Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ThreeStepsGuy
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Excellent atmosphere and service, could plan an entire stay based on recommendations made by the staff. The bar and lounge are nice and had live music on one of the nights. Good place to stay in Hamburg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Germanys most beautiful city ;-) We hope to see you again :) Tania Bronny, FO Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
17th Apr 2017
7.1

Good location, unfortunately no kitchen facilities and unable to bring any outside food inside, which as a traveller can make it expansive for food, especially in Hamburg. Overall fine for a 2 night stay. Rooms were clean, but the dorm bathrooms were small, no hand soap provided and badly designed so you couldn't really use the sink, making brushing your teeth near impossible, however there was a large bathroom down the corridor, so not the end of the world.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Good value. Safe and clean. The en suite bathrooms are tiny, the staff bit grumpy and the 2pm check in was nearer 3, but for the price so near the station it's very good. It's not obvious from the station - out the main entrance, cross the road and turn right, it's at the end after the old german restaurant..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the staff gave you a grumpy impression- this might have something to do with the 2nd point you mentioned- that the rooms were not clean on time because we were fully booked the night before and it got stressful at the reception. This should not happen, we apologize for it. Other than this we hope that you enjoyed your stay with :) All the best and safe travels, Tania Bronny, Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.3

I had a good stay here. But it's a big hostel so it is hard to meet new people. It's verry clean and rooms are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to Hamburg :) All the best, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

15th Apr 2017
9.7

Hostel location is perfect, right across from Hauptbanhof meaning you can get there easily from the airport (on S-Bahn line 1) as well as being able to get around the city easily by S-Bahn and U-Bahn). Modern, clean, busy, everything you want in a city centre hostel. Access is by keycard (front door, to the rooms etc). Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your brilliant review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel :) So hopefully see you again during your trip to Hamburg ! All the best, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you a lot for your rating! We hope to see you soon again, All the best from Hamburg, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

13th Apr 2017
6.9

Umm... Generator hostels seem to be the default option when you can't find another place to stay. Location isn't too bad if you want to stay close to commute options (right next to central station). But the place doesn't feel like a hostel. Not very sociable, and things hard to navigate in general. While it's not too bad, I'd rather stay in some small cozy hostel. You might like it if you want a big hostel feel, but this one misses out on the personal touch.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your detailed review! Of course we can't deny that we can't deliver the vibe of a small Hostel but we give our best to create a sociable place in our café, the bar with life music and our other chill out areas:) We still hope that you had a great stay with us! All the best, Tania Bronny, Front Office Manager

13th Apr 2017
9.4

Right next to the train and bus station. Easy to get into town as almost all the subway lines go to the main station. Great staff and atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Moin from Hamburg and thank you a lot for taking the time for your great review which we really appreciate :) Safe travels and hopefully see you soon, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel in a great location. Staff were great and extremely accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you a lot for your great review! We hope to welcome you soon again :)) All the best and safe travels, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

12th Apr 2017
8.0

Staff rude or very german? Great bar great location the best you are walking distance from train and bus central station the bathroom is toooo smal

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Of course it is not great at all that the staff gave you the impression of being rude - this is not what we are here for and we apologize that this is the exceptional experience you made. Other than this we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us! All the best, Tania Bronny, FO Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.