Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Berlin Mitte

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
7.4

The rooms have poor ventitaltion and if you dare to open the little windows the noise is unbearable. Also I made a booking for a room for 6 people and was given a bed in a room for 8.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Rafael, thanks for rating us! We' re sorry to hear that there were issues during your stay. We have a 24h reception and our colleagues are happy to assist at any time. Best regards FO Team

19th May 2017
7.1

Located in a busy part of town by lots of bars and restaurants, and close to metro and bus stops. Generator hostels have a good social scene, with busy bars and common areas. It's a good place to meet other travelers. Poor bed layout in the shared rooms, which did not optimize the available space very well. Rooms are not cleaned very often, so it's easy for used towels and left left behind items to pile up ensuite. However, it's a good set-up considering it's very affordable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bennorton916128
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
9.7

Really good place to stay, bar crawl start point 2 seconds down the road, what more could you need👌 En suit bathroom and shower, staff are welcoming and a good laugh Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Ben, thanks a lot for your kind review! We are thrilled to read that you would return any time and that our staff left such a got impression :-) All the best FO Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel - best one I've stayed in so far on my backpacking tour and I would highly recommend it. Really great atmosphere :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Toni, thanks a lot for this amazing review! We are super thrilled that you had such a good time in Berlin and look forward to your next stay :-) All the best FO Team

12th May 2017
5.4

Hotel style hostel with no atmosphere and very limited common areas.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear David, thanks for taking the time to rate us! We are sorry to hear that you we not 100% satisfied with your stay. We hope during your next stay you'll meet more like-minded travelers to hang our with in our Bar or Cafe. Best regards FO team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel with fantastic beds and facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Mark, thank you for your review. we are happy that you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again one day. best regards Whitney, fO

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2017
10.0

Very happy with this hostel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is also a great location - very easy to get around and near the downtown area. Have laundry, which is very helpful and an Photo Booth. Also sells various items that you might forgot to pack for your travels. Offer free walking tours, and also other tickets for tours, museums, and activities. Would book again - if I ever go back to Berlin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Cindy, thank you for the great review! We are very happy that you had a great stay with us. We hope you will find your back to Berlin and to Generator. Wish you all the best, best regards Whitney,FO

5th May 2017
7.7

Inconsiderate roommates, demagnetizing keycards, and bad advice... Let's just say this wasn't the best hostel experience I've ever had. But the bed was super comfy, and the location was excellent, so I'm willing to give Generator Berlin Mitte the benefit of the doubt. I'll try it again someday. I loved the Hackescher Markt area (about 5 minutes' walk from the hostel, with a small Saturday open-air market, and good S-Bahn connection to get to Potsdam, Wannsee and Peacock Island).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gwenchiasson
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2017
7.4

Hostel is really big and has all the facilities you could need! All the major sites are within walking distance. The front desk staff were very helpful with anything we needed! Our particular dorm room was very quiet but there are lots of common areas to hang out in if you're looking to be more social.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.3

It was an okay stay - easy to make friends and be social at the bar. Free walking tour covers a lot. Trams/metro is easily accessible from right outside and can take you everywhere within 20 minutes. Very clean facilities. The only issue I have is that somebody stole cash when I left my bag out during a shower in the ensure bathroom - I think it may have been a cleaning staff member but I am not sure and it was my own fault for not locking the bag away even if it was only for a short while.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Zuhra, thank you for taking time to write a review and your positive feedback. Great to read that you liked our location, our social areas and even the free walking tour!!! We are very sorry for what happened in the bathroom - next time come to the reception and tell us. Zuhra, we hope to see you again in our hostel! All the best, Front Office Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.