Hostelworld.com

Generator Hostel Dublin

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
Generator Hostel Dublin Located at Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin.
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Smithfield Square, Dublin 7
87% 2595
53.3482649 -6.2779569
Generator Hostel Dublin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2016
6.9

It's a massive hostel, and feels like a hotel. Very impersonal front desk staff, no kitchen and all common spaces surround the bar. Not good for solo travellers, or those looking to meet others. On the other hand, everything was clean. Would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th May 2016
7.7

7euro for laundry, Washing machine stuffed up so clothes were soaking. Staff gave me extra tokens to rewash and dry though. Lots of stalls in bathroom both showers and toilets. Charging point and light for each bed. Staff nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

As amazing as it looks !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
8.6

Really good hostel, felt more like a hotel which was really nice. Everything was clean in the rooms and there were plenty of plugs for everyone. Not too far from the main streets, it's a nice walk along the river! I would recommend this hostel for sure, we like it so much that we booked it for another couple nights at the end of our trip. One hung they don't have is a kitchen to make your own food, but they do have somewhere to buy food and drinks at a decent price. Really liked this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
7.4

A few negatives: due to the vastness and high turnover of people through the hostel, the staff came across as distracted and unfriendly, no familiarity or warmness, seemed too busy. For the same reason, the atmosphere was soulless. It doubles as a bar and cafe in the foyer so it's not clear who is a fellow guest, very young vibe. As they serve food it smells of frying meat most of the time there, which isn't great for vegetarians. The hostel is modern, rooms/bathrooms good, location excellent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
5.7

During my stay, a friend of mine experienced aggressive behavior from another person in the hostel. I complained to the night staff who asked why we didnt report the incident right away. Silly response. The fact is the incident happened and one man was so unhelpful as if he didn't believe us. We asked them to sort it as me and my friend were terrified to go back to our rooms for fear the person was awake. complained again next day after sleeping in the same bed as my AFRAID friend! NEVER AGAIN

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, good vibes and awesome chill out area. lots of safe secure storage (bring your own padlock) and shower facilitates where clean. Only negative note is that the bedrooms were a little too warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of generator Dublin. we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel, really really big with all the facilities needed, nice staff, huge common areas and rooms were OK and clean, I'd recommend it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
10.0

Food is phenominal! They have fun beer and whiskey tastings for free throughout the week along with other fun activities. Atmosphere is super cool and it is right next to Jameson and a few amazing restaurants. Overall fantastic experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel. Only complaint was that we had to pay to have our bags held before we checked in. But very clean and in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.