Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Garden House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 1717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 1717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

Couldn't fault the place, the location was great, great lockers without need for your own padlock which was nice and secure and the rooms were very spacious! The hostel had an awesome design and included a great breakfast. Staff gave us a bunch of information about the best things to do in the city and were super helpful! Special thanks to Andrea for the hospitality! Cheers, Fraser

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel, good location with great atmosphere if you just want to hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

Clean and spacious hostel with lovely staff. Rooms were very big (rare for a hostel) with comfortable beds. Well located close to main attractions, train and bus station. Breakfast is a little sparse but is free so cant complain. Would recommend stay here for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ceeytliu
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay there, everything was great and comfortable. And the staff were friendly, helpful and very interesting people ;) If I had chance to visit Porto again, I would choose Garden House for the next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2017
7.7

Quite a busy hostel. The location is perfect and the garden is really nice and sunny. My dorm was also really spacious. Minus points for the mixed toilets/showers that weren't that many and not that clean. Breakfast was ok - basic toast and coffee.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
8.6

iT WAS GREAT! WOULD RECOMMEND!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Except the wifi being a little meh, the hostel was awesome! The atmosphere, the decor, the rooms, the cleanliness, the staff !! I couldn't recommend it enough. Another little thing, it's situated slightly out of the main attractions, but still near enough that it's not an actual issue. This city and having the hostel up a slight hill gave me legs of steel jk

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.1

The staff was amazing, so helpful and willing to go out of their way to help out. Cannot wait for my next stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.7

The common space is lovely. We were in a twin bed ensuite and while the room seemed nice--clean, bright and just off the garden--there was an intense smell of mildew. The doors are the only windows so there's no way to get air with privacy other than to use the AC. The shower drain is clearly not big enough for the water pressure (or the lip is too small) cause as soon as you shower there are inches of water across the whole bathroom, explaining the smell. Maybe the main house rooms are nicer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

This was a really beautiful hostel and I had a nice time here. The staff was really friendly and the place had a good vibe. It was easy to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.