X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Berlin Mitte Reviews

Oranienburger Strasse 65, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
816 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good place, big bar, only thing is rooms are very cramped


86%

The breakfast seemed a bit to expensive for what they've offered: 1. as a meat eater there was not much to choose from... 2. as a vegetarian - there were no fruits available

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We thank for taken the time in posting this review, as for breakfast we fined it good value for money, at 4,50€ at the check in for the buffet. We always have two types of meat and cheese and fruits are available on certain day. Alternative to the breakfast we have the coffee shop which can help with any special requirements. Best regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

97%

Best Hostel I've ever stayed in, if any other city I visit has a Generator I will definitely stay there!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, We thank you for positive comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. :-) Best regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

74%

Very cramped rooms and overall unfriendly staff, do not out weigh the good location and facilities. I would not recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank your for writing about your experience with us. It´ s our claim that all our Guests are treated friendly, we are sorry that it wasn't like that in your case. We would love to welcome you again to prove that we can do better. Kind regards, Melanie, AGM

74%

Extremely loud no matter the day of the week. As a solo traveller, I found it sightly difficult to meet people due to the lay out of the hostel. The hostel also lacks a kitchen which is really disappointing for someone traveling on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, We sorry to ready that you found our hostel loud. But at reception we happy help with ear plugs and recommendations if need to meet people as well. May be next time. Best regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

80%

Good hostel handy location to attractions, nice rooms with comfy beds and really nice common area to hang out in. Need wheels or rails put on luggage storage under the beds as very hard to pull out

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taken the time to review us. Happy to read that you liked our rooms and common areas. Regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

97%

We had a great stay here - absolutely loved Berlin! The staff were really friendly and and the room was spotless. We'd definitely stay here again and are already planning our next trip to Berlin. Thank you!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We're happy that you had a great time here and enjoyed our hostel. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

89%

A big, professionally managed hostel that is clean, modern and comfortable. But lacks the intimate feeling of smaller hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments on how well the place is managed and how clean the hostel is. We are sorry to ready that you prefer a smaller hostels. Regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

100%

I stayed in a female 6-bed dorm. The room was very clean and comfortable. Little details made the room better than most hostel dorms. Toilet and sink are in a separate room from the shower, so if someone is showering the other is still open. In room, outside the bathroom, there is a little area with mirrors, chairs, and a hair dryer. This makes it easy for everyone to get ready. The bar downstairs was fun. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi It great to read that you liked our Female dorm with the extras that we have in place, as in the mirror and Hair dryer. We hope to see you again in one of our Hostels. Regards, Nelson

83%

Very cool hotel. All the staff is very friendly. The parties at the bar (especially saturday night) were really good!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are happy that you had a good party in our bar and had a lot of fun here. See you soon. Regards, Melanie AGM

51%

Good things are good wifi coverage and good hygiene. Ridiculous things: Staff shifted duty during check-in peak hour leading to long queue. No hot kettle provided by the hostel without sharing kitchen for guests. If you want hot boiling water, you will be charged 50 cents for each item which needs hot boiling water. No outside food or drink can be brought and eaten in the hostel. Staff forced me to eat outside the hostel. Is it really a hostel or a hotel?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are Sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with our house rules that no food and drinks from out side are alowed in to the building. We will also look in to the time off shift changes. Best regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

77%

Overall, the hostel was a good value for the money and very clean. However, the second evening I was there the staff somehow let in a local homeless woman (who proceeded to make tons of noise at 1 AM, smoke drugs in our bathroom, and snore loudly the whole night). I honestly did not feel as safe after that, and feel like they need to review their guest policy. Especially when it is an all female, solo traveler room - safety is key! Also, when I had a slight issue at checkout, staff were rude

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy to read that overall you found the property good value and clean. We are sorry to ready that their was an isue with another guest at night, if this had of been transmited at the correct time our night team would of dealt with problem. Regards, Nelson Fronte Office Manager

100%

Too many prostitutes standing around that area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We thank you for staying at Generator Berlin Mitte. Regards, Nelson, Front Office Manager

91%

We had a great stay in in this hostel. It is clean and kept and at an excellent location. Real value for money. We had a twin room and never heard any noise from the other rooms. For me the only down side was no guest kitchen and sometimes not exactly fresh food in the coffee lounge. But staff was always nice and went out of their way to deal with anything I wasn't happy about.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We thank you for your comments, and we always try to help our guest in any way posible. Best Regards, Nelson Front Office Manager

97%

One of my favourite hostels so far this trip! The staff were excellent and some of the friendliest people I have encountered. The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic as well. They have a bar and cafe attached to the hostel, I was able to watch the football and made a few new friends in the process. Location was also great! As Berlin is so huge, I did purchase a transport pass, but it's still possible to walk to many of the famous attractions with ease. I will definitely be returning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Its great to read that we were your favourite property so far, and we are very proud in having great staff as well. We hope to welcome back to Generator Berlin Mitte. Regards. Nelson, Front Office Manager

77%

Great hostel. Really stuffy rooms. Loud music from bar from 10 to 2 friday thru Monday so you can't even open the window. Staff is pretty accommodating and changed us into a smaller room after complaining. They don't help too much with sites and transportation around Berlin. Showers are one to a room, kind of ridiculous if you are staying with 8 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are sorry to ready that you had some problems during your stay, but were resolved when changing room. The top windows are the ones that you can open. On every floor you can find an extra bathroom with a shower to help when the bathroom in the room is been used. Regards From Berlin, Nelson Front Office Manager

100%

Could not have wished for a better stay! The staff were very helpful, the place was vibrant, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean and modern. A very pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We thank you for great comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Nelson FOM

80%

+ central location, restaurant, common places, adequate price - mind the security: you need to take a padlock with you, no padlock rent; my locker did not work, used another one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taken the time to leave your positive comments. Rerds, Nelson Front office Manager

83%

Twenty minute walk to Brandenburg Gate, fifteen minutes to Alexanderplatz. Comfortable bed, big locking drawers (could fit two small suitcases easily). Plenty of outlets in room; hairdryer provided. Good number of restaurants nearby. Free wifi. Towel rental 1 euro (plus 5 euro deposit). Friendly staff. Breakfast not included (4.50-5.50 euros).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a great time here and liked our design and hostel. We would love to welcome you again. Regards, Melanie AGM

74%

Great location, great security, atmosphere was dull and pretty boring. Breakfast is basic/average: bread, ham, cheese, cereal and juices. Staff are friendly. Beds comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Best wishes, Nelson, Front office Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback