Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Galway City Hostel & Bar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! Friendly and engaging staff, made me want to stay in Galway longer than I planned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
9.7

Wonderful hostel located next to the bus station! All the staff members were super helpful and happy to answer any questions I had. This hostel had everything--FREE breakfast & printing, power sockets in the bed, reading lights and lockers underneath the bunks (bring your own locks). Great kitchen stocked with all you need. My only complaint is how hard the mattress was and the pillow was very hard/thin. The blanket was thick so I used that as added pillow support. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
10.0

Very clean and private beds! Also the staff made a great effort to make sure that we all had something fun to do!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed our time at the Galway City Hostel. The staff were fantastic and offered us great recommendations for dining and things to do. We also loved the social atmosphere created with nightly get-togethers and free walking tours, where we could mingle with other travellers there. Would highly recommend, especially if you are solo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff is great, so as their shower. Super clean & tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.9

Cute, small, modern hostel. Nice common area and kitchen for socializing. Bathrooms were clean, spacious, private, with good showers. The hostel plans group activities every night (e.g. pizza + pub crawl, silent disco) which is great if you want to meet fellow travelers or try out a new restaurant or bar. The downside is that the rooms are small so you can only have one locker open at a time if the beds face each other. Also sometimes you can't open the locker if someone's on the bottom bunk :/

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel in a great location. Rooms were big with plenty of space and the rooms were nice and cool. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of what to do in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff at the hostel were incredibly helpful and inviting, they gave us great ideas as to how we can spend our time during our visit. The amenities were very clean and well kept- they even had a laundry service where for a small fee they would wash, dry and fold your laundry for you! Breaksfast was much better than all hostels we visited while in Ireland, and a staff member was constantly on hand to refill anything that was running low. I would definitely return here and highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
10.0

This was my first hostel I stayed in and I loved it. The staff was super helpful at recommending activities to do around town, restaurants to try, and pubs to go to. In addition they provided a €2 home cooked meal and a free breakfast in the morning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.0

The staff here are great- so friendly and helpful. There are lots of activities going on, including dinner events and a pub crawl every night. Facility wise, it was a pretty average hostel. I would say it's a little pricey for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.