Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.0

A nice hostel and a good price, but the bar and food are all very expensive. The staff were also a bit rude on check in. Good atmosphere though in a good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location. Expensive bar! Toilet and shower in the room is miniscule - not helped by the shower head being too big for the size of the shower! It would have been better to have them together rather than seperate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lllinneap
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jul 2017
6.3

The no food -policy is beyond ridiculous in my opinion. If you don't want to go to an expensive restaurant for every meal of the day, I would not recommend this place. That (and the teeny tiny toilets) was the biggest downside for me. The staff was friendly and the bar and other common areas seemed nice, and a good place to socialize. Good for one night stay, next to the railway station, but I wouldn't stay for any longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
10.0

Really loved this hostel. Was situated so conveniently close to central station which made traveling to and from it so easy!! There was lots of choice for food and drink and it was very fairly priced. Overall really fantastic value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

It is good place for short weekend solo traveler!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • star__flakes688
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
21st Jul 2017
6.0

A reminder why I dislike big chains, Room wasn't ready until after check in time. Have to pay €4 for luggage storage 10am check out (most places are 11) Cleaning crew came in everyday at 10am to flip beds, were loud, turned on the light and woke everyone up. Bar was dead, no social atmosphere other than that. Bottom bunk of beds super small you can't sit up Room was very warm. No fan. Bathroom needed a deep clean and the shower head was broken. I will stay somewhere else next time.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
21st Jul 2017
6.3

Extremely overpriced. I had very good experiences on Generator hostels in other cities, but that was not the case in Hamburg. I got a private room and it was tiny, the toilet seems to be taken from an airplane, it was full of smashed bugs on the wall, this is not what you would expect after paying 260€ for 2 nights. They also failed controlling my late checkout, as someone from the staff came to my room to try to kick us out after we had already bought this service. Absolutely not recommendable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • suzcam17
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.9

Really great stay. The location is fantastic. Very secure hostel with good luggage storage options. The late check out option was really nice. Nice bar and cafe area. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The water pressure in the shower wasn't great but it was good enough. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel is secure, you'll need a card to get inside. It locates just next to the haubahnhof and some famous tourist spot like Rathaus, I even walk to there. The staff are nice they give me suggestion to play and dine. The room is clean, bed sheet, USB charger are fantastic! But the ensuite is a bit small. Definitely recommend this hostel and will come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
8.6

Ideal location and not just for those travelling by train. Chose the hostel as it was the nearest to the station which itself is in the centre of Hamburg. Busy, but clean with friendly, efficient staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.