Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
Generator Hostel Dublin Located at Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin.
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Smithfield Square, Dublin 7
85% 2961
53.3482649 -6.2779569
Generator Hostel Dublin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
10.0

Really nice place. Great location and good information about what to do in Dublin. Also free walking tour that was advertised was AMAZING! & we even did the 6pm beer and whiskey tour. Only downside was sink leaked and mentioned it twice but was never fixed eventhough I was told that the plumber had been.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the free walking tour. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

1st Nov 2016
4.6

I was really looking forward to my stay here but was utterly disappointed. The staff was very rude and made it seem like it was an inconvience that I was checking in. The room itself was fine but the ensure was disgusting. After the first day, a fellow traveler decided to do some personal grooming in the shower and there was hair everywhere. The bathroom was not cleaned during the rest of my stay even when I requested it be, they also said that that the bathrooms are only cleaned upon request!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
8.3

We stayed in a 6 females only room with an ensuite bathroom and were lucky that it was just the 2 of us in our room most nights! Rooms were clean and comfortable, though did get a bit hot on the night there were 4 of us in the room but the window did open. Not directly in city centre but location was still convenient. It would be nice if staff could do a walk around every hour or so on each floor. We were woken on two occasions by drunk/drinking people being loud right outside our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. If there are guest that are keeping you up in the middle of the night please contact reception and we will deal with the matter straight away. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

A decent hostel, clean and well located, but the price especially at the weekend is prohibitive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a clean and well located hostel during your stay. Yes the prices can be a bit high on the weekends, however if you shop around you will see that our prices are very competitive for Dublin. Kind Regards

21st Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel is very lively with all the amenities needed. My only complaint was that some of the staff were not very helpful or friendly. It is a large and busy hostel so they are not always attentive to the needs of the guests

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for you recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that some of the staff were not very helpful. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

  • davidremon5708
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.0

Uninspiring but fine hostel. Room was clean, bed not particularly comfortable and not much of an atmosphere because of the size of the hostel. Good bar, local area and food

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
10.0

Quiet, clean, beautifully decorated. This was a thursday night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear the you enjoyed the beautifully decorated hostel during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
9.1

Very clean. staff v friendly. i would stay there again. i have reccomended Generator to friands & I TM & NTWF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed very friendly staff during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

12th Oct 2016
6.6

I spent one night at Generator hostel. It's a little further away from Temple Bar and I didn't quite enjoy walking there alone at night. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, I felt lots of springs through the mattress. There were lockers under the bed for locking up bags, which was nice. This hostel was way more expensive than others, maybe because of the bar and entertainment downstairs, but it really wasn't worth what I paid.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

  • kirstiemartin1376
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
6.9

Great hostel, expensive, but everything is in Dublin. Had to share a room with four males. Not a fan of mixed dorms but was the only option. It resulted in me not being able to sleep due to a choir of snoring males.... not happy Jan.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that there were no female only rooms available during your stay. If you are in a room that is full of males you can request at reception to be moved if we have availability. We also offer ear plugs free of charge at reception shall you run into a choir of snoring people in your room. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.