Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Garden House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.4

The hostel is amazing! Its perfect! The staff is very friendly and willing to help you get around. The only thing is that the wifi worked a bit slow, other than that, the hostel is incredible!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Stayed here for three nights. Entrance to the place can easily be missed if you don't pay attention - trick is to pay attention! Great security as there is someone manning the reception desk by the door 24 hours. Bedrooms and bathrooms are always kept clean, and their guest kitchen is fully equipped. Breakfast is basic but enough to sustain you until lunch although the neighbourhood is full of nice cafes and eateries. Within walking distance to many sights but also close to metro station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.1

My second stay at the Garden House this year. Friendly staff, clean and well-stocked common areas where people were always hanging out. Rooms facing the street were a little noisy on the weekend but not too much, and sound didn't carry from the common room. Beds are sturdy, each has its own outlet, lockers are big and secure. I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Garden House is definitely the nicest hostel I have stayed in. Bright and super clean, beautiful building. Very relaxed atmosphere, and the staff are all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Exceptionally clean with excellent security. The lockers fits all of your belongings which I found convenient. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable and solid ( so no sqeaking 😀). The staff are excellent and very helpful. The hostel has a great app which is a great resource to help you discover the beautiful city of Porto. 😍 This hostel is awesome, and I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

I loved the Garden House Hostel! We were in Porto for only one night, but I would definitely recommend everyone to check this place out. It is not in a touristy area, about a 15 minute walk to the river. The building itself was incredibly clean with fully updated appliances, modern furniture, and a cute backyard garden. Huge, well lit rooms and a great free breakfast with bread, jam, juice and fresh tomatoes! The only bad thing was that the WIFI is really shoddy, it didn't reach our room :/

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Will and his crew have a wonderful hostel on their hands. They cultivate a super positive and friendly atmosphere. I've stayed there twice now and it feels a little bit like home every time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

Excellent breakfast and staff not so much wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 61 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, friendly staff. Great location. Wifi not the best. Free breakfast was basic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
10.0

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I have to say I loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great and my room was very nice. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.