X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Garden House Hostel Reviews

Rua de Santa Catarina, 501, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
966 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Only stayed for a night in a private room with two beds and an ensuite bathroom. Very central and near public transportation. Free wifi. Great breakfast! Room was clean, had air conditioning and free fresh towels. The bathroom is not separated from the room by any sort of door, so keep that it mind when making a reservation. Also, the room opened directly into an interior patio, which made me think that when the patio is full of people the noise may be a concern. Would stay again!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is an excellent hostel, smack in the centre of Porto, welcoming and helpful staff, very clean ... I have stayed there several times and will do so again I know.


94%

Nothing to complain :) it was nice choice


97%

Really nice and clean hostel, you can reach everything by foot from there. Also the staff is very nice and helpfull.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

a big light in the rooms would be useful, they didn't say we could have warming in the room so they turned it only on the last night

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean and excellent location.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Kelqs
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a great place! nice staff, beautiful and large rooms, great commons rooms, and very close to the center and the metro. The only thing is that the walls are quite thin, so at night you can hear a lot of noise which can be very annoying especially when the sounds come from the bathroom .(drunked people taking a shower).

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was absolutely perfect. Nice staff, fun people, good atmosphere, and very clean. The only thing I could even think to complain about was the fact that the walls are a bit thin (you can hear the seagulls even when the door to your room is closed) and the floors can be a little creaky, but that's to be expected in an older building such as that one. Overall, it was incredible. I would highly recommend it and will certainly be staying there if I visit Porto again.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place but atmosphere is poor

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A nice place close to the centre of the city. Has what you need!


94%

I didn't know that the bathroom is for male and female, apart from that a really clean hostel.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Real good place. We had find the best place ever to be at Porto!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel very nice, great and very welcome staff, all great, just maybe a bit too laud sometimes, especially with a big group of very young people, who can't behave sometimes very late at night or early in the morning. Apart from that can likely recommend!


66%

Good location but not really any vibe. I probably wouldn't stay here again, especially as the dorms were noisy. It was fine but nothing special!


100%

Loved staying there. Had so much charm.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Pros - Good location, within walking distance of downtown sites and the riviera. The common area is nicely decorated. Cons - The hostel operators were quite discourteous, not sure if it was related to my ethnicity or being LGBT. There is certainly room for improvement there. The garden suite lacks windows, so without starting the A/C it was too warm during the day.”


94%

Garden House Hostel is located in a very authentic Portuguese building. The style of the hostel itself gives you this homely atmosphere and makes you feel comfortable and at home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It's very clean and I think it's perfect for both backpackers as well as tourist who want to stay in Porto for a few days. The location is very central and there are very nice and decently priced cafes within less than a minute walk. I would definitely recommend it!

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoy the hostel, and I will definitely recommend it to anyone! It's modern clean, nice, is has a lot of facilities such as TV, playing games, and great social spaces! And the staff is really nice!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect, perfect, superbe, chouette! Je reviens bientôt avec mon mari!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Hostel, great staff great Location


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback