X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gandalf Passenger Ship Reviews

Oosterdok 2 Dock 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
366 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was an excellent accommodation! Just the facilities could be a little better (Microwave, oven, wi-fi). The wi-fi does not work properly in our room, so that we need to stay in the lounge to use the internet. Talking about kitchen facilities, the owner allowed us to use the microwave in the kitchen, but it is not totally available to everybody (we should ask to use). However it was so awesome to stay in a boat, all the other stuffs were perfect and the breakfast was so good. We recommend this!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Hans and his wife were very welcoming and helpful. Everything about staying on this passenger ship was a pleasure, including the location, atmosphere, breakfast, my own cabin and company of other people. Beats staying in a hotel anyday - and the WIFI worked perfectly! Best regards, Gavin

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay...staff is friendly and attentive to your needs and it was very clean..location was close to attractions and free breakfast was good each day


71%

The location was fairly convenient; I had to pull my heavy bag for 15min from the train station but that was my own fault, really. The owners gave me a hand taking the suitcase off the boat, which was great. The staff were polite but reserved, and would only accept cash for the berth, which was not advertised in advance. Like most places in Amsterdam, I had to pay for two beds even though I only wanted one, but at least I didn't have to pay for two nights as well. Breakfast was fine.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good accomodation, atmophere and breakfast. It's interesting to spleep in a boat. Few minutes from the central station and close to Nemo, Science Museum. We recommend this B&B.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

the relaxed atmosphere was just what's needed before and after sight-seeing. Excellent value with breakfasts to set you up for the whole day thanks to Hans and his team. Would definitely go back, no question. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff and delicious breakfast! Very welcoming and cozy. Wifi was great.


94%

Dankeschön für die schöne Zeit und nette Betreuung auf dem Schiff Gandalf. Wir waren schon das zweite Mal da und werden gern wieder kommen. Familie Arndt

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Bellissimo battello, si sta molto bene,le stanze sono vivibili e pulite. Colazione buona ed abbondante, il Capitano è un personaggio! Peccato che siamo state solo una notte! Da ritornare!


91%

Le séjour à bord du Gandalf a été très plaisant! Dans les points positifs: un emplacement proche du centre, un accueil et une salle à manger chaleureux, un buffet petit déjeuner bien garni, des hublots à la place des fenêtres, le léger balancement du bateau durant la nuit et le calme du port pour dormir. Dans les points moins positifs: pas de chambres à lit double, condensation parfois importante sur les hublots; au final superbe aventure que celle de dormir sur un bateau!


89%

Zeer goede service, vriendelijk personeel

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

we´ve booked a doubleroom in advance and the owner cancelled our Reservation just 24 hours before we arrived. He told me that he was fully booked for a charter cruise on that Weekend. In cause of the fact, that we couldn´t get a cheap Hotel on just that day, we had to finish our Holiday in the Netherlands 3 days to early. Fairly i have to say, the ownwer gave us 100 Euros as an excuse. But a satifying Holiday would be much better. I couldn´t recommend to book here on this ship.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, with some variety if you stay a few days.


100%

Its really nice clean place...no bed bugs!....everything perfect. (Location.food.stuff)


100%

Staying on a boat was an interesting experience and one will would do again. The staff was very friendly, the location great and was a pleasant time.


89%

Bellissima l'esperienza di dormire su una barca...la stanza e' piccola ma in compenso nello spazio della prima colazione si vive una bella atmosfera!!!!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

the gandalf hostel have near to central Station.but, the room was small and too uncomfortable.


83%

Very good location. Convenient and cozy. Quiet environment. Neat and tidy room although it was very small as expected for a cabin type hostel. Unfortunately, I got the bed with the ceiling just about 2 feet above the bed.

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Myanmar
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

If you get a chance, don`t miss this perfect accomodation!!! Staff is so friendly and helpful, location is just perfect (a few minutes away from the central station and really quiet), breakfast includes everything you need for a good start into the day. For this price and for the experience of sleeping on a boat, you cannot find a better place!!! Don`t hesitate to book! You will definitely not regret it!!!

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The room is small as we expected, but it is clean. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast is excellent.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(249 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback