Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generation YMCA Hostel Basel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
8.9

Beds are way too close together but the hostel staff were lovely and social areas were nice. Had everything you needed and a handy Mobility card to get around the city (including the airport) included in the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.4

Super clean and super close to the city centre. Friendly staff with decent breakfast and dinner. Stayed here for a night, i wish I stayed longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th May 2017
8.6

I was in a 8 bed female dorm and I was literally sleeping next to someone. The bunk beds were put touching each other. This was closer than I like to get to people. On the plus side, it was really clean, nice showers, the staff were friendly and it was a 5 minute walk to the train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
9.4

This has been the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. They have all the essentials (towels, linen, lockers, showers, gym, common area, etc). It is really nicely decorated and very comfortable. It is very close to the train station (less than 5 minute walk) and in a nice area. My only compliant would be that the dorm beds are too close together, so you really get to know your bunk-mates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.1

I stayed in a private room, which was in the building next door. It was very quiet. The room was a little worn, but clean. The shower was excellent. The bathrooms were also clean. Because I was out sight-seeing so much, I did not spend much time in the public areas. Lodging in Switzerland is not cheap, but I thought it was a pretty good value for the money paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

I had a great stay. I'll come back for sure. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Excellent place. Really nice clean facilities which include gym, big tv room, big clean kitchen, ping pong and pool tables, clean showers. Bed's are single beds and the 8 person room has beds next to one another with a thing separator. Need to bring your own lock for lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very close to the main train station. I stayed for one night and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was standard and had a sink and mirror which was nice. Shared bathrooms were no problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
8.3

Very clean hostel, friendly staff, comfortable beds, good security. Right next to Basel central railway station, very easy to get around the city and travel to other parts of Switzerland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
9.4

Best hostel i have stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.