X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Copenhagen Reviews

Adelgade 7, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2783 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I stayed in generator hostel on very hot days in Copenhagen. The hostel needs to invest in either air conditoning or fans in the room and at a minimum we should be able to open the windows more than a few inches because the heat was unbearable. Overall, the hostel was good.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The generator hostel is extremely well located in Copenhagen. The staff are friendly and helpful. They were happy to provide whatever I needed (be it the key for a shower before check in or bandaids for my blisters). I loved the communal areas as well - the indoor hammocks and comfy couches were a nice touch! The breakfast is also worth having. Overall I would recommend staying here and would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, what a great review! We aim to make your stay the best one and we are happy you enjoyed it! :) Cheers, Team Generator Cph

94%

Excellent location. Big hostel with great common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear O, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Generator. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to tell us what you think about our hostel. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with your stay and liked our central location and our common area. Thank you for staying with us :) Team Generator Cph

94%

Everyone was so friendly, and the shared areas were brilliant for meeting other travellers. Thank you so much to you guys, especially Mitchwho gave some pretty phenomenal recommendations for what to do in the city.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A, thank you for you review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our large common areas - it is a great place to meet new friends from everywhere in the world. Thanks for staying with us, come back soon! :) Team Generator Cph.

80%

Nice clean Hostel. Rooms were quite small in a 6 bed including small ensure te shower/toilet. Each bed has its own plug, more like a hotel in terms of atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear G, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here with us at Generator. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and facilities in the rooms. Thanks for staying, we hope you will come back again :) Team Generator Cph.

71%

Bathrooms and sinks in the room create a lot of disruptions late at night and early in the morning. The sink was right next to the head of a sleeping roommate -- how can that be a convenience? Staff put a middle aged woman on a top bunk when there was a bottom bunk available, and the rungs on the ladder were slippery. She almost fell a couple of times. Poor design. Very clean, very new, but not a really useful design in the rooms overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear J, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied by the layout of the room. It should not be necessary to have your head next to the sink in any of our dormitories but since guests make their own bed at arrival we cannot decide which end their head is in, :) Our reception is open 24 hours a day and we will of cause always move a guest to a lower bunk if they have have issues with the ladder to the upper bunk. Thank you for staying with us, Team Generator Cph.

80%

helpful stuff, nice bar and atmosphere, convenience location with a 3 mins-walking distance to the metro, 12 mins to the airport, very clear directions to reach thern. Thumb up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Y, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here with us at Generator. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at Generator and liked our central location, atmosphere and friendly staff. Thanks for staying, we hope you will come back again :) Team Generator Cph.

100%

A perfect place for its location and for the quality of services. The staff is impeccable. The city exceedingly magnificent.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear F, wow - what a great review, thank you so much! It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to tell us what you think about our Hostel. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at Generator, were given great service from our service staff. and had a great time in beautiful Copenhagen.Thank you for staying with us, come back soon! :) Team Generator Cph.

71%

Great location and very clean. But I can't believe you pay as much as you do and breakfast isn't included. And the price for breakfast was quite unreasonable. Otherwise very nice though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here with us at Generator. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at Generator. Copenhagen is an expensive city and to keep the prices as low as possible, breakfast is not included in the room rate. We offer an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet for 65DKK you can pay at check-in. Thanks for staying, we hope you will come back again :) Team Generator Cph.

74%

Great location, nice rooms and beds. In opinion its is too huge for a hostel


94%

a very good hostel, very good and clean rooms, very friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear R, thank you for review! We are pleased to hear you liked Generator Copenhagen and received good service from our lovely staff. We hope to see you again soon! :) Team Generator Cph.

86%

Great common area. Lockers under bunk beds, bring a lock. No kitchen to use. Wifi great in all areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear S, thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and liked our common areas and wifi connection. We hope to see you again soon :) Team Generator Cph.

91%

Lovely staff, good dorms. Would have liked there to be more options for food during after hours.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! Happy to hear that you had a great time here and liked our staff and rooms. We serve food most of the day and snacks late at night. At night, there are also good options in the neighbourhood, ask us and we can point you in the right direction. Cheers, Team Generator Cph

80%

Great hostel, excellent rooms, friendly staff. The only drawback is that there is no kitchen available so I ended up spending more money on food than I expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear J, thank you for your review! Your feedback is important to us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our rooms and staff members. Unfortunately we do not have an option of adding a guest kitchen but we try to make up for it with a budget friendly cafe/restaurant open from 7AM-9PM every day. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will come back soon. Team Generator Cph.

100%

One of the best I've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!! Yay, what a great review. We aim for you to have a great time here so it's great to hear that you did! see you next time, Team Generator Cph

71%

Personally, this hostel was way too big for me. It functions more as a hotel where local can just come in and hang out at the bar downstairs. The hang out area is super nice and big though, and there are plenty of desktop computers for free use which was a nice little surprise. I stayed in a 6-room girls dorm and I thought the room, the toilet, and the shower rooms (in the room) were way too small. I probably wouldn't stay here again though I meet some cool people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A , thanks for your feedback, it means a lot to us that you haven taken the time to tell us what you think of our hostel. We cannot change the size of the place but we are happy to hear you liked our common areas and free PC's. We do keep our bar open for everyone to make sure there is always life and someone to talk to. Thank you for staying, we are sorry we won't see you again. Team Generator Cph

97%

Loved staying here; it was the first hostel where I felt like I would have actually liked to stay longer. The facilities are great and the common area practically has a nightlife of its own that makes it a lot of fun.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great feedback. We are super happy that you had a great time here and wish as well that you could have stayed longer. Hope to see you back again soon :) Team Generator Cph

94%

Great hostel in a really good part of Copenhagen. Huge bar & lounge area and really clean rooms. Atmosphere wasn't amazing but still better then a lot of hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! A big thank you for your great review. We aim for you to enjoy yourself here and in Copenhagen. Happy to hear that you liked our lounge, bar and rooms. The central location makes it super easy to explore the city. Cheers and see you next time! Team Generator Copenhagen

77%

Overall a very cean and modern place. It has all the things you need as a backpacker.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear M, thank you for leaving a review for us. It is great to know that you think we offer all that a backpacker needs, and that you found the hostel to your liking. We always love to know what our guests think, because we always want to improve. Thanks for staying. Team Generator Cph

83%

So this place is generally really nice and i would stay again. A couple of things stopped it being first rate. They need mattress protectors arriving to stains is not nice. they need free storage area the price of lockers for a day and trusting a 3rd party system is never a good feeling. Other than this its hard to fault the place, be aware it is very big and busy if you are looking for more of a small local vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for staying with us. Happy to hear that you had a good time here. In response to your feedback, we have mattress protectors for all beds, and we wash these regularly. If any was missing then this is why, and you can always request one in reception. As for the lockers, it is a safe and secure system and your bags are insured should anything happen that's a plus! hope this clears it up, and to see you next time :) Team Generator Cph

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback