X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Berlin Mitte Reviews

Oranienburger Strasse 65, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1375 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such a cool space for young people to stay, fabulous city. Met lots of like minded people, the best trip thanks to the generator!

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review :) It's super nice to hear you had such a pleasent stay at our hostel. We'd love to welcome you again soon, Best Regards and safe travels, Catarina Trigo (Front Office)

80%

The hostel is in a great location in Mitte. It is very modern and commercial - if that is what you are after, and facilities are very good. The staff were helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the help of our staff :) We hope to see you again at Generator Berlin Mitte. Best Regards and Safe travels, Catarina (front office)

89%

Staff were amazingly nice. Food at hostel is a bit more expensive than surrounding shops though. Currywurst shop 50 metres down the road was best food i have had in Europe. Had almost a whole room to ourselves and the beds are laid out to maximise privacy + very comfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel. It's super nice to hear that you found our staff amazingly nice and that you enjoyed our beds :) Thank you for the tip about the Currywurst shop down the road! We hope to see you again at Generator Berlin Mitte. Best Regards and Safe travels, Catarina (front office)

86%

Great time and cool place one of the nicer hostels I've stayed in


94%

Very helpful staff, who all spoke fluent English. Nice clean rooms, nice facilities.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for reviewing our hostel. we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay :). We hope to see you soon at Generator Berlin Mitte. Best Regards and Safe travels, Catarina (front office)

83%

1. The breakfast buffet is very good for 6,5E-with poridge included! 2. The housekeepers were slow in cleaning the room-we waited 35 minutes to check-in because the room wasn't clean. 3. Good wi-fi connection. 4. The washing gel/shampoo is missing from the private rooms' bathrooms. Not the soap.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are glad you had good time at the Generator. See you soon. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

91%

Overall a great place to stay, didn't seem to be very busy. Seemed to be a lot of families and older guests... We had a family staying in our room which was uncomfortable at times however they didn't speak much English so wasn't a problem. Can imagine it would be a total different atmosphere in the summer? Reception staff really friendly and helpful.. Cafe staff not so much.. Felt like they had attitude and you were doing something wrong by asking for something like mayo..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good time at the Generator. We'll pass your points to the responsible manager and train our team to improve our service. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

97%

Location is very central (close to all main landmarks) and the hostel is very easy to find. The staff is very friendly and the security of the building is excellent. Room was clean, shower and beds were great. I would definitely recommend this hostel to friends and come here again myself, too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review and for recommending us. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

100%

Great location in the heart of the city. Easy to get around. The staff are fantastic. Super friendly and showed everyone a good time. Place is super clean. Would come back again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We would love to welcome you again . Kind regards, Melanie AGM

100%

We loved the hostel, quality price was excellent and the pub and bar really good. Staff is really helpful and rooms are super clean!

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing abour your experience with us. It's fantastic that you had a good time at the Generator. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

49%

I stayed at 8 persons domitory room. it was a nightmare. the room was too much small for 8persons and the bath room has too much bad smell. i was expected the 'fancy hostel in the middle of berlin' as the Generater wanted to be looks like. but it was horrible.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry, that your stay wasn't like you expected. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

86%

Hostel was good. Locations was ok. You have to walk because berlin is big but you have the historical part near . Accommodation was very good. Breakfast is complete. I reccomend this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us! See you soon. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

97%

Despite a excellent stay, 3 out of 6 lockers in my room was not working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review! We are deeply sorry that the locker didn't work. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

91%

Great place, great stay, great parties and great staff ! Dänke !

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

86%

The staff and location are amazing I just didn't like the hidden costs of things there but otherwise it was a nice place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We'll analyze how we can improve on the points you mentioned. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

100%

Lovely hostel, in a brilliant location. Amazing value for money! With the best staff!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind words. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

97%

Overall it was a great stay! Everyone was very welcoming. Just wished the drain worked properly in the dorm ensuite shower room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review our hostel :). We are particularly glad that our staff helped you feel welcome. In the future please let the reception know if you have any trouble with the bathroom drain. We hope to welcome you again, Catarina Trigo, (Front Office)

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at Generator! Nice location, friendly staff, good cheap breakfast, and really clean! Nice little cafe/restaurant attached to the common area also. They have a lot of information on taking walking tours at the front desk which was really useful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's fantastic that you had such a great time at the Generator. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

77%

Theoretically a really good hostel, but felt like it was way to much of a business for me to properly enjoy it (4.5 breakfast!? And the vending machine with drinks from 4 euro for e.g) for me these kind of things made it stale.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We'll pass your points to the responsible manager to check how we can improve on the situation you mentioned. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

94%

We enjoyed our stay at Generator Berlin Mitte very much. The hostel was comforatbale and warm. However on a couple of nights there was some noise possibly fro mthe central heating and aslo a bit of nosie in the corridor fro mother guests. Perhaps guests coudl be reminded to respect the needs of other guests. Also the cafe ran out of food one night quite early and on another night there was quite a long wait for food. However the food was very good and the staff were good too.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are deeply sorry for the circumstances with the heating and the food in the café, this is not our standard and we'll work on this. We would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Melanie AGM

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback