X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

GardenHouse B.A. Reviews

Avenida San Juan 1271,San Telmo., Buenos Aires, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
248 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We enjoyed our short stay in the GardenHouse Hostel a lot lot lot!!! The place is very quiet and we had a spacious room with a high ceiling. Its definitly one of the clean comfy hostels where you're actually looking forward to use the bathroom or the kitchen :D You have to walk a little from the city center (I think it was like 20 minutes) to get there so we rather took the bus, there are several stations nearby. The staff was especially nice and helpful, thanks for that guys!


37%

The receptionnist didn't know there was a city called cordoba and she couldn't event manage to take our reservations properly. The showers were very dirty and the main room not cosy at all.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Bathroom was pretty worn down and the water pressure was weak. Bed was alright but left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was pretty minimal as well. Had a great vibe at dinner time though!


54%

I missed passion and heart in every case at the hostel.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

hola responde un poco tarde, pero ahora bueno. i had a very great time in this hostel. the people who work there are very nice and helpfull. los habitaciones son muy bien. y el desayuno también. there is internet connection that we can use. i will recomending this hostel at people looking for accomodation at Buenos Aires. the only thing for was to see the tape leeking all day, so much water wasting, but now it's must be fixe. hasta luego

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

so expensive! for that what you get definitely not to recommend...located on a big ugly street, always loud in the rooms, the beds were not clean...


66%

The best thing about the hostel is the location, near two subway stations though a little danger at night. Staff people are nice though some of then don't know much about city tours and gave us terrible advices. The place is kind of tight and dark, and too hot in the summer - they really shoud get air conditioners. The bathrooms gets too wet until someone cleans it.


51%

too messy and too hot. A little dirty, as well...

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The room booked was not available and I had to stay in a shared bathroom. This bathroom was extremely dirty. The administrator could not provide guidance as to the way and showed me the wrong zoo, and lost almost one day by mistake. Not that I mind, but the hostel is condoning homosexuality and believe that people should be informed about this before booking.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! First of all,it seems that you didn't have any problem for changing rooms.If you let me know what are you really thinking i can look for another option for you.There is only ONE zoo in CABA,if you wanted to go to the other one you have to let us know and we give you the info you need.There is nothing i can say about your obvious problem with diversity, i recommend to check about that before to book other hostel. We just accept people as they are and we are happy for that.-Pam

89%

Staying at GardenHouse B.A. doesn't merely feel like staying at an ordinary hostel. It feels like living with a bunch of dear pals or a close-knit and friendly family. This is not an ordinary hostel. It will make you want to stay here way longer than you intended. I promise you this. The many long-term patrons are proof. Breakfast is included in the already very affordable price. They organise Saturday night barbecues on the balcony or picknicks in the park. Very recommendable. I will be back!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Liechtenstein
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, family atmosphere, comfy hostel with a cool terrasse! A lot of spanish can be spoken.


89%

A pleasant hostel where staff is helpful and friendly. Good atmosfere.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The pictures on the website do not match the reality. An old building with facilities in poor condition and the shower at the private room exit a drop of water on each side. Location in a very busy avenue and entrance is very bad. The bedding and towels were old and low quality




View all Buenos Aires Hostels

Please give us your feedback