Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1002 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1002 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

I stayed at Gaudy's 3 separate times throughout my time in Costa Rica last month and really enjoyed myself each time. The staff were very friendly and SUPER helpful when it came to recommendations on things to do both in the city and in the country of Costa Rica. Both the dorms were nice; the beds were comfy, warm, the bathrooms were also clean and in nice condition. Definitely a place I would recommend to other travelers. Good location; close to downtown, bus stations, and a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel was really nice, and is a convenient place for catching the bus to or from the airport. The staff was very nice, and I made use of their laundry service. I did have hot water, which was refreshing in Central America. I prefer the other side of San Jose, but I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bvaneijden8096
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.7

Pretty good location while coming down from the airport by public bus. Staff welcomed me in a friendly way, atmosphere in the evening was pretty dead as all people went to sleep around 10pm (including me). Could be different at times, I was there only for a night though and I guess most people don't stay in San Jose for too long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

This was a great hostel, almost like your staying in someone's home. Nice livingroom area to chill out in with a big screen TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Not so far from the city centre and only a shit walk from a few restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Nice hostel! Clean, good kitchen and big open common areas, location close to a big supermarket, restaurants and the Ticca bus station. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
5.7

This place won awards 7 years ago but looks like it's gone down hill since. The shower room didn't look like it had had a GOOD clean since the last award. Breakfast not included with my room but if you go to make your own you are made to fell very unwelcome buy some of the staff, also if you stay in the hostle during the day you are made to feel unwelcome by some of the staff. But bed was comfy , the owner was helpful and kind it's a good location especially to the tica bus stop. Would I stay ag

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear sr, we are very surprised by your review, by the time you were her, you seemed to be very happy, i personally asked you twice if you were having breakfast but you replied that you prefer to cook your own british breakfast, when you checked in, you were told you had your bereakfast included and times for the kitchen but you wanted to use the kitchen while we were serving breakfast for 40 people, bathrooms are cleand several times a day, we are very sorry as you were a bit frustrated as you didnt know what you booked.

12th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice little family run hostel You don't need long in San Jose anyway But if you are staying there this hostel is good for a night or two Clean and the staff were helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Good for a one night stay. Location is near the buses and there are multiple bathrooms, some better than others. Staff was helpful, kitchen was good (no microwave) but the WIFI was terrible!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ablakiston
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.3

Only stayed 1 night, great for a good night sleep, good wifi, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Not a party hostel. Gets the Alexis stamp of approval!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.1

Great hostel with a lovely cooked breakfast. Cheap enough to get a taxi to here if you arrive at one of the bus terminals. Good kitchen facilities and some good but expensive restaurants near by. Staff were friendly and helpful in helping us plan onward travel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.