Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2017
10.0

Everything about this place was perfect - from the location (quiet, garden view, near the canal and a great Italian pizza place) to our host's unbelievable home-cooked breakfast... absolutely recommended! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights. We had a lovely stay and were well looked after by Nessie who made sure our every need was met. She provided us with information, recommendations, snacks all day long and a gorgeous breakfast every morning (worth staying on a Sunday as brunch was fantastic). It was a real reminder of being back home which was nice after travelling for so long. Extremely clean and beautifully furnished with a stocked fridge - what more could you want?!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.7

At the Garden View you get well cared for by the excellent hostess Nessie. We loved our beautiful room with a view of the garden, as well as the delicious breakfast. The room and bathroom facilities are well thought out, neat and clean. The bed and breakfast is situated south of the city center, close to both tram, bus and train connections. The area itself is worth exploring, with a more modern architecture and parks close by. We can really recommend a stay here ☺️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jun 2017
4.9

This was, by far, my worst experience in my 5 years of traveling. Too many rules and no privacy. The room is tidy and the bathrooms are clean. You will need to be extremely tolerant to stay here. Be warned...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Garden View is a private residence bed & breakfast, suitable for guests wanting a quiet, restful weekend, and a good base for exploring Amsterdam. Not for two guys backpacking around Europe with their skateboards, crashing at music festivals. Want to have a party? Please somewhere else. Our usual guests come for the cultural and sporting activities that Amsterdam has to offer. Bashing in drunk, late when other guests are sleeping is inconsiderate. Trying to sneak in a random girlfriend in the middle of the night is not on! By law, maximum 4 guests are allowed, and since there were already 4, a 5th was a definite No! Trashing the room so that it's not possible to clear up is annoying - when full of dirty clothes - disgusting! I Never offer to do laundry for guests, but there were so many dirty briefs and socks strewn around the room (in addition to other paraphernalia), I made an exception � but never again! So disorganized when they left, one left a pile of t-shirts! Shoes are not worn in the house, so why would it be okay to have skateboard wheel tracks across the carpet?! No Thank You!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Panama, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Our favorite things about our stay at the Garden View BnB were; amazing and fresh baked breads with breakfast each morning (+ a treat one morning of greek yogurt + fresh blueberries), access to plenty of maps and answered questions from Nessie, an incredibly clean and tidy home that was quite cosy, a lovely balcony and plenty of additional refreshments in the mini fridge and tea/coffee always accessible! Additionally, we could not have asked for a better location. Wishing Nessie all the best 🙂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sophiewiese11415
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2017
7.4

Nessie was a lovely host. Had breakfast ready every morning in our room which was amazing. A lot of rules but nothing too extreme, it's just general home rules. Would recommend for couples or people over 25 not looking for the party scene!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
4.9

The owner is very unfriendly and bossy. The stairway is very stiff and straight up if you have heavy luggage be very careful to hold the handle bar or you will fall backward. The front door has two key holes one is normal but one is about 6 1/2 feet high and you have to follow exact the procedure to look and unlock. You need to shut the door hard to latch. She gave about one hour briefing without conversation. Breakfast is exactly 9:00 Am in your room and you have to be present.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There is false information in this review. These guests are not American. They are +70 � Not +40. There was plenty of conversation, as always, during check in. Among other things, we discuss the time breakfast can be served, and the choices available for breakfast. When explaining the map of Amsterdam, showing where museums are, explaining how to use public transportation, and recommending restaurants, the guest tried to indicate that the Rhine River was behind the Amsterdam Central station. I told the guest that the Rhine River is in the south of the Netherlands. On the bigger map of the Netherlands, I showed how the river comes from Germany into the southern part of the country. The guest was offended, that I corrected him (because he was in the navy in his native country), and didn�t speak to this woman the rest of the stay. All communication was via his wife!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
8.9

Nessie is a wonderful hostess but she runs a very tight ship. You will have everything you need. The bed was very comfotable,the television and DVD player all worked and the heating was easily regulated. The breakfast trays, with all their colour, beauty and treats were worth waiting for. The location was only five minutes walk from Amsterdam Zuid station, where you could catch either a tram, bus or train into Amsterdam central station. We caught the number five tram, which ran very frequently.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

These guests where fun & interesting, a pleasure to host. After 12 years, the pleasure derived from still running Garden View (at age of 74) is the many different nationalities and personalities we get to meet!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
9.1

It was a very nice and pleasant stay in the Garden View B&B. The room was very beautiful and has a balcony to the garden. The food is very delicious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×