Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel Located at Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose.
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
Costa Rica
San Jose Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor
87% 858
9.9385434 -84.0955781
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. The staff were super helpful for any questions/advice. The hostel was very clean and with lots of spaces to relax. Loved the breakfast - very filling pancakes and fruit, and there was coffee / tea available all day. A very enjoyable stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff very helpful with suggestions and info. A really nice hostel and comfy beds too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

The staff was so hospitable and helpful with any questions. I would definitely stay here again the next time I go through town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.6

What a great place! I've been here at least half a dozen times as I come and go through San Jose and every time I am extremely satisfied. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They regularly take time with guests to help them plan their trip. Everything is well maintained and clean. The kitchen is fairly well equipped and well organized. Lots of space in the numerous common rooms and a pool table to pass the time. Breakfast is small and simple but tasty. All in all a superior hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Gaudys is a great place to stay because the staff are so very friendly and welcoming.They always ask about how our trips out have been and are willing to give ideas about where to go,what to do and how to get there.We were booked in for two nights but decided to stay for the whole week.The free breakfasts are delicious and free tea and coffee is available also. We had a private room which was clean and comfortable. The hostel is central and so it is easy to walk, catch a bus or taxi into town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.9

The staff here are great and super helpful. They are always asking if you need help with anything. They were very welcoming. It's a nice place to stay for a few days if you are in the area. The showers were clean. The breakfast was really good and I don't normally eat breakfast. Over it was a clean place. I enjoyed my time here. I may stop for a couple nights before heading home.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.4

I had a short but wonderful stay at Gaudy's! The staff were super friendly, and drove me to the airport for my flight in the morning. The hostel itself was very clean, though there were only two upstairs bathrooms, making a shower in the morning unlikely. The breakfast was very good, a traditional Costa Rican breakfast. The only warning is to smokers, there are no areas in the hostel to smoke in, so you have to go outside the hostel. The area is very safe though so this is okay too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
10.0

The best hostel I stayed at in Central America- warm welcoming staff, comfortable welcoming common areas, and kitchen for preparing food. Breakfast was great, pancakes and fresh fruit, showers were hot, and it was a really clean lovely space with great energy and kind staff. I ended up staying a few extra days, and would definitely stay here again if in San Jose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • benwallace100
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Sep 2016
8.3

booked via e-mail and arrived to find booking had been deleted. The rate on the door was more than booking via hostelworld so we clicked onto the wifi and booked it online. Overall nice hostel, kitchen was clean and well stocked. Room was nice, bed very comfy but shower was freezing. Wouldn't rush back to San Jose but if we did would defo consider staying again. Oh and the public bus to airport is so so easy and only $1 and even has free wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
9.7

I can't say enough good things about Gaudy's. Even before I arrived, the staff and service was great. They were prompt and responsive with booking my accommodations and booking tours to different day trips. The staff is helpful, friendly and welcoming, and the facilities are kept neat and tidy at all times. There are plenty of common spaces which gives ample opportunities to meet other folks staying at the hostel. Next time I come through San Jose, I will definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.