Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generation Europe Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Located at Rue de l'Eléphant 4, , Brussels.
Generation Europe Youth Hostel
Belgium
Brussels 1080 Rue de l'Eléphant 4
82% 394
50.8526667 4.3344712
Generation Europe Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.3

The hostel was really nice, the facilities were relative new and the breakfast was rich and varied. The location is not perfect but you can get to the downtown walking for about 20 minutes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
8.6

A comfortable stay with helpful staff and great value for money. The hostel is situated slightly outside the centre of Brussels so, if you are unfamiliar with the city, be aware of this. The hostel was about a 15min walk to Grand Place. Private rooms are large and comfortable. Everything was very clean. Food: great value. For example, €7.50 for a large pasta dinner + drink. Fee breakfast each morning. €2.30 for local beer. Would certainly stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Large kitchen, fairly clean. Sheets in room were a bit old and could be replaced. Walk into centre not too bad about 25 min. We walked to centre and left bags at use it info desk for free before taking train to next destination which made location not a problem. Good wi fi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
8.3

Contrary to many reviews here I found location of the hostel very good. Walking to the Old Square takes around 15 minutes. I liked atmosphere, wide range of beers in bar and good breakfast. You need to bring your own padlock to the lockers (you can buy it for 5 euros at the reception). The cleanliness is not at the highest level - they do not give sheets for blankets... The floor in the room was also not very clean. I think these small details can be fixed and it is very nice hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.7

No wifi in room Dodgy location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Sep 2016
9.4

Nice place to stay in Brussels, the room was very big and clean, beds comfortable so got a good night's sleep. Location was a little out of the centre but walkable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
7.7

Worst thing about hostel is location - long walk to city center through neighborhood that doesn't feel particularly friendly. Walk to Metro is shorter, but same neighborhood issue applies - the area feels down and out. Staff are nice, though. Room was clean but rough around edges (protective cover peeling off pillow, stained and scuffed counter in shower area, stains inside locker). Tiny "bar." Nice self-serve kitchen. Breakfast fine, but fruit was cut in half and edges were brown. Low energy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.7

Fantastic facilities, with clean rooms & amazing staff. They hailed a cab for us, as well as letting us leave our bags there while we were out for the day after checking out. The breakfast was great. Overall a fantastic stay. We did get a little lost getting to the midfle of Brussles, but the staff gave good directions which helped. Definatly worth a stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2016
2.9

We noticed straight away how unsafe the neighbourhood is. It's far from the city centre and the people in this area are very dodgy, the men were yelling out and harassing us; we felt unsafe even during the day time. The staff were not particularly friendly and rather unhelpful. Our room was filthy when we arrived, the floors were dusty, there was an awful smell and a half full milk bottle under my bed. The dryer was broken and we were told it would not be fixed. No solution was given.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.9

My first ever hostel stay, and I was very impressed. Really nice facilities and rooms and the free breakfast was great! Not in a pretty area of the city, but it wasn't far of a walk and I didn't feel unsafe. Staff were helpful, met some really cool people, overall great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.