Hostelworld.com

Galata West

  • Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Galata West Located at Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu, Istanbul.
Galata West
Turkey
Istanbul Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu
89% 561
41.0263006 28.9719557
Galata West
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2016
10.0

Great staff great hostel great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Good hostel. For us it took ~15 minutes to get to old city and to all interesting places by walk. Hostel has kitchen/lounge zone on roof where every evening is a small party this hookah. In our room we had conditioner so during summer time there will no so hot) Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

Pros: + Awesome, helpful staff (Ali is a really fun dude!) + Great location, close to Taksim, accessible by all forms of public transport (Tünel, Metro, trams) + They had an offer for a shuttle van to the Atatürk airport, which was great! Cons: - Water pressure in the bathroom was really low - The walls are quite thin and you can hear everyone walking on the stairwell Overall this place is a great hostel and highly recommended, especially for backpackers and students!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel: the hostel is very well located, the rooftop terrace is amazing (having your breakfast with the view on Hagia Sofia is so great), the international staff is always here to help and talk and have fun with the hosts. I definitely recommand this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.1

I am really glad I stayed here. There are a lot of great hostels in Istanbul. This one was simple, with simple facilities and a simple breakfast. There was something wonderful about this place. Charming spiral staircase up 5 floors to an exceptional terrace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
3.7

The bathrooms smelled horrible and had significant ....cleanliness issues that were not cleaned for hours. There was a general odor about the facility and lack of air flow. I felt very grimy after being here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

basiclly you came to Hostel for 1 night and when arrived (2 am around) both of you drunk also you spend just a few hours than tried to escape without payment. just I am thinking, it is not an assessment that reflects the reality of this review.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Friendly staff, helpful and kind. Decently long timber spiral staircase to climb, I found it romantic :) Great location in the back alleys of Galata. Very short walk to Galata Tower and easy walk to Taksim square (Havatas Bus, Airport Transfer) and the bridge to the main areas with the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar ect. Free breakfast is only Turkish style (look it up) :P The terrace is cool, good views, nice to chill out. However everyone smokes in the terrace, this put me off being in there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

This is one of my favourite hostels really, and i wish I could stayed there longer...The volunteers there were super cute and nice and fun and helpful! I really love spending time with them! The hostel itself seems like an other-worldly existence when u open the security door from outside, the wooden stirs, hanging lamps and the decor on the terrace were def lovely! Just Hope the breakfast hour could be breakfast hourS...XXXXd Thank u so much for everyone there,miss u all :p Ina

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
6.9

Galata West is a rather decent hostel. It's location is great depending on what you want to be close to, and the hills you have to climb to get to the hostel after a long day aren't ideal. The terrace on the top floor is phenomenal, and the breakfast is pretty great as well. All in all, probably not the greatest hostel in Turkey, but a good stay nonetheless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
8.6

We've stayed in GW for 5nights. It is located in the center of Galata (200m away from the tower, 3' walk to the Metro st& 10' walk to Galata bridge or the main shopping street Istiklal Caddesi). The staff was very kind and wi-fi always working! Anyways, we've stayed in suite which was very small but we managed to stuff our baggage somewhere :) Things that bothered me, were that there was no trash in the room, no rug in the bathroom and the colours of the walls. Please change it&put some pic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.