X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Geckos Hostel Reviews

Rua Rita Lourenço da Silveira, n325, 88062060, Lagoa da Conceição., Florianopolis, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
176 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Thee atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. Sometimes the music was good, but other times it was EDM, which doesn’t fit with the vibe of this hostel at all. Other than that, the atmosphere was good. Location and wifi were great. But 4p dorm I stayed in was very small. Drawers/shelfs/hooks would be good! The staff was all really friendly and helpful. There was always someone by the desk, and the woman who cleans and makes breakfast seemed very nice and thorough. I'd gladly come again!


100%

No complaints... actually a very great hostel. I spent 4 nights here & enjoyed my stay a lot. Everything is clean, the wifi works all over the hostel, the breakfast is great too, the beds are comfy, & the staff is nice and always willing to help you if you have any questions. For a good cheap buffet just cross the bridge and it's on the right past a wall of street art.


100%

Great breackfast and delicious barbeque!!location super!!!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good hostel, nice breakfast, few minutes walking from everything you need. Helpful staff. Is a quite place, not a party hostel but everybody was nice. Air con very noisy we had to turn it off at night but wasn't hot.


100%

Excellent Hostel!! Great vibe; clean bathrooms; good kitchen where you can cook anything; very good location, near supermarkets, banks, Lagoa da Conceição and Joaquina beach!! The staff helps a lot with everything that you need. Hostel muito bom!! Ótimo clima, banheiros limpos e uma cozinha onde vc pode cozinhar de tudo. A localização tb é mto boa: perto de supermercado, bancos, bons restaurantes e lanchonetes e ainda dá pra ir pra Lagoa da Conceição e pra Praia da Joaquina a pé!!


94%

I did like the hostel very much. The atmosphere was very kindly and the staff friendly. I have met a lot nice people there. The caipirinha is very good. Only one shower for 12 people, was quite often occupied.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. I would like to remind only that in the whole hostel we have 5 bathrooms for 32 people. One each 7 guests. Hope to see you again here soon!

83%

Hammocks on the balcony are a nice way to see out the rain. Breakfast was pretty standard (bread,ham,cheese,fruit). Hostel was clean and facilities good. Nice location.


100%

The stuff is really good, people were really friendly and the hostel is near the terminal, really happy with it had a great time! They sell drinks but the prices are really cheap, the hostel have a lot of activities and the stuff is open to help you on anything you need.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Geckos is very close to Mole beach.Beds are good though 4 female room is tiny and difficult to get on to top bed. Kitchen is good, place is being cleaned from sand all day. Good tours and available activities. Had a nice stay, recommended.


97%

Loved it. Especially the breakfast was awesome! Loved the toast! And maybe the next one who brings a big Danish flag for their collection will get a discount - I didn't have one ;)


100%

One of my favourites. A really comfortable hostel with great people and an awesome vibe. Definitely recomendable

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Geckos was amazing! Great atmosphere, good location and helpful staff. I had an awesome time there and met great people. I recommend it and would stay there again.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I am still here because it was so good I decided to stay longer. An awesome hostel. Had bbq's together, there's a pool to chill, it's big enough to have fun but small enough to make it a social and chilled environment. Has airconditioner and it's like a cool old house so it has an awesome feel to it. Recommend 100%


89%

Awesome hostel! We had a great time here as it seems to attract the chilled type of traveller which creates a great vibe. Really cheap with great caipirinhas! Dorms were quite stuffy as no air con but we slept in the hammocks on the balcony instead! Beds aren't that comfy but atmosphere makes up for it. In the centre of the island so not too hard to get any where! Swimming pool was really great. Wifi was pretty quick at times but wouldn't even let us join when too many were using it


100%

A great hostel! Best location, it´s very clean, beds are conformable and staff is so friendly and helpful, especially one of the owners, Rossa, cool guy! Would stay there again, totally recommended.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

great vibe!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

If you're looking for a party hostel-run away, this place is dead when it comes to atmosphere! It is close to a major bus stop, supermarket, pharmacy ect. Offers trips at the area, has a nice pool, feels VERY clean and new! Problem is, there aren't a lot of showers. At the top floor there are two rooms, one for 6 and one for 8, and only ONE bathroom (that includes a shower and toilet.. )

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your review. I just would like to remind you that people/guests make the atmosphere. We do not like to oversell our services( fully equipped bar, BBQ, night parties tickets etc..) so, when it happen that there are guests who prefer to chill out on the hammock,reading a book or watch a movie, we like to respect their will and let them do what they want and not what we want. About the bathrooms: we have 5 bathrooms for 32 guests, one every 6 persons, not so bad like you say.

100%

This hostel has an awesome location in lagoa, near to the main beaches in Florianopolis. The staff is great, the environment inside is a plus, because you feel like in home. it is the only hostel in brazil where the internet is fast.


46%

No atmosphere at all. The activities they promote are over priced and then even after you cave in and agree to one, they cancel the day of last minute, leaving you scrambling to make plans. Terrible bar and night club suggestions. The bartender Russ is the best thing about this place, second is the location. Most rooms don't have ac either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If guests want to read a book, watch a movie or chillout on the hammock instead of partiyng, we respect their will.trips cost 35 r$, cheap price.They run everyday but you never showed up on time. All backpapers go to the places all hostels reccomend and love it, you are the only one who did not like. On 6 rooms, 4 have AC and you say most rooms do not have AC.You booked a no AC room and i moved you in AC room for same price.I allow your cki without payment..Are sure the problem is not you?

100%

good choice for a hostel in florianopolis. the only negative thing about staying here is figuring out how the public transport system works in florianopolis.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Florianopolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback