Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2017
6.3

The hostel is well located even thought the area doesn't feel like the safest. Also, the common area of the hostel look really cool. Unfortunately the dorms suck: very very small washrooms and every times the guys in the bottom bed was moving I woke up.. plus, there is no kitchen!! I thought it was very expensive for what it is..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2017
9.4

Great hostel - everything works as it shall. Your room is clean and quiet. If you want to drink/party there's a bar downstairs. You really should try both the pub crawl and the free walking tour the hostel has to offer - both are excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.9

Had a great stay at Generator Hamburg, right next to the central station and close to the city centre. Great bunk beds, nice breakfast/brunch and helpfull staff. Only thing that could be improved was the ensuite shower, it was too small. Looked for a shared bathroom and found just one on each floor. But I would definitely recommend to stay here!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bclauer
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
10.0

Thanks! Had everything I wanted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location when you arrive as it is right next to main train station and bus station. It's so easy to find which takes the stress out of finding a new hostel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main square. I liked the facilities with a light, plug and USB port above your bed. The room had clearly been renovated recently and was nice and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2017
8.0

I love Generator Hostels chain, so you won't be disappointed with overall atmosphere, decent breakfast and great staff. But actually location is really shady and if you are single female traveller, I would rather not wander around the hostel at night. So you should probably take this into account.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Sep 2017
8.3

A very decent hostel, with a nice atmosphere! Bonus points for the very cool 'Helter Skelter' bar, which hosts all kinds of events from live music to silent discos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bethanyemma1312
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Very comfy beds and spacious rooms with great locker space and plugs! Very friendly reception staff and bathrooms with a hairdryer! Would definitely stay again if ever in Hamburg, loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
7.7

it really nice hostel, liked the design!not very good shared spaces in my view but it really nice and comfy, it has a nice bar and laundry room, lack of kitchen. The atmosphere was pretty ok, but not as my other hostels I've stayed in. The location is horrible, it really close to train station but! , because of all of the refugees and people that asking you for money or looking at you in front of the hostel, in general not so good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
8.0

Perfect location ' nice staff ' recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×