X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Berlin Mitte Reviews

Oranienburger Strasse 65, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
786 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had a great stay here - absolutely loved Berlin! The staff were really friendly and and the room was spotless. We'd definitely stay here again and are already planning our next trip to Berlin. Thank you!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We're happy that you had a great time here and enjoyed our hostel. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

100%

I stayed in a female 6-bed dorm. The room was very clean and comfortable. Little details made the room better than most hostel dorms. Toilet and sink are in a separate room from the shower, so if someone is showering the other is still open. In room, outside the bathroom, there is a little area with mirrors, chairs, and a hair dryer. This makes it easy for everyone to get ready. The bar downstairs was fun. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi It great to read that you liked our Female dorm with the extras that we have in place, as in the mirror and Hair dryer. We hope to see you again in one of our Hostels. Regards, Nelson

83%

Very cool hotel. All the staff is very friendly. The parties at the bar (especially saturday night) were really good!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are happy that you had a good party in our bar and had a lot of fun here. See you soon. Regards, Melanie AGM

51%

Good things are good wifi coverage and good hygiene. Ridiculous things: Staff shifted duty during check-in peak hour leading to long queue. No hot kettle provided by the hostel without sharing kitchen for guests. If you want hot boiling water, you will be charged 50 cents for each item which needs hot boiling water. No outside food or drink can be brought and eaten in the hostel. Staff forced me to eat outside the hostel. Is it really a hostel or a hotel?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are Sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with our house rules that no food and drinks from out side are alowed in to the building. We will also look in to the time off shift changes. Best regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

77%

Overall, the hostel was a good value for the money and very clean. However, the second evening I was there the staff somehow let in a local homeless woman (who proceeded to make tons of noise at 1 AM, smoke drugs in our bathroom, and snore loudly the whole night). I honestly did not feel as safe after that, and feel like they need to review their guest policy. Especially when it is an all female, solo traveler room - safety is key! Also, when I had a slight issue at checkout, staff were rude

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy to read that overall you found the property good value and clean. We are sorry to ready that their was an isue with another guest at night, if this had of been transmited at the correct time our night team would of dealt with problem. Regards, Nelson Fronte Office Manager

100%

Too many prostitutes standing around that area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We thank you for staying at Generator Berlin Mitte. Regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

91%

We had a great stay in in this hostel. It is clean and kept and at an excellent location. Real value for money. We had a twin room and never heard any noise from the other rooms. For me the only down side was no guest kitchen and sometimes not exactly fresh food in the coffee lounge. But staff was always nice and went out of their way to deal with anything I wasn't happy about.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We thank you for your comments, and we always try to help our guest in any way posible. Best Regards, Nelson Front Office Manager

97%

One of my favourite hostels so far this trip! The staff were excellent and some of the friendliest people I have encountered. The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic as well. They have a bar and cafe attached to the hostel, I was able to watch the football and made a few new friends in the process. Location was also great! As Berlin is so huge, I did purchase a transport pass, but it's still possible to walk to many of the famous attractions with ease. I will definitely be returning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Its great to read that we were your favourite property so far, and we are very proud in having great staff as well. We hope to welcome back to Generator Berlin Mitte. Regards. Nelson, Front Office Manager

77%

Great hostel. Really stuffy rooms. Loud music from bar from 10 to 2 friday thru Monday so you can't even open the window. Staff is pretty accommodating and changed us into a smaller room after complaining. They don't help too much with sites and transportation around Berlin. Showers are one to a room, kind of ridiculous if you are staying with 8 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are sorry to ready that you had some problems during your stay, but were resolved when changing room. The top windows are the ones that you can open. On every floor you can find an extra bathroom with a shower to help when the bathroom in the room is been used. Regards From Berlin, Nelson Front Office Manager

100%

Could not have wished for a better stay! The staff were very helpful, the place was vibrant, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean and modern. A very pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We thank you for great comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Nelson FOM

80%

+ central location, restaurant, common places, adequate price - mind the security: you need to take a padlock with you, no padlock rent; my locker did not work, used another one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taken the time to leave your positive comments. Rerds, Nelson Front office Manager

83%

Twenty minute walk to Brandenburg Gate, fifteen minutes to Alexanderplatz. Comfortable bed, big locking drawers (could fit two small suitcases easily). Plenty of outlets in room; hairdryer provided. Good number of restaurants nearby. Free wifi. Towel rental 1 euro (plus 5 euro deposit). Friendly staff. Breakfast not included (4.50-5.50 euros).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a great time here and liked our design and hostel. We would love to welcome you again. Regards, Melanie AGM

74%

Great location, great security, atmosphere was dull and pretty boring. Breakfast is basic/average: bread, ham, cheese, cereal and juices. Staff are friendly. Beds comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Best wishes, Nelson, Front office Manager

91%

lovely hostel! 10 minute walk away from everything major! hostel staff were friendly and helpful, and the social areas were always upbeat and filled with people! stayed in a 6bed female dorm, it was clean and quiet, only shared with one other!! would definitely stay here again, thanks!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We're happy that you had such a great time here and liked our social areas and our special female dorms. We would love to welcome you again. Regards, Melanie, AGM

83%

WiFi was great, staff was very friendly and helpful, location was superb. The bar was pretty weak, and the bedrooms were SO cramped it felt like sleeping in a sardine can. Bunk beds were 2 feet away from each other, which meant that when you opened the locker drawer underneath the bed, no one could walk by. SUPER cramped feeling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are happy that you liked our hostel. Depending on the occupancy there is always the chance to change to a larger room. Just let us know next time. Kind regards, Melanie, AGM

89%

Had a great time! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your comments. regards, Nelson

94%

This hostel is part of a chain - keeping that in mind, it's a bit hard to meet other people as they are mostly in groups. Little kids on field trips seem to stay here often, which got annoying after a while. Bathrooms were fine except mine smelled like poop constantly. The beds though - one of the most comfortable I've slept in. A bit of a bummer that you have to pay to rent a towel, and you also need to assemble your own bedding. Other than that, good location and price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review your. Please be sure that I have passed on your comments to our team as we are constantly trying to improve our facilities and services. Best regards, Nelson

100%

the hostel was super nice, new, clean and modern. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. i spent some nice days there and i felt welcomed from the first moment i arrived.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Nelson

100%

New, Clean, close to the u-bahn, really value for money

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, And thank you for positive comments. Regards from Berlin Nelson

91%

Hostel was amazing! Perfect location and perfect decor! Only downside was that the breakfast was a bit ropey and the cafe staff could have been happier.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Generator Berlin Mitte. Please be sure that I have passed on your comments to our team as we are constantly trying to improve our services. We hope you will give us another chance. Best regards, Nelson

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback