X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Galata West Reviews

Bereketzade Mah. Okcu Musa Cad, Savcibey Cikmazi Number:3, Galata/ Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
485 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

je suis vraiment tres contente d'y aller la bas , sa cest passer super bien car ils etaient tres acueillents... sa localisation est tres bien.. les personnel etaient tres sympas ils nous ont beaucoups aider.. et d'ailleur cetait tres propres et on aimaient bien le petit dejeuner.. et une tres belle terrasse car il ya un bon paysage comme la tour de galata.. je vous conseille vraiment d'y aller car je pense d'y retourner...

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Dirty shower. Please do smth with it and you will be the best :)

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

the biggest plus of the hostel is clearly the location.....perfect location (beyoglu is definitely the best neighbourhood to stay) 2min away from galata tower and 7 from galata bridge, the rest, 4ppl bedroom is very small, and beds not very confortable, 1 toilet/1 shower for the whole floor (3 rooms) and very noisy (mostly due to the fact that it is a 7th floor building with wood stairs which stand right next to the bedrooms and there is no lift. not very dirty but not very clean either.


86%

the hostel's staff was really good, every moment they were availables to help you. the toliets was excelent the cleanliness, about the atmosfere; they should put electric fans for summer season for low the tempeture inside; is a good hostel if you are gonna stay for a short time.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Fue una buena estadía, la terraza fue de lo que mas me gusto, no había nada mejor que llegar cansado, tomar un te y descansar con una buen vista. Was nice!

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really liked my stay in this hostel!!! Very good location, just near the tram and the historical area, good beds were comfortable and the staff so helpful guys

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Worst showers of my months of traveling. Had to tap the knob/handle ever so slightly over and over until I got the only temperature that was bearable, then only 10 seconds until it became either scalding or freezing. There's 4/5 floors of rooms, but the sound carries everywhere. The view upstairs is amazing for a hostel, but that's the only real saving grace.


74%

Tolle Dachterrasse bzw. Wintergarten mit tollem Ausblick, nette Leute, leckeres Frühstück, unser Zimmer hatte keinen Lichtschalter und keine Steckdose (allerdings wurde uns ohne große Probleme ein Verlängerungskabel ins Zimmer gelegt), Dusche/Toilette ok.


89%

I really liked my stay in this hostel! Very good location, just near the tram and the historical area. Breakfast was standard but good and beds were comfortable.


86%

A metà strada tra il centro storico e la via dei locali e ristoranti: una posizione perfetta ad un ottimo prezzo! Dovessi tornare a Istanbul il Galata West sarebbe la mia prima scelta!


89%

I stayed here for the second time and is still great. The location is just awesome, near the Galata Tower and with a direct view to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Also the value for money is unbeatable: good beads, nice location, friendly, breakfast included, nice staff. I recommend!!!

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best staff you would imagine. Lot of features - free tea, breakfasts, PS3 :D Even you can order nargile (shisha) in decent price. One defect is five floors and lack of elevator, but you can't have everything ;) PS - big terrace on roof is worth it :)


97%

Excelente lugar para hospedarse, muy bien ubicado y con un personal siempre dispuesto a ayudar.


80%

The hostel is in a good location, making it already a good deal for 13 EUR per night. The staff is friendly and will help in any way possible. They are relaxed and small favors asked (such as paying a day later or checking out an hour later) were no problem - excellent service making us feel very welcome! The showers were not always properly working, especially the warm-cold ratio. This would be the only minus point of the hostel, but definitely no reason not to come to this great place.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This was our second time at Galata West and we would return again and again. Great value hostel, rooftop terrace is the perfect hangout spot with amazing views, good breakfast, only downfall is the showers. They are either boiling hot or freezing cold and the water will turn cold with no warning.


71%

Good bed, shower doesnt work very well that time. Good value for money.


86%

Nice view over the city from the terrace!


77%

Great location and amazing rooftop terrace. Breakfast was good, showers not so.


83%

Buena ubicación, el personal del hotel muy amable. El hostal dispone de una cocina que puedes utilizar cuando quieras. La única pega, la limpieza de las duchas y el baño deja un poco que desear... Pero por ese precio no puedes pedir tampoco mucho más.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Location is easy to get around all of Istanbul with ease. A few cold showers is my only complaint. Would recommend!


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback