X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gallery Hyde Park Reviews

23 Inverness Terrace, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1239 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Perfect location and really helpful staff. They always stored my key when I went for a run in Hyde Park - best place to go, totally worth waking up a bit earlier ;) The free breakfast felt really good before leaving for a whole day of sightseeing! The room and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but I guess you cannot except better conditions if they are used by 12 people. Thanks for an awesome stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved the staff and location. It's awesome to see you had such a great, productive and active experience in London. We've recently made major changes to our housekeeping system which has greatly improved our ability to ensure all of our rooms and bathrooms are kept at a high standard. We'd love for you to see for yourself! We hope to welcome you back for another London adventure soon! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

83%

I didn't really spend much time at the hostel, the guy that checked me was friendly, the room was a good size, the bed wasn't the best to sleep on though, you can feel all the springs which made it an uncomfortable night's sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stopping by to leave a review! We're happy to hear our receptionist was helpful and that you enjoyed the room. We're working very hard on improving our facilities so your feedback is greatly appreciated. We'll be sure to use it in our mission to perfect the hostel! We hope to see you again in the future so we can give you the full Gallery experience. Until then, safe travels! Best regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

71%

Loved the high ceiling room: it doesn't fell like you!re sleeping with 20 other people! Still, new mattress would be good: managed to sleep on mine only by using the duvet as a second mattress so to avoid feeling the bed springs right into my back! The place definitely needs more toilet/shower facilities and each bed should have a small shelf or hanger by the side.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stopping by to leave a review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and loved the experience of the 20 bed dorm. It really is a beautiful room, isn't it! Thank you for your suggestions. We're always working hard to improve our facilities so we really value your feedback and will use it in our mission to perfect the Gallery Hyde Park experience. We hope we can welcome you back to London again in the future. Until then, safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

66%

The hostel was located close to a tube station so that was good and they give a decent breakfast included with your room stay for the night. They provide fresh, clean white linens which I liked. However, the WiFi was difficult to connect to and the bathrooms were not very clean. I stayed in the 24 mixed room and the floors were very dirty.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We're happy you loved the location, breakfast and linen! We're currently working on improving our wifi hostel wide, and our receptionists are always happy to reset the connection if required. We've also recently made major improvements to our housekeeping system which will help ensure all of our facilities remain clean - though we have and always will clean all rooms and bathrooms daily! We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

57%

Big kitchen was nice with good hours. beds were uncomfortable- you can feel the springs. Staff was really friendly though, so that is a plus. I wish there was a place with a tabletop where I could use my computer. Wifi did not work well except for in the common room. The place could be more secure- anyone could walk into the luggage room and only a few small lockers were there. More bathrooms needed. Problem is that the showers are in bathrooms, so if someone is showering, no one can use them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and kitchen and your feedback on our facilities. We're always working very hard on improving our facilities, so we greatly value your input and will use it to help us perfect the Gallery experience. We're also working on improving our wifi. In the meantime, our staff are happy to check and reset connections where necessary! Thanks again. We hope to see you soon! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

100%

Excellent facilities, should be a lot better when renovations are complete. The stairs are tiring especially when having to take bags up and down. Breakfast included. Wifi in all areas. Close to the Queensway tube station.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was okay. Okay location, nice staff (willing to print boarding pass). Luggage room felt quite unsafe. Bathrooms were TINY, and DIRTY. Bed was uncomfortable (springs digging into my back), but the sheets were clean. My towel got stolen though :(

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're happy to see our staff were so accommodating and that you loved our location. We take the cleanliness of our building very seriously and have recently made major improvements to our housekeeping system. It's really worked wonders! We really value your feedback and will use it in our mission to make Gallery the best it can be as we continue our work to improve our facilities. Thanks again, and safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

86%

Not bad... Friendly staff. I was in a room with 20 other people; everyone was usually respectful and quiet coming in and leaving. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're really happy that you had a great experience with us here at Gallery. It's lovely to see that great hostel etiquette is alive and well in the 20 bed dorm. It really makes the experience something amazing, especially in a room as beautiful as that - and our guests are renowned for it! We hope we can welcome you back to London again soon. Until then, best wishes and safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

86%

I was greeted by incredibly friendly staff who were very helpful and up for a chat. Great location and fantastic vibe.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your kind words and are we're absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our staff really are wonderful, aren't they? We hope we can welcome you back to London in the near future. Until then, safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

57%

I've been traveling so much during this year and I could say that this hostel is the most expensive and bad quality I've stayed in. I was lodged in the ground floor where there's no enough toilets and showers ( and unclean). To had a shower I had to go to the 3rd floor, where there are 3 small and uncomfortable showers, and it was my impression that weren't anymore in the whole building, otherwise the staff didn't give me the right instructions. In my opinion bed was uncomfortable as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stopping by to leave a review. We're sorry you left Gallery Hyde Park with this impression. We take the cleanliness of our building very seriously and have recently improved our housekeeping system to ensure the highest quality of service. We'd love for you to see for yourself! We have seven public bathrooms in the building and have also recently improved our signage to ensure guests know where each are. We hope to welcome you back to London soon! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

86%

Everything you could need and expect from a hostel. Staff were awesome, very friendly and helpful. Great location literally two minute walk from Queensway tube station

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our staff and location really are wonderful, right? We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

43%

When me and my friend arrieved , we thought we had no beds available, such was the rubbish and dirt all over the bedroom. The Cleanliness remained the same during the 3 nights. My mattress was filthy and stained. The room had so much dust...you must put a sign because of the asthmatics. Small rooms and to many people in the same space. Dirty bathrooms. In short, the hostel is very well situated, the staff is relatively sympathetic but that's it. Not worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear you've left Gallery with this impression. We take the cleanliness of our rooms and facilities very seriously and our cleaners attend to each room daily. We have also recently changed the way our housekeeping works to maximize efficiency and feel it has worked wonders! We'd love for you to see for yourself. We hope we can welcome you back to London soon. Until then, safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

100%

This is the perfect hostel if you like a calm atmosphere. the location is very convenient, located next to one of the tube stations and in front of Hyde park. The rooms were small and had its own bathroom so there wasent 20 people trying to shower like typical hostels. Overall one of my best hostel experience. Will be staying here again next time I'm in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved Gallery Hyde Park as much as we do. We'd love to welcome you back to London again in the future. Until then, safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

80%

I liked the experience in the hostel and I think the best thing of it was the staff. But there are some things that I think should be improved. The beds and mattress are old, so the beds are noisy and the mattress are a bit uncomfortable. There were also problems with the room door and with the shower that was flooding.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to provide you with such awesome service. We're always working away at improving our facilities and are currently in the process of addressing all of your suggestions and more. We're well on our way to perfecting the Gallery Hyde Park experience! We hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, safe travels! Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

83%

Lovely hostel with some really friendly guests and staff. I stayed in the 20 bedroom dorm and was surprised at how quiet it was- everyone is respectful and tries to keep quiet at night. The showers were cold, the sinks were tiny, and the beds were not very comfortable, but it was bearable for a couple days. Great location, with the bus stop a short walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! We love to see that you had such a great time and loved the 20 bed dorm. It's a breathtaking room, isn't it? We're constantly working hard at improving our facilities and have recently fixed the issue with the hot water. We value your feedback and will use it in our mission to make the Gallery experience the best it can be! We hope to see you again soon. Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

46%

It's A LOT different than on the photographs, the bathroom was very dirty, and with no privacy at all due to moving doors.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for stopping by to leave a review. We've upgraded our building substantially in recent times, and have since had a photographer in to take new photos of the building! We think they bear a striking resemblance to our hostel and our lovely rooms. We've also recently changed the way our housekeepers approach their work, which has worked wonders in ensuring our bathrooms are kept superbly clean. We'd love for you to see for yourself! Best regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

74%

The staff were lovely, up for a chat and extremely helpful like with giving directions or places to go. People I met staying at the hostel were also really nice. The room though was really small, hardly enough room to pass someone if you happened to get up at the same time. The beds were rickety and so noisey!! If anyone moved let alone rolled over at night the noise was just so loud. There weren't enough power points in the room for everyone and the wifi connection wasn't very good.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're so happy you loved our staff and that we were able to do such a great job of helping you experience London. We're always working hard to improve our facilities, so we really value your comments. We are also currently working at improving the wifi hostel wide, and our receptionists are always happy to reset it for you in the case of a poor connection. Thanks again, we hope to see you back soon! Best regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

91%

The staff is amazing!! The kitchen is big and clean. The breakfast is a quite simple just toast, coffee and cereal. And you need to pay 5 pounds for each thing that you need. But for everything else is a very good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for stopping by to leave a review! We're thrilled you loved our staff, kitchen and the awesome work our cleaners do around the place. The £5 for items like adapters & room keys are simply a deposit, and you will receive your money back upon returning the item! For our towels, however, we keep £2 for cleaning expenses. Thanks again. We hope we can welcome you back to London again soon! Kind regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

74%

In room 111 there was no hot water for the whole day. Key card wasn't working Rooms should be definitely cleaned better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We are really sorry to hear about the water. We have recently had work done on our hot water system, so this shouldn't be an issue again. We've also changed the way our housekeepers work and find it has done wonders in making sure nothing is missed in our mission to provide you with the cleanest environment possible! We'd love for you to see for yourself. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay and the Gallery Hyde Park experience. Best regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

74%

Bedrooms were reasonably clean, bathrooms were disgusting and very unhygenic

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to see in your ratings that you loved our location, staff and atmosphere so much. We've recently changed the way our housekeepers clean and have seen great results in ensuring our bathrooms are kept at the highest standard of cleanliness. We hope you enjoyed your time here in London and that we can be the first to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Alex @ Gallery Hyde Park

(136 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback