X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gallery Hyde Park Reviews

23 Inverness Terrace, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1391 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The Staff was amazing thank you xo

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and staff!


100%

wifi signal was weak

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stopping by to leave a review! We're so thrilled to see from your 100% rating that you had an amazing time with us at Gallery. We are in the process of upgrading the WiFi on the floor your room was located on to improve reliability. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, safe travels! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

80%

Nice place, but in the rooms is necessary best ventilation

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and loved our staff, atmosphere, facilities and the amazing work our housekeeping team do. We are always making improvement works to enhance the awesome experience we provide our guests, so we highly value your feedback. We hope to see you back again soon! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

66%

I found this place to be completely average. Right next to Hyde Park and tube stations, but you can't really walk easily to anything. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the showers were horrible. The lack of bathrooms made it so you almost always had to wait for a stall in the morning. Wifi was very spotty. Not the worst place I've stayed, but certainly nothing to write home about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stopping by to leave us a review! I'm sorry you don't feel as if you received the level of service we endeavour to provide at Gallery. We truly do pride ourselves on providing guests with an unforgettably awesome experience - something to write home about indeed! As such, we are always working hard to improve our property and highly value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to London again in the future and show you how it's truly done here! Until then, safe travels. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

43%

Poor breakfeast, and there were always something missing. Few and not so clean bathrooms, sometimes I had to leave the Hostel without brushing my theets because there esse no bathroom. The mattresses were horrible, so noisy and unconfortable. And unless you are non brazilian, don't expect the team to talk and to be nice to you.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm very disappointed to see you didn't receive the level of service we aim to provide each of our guests here at Gallery. We have quite a number of public bathrooms throughout the building and have recently improved our signage to ensure our lovely guests find them with ease. We also pride ourselves on being the friendliest, most welcoming team to each and every guest from every walk of life. As we are always working hard to improve our experience, we greatly value your feedback and will ensure it is passed on to each relevant department. We hope to welcome you back to London again in the future and show you how it's really done here in our hostel! Until then, safe travels. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

100%

Love coming to hang with the crew at GHP I always have a blast cant wait to come back. One thing that could be improved is the seating in the TV, its really uncomfortable to sit on the wooden boxes the have in there, could do with some bean bags and better cushions to sit on

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review! It's amazing to see our staff made you feel so welcome. Your suggestions will be passed on and kept in mind as we carry on working hard to improve our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to London soon! Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

74%

- the flow of water in the 3-bed room (4th floor) was very poor (for the sink and the shower) - 3rd floor: the door of the public toilet did not close completely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to see from your ratings that you enjoyed your stay - especially our great location and the awesome work our housekeeping team do. We will pass your feedback onto our maintenance team to ensure we correct any issues with our facilities. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

60%

There was a leak in my room from the ceiling, so I woke up at 8am to the receptionist coming to see what was going on. Also the beds were really crappy old spring mattresses that dig in between your ribs.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We apologise if you received an experience that wasn't to the high standard of service we endeavour to provide each of our guests with. Unfortunately, while a it is a very rare occurrence, maintenance issues like the one you mentioned may arise. We always work hard to ensure we can minimise any impact it may have on our guests, and our maintenance team have since hastily rectified the issue. We're always working hard to constantly improve our hostel, so we highly value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon so we can show you the usual unforgettably awesome Gallery Hyde Park experience! Until then, safe travels. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

66%

the manager behind the desk was polite and tried to help as much as she could. This is not the case for the Manager on the phone who was EXCEPTIONALLY rude and did not want to help in any manner. You have lost valuable customers and we will be telling all our friends / family who also use your services.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're happy to see you found our hostel manager so agreeable. Each and every member of staff and management at Gallery strives to provide the best and warmest service possible to our guests. We're always here to help! We apologise if you do not feel you had this experience. We'd love to welcome you back in the future and have our famously friendly staff show you the true Gallery experience. Until then, safe travels. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

94%

It was great, my firste experience of London was a great one :D The staff is the best! :)

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so pleased to see we were able to make you feel so welcome and comfortable on your very first trip to London. Our staff truly are the best in the business and will be so happy to hear your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Gallery and London again in the future! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

80%

It is an ok place to stay, not a party hostel and in a residential area, so if you actually want to see the city by day and have a good night's sleep it is the place. As mentioned by others, the mats are quite worn, that's definitely to be improved. I liked the breakfast. The receptionist the first day did not mention that there were extra common bathrooms upstairs so at first it felt like there were way too few for the number of people.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stopping by to leave a review. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay! We work to ensure our atmosphere is balanced well between a vibrant, social environment for our guests as well as a comfortably quiet place to sleep. As we are a hostel that always strives to improve our facilities and the information we communicate to our guests, we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

71%

I've already stayed in this hostel several time for my London weekends. I like the location, the high ceiling rooms and the complimentary breakfast., but the mattresses (well, only bed springs to be honest, not much mattress left) REALLY need to be changed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to see you enjoy your regular stays with us at Gallery and that you're so fond of our location, rooms and breakfast. We're currently in the process of changing and upgrading our mattresses to improve the level of comfort. As such, we appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

69%

There weren't enough bathrooms in the hostel. I understand that with infrastructure there isn't much you can do but perhaps just have less beds because the ratio was way off!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're very happy to see from your ratings that you loved our staff, atmosphere and location so much. We're currently in the process of renovating & upgrading our public bathrooms to further modernise the facilities and improve accessibility to our guests. We have also recently implemented better signage to ensure guests are aware of each bathroom's location in the building, and the results have been great! We hope to see you again in the future to test out all of the wonderful upgrades for yourself. Until then, safe travels! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

71%

Good hostel with a great location. I was in a 8 bed female dorm and the beds were soooo squeaky! I stayed for three nights and I have barely slept at all. This hostel, like many others, did not have bed lights, which I always think is very disappointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We're very happy you liked our hostel, particularly our location and the great rating you gave to our atmosphere and lovely staff. Your comments will be passed on to our maintenance team so we can rectify any issues with the beds. We will also keep your suggestions regarding the lights in mind, as we are always constantly working to improve our property for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

89%

The beds were squeeking, but the hostel was very nice for the value The staff and the breakfast was excellent

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy you had such a great time at Gallery, particularly that you loved our location, our brilliant staff, the atmosphere and our breakfast so much! Your comments regarding the beds will be passed on to our maintenance team so we can rectify any issues. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, safe travels! Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

60%

The shower is still broken. The rooms are warm but the hostel is cold. It's anoying that the free breakfast is only served from 8, when it should be 7. It is also strange that you can't use the kitchen after mid night till 8. Then 10-12. Since there is no wear to hang out other than the poor excuse for a common room. There is never any room in the fridge to put your things, and the washing machine is too small to wash a decent sized load. Maintenance is poor. Water was dripping through the roof.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're happy to see from your ratings that you loved our brilliant staff and location so much. All of our public and ensuite bathrooms are now fully functional. We apologise for any maintenance closures you may have experienced as we worked to improve our facilities. Breakfast is served to coincide with the popular demand of our guests. We apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. The kitchen is closed from midnight - 8am to minimise disturbance to our guests and to allow for extensive cleaning and breakfast setup. It is then closed again after breakfast for a short period to allow the housekeeping team to keep it clean for the comfort of our guests. We apologise if you feel you didn't receive the proper Gallery experience. We'd be happy to welcome you back in the future and show you how it's really done! Your comments are valuable to us, and we will keep them in mind as we work to constantly improve our property. Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

60%

Not all of the staff was warm and welcoming. The bathrooms were too small, not enough. You can't have three bathrooms for 10+ guests. The beds made noises constantly, also extremely uncomfortable. I froze every night. The pillows are so thing they are basically non existent. You could hear everything that went on in the kitchen or a flood above you with no problem. It's a gorgeous hostel from the street view in a great location. Other than that, it doesn't have much going on for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're happy you loved our location and building! We're disappointed to see you didn't love your experience with our staff - each and every one of us strive to be the friendliest, most welcoming team possible for our guests. In fact, we're quite famous for it! We currently have 7 public bathrooms in the building for the rooms without an ensuite. We have recently improved our signage to help direct guests to each of them. We are also in the process of improving the comfort of our beds to ensure the experience is the absolute best it can be. We hope to see you again in the future to show you the proper Gallery experience that our guests love so much! Kind Regards, Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

74%

Cleanliness in our room and bathroom was poor, when decide to use public bathrooms one of them was out off order, and massive queues for the remains, not a best idea to have shower and toilet at ones (less people can use it). Nice breakfast. Exellent staff. Please warn us too many steps (one member of our party is partialy disabled - cause her serious difficulties)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're very happy to see you loved our staff, location and breakfast so much. Our amazing housekeeping team have recently implemented an entirely new system that has helped us ensure our rooms and bathrooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. We have also improved the signage across the building to ensure people are aware of each of our bathrooms, thus reducing crowding. We highly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future! Until then, safe travels. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

77%

Best staff in the world, felt like a big welcoming family, loved all of them. Beds sucked tho, but still worth it!!!

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review! It's so great to see you loved the staff so much. We really do love making our guests feel welcome and part of the big Gallery family. We're in the process of upgrading our beds and mattresses to improve the level of comfort our guests experience. We'd love to see you back at Gallery again in the future! Safe travels until then. Alexander @ Gallery Hyde Park

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback