X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2777 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I only stayed for one night, and I have no complaints. The lounge was really cool, and made it easy meeting new people. The breakfast was not too expensive. I would definitely recommend it.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I am a coeliac and would appreciate the availability of either some GF bread or cereal with the breakfasts. Maybe I should have asked your staff but I did not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for the review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in Generator Hostel Hamburg. Best regards Florian Bauer General Manager

46%

The place is penny pinching, room too small for 8, toilet door handle broken, the bed moved everytime someone walked past, everything overpriced. Will be avoiding Generator Hostels from now on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for sharing your impressions of the Generator Hostel Hamburg. We know that our bathrooms are not very spacious, but there are additional ones on every floor. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Florian Bauer General Manager

89%

Very nice hostel. The location can't be better, in the street opposite to the central station. The place is clean and the facilities are great - restroom and shower in (each?) room. The bar and terrace will make you want to stay at the hostel for hours. The staff was not specially cool or friendly, but they did their job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for this great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the Generator Hostel Hamburg. Florian Bauer General Manager

100%

I have visited several hostels in my life and this one was simply the best. cheap, safe, modern, well located. perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for writing this review. It is good to see that you enjoyed your stay in the Generator Hostel in Hamburg. I would like to welcome you again. All the best. Florian Bauer General Manager

94%

I believe there must be a flat rate for a bed in a hostel irrespective of the day of the week or current events in the city. However hostels in Germany, including the Generator, tend to increase the rate on weekends by at least 50%, and sometimes triple it in case of important local events.


86%

Great hostel, very good facilities and super location. Great Wi-Fi connection and very clean, while the bar downstairs had a great atmosphere. The staff could lighten up a bit and be a bit more friendly though. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review. I am really thankful for the detailed comments. We will work on the issues. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

57%

This was not a hostel, but a cheap hotel in a terrible location. If you love to be welcomed with rude people working at reception, very expensive breakfast for what you get, and the inability to order food at their bar (which they advertise as a super neato thing) because their cook was sick for 3 nights in a row (without a replacement), then this place is for you. Would not come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review. I terrible regret the experience and would like to appolize for the inconvenience. Nevertheless I am glad that you shared your impressions. That gives us the opportunity to prevent other guests experiencing the same. I would be delighted if you give us another chance in the future. You would be very welcome at Generator Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

It's close to central station. Rooms are big and clean. Toilet and shower are way too small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. Unfortunately, we often hear criticism about the bathrooms and we agree that these are not very large. When we three years ago renovated this historic buildings, we had a lot of restrictions to follow. Nevertheless, we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

49%

Would not stay there again

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the scores and the short note. I really regret that we were not able to leave a better impression. If you have the possibility, please let us know in detail, what happened. It would be great if you give us another chance in the future, so that we will have the opportunity to present ourselves better. In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

One of the best hostels I've ever used! I would recommend this hostel to anybody! The only thing that I was not so happy about was that lavatory and bathroom are TOO small...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review and the nice compliment. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Staff is nice and facilities are clean. I stayed in a 8 bed dorm and I had the chance to socialize with other guests. The bar is nice but beers/drinks are a bit overpriced, maybe Hamburg's prices. Downside is that there's no common kitchen or fridge for the guests. Patio is a plus. Generator looks more like a hotel than a hostel, but in general I was happy with the service. I will recommend this hostel.


94%

Almost excellent everything. Bathroom cleaning everyday would be my suggestion, for an "excellent" rate in "cleanliness"!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the "excellent" review. You have mentioned a very good point. We have sticker now in the rooms, to inform you, that we will clean on request. That should lift the comfort. Would be great to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Really nice and clean hostel with plenty of activities on a nighttime. The hostel even has a doorman. We had a problem with our shower light being broken but we were able to use the communal showers and the light was fixed when we got back that night. Great staff and really clean rooms. The hostel is literally opposite the train station, in a great location with a metro really close by.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. The team will appreciate hearing your kind words. Generator is a great secure location to stay while you play in the lively nightlife. Hope to have you with us again soon. Florian Bauer GM

71%

I would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the note. We would be happy to have you as guest again. Hope to see you next. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Generator hostels are always pretty great. I love the location too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice compliment. Good to see also that you liked our location. We will be there whenever you travel to Hamburg again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Really big and busy hostel. There's not really any quiet chill out areas, only the large bar area and Cafe booths at reception. Didn't have a meet people/backpacker vibe. The rooms and clean, bunks comfortable and bathroom fine. Great location Didn't like how there wasn't a kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for the time you have spent to give us your feedback. It is good to see that the Security, location and cleanliness was worth full point. STill we will work on the other areas. Hope to see you next at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Felt a bit more like a hotel than a hostel. Security on the door searching bags for alcohol was not a great first impression, but it was very clean and easy to get to. Prices in the bar/cafe are a bit extortionate however...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for sharing your impressions with us. Yes, we check for alcohol that guests bring in, after we had heavy complaints of guests in dorms, where other guest were drinking all night. Also the alcohol we sell, is not allowed to be taken to the rooms. It would be great if you stay with us again in the future.. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Was great staying at this hostel. Although they kept us waiting for 2 hours after the check in time room was great. Located very close to station. Really easy to talk to people in common area and has a decent bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the feedback. Good to see that we impressed you to the end of your stay. Still I would like to apologize for the waiting time at check in. Generator will always be happy to be your host. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

I was in a dorm and the shower/toilet was suuuuper small! It was also inside the room, so it was quite noisy. You could barely turn around. Even the sink was too small to properly brush your teeth or wash your hands. Apart from that everything was fine. Good wifi and location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. Unfortunately, we often hear criticism about the bathrooms and we agree that these are not very large. When we three years ago renovated this historic building, we had a lot of restrictions to follow. Nevertheless, we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. Kind Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(220 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback