X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
657 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Dodgy little place not what I expected. The traffic was so loud at night, couldn't sleep. The beds were pretty dirty. Location unsafe for female to walk around to supermarket. Very outdated hostel. Their marketing is much better than what it is. I would not return.


89%

The staff was so friendly and helpful. Andrés makes a great breakfast every moring of pancakes and fruit. Everyone is so understanding when trying to navigate you plans for the stay. I stayed in the 8 bedroom room. Every night was so safe, and I never had a problem with safety or security. You can pay in colones or dollars for your stay, locks, drinks, and/or cab rides to/from the airport.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff here was very helpful with all of questions I asked. I loved the layout of the place and it was clean and neat! Decent kitchen for cooking meals which is something I always hope for in a hostel. Breakfast was a plate of yummy pancakes and wonderful fruit. My only complaint is the quiet after 10pm rule isn't followed at all. It was nearly impossible to sleep before 2am because of people downstairs loudly watching tv. Ended up staying an extra night to make it easy to get to the airport


63%

The entire facility is awesome, very big, lots of rooms available, bathrooms, places to relax and connect with others. Unfortunately our room was right next to the street, constant traffic noise all day and night. Luckily we are deep sleepers so it wasn't too much of an issue. The staff seemed to be very unhappy, it was rare that they even cracked a smile. Maybe they just didn't like us or were all having a bad day at the same time. Overall it was a neat hostel and a good experience.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I felt at home and sleapt amazing! Staff is great. You will be happy.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, well organized. Lots of rooms and people but not a party hostel, so it was perfect for me.


69%

Pros: breakfast is great, the owner was very helpful, nice homely feel Cons: wifi not accessible from all the rooms, thin walls so can be noisy, location is not ideal if you want to be close to town but there's a couple of okay restaurants around. Most of the staff were friendly but one or two were not which was a little unpleasant!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad, we are not located closer to sown town san jose which is not a good place for a hostel, we are going to write a short list of the restaurants located less than 5 minutes walk from the hostel: costa rican and all the fast food restaurants, 2 blocks away, mexican, peruvian, colombian, italian, Chinese, Lebanese food 3 blocks away, just to mention some of them.

86%

very quiet Hostel in a nice and safe area, supermarket is close by the trips seem very expensive though and that they charge you if you want to (or have to) hang out in the common area after you check out is not very backpacker-friendly


51%

We reserved 6 beds 2 days in advance and we arrived at 5pm and when shown our beds they had used sheets from the night before. We had to ask them to change them for us. The Internet, for a major city, was worse than on some remote islands. The staff were very helpful with information about getting around the city. We would stay there again if we absolutely had to, but they are charging way too much for what they are capable of offering. This rating change with an appropriate nightly charge.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed here as a group of 5 for just 1 night. It's a relaxed place, with good facilities, and nice staff. Rooms are ok. It's in a quiet street and there's a supermarket and some places to eat nearby. City center is 15-20mins away on foot. Convenient choice.


97%

I would recommend this hostel. It's cosy and has a wonderful breakfast. The dorm rooms are a little tight but the common areas are spacious so it makes up from it. It's a nice walk to the city center.


86%

the staff were fantastic. Really helpful! The home made pancakes for breakfast were delicious.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Facilities were OK but what the guy at reception was really helpful organizing trips from San Jose. Good place to start a trip to Costa Rica.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great quiet, laid back hostel. Walking distance to centro and tons of markets. Irish pub next door. Lots of help from staff about traveling around Costa Rica.


80%

Great place. There is not much to do in San Jose but this is the place to stay. Good breakfast, clean place and great location. Also the staff give great tips to eat or move around.


80%

I used this hostel as a transit when arriving and leaving Costa Rica. It is close to the airport and they offer a shuttle service (24$ US) which was on time and very helpful for me! The only thing that bothered me was that the rooms dorms don't have keys or locks, so basically anybody from the hostel can enter your room, and the lockers in the rooms are really small and not in really good conditions (for small expensive items only). Washroom and kitchen may need more cleaning, but very good stay

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is lovely. The area is warm, calm and relaxing which is perfect as San Jose can feel like a busy city. Its slighting outside the center area (about a 20 min walk) but it's located in a very quaint, safe tranquil neighborhood.


69%

Girlfriend and I stayed in the Balcony Private Room. The latch on the balcony door was a bent over nail, not super secure. The Wi-Fi only reached the room sporadically. There are 2 single beds and a futon in what appears to be an open area where we sat to get reception on wifi because the other common space was full. Turns out they actually rent these out to people, there's only a room divider separating them from the main common space. They arranged transport to the airport for us for $24 USD

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, the door you mention is secure if you lock it, the wi fi works in all rooms, not our fault you have a super old device with very weak reception, the beds you mentioned, yes we rent them as we are usually fully booked and if we do not have more rooms or beds in a dormitory we give this as an option to people who wants to stay here even if there are not rooms left.

63%

Had some problems with false money that the owner of the Hostel didn't solve the best way, which turned into a bad and stressful experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
mmmm, we gave the change after you paid, then you went out all day long and came back 10 hours later saying we had given you a false note bill and asking as to give you the change again... and even like that, you and your friends came back to stay with us again on your last night in San Jose.

89%

Gaudys backpackers was for me a comfortable and safe place to stay in San Jose. Staff was very helpfull to inform about anything that may be needed. Very patient and friendly. Would absolutely recommend the place. I'm a female solo traveler and felt safe to go for a meal in the evening, there are plenty of options nearby. Its a 20-25 minute walk to the main shopping area.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback