Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Generator Hamburg Located at Steintorplatz 3, , Hamburg.
Generator Hamburg
Germany
Hamburg 20099 Steintorplatz 3,
83% 3955
53.5525851 10.0089311
Generator Hamburg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

Very noisy at night. Inconsiderate intoxicated people running up and down corridors and slamming doors until 3-4 am

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.1

It was very close to the main train station. Accross the street actually.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
7.7

Ideal location between the train and bus stations. Facilities include free wi-fi and en-suite toilet and shower. There was a separate toilet/shower room (one male, one female) on my floor. The shower in there was WAY better than the one in my room that looked like it had been ripped out of a caravan. Beds were okay, they were clearly numbered and had metal chests underneath to store items (will need your own padlock). FYI; if you shower or use the toilet in your room, people hear EVERYTHING.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.0

I stayed here for two nights and it was cool! I made some friends!! :) the staff is not friendly AT ALL haha but was Ok!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.6

Only stayed here as a stopover between two trains, nice place, clean beds, and really secure. The shower room is a bit tight and this hostel definitely is more on the hotel side than a backpackers inn, but it was ideal for what I needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Only knock against this hostel chain....no self catering facilities...otherwise.....it has everything a traveller needs for a comfortable night' rest in a very clean environment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hasanercannn
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Sep 2016
5.7

It was my 1st time in generator and I wont prefer here anymore.Staff was unhappy not helping people very well. For Lockers, towels etc. u have to pay. Too much noises from teenagers early in the morning. Unplanned check in/out times. Actually this place is kinda hotel with more beds in the rooms. Pos: Too close to city centre, train and bus stations. Also very easy to get to HAM airport. Rental bikes looks nice and system works normal. In the end u can help people more closer than how u doing..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Central location right across from the main train station, bar staff were cool and very helpful with ideas of things to do around the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.6

Clean room and good bed. Toilet en shower very small. Staff was ok, but not really friendly. Location very close to hauptbahnhof and metro. neighbourhood is not very nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for you stay at Generator Hostel Hamburg. I apologize for the inconveniences and we will discuss your commend according to the service in our team. A friendly service is very important for us. With kind regards Maik Hildebrandt Front Office Manager

6th Sep 2016
7.4

Decent hostel. Location is amazing. Breakfast is pretty plain. The WiFi is amazing. The bathroom in the room is about the size of a porta-potty. The floor shared bathroom was discusting. About a cm of water all over the floor with hair and lint everywhere, the mirror was mostly opaque, and even though there was a cleaning log, seems no one filled it out. When I was there the one elavator broke. Unfortunately the other elavator only stands 4 adults very tightly, be prepared to take the stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Although not everything was perfect during your stay we appreciate your review. There is always a possibility to improve our service and with your statement we can do. See you next time. With kind regards Maik Hildebrandt Front Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.