Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4,091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4,091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Generator Hamburg Located at Steintorplatz 3, , Hamburg.
Generator Hamburg
Germany
Hamburg 20099 Steintorplatz 3,
82% 4091
53.5525851 10.0089311
Generator Hamburg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
7.7

Very commerial hostel so not the place to find an authentic atmosphere. However very clean and well situated, good for one or two nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the comment. We are working actually on the atmosphere and renovate completely the bar. Beginning of 2017 we will open a fantastic place. Come and check it out. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.4

I love the hotel! it is centrally located near the main station, walking distance to the christmas market (15 minutes only). The room is so nice, and clean, and warm. The staff is not really friendly, but they are very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lizzylodge
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Good location right by train station. Staff weren't all that helpful. No atmosphere, place is too big. Beds are super comfortable and cosy so it's good if you just want a place to rest and have a break. Not near any big supermarkets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Our stay was alright for one day. The no outside food rule is a joke. Staff were super grumpy when we checked in, maybe just a bad day? Bed was comfy but I've literally seen bigger bathrooms on trains. Pub food was pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the review. I regret that the team did not leave a good impression That will be followed up. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

Perfect location. Helpful staff. No soaps or towels. Have to pay for everything extra.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for you leaving your feedback about your time in Hamburg! For the fact that our hostel is relatively big, we can not provide a towel for every guest! Most backpackers also tend to bring their own ones because they are on a budget! Therefore we decided to rent them out for few euros! Nevertheless it is good to hear that you enjoyed the location as well as the service our team provides! See you next time in Hamburg! Patrick Nieznanski, Front Desk Shiftleader

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Nov 2016
8.3

As with all generators they charge a high price for everything. But location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the feedback. It is good to see that Generator has convinced you, so that you return often. You and your friends are always welcome in our hostels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Very nice hostel but the staff is not so friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.3

Location was just incredible.. right across the street from both bus and train station. Incredibly convenient for public transport. The bed was comfortable but the room was really tiny and was too crowded. If you wanted to sit up in the bed, you'll hit your head on the bunk or ceiling and there were 8 people to a tiny room. Anyhow, not the coziest place but for a few nights I can't complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for the feedback. Good that meet your needs. Still it is sad that we did not impress that much. We will continue to work on the service and the facilities. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Hebering Assistant General Manager

  • DonPierson
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

I really liked this hostel. It was very clean, and it has all the comfort I needed. The rooms were spacious enough with huge floor to ceiling windows overlooking the station. There was a bar and good breakfast. Also i liked the fact that there were food 24 hours. The place was very easy to find, just a few steps from the main station. Staff was not particularly friendly but not bad either, they were super efficient though and can't make any complaint. I would defo come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we are looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.1

Not a bad location, right near the bus and train station. The bathrooms were always filthy though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.