X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Geckos Hostel Reviews

Rua Rita Lourenço da Silveira, n325, 88062060, Lagoa da Conceição., Florianopolis, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
74 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of the best hostel experience in Brazil. Good location between city center and beaches, 5 mins from laguna. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and cozy hostel with big kitchen and swimmimg pool.


74%

Good: - Great location, walking distance from Lagoa da Conceição, restaurants, supermarkets and taxi/bus stops. - Breakfast is really simple, but good. - Nice frontyard with swimming pool, hammocks and "churrasqueira". Bad: - No closets and/or shelves in the private room, just the bed and one single chair. - The flush wasn't working in the backyard toilet, so people from the rooms next to it had to wander all around the hostel to find a free one. -Wi-fi only works at the reception area.


94%

The guys running the place Max and Ross were awsome super helpful friendly enjoyed our time there very much


91%

Geckos Hostel is a great place for exploring Florianopolis. It is located in Lagoa in the middle of the island. The beaches can be easily reached by bus. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruits and juice. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned every day. I really much liked the atmosphere there and the hammocks on the balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful and could recommend us some hiking routs next to Lagoa along the lagoon. I definitely recommend this Hostel!


100%

Geckos Hostel is definitely the best place to stay in Florianópolis. Location is great, close to everything, shops, services, nightlife and the main beaches. The staff is really helpful and friendly. They have a nice pool and a bar. It's also a good place to meet others travellers and some locals. I would stay there again and I really recommend this hostel!


100%

It was really nice to stay there!! The place is very close to good beaches and Lagoa da Conceição. The house is big and the bathrooms are clean.Good services at the reception, good breakfast and great vibe! There is wifi, a nice common area and a kitchen with everything that you need! Dorm rooms have lockers and lots of plugs. There is also a great pool and the staff is the best! O lugar é ótimo! Banheiros limpos, ótimo café da manhã, wifi, cozinha e piscina!O ambiente e o staff são os melhores.


94%

Exceptional staff, went out of their way to help us. Great/Cheap drinks to get the night started (try the Capri's), great location, good breakfast. What else could you want?!?!


100%

excellent hostel, clean with huge common area and great vibe.Good breackfast. Close to everything.


63%

The atmosphere of the house is ok, like a regular beach house. The location is excellent, next of Lagoa da Conceição. But the facilities were terrible. Very hot room, with terrible bed (it was like a stone). The bathroom was very dirty, the floor was a mess to take shower and the toilet impossible to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rafael, we have 3 air conditioning dorm.We always recomend people to book one of this dorm, especially in this incredible hot summer.What you call "stone"it is just an orthopedic matrass,that most people like.If you told us,we would have provided to you an other king size matrass.I'm so sorry for the bathroom.That day unfortunatly has been unusable for a couple of hours because toliet paper has been thrown into the flash and it took time to fix it.

69%

the pool is an amazing advantage, location is central, and the staff is nice.


100%

The Hostel is very clean and neat, i would recommend to my friends.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time at Geckos hostel, the rooms were great value for money! Loved the location as it was easily accessible to beaches and local bars/restaurants! Staff very helpful for organizing day trips or transport for nights out if needed! The bar added great atmosphere to the place maybe due to the Irish management! Would definitely recommend this place!


69%

A nice hostel. Fairly new. The owners are really nice, the rest of the staff might need some training. There is no real activities offered and the lay out does not really accomodate making new friends. All together I think that within one year this will be THE hostel to stay in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David and thank for your nice review!Just remind that actually we offer a lot of activities like surf, paraglyding, rafting, boat rips, day trips, walking, bike tours, pool parties, night parties etc..We just prefer not to hard sell our activities because we want to leave the guest free to make his own choice according to our suggestions, but without force him.The big tv /living room and the out door/pool area offer a lot of opportunities to make great friendships!!

60%

The cheaper dorms don't have aircon, so don't book them when a heatwave is going on, its unbearable. Although they did swap me in to an air conditioned room when I requested at no extra charge, however the air con was very loud. The location was good, but its in a residential area so we had to be quiet after 10pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi NIcole.This has been the hottest summer of the century in Brasil, so it is hot everywhere there is not AC.We have 2 more AC dorms.You could tell me that it was to noisy for you, i would have moved to an other one.Please, be informed that keep silence after 10 pm is not an hostel rule, but a brazilian law that has to be respeceted every where and in every hostel.Here everybody has a lot of fun in our pool and out door area till 10 pm, then goes to one of the many nice bars or clubs of the area

86%

Good breakfast, good wifi, nice common area and kitchen and nice people. The rooms without ac were really swetty at night and the ac-rooms were a bit expensive. Otherwise good hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jakob and thanks for your nice review!Just remind that we have to mix AC dorm that are only 5 r$ more expensive then the no AC doorm!!!

100%

It was really nice to stay there. The place is very close to all good beaches around Lagoa da Conceição. The house is big, clean bathrooms, good services at the reception, good breakfast, great and funny vibe in the air!

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nothing bad to say about this hostel, centrally located, staff were friendly cocktails were cheap, they arranged nights out for the guests with the added bonus of a swimming pool if you were too hungover to venture out for the day and this will happen!


100%

This hostel was a great find. The staff are really helpful and give you all the infomation on things to do on he island and how to get there.they also have a board showing the bars and clubs that are open each night including entry price and music. They also offer transfers to drop off and pick you up after if the club is a distance away which was really good value for money and saves you hassle with taxis. The rooms clean, tidy, bar was great, we didn't want to leave!!


74%

Nice pool, shared spaces and staff. Dorm rooms have small lockers but lots of plugs. Sometimes you have to walk around a bit to find an unoccupied bathroom, but other than that a nice place. Kitchen has everything you need.


100%

Loved my stay here, great bunch of people, differing in age range, from all over the world! This is a new hostel with an Italian at the helm, a traveller himself. Everything is really clean, including the pool in the front yard. Max & staff are really helpful, with great recommendations of what to do around the island and how to do it cheaply! If you want to experience the party scene in Floripa, look no further. They organise & tell you which are the best things every night. Great hostel!


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Florianopolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback