Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Generator Hamburg Located at Steintorplatz 3, , Hamburg.
Generator Hamburg
Germany
Hamburg 20099 Steintorplatz 3,
84% 4204
53.5525851 10.0089311
Generator Hamburg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.3

Great hostel, but the showers and toilets within the rooms are uncomfortably small

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review :) We have a shower and a toilet in every room. Even though they are a bit small, we offer our guests another shower next to the rooms on every floor. These showers are bigger and should fit for everyone. All the best, Maria Hansen Front Office Agent

  • lucasrocca
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.3

Hostel ok. We stayed at a 8 bed dorm, which was very tight. When the room was full, it was impossible to access all the lockers at the same time or move around the room. Besides that, the beds were too close, which was a bit unconfurtable. The guy that made our check-in was horrible, he does not know anything and does not speak english very well either. The bathroom and shower are ridiculously small and unconfurtable. The cleaning people were rude and enter the room pretty early (around 10am).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.4

this is a nice clean hostel but it misses a kithen and a place to meet other travelwrs and with that it misses any kind of friendly open minded traveler atmosphere. you might bee lucky to meet some friendly room mates but otherwise it just a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Moin, Thank you for you stay at Generator Hostel Hamburg. Unfortunately we do not offer a selfservice kitchen, but you can buy some food like Pizza or Lasagne in our Bar and some fresh Baguettes in the café if you like to. All the best, Maria Hansen, Front Office Agent

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Supa easy coming in and out by flix bus The staff were always very helpful I found

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again :) Kind regards, Maria Hansen Front Office Agent

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

I had really good stay there. The location is great and it's perfectly clean. The only down point is the bathroom and toilet inside is quite small and not good sound proof.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We have a shower and a toilet in every room. Even though they are a bit small, we offer our guests another shower next to the rooms on every floor. Best regards, Maria Hansen, Front Office Agent

  • staktika
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.3

The location is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! it is right beside Hamburg Hbf, and the facilities were pretty good! Staff were a little awkward to talk to tho.....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review! There is always a possibility to improve our service and we will take your review about our service up within our staff. Kind regards Maria Hansen, Front Office Agent

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Great location, excellent wifi coverage, unfortunately breakfast was €8.5 and they're actively against food creation!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the feedback. I regret that our offer was not to your satisfaction. We will continue to "tune" the food that it matches the maximum of guests. I hope we the opportunity to welcome you soon again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

25th Dec 2016
10.0

Best for Hamburg Short stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, wow! 10out of 10! Many thanks for the excellent review. Whenever you are around again, we would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

24th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved this hostel. The rooms are very clean, the lockers are spacious (make sure you bring a lock), and the bathrooms are spic and span as well. There is a bar located downstairs but it's not too noisy, although our room was on the 4th floor so we were far enough removed. It also had an amazing location, literally behind the train station and walking distance to many things. Only complaint was there was no kitchen, but I knew that going in considering there's a restaurant. Would def recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
9.1

The location across the Hamburg Central Station is a big reason to stay. From there you can walk to the Rathaus and the Altstadt and the city center. I stayed during the Christmas season, so while walking, I encountered so many Christmas markets. The room was comfy. I was in a 6-bed female dorm, but it was only me and 1 other person. The common areas are big so there's enough room to sit and surf the internet from a laptop/phone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.