Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

GastHaus Bremen Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Aug 2017
9.7

Good but could include bed linen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
7.7

It's becoming tiresome being told when you get to a hostel that you must pay extra for bedsheets, etc. This should be banned, since it puts certain hostels at an advantage when comparing prices. And who is willing to walk away from a hostel for the sake of paying an extra 3 euros? The hostel has you over a barrel once you've arrived...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
9.1

GastHaus Bremen is a nice hostel with good facilities, exterior garden with table where you can hang with other travellers. Also kitchen and common room very good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms with lockers. Couldn't get the hot water to run in the morning for shower, though. Probably didn't wait long enough. Was in a hurry :-/ Location is perfect close to the train station and easy to find. If you don't want to pass the clubs going to the center, go around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
9.4

Rooms are clean and comfortable. I like that each room is themed as a different city. There are enough outlets, but location may not be the greatest. The staff was friendly and helpful. The kitchen was immaculate. I didn't use the common room, but it looked like a good place. First floor shower had no privacy, but they do have a private shower upstairs. The location was a short walk to everything. I extended my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kaitlyn_bomar4851
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.0

Very helpful staff. It's just a 5 minute walk from the train station and about 10 minutes walk the the center of Bremen. The area is a bit sketchy but during the day it's fine. You get your own key to the front door of the hostel which is nice - so random people can't just walk in. The bedroom doors don't have locks but that didn't pose a problem. The door is slightly see through so you can see the hallway light but you can turn it off. Separate men and women toilet and there are lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • train2426809
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

I enjoyed my stay and it met expectations! Friendly staff. It was quiet during my stay, but had great facilities to meet others if busier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
9.7

Excellent place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your super nice feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2017
5.7

Located near a bunch of discos and can feel a bit sketchy at night and during the day. The location is hard to find for taxi drivers and the map given on the business card is not helpful to them. The breakfast buffet is over priced for what is offered. One bathroom for all 3 to 4 rooms to use. The staff were very helpful and friendly though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
9.1

It's very close to the main station and relatively close to the city center. It's a nice place, with nice atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. I recommend the breakfast because the price-quality is good. I fully recommend the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
5.7

Felt a bit dull since checking in. Really quiet with barely anyone around and the receptionist was unenthusiastic and not giving of a friendly welcome. Also some idiot stayed in my dorm who decided to pack for a whole army at 2am. One of the showers was cold but I'm glad I tried another one before accepting my fate. Would be acceptable if the price was like 10 Euros, but for over 20 including linen I should have stayed in a hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.