Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
Generator Amsterdam Located at Mauritskade 57, , Amsterdam.
Generator Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1092 AD Mauritskade 57
87% 754
52.3607579 4.9188431
Generator Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location, easy access to all transportation. Amazing food. Good staff. Clean. What more can you ask for?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Tanya!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you have liked our hostel. I hope that you also had fun exploring Amsterdam. Please help us spread #genlove. Have a great day, Evald!!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

great experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Nicholas!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. I hope that you had a great time here, and while exploring Amsterdam. Have a great day, Evald!!

  • craigcorn
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Had a great stay. The place was very clean and staff friendly. Only catch is it's a little out of the city centre. Great if you don't mind a nice walk or jumping on a tram. Would go back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Craig!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you have liked our hostel. It's true that we are not located in center, however as you mentioned trams can get you there in 15 minutes, and if you rent our bicycles you can even get there in 10 minutes. I hope that you had time to enjoy Amsterdam. Have a great day, Evald!!

6th Jan 2017
6.0

We arrived early (11:00) & stored our luggage in their on-site luggage storage (at a cost which we were not aware of). Upon returning at 14:30 to pick up our keys, we were told our room was not ready cause they were behind on cleaning. When we got to our room, it appeared the floors had not been cleaned. Our room was on the 2nd floor & the bar in the basement was SO LOUD on Fri. & Sat. nights (our 2 nights there), we could not sleep. Likely would not stay if we were to return to Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Annemarie!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. I'm sorry to hear about what has happened. If you would have pass by reception we would have tried to help you out. I hope that everything else went fine, and that you enjoyed exploring Amsterdam. Have a great day, Evald!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.0

The Hostel was nice, served it purpose and nothing more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there!!! Sorry to hear that not everything went well, is there something we could have done better? If yes, please let us know about it. Enjoy your day, Evald!!

27th Dec 2016
6.0

The common room of the hostel had a pretty cool vibe although it doesn't seem like a place where you could easily meet new people. My main problem though is that we were placed in a room that smelled really bad, with a clogged shower and sink, and the entire place was extremely dirty, with crumbs and dirt etc everywhere, and a light that didn't work. Although they fixed and cleaned the shower and sink when we complained, they left everything else just as dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hannah!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. Sorry to hear about your room, if you would have passed by reception we could have tried to do something about it. I hope that everything else went fine with your trip. Enjoy your day, Evald!!

25th Dec 2016
6.6

Good hostel within itself- I had a 4 mixed bunk with its own bathroom and shower. Not a very social atmosphere with not the best location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Andrea!!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. I sorry to hear that you didn't have a Generator experience. I do hope that everything else went fine. Enjoy your day, Evald!!

  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
5.7

room was dirty by the time we arrive and also we found a stinky pair of socks, must say. There are plenty of plugs on the room! and also nice and cozy beds :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Place is super modern and staff are great! Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Geoffrey!!! Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are so happy to hear that you have liked it here. I hope that you had great time in Amsterdam as well. Have a great day, Evald!!

21st Dec 2016
6.3

Clean, big and nice bedrooms, I stayed in a 4 mixed room, it has bathroom, hangers, bench, plugs, light and lockers for each bed. The location is far from the city center, around 15-20 minutes walking, this could be a problem when you are walking with baggage, but at night is very safe and never had problems walking back from the city to the hostel The ambient is not hostal like, most hotel like. Couldn't found any mini market near. And keep present that this is a non smoking hostel, although yo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.