X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Copenhagen Reviews

Adelgade 7, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2605 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent! The hostel was amazing, nothing to complain about!


91%

Very clean with all the facilities you would need, with the exception of a kitchen. That is supplemented by food service in the bar area. Good food if not a little overpriced based on what I found wandering around elsewhere. The size of the hostel makes it better suited to people travelling in pairs or a group. Difficult to find other solo travellers. Overall a good experience. My only critique would be: On my last night had trouble sleeping even with ear plugs on the 4 floor do to music volume.


74%

Just your typical chain hostel. Rooms are well equipped but sterile, generally everything is pretty clean. Bar and common floor are large and also well appointed but the noise and number of people makes it impossible to meet anyone. Too large, too many groups, staff treat you like cattle and zero atmosphere. Fine if your in a group but stay away as solo traveler.


100%

Clean hostel. Great lobby/common area/bar. Met the coolest folks there. Would definitely go back and stay there

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi D, what a wonderful review. Everything positive and happy. We love it when we have truly wow'd a guest :) We hope that you will come back soon as well, maybe during the summer while the sun is shining and our terrace is warm. Team Generator Cph

100%

A big, well organized hostel! I really recommend to stay at this hostel. The location is perfect: A parallel street have lots of cafes (for example TASTE, serves cakes, coffee, sandwich and omelettes, very delicious) and you are near shopping street and bars. Another really advantage of this hostel is, that every bed has a big box under the bed, where you can put your stuff (laptop, backpack,..) and you can locked it!!


91%

Great all rounder you'll have an excellent stay, if you get time do the free walking tour its was one of the best I've been on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi E, happy to hear you had an excellent stay - the walking tours are great, we recommend to check them out too if you have the chance. Cheers and see you next time! Team Generator Cph

86%

Well run, helpful staff, great location, and good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for staying with us and happy to hear that you had a comfy and friendly stay. Value for money can be hard to find in Copenhagen sometimes but we try! :) Cheers and see you next time ! Team Generator Cph

77%

The rooms and common areas are really nice and well desgined, my only comment is with there not being a kitchen cooking isn't an option and it can be quite expensive to buy meals in Copenghagen, but this is definitely one of the best hostel breakfasts offered and is value for money, especially compared to the prices to buy food in Denmark!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear H, thank you for your review and comments. We have a restaurant and cafe on site, and therefore do not offer a kitchen for guest to use. We have a nice picnic bench area on our terrace, where our guests are able to eat their own food. We are a hostel, but we aim to offer more than just a bed to our guests. Team Generator Cph

86%

This is a big hostel. When we arrived the room was not ready and when it was, it was not really cleaned up. There were used towels still hanging on the back of the door. The check-in staff was cordial but I feel lacked warmth and no smiles. Gives me a feel like a posh hotel reception. The place was great with good vibes, especially with the bar area. Nice room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi W, thank you for leaving a review. However, it is not good to hear that your room was not prepared as it should be. Our reception team can always help with situations like this, so we hope that our guests will always go to them for help. They are open 24 hours a day.

77%

Generator is a chain hostel, and it has the "big hostel" feel and has most of the perks, but I really do expect things like privacy curtains and towels in chains like this, and though the staff did not seem hostile, they did not volunteer any information to me at all, provide a "rundown" of the hostel, or even offer me a map (although maps were available). The breakfast is a RIDICULOUS ten dollar expense. Overall a mediocre chain hostel, but still a clean, comfy place compared to some.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for staying with us. Our reception is always here for you, we have maps, a big board of recommendations and are happy to give you info about all the ins and outs of the city. That is why we are here :) Breakfast is great value for Copenhagen, but we understand it may seem expensive in relation to other European cities. Cheers, Team Generator Cph

86%

Clean, very nice bar / Lobby area. Beds are super comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us. We are happy you liked our bar, lobby and our beds, zzz :) See you next time! Cheers, Team Generator Cph

100%

I'm not regretting anyhing everytime I choose this brand

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi C :) we are so happy that you continue to stay with us whenever you are in Copenhagen. To have a guest come back time and time again, really is so fulfilling. See you soon. Team Generator Cph

86%

Excellent hostel, only disappointment was the breakfast as there isn't much variety. Apart from that, great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi L, thanks for staying with us. Happy to hear that you had an excellent stay. We will take your feedback on board about the breakfast - there is lots variety but there is always room for more :) Cheers, Team Generator Cph

69%

No communal kitchen

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very friendly and made our stay very comfortable

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was very pleasantly surprised with Generator. The atmosphere was amazing and I felt very safe. I would definitely recommend staying at a Generator location!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Charging for towels is pretty rude, the hostel is already super expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear K, thanks for staying with us and your feedback. Towel rental costs 30kr or you can of course opt to bring your own instead. If you are in a private room towels are included. I hope this clear things up, it is not meant to be rude, it is just our policy and prices :) Thanks and see you next time! Team Generator Cph

100%

Perfect location right in the centre. Super clean, very friendly staff. Even had a hair dryer in our room. Would recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Chloe, a big thank you for the 100 percent, yay! We are super happy to hear that you had a great stay and hope to see you back here again soon! Cheers, Team Generator Cph

94%

The sliding locker under the beds are pretty handy. So far, the best hostel I have been to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado! Thanks for your great feedback. We are proud to be the best hostel on your list so far - Lets keep it that way! :) Thanks from the team and see you next time! Team Generator Cph

100%

Have stayed several times in the past and will be there again Monday 26 January. Generator Hostel is a default choice for my Copenhagen visits.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi George, thanks for staying here! Thanks for the great review and thanks for coming back again and again :) Cheers from Team Generator Cph

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(114 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback