X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Berlin Mitte Reviews

Oranienburger Strasse 65, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
593 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean and comfy. Highly recommend breakfast; cheese, meat, toast, cereals, and fruit.


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent internet facilities. Breakfast offered was a bit overpriced for what it's worth.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really clean place with excellent facilities. Very large hostel which made it seem a little in-personable at times. Staff were friendly and polite but weren't able to give too much advice around clubs and events over the weekend we stayed there. Bar and cafe on site was pretty cool.


100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your awesome review. See you soon at the Generator Berlin Mitte. Regards, Melanie

100%

Highly recommended. Extremely good location. Very friendly staff and very clean. No complaints

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Breakfast is not that satisfactory, apart from that it's a very nice hostel

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good too meet other travellers. The rooms are great. The bar is a good place to drinks some local pints while you find some fellow travellers to go out with, which you can do ind the local neighbourhood, or you can take the metro right outside the hostel.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It's great that you met nice people during your stay here. We hope you'll stay in touch! Safe travels

97%

I could not recommend it higher! On my next trip I'm definitely staying in Generator! Everything at this place was amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and see you again soon :)

83%

Pretty good hostel - good location and modern, clean and new. Not a fan of the automatic timer lights in the bathroom - had to step out of the shower a bunch of times to turn them back on which resulted in water going everywhere. Need bathmats of some sort. Overall v good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review. If you could let us know the room number by email, we will take care of the light in the bathroom. Thank you so much!

100%

Best hostel I've ever been, by far!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Easily by-passable security, average location, and ludicrousness of needing a special access card to do laundry. Besides these points, a the Berlin Generator is a good hostel.


83%

Initially we were in an 8 bed dorm, there was no atmosphere here. We stayed for one night and then upgraded to a private room. This was very clean and well presented (as in the ad). The problem is the lights, they are motion sensitive in the toilet and shower rooms meaning at night they turn on when you don't want them to and in the morning you are plunged into a dark shower having to resort to the motion sensor dance. Also beware the rule of no outside food to be brought onto the premises.


100%

Awesome hostel. I would recommend that you defiantly stay here. It is close to the S Bahn which goes everywhere and most things are in walking distance. The facilities are new and fantastic lockers in every room and if you forget anything or run out they have it for sale in the lobby. The layout of the dorms give a sense of privacy and wifi works great😀

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for your kind review. Have you also checked out the cool Berlin souvenirs in our GenStore? Safe travels! The Generator Berlin Mitte Team

89%

Love the style if these generator hostels and the friendliness of the staff. Big windows without curtains so make sure to bring nightmask.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. All our rooms have blackout curtains or pull down shades. If you experience technical issues during your stay, our front office team is happy to fix them. Safe travels.

100%

This was an amazing place for a hostel. Staff were so nice, facilities were great.


77%

The staff was most friendly upon arrival. Rooms were rather clean. Breakfast was alright, but the coffee was abysmal, as it was instant coffee. Location was absolutely wonderful and the staff always helpful when you'd need directions. Only horrible things were the doors, especially at night. When a door would slam in the hallway, your dorm room's door would shake so much that it would sometimes open itself. Still, great hostel - would recommend it, if only for the location and the staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you that you took the time to write us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel and liked the location. It’s our claim, that our guests sleep well. We regret that it wasn't so in your case. Our maintenance team will take care of the doors. Our team will be happy to welcome you again at the Generator Berlin Mitte. Kind regards, Melanie Upmann Assistant General Manager

94%

The cleanest most modern hostel I have stayed. Excellent facility's friendly staff can't fault this place what so ever! Location is also perfect in the heart of Berlin, The free walking tour is a must!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The foods great, but I wish there wasn't a rule about outside food. I booked in advance, not thinking it would be a problem. But being on a food budget I would have loved to be able to bring in snacks.


94%

This place was sooo much better than i expected and great value for money spent. The rooms were clean and spacious for a hostel. The staff was friendly and ready to help with all you needed. It was in close proximity to all major sights. Would definitely stay here again.


100%

The best Hostel I have ever stayed. Ever !! Incredible.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(157 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback