X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

GastHaus Bremen Backpacker Hostel Reviews

Emil-Waldmann-Strasse 5-6, Bremen, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
360 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Rude Staff, really. The rooms are spartan and not entirely clean. On the second floor there are no showers so one must walk up a floor or down two. Only two tiny toilet cubicals for the whole hallway (unless you feel like going up and down the building) Tried to scam us with the City Tax although we are excempt. Wouldn't come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we feel very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. But thank you that you've taken the time rating us. Hopefully you'll find something more suitable for your needs.

86%

Overall, very nice. Locks on rooms are very old, but there is a modern lock on the exterior door. Sheets and towels cost extra, but this is the same at all hostels! The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. It was nice to have you with us.

51%

They only take cash despite having a machine. I had to leave the hostel walk back to the station to get money because " we don't want to make the banks rich" This hostel is very boring. It is clean but totally lacks any atmosphere. It is like staying in a youth hostel 40 years ago. Extra charged for bedding. very uncomfortable atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for rating us. We do accept all major credit cards but no AMEX like in your case - sorry. Maybe you were more looking for a party hostel, which we're indeed not...

54%

Some of the staff are rude. But if you read the comments that they write back to people you can tell. For some reason the place felt like a gost town. May of just been they people staying there but wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments.

63%

Did not like this hostel. There was a lack of outlets, couldn't get wifi anywhere but near the kitchen and lounge, was talking on the phone in the lounge because was only wifi I could get and staff member asked me when I was going to be done with phone call. I would have never talked in front of people but had no choice. When they say check out is 11 they mean it. Meaning you are not allowed to stay and hang out in lounge nor leave your luggage until your plane, train, or bus leaves.


60%

No locks on the room doors make the rooms feel very insecure despite the availability of lockers. Two of the beds in my six person dorm were damaged on arrival and would have been impossible to sleep on. Staff were rude generally.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, sorry that we did not meet your expectation, but be sure that security, high qualifications and professionalism as well as the tremendous motivation of our staff is present 24hrs. If you spot a problem: Please talk to us while you're here to give us the chance to correct it and make it better. Not so nice to complain about everything when you're gone, isn't it?

80%

Only one guy from the staff was super friendly (as all people working in the service industry should be) - He has long, dark hair. All other days I was greeted by phlegmatic workers. Put on a smile, come on! Excellent location and atmosphere otherwise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your impressions. Maybe it was a very stressful day (no excuse). We'll be more happy while working from now on - promised.



View all Bremen Hostels

Please give us your feedback