Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2017
10.0

I wasn't in the hostel much at all, but for the time I did spend there is was really lovely! Comfortable beds, clean rooms and common areas, and staff always around to help out. Will for sure be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
8.9

Fair but price can be made more affordable and reasonable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adam851396
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2017
9.7

A nice hostel and they have really decent burgers - next door to the Jamison factory and a walk to the guineas factory

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.1

Ensuite bathrooms were in very poor condition. No hand towel, and no towel/mat for the floor meant that there was water everywhere. Drainage in the shower terrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
8.3

Facilities superb apart from first floor bedroom so hot and stuffy with only one small partially opening window found it very hard to sleep. Better air conditioning in bedrooms definitely needed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Sep 2017
6.3

Staff were helpful and bar/restaurant had good atmosphere. Location a bit out of the way. Rooms were quite hot at night with limited ventilation. Bathrooms were very dirty, clogged drains and dirty showers mean I probably would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
6.3

A huge hostel with a lot of turnover, and as such had a very impersonal feeling. Pricy pints, but the common area had a lot of good features and an okay atmosphere. Dorm bathrooms are one per floor and got quite dirty. Security was decent, but I still had my tablet stolen while here (which was partly my own fault), which further solidifies my belief that this is not an ideal hostel for a solo traveler.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Sep 2017
9.1

Overall this is a really nice hostel!! If you like walking, it's only a 10-20 min walk to most attractions! The rooms were really nice, but they did get warm at night. The common area is huge and you are not allowed to bring outside food in.. which is a bummer. Although, the food they make in the hostel is pretty good! (Or just eat your food before going back to the hostel)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. You can bring the likes of snack and fruit into the hostel just not hot food during the hours that our café is open. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience of the hostel kind regards

2nd Sep 2017
9.1

Little pricey but worth it. The reception people were great. Nice and clean. I'd stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that the reception staff were great during your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
8.6

Although the generator is really modern and clean, I would not recommend it to solo travellers. It is too big and doesn't have the atmosphere of a hostel, which makes it harder to meet people there. Also, it's a 20 minute walk from the city centre, so you can easily find better located hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that you felt the hostel was too big for solo travelers. We have daily events on to help all guest interact with each other during their stay. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×