X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Dublin Reviews

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1439 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and happy to chat.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Generator was beautiful. Staff was friendly and facilities were well kept. Only issue was the location.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

51%

The complete hostel smelled really badly - from the hamburgers they bake downstairs. The smell is so bad i had to wash all my clothes afterwards cause everything smelled greasy. The hostel is also trying much too hard with terrible mural decorations and the hallways weren't very clean

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Josh was such a great bartender. He was very friendly and interactive. He made us feel we were at our local pub.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay! Staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel chain- stayed in their Copenhagen hostel in January and the standard is consistently high in both Dublin and Copenhagen!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Large place with all the facilities. Very clean amd new. More of a flashpackers than a backpackers. Slightly in personal but as a large commercial chain that is to be expected. Overall excellent place.


100%

It was more than I was expecting, thank u so much. I will recommend it for sure to all my friends; You dont really need to go out to enjoy, this hostel offer a nice environment to spend time and share with your friends, family or enjoy yourself in a nice place.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all the nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

89%

Awesome bar and restaurant, food and drinks for good money. We did the pubcrawl which was really good fun. the beds were very comfortable. only some problems with they key which didn't work that well, that's not very practical at 2am and a couple drinks.


83%

Generator Hostel is a nice, lively hostel. The common area is very trendy, with a bar and a small café where you can get some food and drinks. I had a private room, which was spacious and clean, with a large window and a desk. Location is brilliant, a few step from luas (red line), which takes you right in the centre. Shops, restaurants and a cinema are just across the square from the hostel. However, it is a pity that the hostel does not have a kitchen where you could cook your own food.


97%

Absolutely brilliant hostel, would definitely stay again. Great food, lovely staff, clean and spacious room with fab roomies, safe and convenient location. Atmosphere at the bar was so good that locals recommended it as a place to go! Only downside to facilities was the communal hairdryer that works for about 3 seconds... But the hand dryer under it worked brilliantly as an alternative.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Very accommodating and friendly. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place for a layover. The bar/cafe gave a great place to meet others staying in the hostel. Would stay here again.


97%

Would have been better if the plugs in our room worked. We had someone come to look and the fuse must have kept going off. Would only work in our room or on our bunks for about 10 min.


71%

Everything about the generator hostel was fine, except the actual room. The mattress was awful, with coils poking you in the back, almost no light came in through the window, there was not even a basic squeegee for cleaning up in the bathroom, and the toilet flush mechanism didn't work, making the bathroom that much more unpleasant. Also, if you need to store your bag, they are using a paid locker system with two sizes. Two guys with cellos were out of luck.


97%

amazing place...when I went to the reception for the first time I thought that I had been to a very good hotel


71%

This is not a hostel, merely a hotel with couple dorm rooms. You won't find most of the things you usually need in the hostels including a Kitchen. No soap in the bathroom. No good sleep because of the constant noise from the bar downstairs, from the street and squeaky beds. No common room where you can sit and relax, because the ridiculous security guys want let you sit in the lobby and eat a, say, sandwich. Well, and cigarette smell coming from the street if you live in the first floor.


97%

A very nice, very clean hostel. Outstanding value for money


94%

Awesome backpacker for a very good stay in the very plaisant city : Dublin !


89%

Really helpful staff. Upgraded my room for free! Beds were clean and locker system is great. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(134 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback