Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.6

Tiny, tiny sinks. Why? But please don't change them! That would just be an environmental disaster. Where's the kitchen? :( Squeaky beds, awkward entrance procedure, but the place is clean... Maybe feels a little overpriced...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We have now opened our brand new bar Helter Skelter to give the possibility to make even easier friends and we offer good food as an alternative to the missing kitchen. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

I enjoyed my stay in Generator Hamburg very much! The location is the best you can get, just the opposite side of Central Station. Breakfest was good, though remember to book it during check-in (save a few €€). Atm in the lobby is a huge plus, since Germans use mostly cash in restaurants etc. Staff could have been more welcoming when we arrived, so cheer up, it brings joy to the travellers day :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your comment. I regret that the service was not 100% on the spot when you arrived. We will work on that. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • oscarss909680
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

I stayed in at Generetor Hamburg for 1 night and i enjoyed it very much. It is perfectly located and really clean. Good Atmosphere to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We have now opened our brand new bar Helter Skelter to give the possibility to make even easier friends. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.3

Very clean, comfy beds, and very convenient if you are arriving late/leaving early to catch a bus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Good to see that you enjoyed your time in our hostel. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Location is so easy to find, bit grimy around central station as one can imagine. Fire alarm evacuation overnight, there are hundreds of rooms. The evacuation was a shambles, I couldn't stay there again seeing how it was dealt with left me with little confidence.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I have to apologize for the evacuation. It was a false alarme, but you are right, there were some issues also spotted by us. They have been corrected immediately. I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Fantastic location and incredibly easy to find, for a travelling novice this place was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although the shower room is small I was still able to shower comfortably, and I'm 1.89m tall! Staff were friendly and happy to help with any queries and the atmosphere was nice, although more like a hotel as opposed to a loud hostel. This worked well for me! Thank you for having me Generator Hamburg!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. It was a pleasure for us to be your host. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. Until than we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.3

The bathrooms were unnecessarily tiny as were the rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we wanted to offer comfort beyond the regular hostel standard and have an en suite in every room. Therefore we have chosen the units you have experienced. In our newer Hostels, such as Amsterdam and Paris, we build in larger bathes. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. Until than we wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.0

Clean rooms with perfect location by the Hamburg train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good atmosphere and staff were outstanding. The location so clise to the main train station made this place all the more better. Only downside is the key cards used to open doors kept playing up and having to be sorted at reception other than that id give a 10/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

When we got there, our 6 bed room smelt of cigarettes. We asked to be moved and the guy at the reception was not nice! He then moved us to an 8 bed room which is not what we paid for! I will say that the blond guy who checked us in originally and the guy on the bar were very lovely! The shower room is quite small and makes it difficult to change. But there are bigger bathrooms in the hallway. No curtains on the beds, so little privacy. Especially since the beds were very close together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.