Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Generator Hamburg Located at Steintorplatz 3, , Hamburg.
Generator Hamburg
Germany
Hamburg 20099 Steintorplatz 3,
83% 3848
53.5525851 10.0089311
Generator Hamburg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
9.7

Best hostel I have stayed in so far. Nice atmosphere and the staff was always ready to help with directions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect location, excellent staff and very clean and tidy. Would recommend for anyone travelling to Hamburg to check this place out. Great value for money too. Couldn't have asked for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for this fantastic review. Whenever you are around again, you and your friends will be welcome to stay with us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

17th Aug 2016
4.0

I felt unsafe the moment I walked in. In addition to poor directions for those without proper service on their phones, the local scene outside this gens location is ghastly. I was not greeted upon entry by the staff, in fact, I was skipped ahead of in line because I was not visible at their eyesight, or more likely the staff weren't truly paying attention. Once I made clear, through the rather loud music, I had a reservation, I was told by a capable employee to wait for another gen staff member.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the note. I regret that your check in experience was not up to our standard. We will work on that to prevent it of happening in the future. The most I was worried that our team left such an impression. That will improve. I would be delighted if you choose Generator again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

17th Aug 2016
7.4

Good enough, but the showers and bathrooms are incredibly small. Smaller than portable toilets. You can't move around at all without elbowing the wall every 10 seconds. They have about 6 miles of lounges but you have to make like a toothpick to shower. And the 5.50 breakfast is the biggest rip off I've literally ever seen at a hostel. You get the cheap cereal and cold cuts... For 5.50. Walk across the street to the train station bakery.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we constantly work on the offer of the breakfast. Let us know what you have missed. We change buffet you can use for the amount stated unlimited, on a regularly basis. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
4.9

I'm not sure where the photos on here were taken, but definitely not in the tiny dorm room I stayed in. The bathrooms are TINY and really unpleasant to use. It was the most soul-less hostel I've ever stayed in. There's no atmosphere, the bar just has overly loud music playing and most of the staff I dealt with were rude and grumpy. I checked out 2 days early and went somewhere else, I recommend you do the same.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I deeply regret the experience you have made. Especially the level of service is worrying me because that is normally what makes us different. Be assured that we will follow that up. Regards, SVen Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
5.4

Hostel has a great location, in the city centre, close to pretty much anywhere. Rooms are tiny and not clean, check-in and breakfast time are too early. Stuff is very helpful with a positive attitude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks very much for staying with us and also for leaving your review. :) Our check In time is from 2 pm to 2 am and our breakfast starts at 7 am and ends at 10 am. We are sorry that our service hours did not match with your days schedule. We hope to see you again in our Hostel and we wish you all the best for your future travels. Best regards, Niklas Peschel, FO Shiftleader, Generator Hostel Hamburg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Had a lovely stay at the Generator Hamberg. One of our safety boxes was broken and it was delt with immediately! Really lovely staff especially Liska :)) and a great atmosphere with beer pong and music in the bar! Would definitely recommend this Hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the compliments. Your comment will be passed on to Liska. I would be delighted if we could welcome you again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

13th Aug 2016
9.4

Ideal location, well maintained and spaciously arranged rooms. The staff were very friendly and hospitable especially the guy at the counter. Would strongly recommend this place. Best value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, many thanks for this fantastic review. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.0

Compared to other hostels I've been to, I'd say this one is OK and acceptable, but far from perfect. First of all, the staff seemed bored, unmotivated and quite rude. Also every little extra (towels, lock you need for the locker, storing luggage before/after stay) comes at extra costs. Bathroom in the 8-bed-dorm was incredibly small, so you basically can't move while taking a shower, ... . Just a lot of little things that did not help to make it a very pleasant stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Also critics are very welcome, because it helps us to bring us forward to become the hostel of your choice. We will work on the points you have written down and change, what can be changed. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
7.7

The location isn't bad depending on what you are trying to do in the city. A little bit far of a walk from the port, planten un blomen, and Reeperbahn, etc. but not a bad distance from shops and other things to do. I do not prefer this style bathroom in the room though (almost like port-a-potties). The bar area was a fun environment for young people though. Luggage storage after checkout was convenient and a great amenity

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.