Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Generator Hostel Dublin Located at Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin.
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Smithfield Square, Dublin 7
87% 2725
53.3482649 -6.2779569
Generator Hostel Dublin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

A little walk from temple bar but right next to the Jameson factory. Great atmosphere lots of people at the bar and common areas. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.7

Fun! I stayed at the Generator in Hamburg and had a similar experience here...lots of atmosphere and good social areas to hang out and meet people. Rooms were great, breakfast was only ok (I would buy elsewhere). Very good all round.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is really nice and the atmosphere was amazing: good live music and very nice and helpful staff. We stayed on the first floor with a window facing the street and it was so noisy that we couldnt really get a good night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel with a great common area and bar. Food is delicious, beer tasting with Peter is great. Only issue was my room had a fowl stench and was quite warm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
6.0

I felt this place was more of a hotel than a hostel. Compared to other hostels i've stayed in, there was zero sense of community. I was diappointed because there was no kitchen (which you usually expect to have in a hostel), and the mediocre breakfast cost four euros a day- crazy when we payed so much to stay each night! Also the rooms were stifingly hot, and we had to walk to a different floor to shower and use the toilet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Excellent place. Only a 10 minute walk to all the main places you'll likely want to go to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
7.4

It was an overall good hostel however there were no communal areas so I literally didn't meet anyone there which was a bit disappointing. Also had to spend quite a lot money dining out as they don't have a kitchen and breakfast is not included. Also every time I spoke to the staff they seem to be helpful but not too friendly. It felt like you are interrupting them from whatever they are doing and they just want to get rid of you as soon as they . So overall ok'ish but wouldn't stay there aga

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Top marks to Generator. Great location, easily accessible by Luas. Staff and security we're helpful and the food, drink and facilities we're second to none. Best hostel I've stayed in. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

Great stay but doesn't have a hostel vibe (rules saying you can't bring food or drinks into common areas unless purchased at the hostel kitchen and bar). The bar was busy though and it was a fun time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dmoulder1411
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Generator hostels are excellent, all the facilities and each room has it's own bathroom

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.