Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • tomibar72302
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jul 2017
6.9

Me and my friend slept in the privet room. The room is right next to the living room so you hear all the noise all night... And in the morning you hear the breakfast making...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.1

Brilliant value for money. Clean place, comfy bed with fresh bedding. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
8.3

During my two months in Costa Rica I've stayed at Gaudys all 4 times that I've passed through San José. It's super cheap, they make a great breakfast that's included in the cheap price. Lots of common areas to sit and relax. Really friendly travellers come through as well as very helpful staff, and the wifi is really fast. The only downside is not all rooms have lockers to keep valuables locked up if you wanted and some of the bathrooms are pretty small. Will be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.6

This was a nice hostel. We loved the interior courtyard and sitting area. Beds are comfortable. Some of the rooms are on the road, which is a bit noisy. Noise from the common area carries quite a bit as well. The included breakfast was good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
9.7

Had a fantastic stay at Gaudys. Airport pick up ran very smoothly despite my plane being delayed - the team were very helpful and accommodating. Fernando was a great help and the location is great - close enough to stroll easily to the city centre but out of the hustle and bustle. I highly recommend Gaudys if you are visiting San Jose.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
7.4

Helpful staff, good English, clean, quiet, and good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Clean, lots of space, great location. Loved it, will come back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
6.9

Functional. Good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th May 2017
6.6

Booked a twin room but found it so small for me & friend we were moved to an empty dorm. This was still tiny with a tiny bathroom we could hardly move in. Wifi didn't seem to work well either. Staff were very friendly & helpful however

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.7

Lovely place; very welcoming and colorful, with many areas to sit - chat - read. Great pancake breakfast! (I paid $2 as I was in a dorm, but it was worth it).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.