Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ganbara Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2017
8.0

Missing atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jul 2017
7.7

We visited Bilbao for a week and visited the BKK festival as well. We liked or stay at the Ganbara hostel very much. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff was very helpfull. Nice location in the old town with losts of places for food near the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
3.7

Don't bother staying here. There's so many great hostels in Bilbao & Casco Viejo that are equally affordable, that are in MUCH better areas and are MUCH cleaner. I got weird vibes from this place from the start. Room/bed/bathroom facilities were NOT clean. Gross smell through the whole place. Everything felt gross. As a solo female traveler I also ended up in a 4-person room with 3 men who were all friends and were creepy. It was survivable but bad experience and I could barely sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really sad to read this when we know it is not true. People are happy when they stay at us but now we understand what happened: you try to cancel just before arrival but it wasn´t 48 hours before so we had to charge it and you decided finally to come. So from the beginning you weren´t happy and that´s not fair for the hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

Great kitchen, washer, dryer, hair dryers, towels. Showers & toilets are clean and spacious. Social area is let down by the TV. There's already a TV upstairs so one isn't needed in the middle of the main area. It meant music was quite and lots of people just sat and watched. Otherwise a great hostel very close to old town & supermarkets. Young english receptionist was friendly & helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.9

Super place. Two nice big common areas. Full kitchen with cooking facilities and fridge. Nice breakfast with lots of fruit. Small lockers in the rooms. My mattress was uncomfortable and springy. The air-conditioning was poor and we were all sweating day and night. There was mold in the shower. The fridge leaked water. Nice friendly staff an clean other than shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
8.0

Great staff and atmosphere but horrible ventilation in the room. During the summer I would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Great staff and kitchen. Good location right in old town. Definitely need more plugs though. There was an extension cord with six plugs in my eight bed dorm and only two in the common area so it could sometimes be a little hard to charge your things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rmtmckenzie
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.9

The staff were disinterested to unfriendly, although did do what they needed to, the rooms the smallest I've seen in a hostel, and the lockers in the room completely insecure (when they were locked you could just twist the lock by hand to release it). Clean though. It was quite noisy and the room we had was extremely hot and stuffy. (Drunk) guys were using the women's bathroom which made my wife very uncomfortable, although not the hotel's fault, but the overall feeling wasn't a positive one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.4

Location was great! Staff were friendly Beds were very uncomfortable and need new mattresses and rooms were small. Should seperate rooms in age. Was placed in a room with only people above the age of 60 (i am 20).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Central. Nice staff and nice hostel. Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Whenever you want you´ll be welcome!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.