Hostelworld.com

Garden House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Garden House Hostel Located at Avenida San Juan 1271,San Telmo., , Buenos Aires.
Garden House Hostel
Argentina
Buenos Aires Avenida San Juan 1271,San Telmo.
82% 385
-34.6222784 -58.3837509
Garden House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Feb 2016
6.9

For $25 USD / $32 AUD a night for a 6 bed dorm you would hope for a little more. The highlight was that breakfast was included, and they had eggs! They actually charged us more on the spot (372AR$) than the online booking. The beds were all really squeaky and anytime someone came in you would wake up. The communal space was very heated, but this wasn't always unpleasant. Intermittent but ok wifi. They called us a taxi to the airport after some poor spanish and miming.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
7.4

Staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was decent, but in terms of atmosphere, you get what you pay for and you aren't paying much. Location is average on the outskirts of San Telmo and the hostel is quite small therefore a bit cramped and quite loud from others in the small common area. Seems like several guests in the dorms are living there long term so it's probably not the best place to meet other travelers. For the price it's fine for a night but would not stay longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2016
9.7

Great location... Great staff.. Comfy rooms... Great value for money. This hostel is a very relaxing place, a perfect oasis of calm to relax after a crazy day/night in Buenos Aires.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
10.0

This hostel was fantastic! Especially the terrace and library. The staff were phenomenal and very helpful, reaching out to guests. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2016
8.6

Everything was great except that the toilets needed more attention, but it is a great hostel to stay at for a few days This is my second time so I obviously would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2015
6.0

A bit cramped and soggy in the bathroom. I noticed the trash can there did not get emptied in my 36 hours, and it was nearly full when I arrived. Good access to the Ecological Park and buses and subway. The Sunday market -once a month- was a special treat. As a runner, I found it possible to run the streets during Sunday afternoon, not feasible in some cities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2015
9.7

Our stay at Garden House Hostel was lovely! The terrace is a real treat with fresh mint growing and a table and chairs so in the evenings you can sit with a view over the San Juan area. The 8 bed dorm was well-equipped with lockers and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have had so far. Also the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend staying here for at least one night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2015
3.4

My experience was so negative that I decided to loose the whole money and search for another solution. I didn't spend more than 6hours in that place(I just stayed to use wifi to get another place to go...). My room was a double ensuite, as soon as I walked in I had a heart attack:the whole bed stuff was filthy (frame bed stuffing,mattress, duvet and pillows), the duvet and the pillows cases were dirty and there was dust and mold everywhere. There was also someone else's cut nails on the floor!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2015
7.1

Nice Hostel, good location, cheap, very friendly staff. Breakfast could be better, small kitchen, cleanless in general could be better

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Nov 2015
6.3

This was a take it or leave it kind of hostel, we had a pleasant stay but weren't completely blown away. The garden terrace was a beautiful place to chill and eat dinner, pretty close to the metro, staff was helpful with information about the city. Private had a bit of a weird smell but it was clean and comfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.