Hostelworld.com

Generator Hamburg

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.6

Tiny, tiny sinks. Why? But please don't change them! That would just be an environmental disaster. Where's the kitchen? :( Squeaky beds, awkward entrance procedure, but the place is clean... Maybe feels a little overpriced...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

I enjoyed my stay in Generator Hamburg very much! The location is the best you can get, just the opposite side of Central Station. Breakfest was good, though remember to book it during check-in (save a few €€). Atm in the lobby is a huge plus, since Germans use mostly cash in restaurants etc. Staff could have been more welcoming when we arrived, so cheer up, it brings joy to the travellers day :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oscarss909680
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

I stayed in at Generetor Hamburg for 1 night and i enjoyed it very much. It is perfectly located and really clean. Good Atmosphere to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Fantastic location and incredibly easy to find, for a travelling novice this place was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although the shower room is small I was still able to shower comfortably, and I'm 1.89m tall! Staff were friendly and happy to help with any queries and the atmosphere was nice, although more like a hotel as opposed to a loud hostel. This worked well for me! Thank you for having me Generator Hamburg!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.0

Clean rooms with perfect location by the Hamburg train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good atmosphere and staff were outstanding. The location so clise to the main train station made this place all the more better. Only downside is the key cards used to open doors kept playing up and having to be sorted at reception other than that id give a 10/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

When we got there, our 6 bed room smelt of cigarettes. We asked to be moved and the guy at the reception was not nice! He then moved us to an 8 bed room which is not what we paid for! I will say that the blond guy who checked us in originally and the guy on the bar were very lovely! The shower room is quite small and makes it difficult to change. But there are bigger bathrooms in the hallway. No curtains on the beds, so little privacy. Especially since the beds were very close together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff very helpful, really great atmosphere and very good location directly opposite a U-bahn :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location if you're catching a bus or a train. Easy to walk to main attractions. Room was fine, very basic. In room shower and toilet were very cramped but the ones in the corridor (conveniently right outside our room) were much better (best shower I've had traveling). I made a mistake with the dates when booking and the staff replied to my email and fixed it in about 10 minutes which was great. Overall decent stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Hostel is located across the street from Hamburg Central- a fanrastic location from which to explore any part of the city in mere minutes. Rooms and communal areas were clean, and staff was helpful. There isn't a kitchen, so no outside food is allowed. Tney serve several meals, however, and there are affordable restaurants nearby. Key card entry to the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.