X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Garden House Hostel Reviews

Rua de Santa Catarina, 501, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1036 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

All in all I had a pleasant stay, but somehow the atmosphere in this hostel was distant to me. The staff was friendly, but it seemed to me that no one was really motivated doing their job. The rooms and facilities were completely fine.


100%

Fabulously fresh and friendly

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Hostel!! Great people! Clean, Cool Atmosphere!


91%

Absolutely perfect. Beautiful place, nice people. Highly reccomended! :-)


97%

This hostel is amazing! The staff is lovely and helpful, all rooms and bathroom are clean, nice beds, wifi works, breakfast included (whenever you ask them - he had to leave at 4:30am, and we had breakfast at that time!!). I really loved the experience, and I definitely recomend this place!!! I wish I had more nights there...

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Only stayed for a night in a private room with two beds and an ensuite bathroom. Very central and near public transportation. Free wifi. Great breakfast! Room was clean, had air conditioning and free fresh towels. The bathroom is not separated from the room by any sort of door, so keep that it mind when making a reservation. Also, the room opened directly into an interior patio, which made me think that when the patio is full of people the noise may be a concern. Would stay again!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is an excellent hostel, smack in the centre of Porto, welcoming and helpful staff, very clean ... I have stayed there several times and will do so again I know.


94%

Nothing to complain :) it was nice choice


97%

Really nice and clean hostel, you can reach everything by foot from there. Also the staff is very nice and helpfull.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

a big light in the rooms would be useful, they didn't say we could have warming in the room so they turned it only on the last night

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean and excellent location.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Kelqs
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a great place! nice staff, beautiful and large rooms, great commons rooms, and very close to the center and the metro. The only thing is that the walls are quite thin, so at night you can hear a lot of noise which can be very annoying especially when the sounds come from the bathroom .(drunked people taking a shower).

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was absolutely perfect. Nice staff, fun people, good atmosphere, and very clean. The only thing I could even think to complain about was the fact that the walls are a bit thin (you can hear the seagulls even when the door to your room is closed) and the floors can be a little creaky, but that's to be expected in an older building such as that one. Overall, it was incredible. I would highly recommend it and will certainly be staying there if I visit Porto again.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place but atmosphere is poor

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A nice place close to the centre of the city. Has what you need!


94%

I didn't know that the bathroom is for male and female, apart from that a really clean hostel.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback