Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
Generator Hamburg Located at Steinorplatz 3, , Hamburg.
Generator Hamburg
Germany
Hamburg 20099 Steinorplatz 3,
83% 3685
53.5525851 10.0089311
Generator Hamburg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2016
8.3

An awesome place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

Classic efficient German hostel. Has everything you need. Very convenient to the main train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

My stay at the Generator was a good one overall, however there were some hidden fees i.e.; towel purchases, security locker rentals for when you arrive earlier then the check in time. The location of this hostel was great and very easy to get to. There was always someone at the front door securing the entry way which made me feel really safe while inside the hostel. I will agree with the previous reviews and say that the bathrooms are extremely small and very uncomfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.1

I stayed there for two nights, the first night costed 31€, a reasonable price for this hostel, but for the second night I payed 46€ to sleep in an eight bed dorm. For that price I expected some luxury, but no. If I wanted a towel it would have costed 6.50€, for a really small padlock: 3€ and washing another 6€. For 46€ i expected a bit more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

Central location next to the main bus and train station. No atmosphere, crappy showers, no kitchen, just about business!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time for a review. We are always trying to improve ourselves and constructive reviews are an important base for this aim. It's a pity for us to hear that you we couldn't fulfil your expectations and couldn't deliver our usual welcoming attitude to you this time, We still hope to see you again and convince you from the opposite:) All the best and safe journeys! Tania Bronny, Front Office Supervisor

21st Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing location, really clean room with great wifi. Athens bathroom and shower are very small though... This was very annoying, but then again the price is great so who can complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
6.9

The only things you get when you pay is a bed and the tiniest bathroom & toilet you'll probably see in your entire life. Everything else is extra (laundry, locker, any food etc.) It is a decent hotel though, no bugs. But I wouldn't recomment if you are not looking for just somewhere to crush. A lot of people hanging out in the commom areas looks like middle school/high schoolers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
8.6

This place needs an AC unit. Couldn't sleep at night due to the heat. They will let you rent a fan tho lmao Also, it didn't help that the kids on my floor kept banging on their door and walls all day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Moin and thank you for the review! Regarding the fan we unfortunately have to take a safety deposit to organise the rental with over 600 beds a bit easier. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests. You can always inform the reception in such a case an we will send a security upstairs! We hope that you will visit us again:) All the best from Hamburg, Tania Bronny, Front Office Supervisor

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
4.9

Good fun and great location but staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful and the facilities (shower, etc.) were very poor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Unfortunately you had a bad experience during your stay we appreciate your review. There is always a possibility to improve our service and with your statement we can do. See you next time, to show you that worked on it. With kind regards Maik Hildebrandt Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.9

A nice hostel, great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your stay in Generator Hostel Hamburg. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time. With kind regards Maik Hildebrandt Front Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.