Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Clean, lots of space, great location. Loved it, will come back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
6.9

Functional. Good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th May 2017
6.6

Booked a twin room but found it so small for me & friend we were moved to an empty dorm. This was still tiny with a tiny bathroom we could hardly move in. Wifi didn't seem to work well either. Staff were very friendly & helpful however

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.7

Lovely place; very welcoming and colorful, with many areas to sit - chat - read. Great pancake breakfast! (I paid $2 as I was in a dorm, but it was worth it).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.1

My place while in San Jose staff over the top with being helpful .I stayed in the 8 unit dorm and enjoyed the comaradarie meet new friends from all over the world. I am in central Costa Rica at present and will stay at Gaudys again before heading home to Canada Ian Staton Port Alberni

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.3

Quiet, safe and calm. If I know I'm going back to Gaudy's I can relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • coatsie34
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.0

There wasn't nearly enough bathrooms for the dorms and the lockers were tiny and half of them were broken. Not a great place to stay but fine if you're just passing through. Not much atmosphere either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.0

Did the job as a place to stay as an overnighter after flying in from san jose

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

I stayed at Gaudy's 3 separate times throughout my time in Costa Rica last month and really enjoyed myself each time. The staff were very friendly and SUPER helpful when it came to recommendations on things to do both in the city and in the country of Costa Rica. Both the dorms were nice; the beds were comfy, warm, the bathrooms were also clean and in nice condition. Definitely a place I would recommend to other travelers. Good location; close to downtown, bus stations, and a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel was really nice, and is a convenient place for catching the bus to or from the airport. The staff was very nice, and I made use of their laundry service. I did have hot water, which was refreshing in Central America. I prefer the other side of San Jose, but I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.