Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel Located at Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose.
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
Costa Rica
San Jose Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor
86% 940
9.9385434 -84.0955781
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Really nice hostel. I was there just for a night but still it seemed welcoming and cool. Well Wirkung wifi, hot showers, free coffee and tea and a big book-exchange. But my bed squeezed awfully with every move..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.6

We had a nice stay at Guadys. Staff were really friendly and helpful - gave us advice on public transport, ordered us a cab and carried our bags to our room. Our private room was spacious, clean and the bedding was really comfortable. Hot shower with decent water pressure was a bonus. Free breakfast consisted of toast, jam and beans and rice. Would recommend as a nice quiet stop over :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostess was very knowledgeable and nice. The bathrooms need hand towels. Front room was very noisy due to the constant honking on the street. Good bang for your buck

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.9

First, off lets start with the positive. Amazing staff!!! I ran into a bit of a travel snafu and they greatly exceeded expectations in helping me overcome it. Pretty good location with a supermarket and restaurant/bars within 5-10 min walk. I only stayed the one night so the chill vibe was perfect. However, there were ants in the bathroom and their security is a bit interesting. No key to room or hostel so you get buzzed in even at night. I didn't have to show any ID to get in at 2 am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Location is on a busy street but in a quiet part of the city--15 mins. to walk to the center; by taxi US $4.00 or $5.00. Very clean and tidy place (the owner told me they even wash blankets--most fine hotels don't even do that). I'm retired; the clientele during my stay were mostly 20-somethings. Seemed very quiet and interesting people. Quiet hours begin at 10 p.m., and I'm sure management would have enforced that if it had been a problem. Breakfast varies by the day, dished up on plates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
10.0

very good hostel, great location. i was only there for one night after arriving in san jose airport and it was perfect. Very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

We only stayed for one night but the hostel was only a short taxi ride from the bus stop (we arrived from puerto viejo). We were welcomed very friendly and got a free upgrade from a twin room without bathroom to a double room with private bathroom. The hostel seemed nice and clean. We even got a free cooked breakfast in the morning before the owner called us a cab to go to the bus stop to Liberia which was again pretty close to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel feels like more of a home than a hostel. It offers free wifi, breakfast, warm showers (which are impossible to find in Costa Rica), and a 20-30 min walk to the downtown area. The hostel was kind of empty which was neither good nor bad. The location is also great for hopping on the highway/freeway to head to the airport. There isn't much to do in San Jose but I'm glad that I stayed here vs. the hostels on the other side of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

I have stayed at Gaudy's twice now and will not hesitate to do so again next time I visit San Jose. The place is well situated in the centre of town near amenities and is very well run. The staff are extremely helpful and speak great English, and proved helpful and With ongoing gravel arrangements. The inclusive breakfast is a winner and free Costa Rican coffee a great touch. Fantastic experience, thoroughly recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

The shower door in the shared dorm did not shut properly and meant water went into the hostel dorm. Bathroom was not the cleanest. Ok for 1 night. Wifi worked ok and staff were very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.