X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Dublin Reviews

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2049 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This hostel felt more like a hotel. A plus was having the power outlet and light on each bed. There was a mix of travelers, including families with young children. This hostel is probably not ideal for solo travelers, or those looking to meet people. Although I think the hostel was a great value for the money, as a solo traveler, I found it challenging to meet people here and most of the people in my room were in bed early. It is probably more ideal for groups.


91%

I had a great time staying at Generator. The facilities were clean and new, the staff was very nice and helpful and the overall atmosphere was great. The bedroom was very comfortable as well. The only downside was the location, it could have been a little more central, but that was not really a problem seeing that I was still able to do everything and get everywhere within a relatively short walk. I would definitely recommend this place.


89%

Impressive hostel very close to the Liffey. Situated in a quiet area of Dublin about 15 minutes walk from the Temple Bar. Staff were helpful and easy going. It seemed to be a popular choice amongst travellers and rugby fans alike. The bar is a nice place to drink and play pool. The hostel also offers a pizza delivery service. The only negative is that our room got extremely hot and stuffy at night, made it hard to sleep but it is August after all. Good place.


83%

The atmosphere was fantastic, I very much enjoyed my stay. And almost everything was a reasonable walk away.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic atmosphere during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

69%

More of a hotel than hostel. Sucks for meeting other solo travelers. Have to pay for luggage storage, which is incredibly ridiculous of them. But, good wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for you recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

100%

Staff here were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere, decor and facilities were second to none and ensured a wonderful stay.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The only thing that is missing is a kitchen for guests to cook in. The restaurant/cafe and bar are great but it gets hard on the wallet. It would be nice to be able to have the option to cook. Also kitchens at hostels are a great way to sit and chat with people if you are travelling alone and don't like the drinking/bar approach. That us my only complaint. Everything else at the generator is fantastic! Cheers

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Super. Exactly what we needed, 6 young men for one night. Perfect stay.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

69%

Our room stank and was filthy when we arrived, we had to ask the staff to clean up the mess in there. The room was a few storeys above the kitchen/bar so there was constant cooking smells and loud music until the early hours. The bar and common areas are pretty nice and the place has a good feel. It is a bit of a walk though from the Temple Bar area and main part of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

86%

This was a very comfortable hostel to stay in especially when it rains. It has a nice bar and a nice cafe right in the facility. Although it is a little far out its ver close to the tram line and just a couple of mi Utes tithe city center. Rooms were very clean and you had your own reading like and wifi plugs right above your head. I liked it a lot.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip Dublin. Kind Regards

97%

Everything was clean. The staff was so friendly - even at 4am. The location was great but not so central which meant it was rather quiet at night (made for a good night's sleep!) The atmosphere was great - pool tables, a bar, and a cafe where I was able to get breakfast the next morning. The beds are very clean and have convenient plugs & lights right by your head. Lockers in the rooms worked great & there were lockers in the basement if you needed them. Thanks for a great stay!

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean, great staff, and quiet in the rooms for sleeping while lively and fun in the common areas. Staff was helpful when asked about the city/directions. Located across from a grocery store which is awesome.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94%

Great location and building reminded me of a college dorm, people slept early in my mixed room surprisingly so was difficult to move around at night but woukd stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

91%

Small quibble: I asked to watch one of the hurling matches on tv but was told that other guests all wanted to see premiership soccer. Am a big soccer (QPR) fan myself but would have hoped that in Ireland one would have been able to watch Irish sport. Would have thought that visitors to the country might want a taste of the culture of that country - as it was we could have been anywhere in Mitteleuropa

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards

94%

More like a hotel than a hostel. Beds are well designed with light and plug in each. Rooms are clean including a sink. Shower and bathroom facilities are down the hall and are quite clean. The first floor has a restaurant, bar and game room. The food was amazing. This is a great place for the money. If you are weary of hostels (Like my friend who traveled with me was) do not fear this is very much like a hotel.


97%

Thank you, my staying was excellent!!!!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed 2nights and found the location great.Easy walk to all attractions.There is a grocery store across the street which we found very handy.We were in a 6 bed dorm and it was very roomy.would definitely go back.


100%

Fantastic place to stay. Staff were friendly.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

97%

+ Modern hostel, clean, friendly and helpfull staff, great location, cozy place. - Breakfast options are limited, if you did not include the breakfast during booking, many non functioning access passes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

94%

A fun fulled environment with different activities on every day! Plenty of places to chill out when you're recovering from Guinness! I will be going back there and I'd recommend it to anyone who is going to Dublin!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Guinness during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(200 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback