Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

  • Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel Located at Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose.
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
Costa Rica
San Jose Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor
87% 897
9.9385434 -84.0955781
Gaudys Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Nov 2016
7.7

Good for a quick stop

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.4

Nice place to stay. Taxi pick up from airport was a little too pricey, but nice for the convenience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
10.0

My boyfriend and I used Gaudy's as our Costa Rica home base as we stayed there on 3 different nights. It's close to the bus stops, restaurants, and the big stadium. We watched a soccer game there and were able to walk to and from the game. The owner is extremely knowledgable about many places in Costa Rica, and genuinely cares that you have a good time. He gave us advice, coupons, and let us store a surfboard while we went to La Fortunate for a few days. I would highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
10.0

Gaudy's was a fantastic and chill place. It meets all your needs, breakfast was good, and there's a pub, Public House, literally feet away. If you're looking for a decent arrival/departure hostel for San Jose, then this is it. Staying downtown is a bit overrated unless you're in the mood for shopping for...clothes in Costa Rica. If not, then there's no reason to stay there. Hang out in the outskirts of town and venture out of the city when need be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

Clean quiet hostel with great staff located next to the Park. Great if your staying for event at the national stadium. Grocery store very close, great breakfast easy cab to center of town. I'd stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wanderwall
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.7

We stayed here to catch our flight out of San Jose. I absolutely recommend Gaudy's because the atmosphere is so friendly and the staff (it's a family business and it shows!) are so lovely and helpful. They will help with absolutely any questions such where is the post office, supermarket, where to get the bus and the local sodas. The location, atmosphere and hostel is so much nicer than Costa Rica backpackers. They may not have a pool but this is the hostel if you need to be in San Jose!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlieroberts88
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.3

Friendly staff and everything was great. Laundry was a bit over priced though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
8.3

Great place, location and staff. San jose in itself is just a city to get in before exploring costa rica. They serve an amazing pancake breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
9.1

Clean place whit a lot of places to hang out. En a good English speaking owner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Super helpful staff! ☺️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.