5 floors without lift it's perfect for tourists! There are breakfast available, beds are comfortable, there are also sheets, pillow, towels available. You can found there a kitchen with a fridge. But in several rooms the air conditioning didn't work (we were there in august and it was quite uncomfortable...)


89%

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay again!

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

the place is close to many touristic places , the view from the terrace is really beautiful , really helpful staff and friendly in galata west it felt like home :) . but the stairs were tiring and also it was noisy outside . other than that i loved the hostel !


91%

everything was great also is there a amazing terrace and helpful staff

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This is ok but the location is high and needs some climbing!


51%

This is not a nice hostel by any means. I chose this hostel because the breakfast was included but in reality it was only bread and butter. The area was unsafe and dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, maybe you felt not safe area i cant say anything about that bec this is your think but you wrote comment about breakfast pls let me know what did you see at terrace for breakfast ? 12 € per person per night and we have a breakfast not only BREAD and BUTTER we have honey , nutella , butter , chees ,jam and coffee or tea for drinking i think it is enoght for breakfast i think you were not fair about us but dosnt matter thank you again .

94%

Although it is very basic it had everything we needed - a comfortable bed, hot water in the shower, clean toilets, and very helpful and friendly staff. Great location close to Istiklal Caddesi and the Beyoglu area. Enjoy the 6th floor terrace, it's great! most important there is air conditioner

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Good location if you want to go to Sultanhamet it's only a 15 min walk, and to go partying it's a 5-10 min walk to best bars on the Istikal street. The staff are super helpful. Anything you need, you can supply from nearby stores also thnx God for air conditioning :) thnx guys ;)

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and decent rooms. Showers were cleaned once a day but dirt remained in areas. small bathrooms with bad drainage system resulting in bad smells, a real disappointment and let-down to the hostel. Other than that, central location albeit tricky to locate.


49%

The area of Galata is amazing, but this Hostel was just not worth the money. The breakfast was really bad/boring and should not be offered at all. The personal did not remember that we paid for the hostel so the tried to charge us again when we left. We might just have been really unlucky, but we would not stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all I'm sorry for any inconvenience you had. Our rate for double room is 16€ per person included breakfast. We offering honey, cheese, chocolate, jam and butter with bread. We can't say this is the best, but honestly it worths the money. For the staff, I can definitely say you they are not "bad guys", but mistakes may happen and can be solved in a good manner. I'm again sorry for your experience, but I think we didn't deserve that kind of low percentage.

74%

Place is fine - great value for the money. Ended up leaving because it didn't have much atmosphere too it, but i was a solo traveler so it would be fine for groups


91%

everything was great there but just i stayed one night and i think breakfast could be better

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(159 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback