Hostelworld.com

Generation YMCA Hostel Basel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

People of many ages there but there was no party vibe at all, no socials as far as I could tell. It was one of the cleaner and more modern hostels I've stayed in. It's very easy to find and close to the major train station (SBB) and to the trams which take you into the city (number 16). You get free tea and coffee and a kitchen to cook in so that's an upside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff will go beyond the call of duty for you. Sparkling clean facilities. Location is close to public transportation and the bustling downtown district. Dorm room beds are in close proximity to each other so be prepared to get cozy with your roommates. If you have a vehicle parking can be a lil difficult.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.9

Most expensive hostel I have ever stayed at but it is Switzerland. Lovely and clean, Beautiful kitchen and common area. Not many outlets in rooms. Fantastic staff. Well stocked supplies available including snacks and wine. Fantastic breakfast but you have to pay for it. Read directions properly as when you arrive via airport bus or train you have to go to the opposite end end the station to exit and head to hostel, go under or around the megamart. Great travel ticket supplied.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels in basel. Highly recommended for a regular Traveller

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place - I booked on an hour's notice at 9pm, the reception was very hospitable, crisp clean sheets and clean facilities more generally.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Dec 2016
7.4

Good hostel, would describe this more like a small hotel less like a hostel. In a good location, with walking distance to the train station and central town. Great large lounge area with nice real fire place and good sized kitchen. Only downside were a lot of families were staying with children making noise at all hours of the morning. It's good for a place to sleep but not necessarily for meeting people. Very clean facilities though and comfortable beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
10.0

The YMCA was altogether the nicest hostel i've been to. Facilities, location etc were very good and the staff were especially friendly, helpful and welcoming. The atmosphere on the night i spent there was very calm and peaceful which i really appreciated. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel for an amazing price in Switzerland. Super duper clean and spacious, lockers were huge, free tea and coffee and free use of a computer. Martin the manager goes out of his way to help you with everything. I had a great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
9.7

Inviting, clean, friendly, perfect stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.9

My stay was fine specially that I got free upgrade to a room as the dorm i booked was already full. On the constructive side: the heating didnt work at first so i was freezing in the room when i arrived-now heating is quite important wintertime people, so make sure the rooms wait for the guest heated! 2 hours later when I got back it was fixed thank god. Also the receptionists should be ready with recommendations where to eat nearby for reasonable prices!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.