X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gap Year Hostel Reviews

322 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
229 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Expectations regarding the size, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms need to be lowered. I had to leave after one night (having booked three) because the 'private room' was so sub-standard. The door that separated the room from the room next door was not sufficient to block the disgusting noises that came from there. Additionally - the shower in the right/hand bathroom was cold.


43%

I remeber when i saw the pictures from the hostel that seems very clean, very comphortable. But when i arrived to the hostel, my room was so different than the pictures. I reserved a private room, and it was so small that even close the door was difficult. And then sheets on the bed were not cleaned. Was very dark all the place without a window.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Small room, good security, nice staff, shared bathroom. In the morning, there many small bugs in bathroom.


100%

I liked the pleasing environment, will recommend it to my friends! :)

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location because it is near the MRT station. Unlimited toast and jam, coffee and tea for everyone. They give discounts for the tourists who wants to got ot USS, Singapore flyer, Zoos and the likes. However, Wifi connection is not stable when you are inside the room. Living room area is hot. There are growing mushrooms at the bottom part of the bathroom door. There are flying insects inside the bathroom as well.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for your feedbacks. we have taken measures to clear the insects and mushrooms but we are still unsure why they are there in the first place :(

91%

i will come back soon :)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I liked this hostel, because it was modern and clean, the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was OK. Close to the centre.


46%

Room was tiny, atmosphere rather unpleasant. Woke to the sound of people clearing their throats in the hallway. Reception was closed from 10pm to 8am. This doesn't seem acceptable. It was at least clean.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was stated in hostel world website that our reception is closed at 10pm and we can't control people clearing their throats. Space is scarce in Singapore and hope all guests understand.

71%

I cant say anything really negative about this hostel. The dorm has a good size, ac works well, (sweet) breakfast included,comfy bed, reading lights and personal plugin, only a few minutes walk to mtr, food court and a nice swimming complex.Shower etc. are very basic, but in general clean. Be aware that Lavender street is a big and busy road, making it quite noisy in the dorm from the early morning. The lockers dont make a save impression. If you dont need fancy interior etc. thats a good deal.


91%

Gap Year was a solid place to spend a few nights. The room itself was pretty good for a hostel. The location wasn't bad, though I would have liked to be a little closer to Little India. There are cheaper places to stay, and there are nicer places to stay in better locations, but all in all, Gap Year is not a bad option.


100%

Sunsets hostel was a perfect place to spend our few days in Bangkok. The place is located right in the backpackers area with tons of shops and restaurants nearby. Also, some of the main temples are within walking distance. The place was easy to find, win great facilities and a friendly helpful staff. Everything else is just a cab ride away which are extremely fair if you are sure to use the meter.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff very good and helpful!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Near MRT, good breakfast and friendly staff.


94%

should dry the sheet frequently maybe a little wet in the room

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice staff, clean, good athmosphere...one of the best hostels I was in!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Was not very happy with this hostel. Wasn't close to anything but the train. It took half an hour to walk to a money exchanger, and there was only 1 toilet for the whole floor to use. Also no where for people to hangout and relax. Overall very disappointing.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, sorry that you are not happy with your 1 night stay. If you have checked with our receptionist you will find out that the closest money changer is in Little India and we are about ten minutes walk from it. We have a nice communal area for you to hang out and relax , which i wasn't sure why you did not make use of it.

77%

The rooms are very small, but every bed has a own light and powerpoint. The atmosphere was nice.


80%

The stay will be more attractive if you improve the cleanliness of the area. Thanks.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The cheapest single room in Singapore offers only a little bit more space than the bed itself (as exected).




View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback