Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.9

Had a great stay at Generator Hamburg, right next to the central station and close to the city centre. Great bunk beds, nice breakfast/brunch and helpfull staff. Only thing that could be improved was the ensuite shower, it was too small. Looked for a shared bathroom and found just one on each floor. But I would definitely recommend to stay here!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bclauer
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
10.0

Thanks! Had everything I wanted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location when you arrive as it is right next to main train station and bus station. It's so easy to find which takes the stress out of finding a new hostel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main square. I liked the facilities with a light, plug and USB port above your bed. The room had clearly been renovated recently and was nice and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2017
8.0

I love Generator Hostels chain, so you won't be disappointed with overall atmosphere, decent breakfast and great staff. But actually location is really shady and if you are single female traveller, I would rather not wander around the hostel at night. So you should probably take this into account.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
8.0

Perfect location ' nice staff ' recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
8.9

Location for the hostel is excellent, it is next to main train and bus station, many small restaurants and eateries nearby. Hostel is very clean and staffed by many caring people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2017
8.3

We loved that this hostel was so close to the train station for getting around, but weren't crazy about the feel of the neighborhood at night (a little bit sketchy). Staff was super friendly and the rooms were very clean - the bathrooms are pretty small though so just be prepared for that. All things considered, would stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
6.9

Toilet and shower in room was like a portacabin!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
4.6

Not a very safe location for a solo female traveller although quite central. Staff were impatient, rooms were hot and bathrooms weren't very clean. No outside food allowed so you had to buy their food which wasn't amazing nor cheap!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
6.6

Actual hostel is quite nice. Lovely staff and it's attached to a bar/Cafe. Hostel is directly across from main train station however at night it gets super sketchy because it's adjacent to an area that has hundreds of homeless, drunks, weird looking ppl that congregate right in front of hostel/train station. If you're in a group it's fine but I was a solo female so I reduced my stay because of this. It's a short walk to main shopping area and harbour.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×