Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

Hands down the best hostel I've stayed in -- and I've traveled extensively. Everything was excellent and I'll definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed our stay here. The Table Tennis, foosball made it a fun experience. The rooms were tidy and atmosphere was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.4

This place was beautiful and clean. It was truly an enjoyable experience. The only thing that wasn't great was it's location - it's a little far from a lot of attractions, which is totally fine if you're willing to walk. The tram is also close, so that can be used to get around easily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kconnelly544
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.7

Wifi and air conditioning were fantastic. Found t a little hard to meet others though, because I did not hear about any events. Everything else I absolutely loved about it. It was right by a beautiful park, staff were great, everything was perfectly clean. Would totally recommend staying here to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
8.9

Amazing staff and incredible atmosphere ! The place itself si awesome, and the rooms ( 4 beds ) super clean and convenient. Location is good, and it is possible to rent a bike from the hostel itself ! Definitely recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • judithgantschnigg7485
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.9

Really nice staff, clean and not too big rooms and a nice restaurant/bar with a vegan option. Many facilities to hang out and there's even a park in front of the door! Unfortunately, there's no kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
3.7

We had a very poor stay at the Generator Amsterdam. The staff was not very helpful, & they seemed annoyed whenever you asked questions. You are not allowed to bring your own food in, and everything was overpriced. You can rent bikes that don't even work for 17.5 euro. The rooms were gross and unclean. There wasn't soap for bathroom. One of our roommates took over the entire suite and brought guests into room unannounced, which didn't feel safe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.4

Having visited Amsterdam many many times, this was one of the best hostels / hotels I have stayed in yet. The building is incredibly impressive, spacious and feels like a large boutique hotel rather than a hostel. More facilities here than most other hostels / hotels in Amsterdam and the area is beautiful; full of un-touristy, great local haunts. A little expensive but you get what you pay for. Whether you're going as a group or solo traveler, I would definitely recommend checking this place out

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Great atmosphere and facilities and the location is pretty awesome too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Really nice, kick back hostel. Had good roomies for the time being in a 4 bed shared room. Beds were good, sheets were clean, plenty of bathrooms. Lots of places in the hostel to relax, drink, eat, talk or just meet people. I would definitely stay here again. Suggetions: Maybe a little rack or table in bathroom to put your clothes on while you shower, so they don't get wet. Or a mat that absorbs water. Cons: Can't bring outside food in. Sometimes you need a little late snack or cold drink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.