X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Barcelona Reviews

Carrer de Còrcega 377, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
172 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

This hostel is great! I can definilty recommend this hostel. it is very cheap and the rooms are really clean and organized. This was my first stay in a hostel and it felt like a hotel. Nothing to complain about. The food in the hostel is good as well, same as the breakfest.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your stay and comments in Generator Barcelona. Happy to hear your first time in a hostel has been with us and you enjoyed. Hope to see you again soon. Nuria Molina, AGM

91%

I absolutley loved my time in Barcelona- I was blown away at how beautiful the hostel is... as a backpacker it was definitley one of the best I have ever stayed in!! I loved the design there were loads of cool things in the lounge and the bar- although a little pricey! The roof terrace wasn't open and I was told never has been which was dissapointing as it was one of the reasons I booked here! We also had a CRAZZZYYY guy in our room but that cant really be helped! Was the only down side really!!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this hostel. We thought our hostel in Paris was nice until we arrived here. For the money, this place was great. It was in a good location, it was very clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was OK, but if you want really good food you obviously have to explore the city! Security was great, the decor was fun and inviting, I would absolutely stay here again. No breakfast included but wouldn't even expect it to be for the value! All female 6 bed dorm with bath!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Generator Barcelona, our staff will be vey happy as well. hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Nuria Molina, AGM

97%

I really like this place, near with everything, i can easily go by underground or by foot to differents places, the staff is good and profesiaonal. Thank you so much from Siberia and Sahara)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your stay and comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bar during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. KInd Regards. Nuria Molina, AGM.

94%

Great hostel. Great location. Cool bar and lounge rooms giving a great atmosphere. Only issue I had was the super tiny showers I couldn't turn around in and the god awful smell in it. Thats all. Barcelona is a cool cool place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It really good to receive your comments after staying in Generator Barcelona. Thanks for comment some of the most important aspects in here, such the location and the bar atmosphere that we get thanks to guests like you. I have already shared your comments about the shower size to consider in future project, that's really helpful too. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Enrique Portales, GM.

91%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms, comfy beds and good showers. Bar and food also very good.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A great experience for a great price. The staff are incredibly helpful and kind, good location, and the restaurant/bar is a great place for mingling and getting a quick dinner before going out.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience after stayin in our hostel. The staff is very happy about it too. It is really great to know that you like the location and the services we provide, such the food and beverage one. Thanks for your time and we hope to see you again in Generator Barcelona. Enrique Portales, GM.

80%

It was a very funny staiing.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty good Location. The bar close to the reception is really nice and opened to general public. Good Wifi. The room was very, very hot during the night.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • tnakano22
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The service was poor and sometimes unpleasant to deal with. But the biggest disappointment of all was to be bitten by bed bugs!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for sharing your opinion after staying in our hostel. I do apologise if you didn't find the service you expected, also I have already checked the room and I can confirmed that everything is fine and we have no incidents as you said, we have a full protocol in this situations and we check in a daily basis all the rooms, the staff have been trained for this. Apologise and thanks for your time. Enrique Portales, General Manager.

91%

Excellent big young hostel in the center of Barcelona

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel. It is good to read it and all the team is very happy with that. We hope to see you again in Barcelona. Thanks for your time Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

94%

It was greatest hostel i visited. Clean bedrooms, awesome enviroment to hang out and meet new people. I'd love to stay there again/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments. It is great to know that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of Generator Barcelona, that we get thank to all guests like you, where you can meet new people. Thanks for wanted to come back in the future, the staff is very happy with your opinion and we are looking for see you again. Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

83%

Me and my friend enjoyed our stay there. Love how Generator maintain their quality. Not much to complain about, except for the fact that the shower room is too small and seems like it's not well-ventilated which always leaves it so humid and some sort of rancid odour after being used. (We were staying at room 510, a 6-beds female bedroom with private bathroom in it.) Our lockers also could not open. Already told the staff, she told us to try pulling it up and/or down to open; still no luck.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. It is really great to see that you enjoyed in here and I have already commented with the rooms manager your comments, because we must resolve them. I am sure that in your next visit to Barcelona you will see everything much better. Thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

89%

Great facilities, rooms a little squishy but a lovely place to stay. Bar and cafe are great - good place to chill out. Felt a little out of town but lots of food options available in the area

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Comfortable, strategic location and very comfortable place to rest with awesome facilities! The interior is totally chic and edgy. Really suitable for young and adventurous people. Difenately will come back to stay here again if visits Barcelona next time. The launge is so comfortable to hang out and chill when the restaurant and bar are both totally rock to make more new friends. Crazy ceiling detail, totally cool!!! And the receptionists too, knowledgable and verygood English. Well done guys!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Clean rooms, lockers are amazing, great beds that allow a lot of privacy. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your opinion after staying in our hostel. It is great to see your comments, we love them and it helps a lot to keep working hard. We hope to see you again in the future and thanks for your time Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

89%

A great atmosphere and friendly staff. Can see why it's always busy. Great food at the bar to :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. I have already shared them with the team, they are very happy and that helps to keep working hard. Also it is good to know that you enjoyed the food and bar services. We hope to see you again in the future, thanks for your time. Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

91%

Beautifully clean and modern hostel in a good Barcelona location. The hostel is huge so they so charge extra for most things, including breakfast (no kitchen facilities to cook your own food). Also took 45mins to check in but that was due to the huge volume of people staying at the hostel. Overall a good hostel to stay in for a night or two while stopping over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking your time to comment your experience after staying in our hostel. It is good to read your opinion and thanks for your understanding about the high volume we had in some days of high season, it is much easier with guest that cooperate like you. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona. Enrique Portales, Generator Barcelona GM

83%

Air con in our room was a standing generator and didn't work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel. It is very helpful for us and for new guest. All your positive scoring has been already shared with the managers and also I will review the issue you mention, I am sure it is something we could repair very quick. Thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon. Enrique Portales. Generator Barcelona GM

94%

Loved it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for sharing your opinion after staying in our hostel. We are very happy reading your comment and the rating you give in all the areas, it is really great and helpful. We hope to see you soon in Generator Barcelona Thanks for your time Enrique Portales Generator Barcelona GM

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback