Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generation YMCA Hostel Basel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2017
9.1

Nice place. I stayed in a female dorm and since the place was all booked up they tried putting a male in the female dorm, which is sly. The kitchen is really small for the amount of people using it, so get ready to wait awhile or have to squeeze in to prepare dinner. There's a huge dining room/work space and it's pretty much always full and busy. Which can be nice but also overwhelming. Good location. Clean rooms, bathrooms and showers were good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2017
6.3

Not enough charging points for the 8 bed dorm. Struggled to find a spare locker, even though they were numbered according to bed number. Not enough showers/toilets for the amount of people on the floor. wifi was fine, basin in dorm room was handy. Location conveniently near station. Glad I didn't stay here longer as I found it not worth the money per night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • saimmemon
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Sep 2017
10.0

Highly Recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Aug 2017
8.9

Really liked the vibe and setup. Loved the free coffee and tea all day - this is quite exceptional for a Swiss backpackers/hostel. It is clean. The rooms were a bit hot however. The breakfast is not included, but should you pay extra it is a big spread and worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2017
8.0

Good place, close enough to town and great for the train station. Friendly staff. Most of the people staying there were a little older than me, but that's not the worst thing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
10.0

I am from India and I travel . In India I stayed in Youth Hostel. This Basel YMCA experience is awesome ! My next plan to come with my Family. Thanks for all the support. Very Good staffs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2017
6.9

Clean, friendly staff, noisy (poor noise insulation). Doors should really be improved because you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. That wasn't fun. It was fairly clean though. Shared/common indoor area wasn't designed in a way that promoted socialising. Didn't witness a great vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
7.7

Only stayed here for 1 night. The location was perfect. Really close to the train station. The hostel it's self was nice. Lacking a hostel atmosphere. My dorm room was fine but seriously needs more plugs. There was 1 plug at the far end with a power bar plugged in to reach the middle of the room. If you are on a top bunk or on the other side of the room( like I was) forget being able to charge anything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Overall clean, close to main station, and has decent amenities like a fitness center (although small and limited). The staff were very nice, helpful, and approachable. I wish breakfast (9.50CHF) was included or at least a bit cheaper. There were three showers on my floor and all three had empty shampoo bottles throughout my 4 night stay (never refilled?). I also wish they provided free towels. Overall not bad and I enjoyed my stay and would probably use again if some of the above improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
9.7

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It was a relaxed, helpful and friendly environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×