X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2269 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's a european hostel so the cosyness and atmosphere is not like in asia or other hostels. This is basically a hotell where you share your room. But the hostel was clean, neat and has a great location right next to the train station :) nothing negative to say about it really. Ps. Good wifi and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. I am always very happy when guests are mentioning positivly mention our team. Would be great to see you also on your next visit to Hamburg. You are always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Great location in the centre and very near the station. Very comfortable for the price. Bar has reasonable prices and nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great feedback and the recommendation. Looking forward to your next visit. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

amazed with how central and good it was!! really enjoyed my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the great review. I hope we can welcome you soon again at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Excellent hostel with great facilities great location at great price. They also have great hiring policy for staff :P

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am happy that you have had good time in Hamburg. Hope to see you again on your next trip. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

literally across the street from central hamburg station. Location can't get any better if you are traveling by train. However, shower and toilet facility was too small. There was no room for maneuverability. Can not rent towel, only buy them for 6.5 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. You have mentioned really good points and we will internally see what we can be changed. I would be delighted if you chose Generator again on your next journey. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

The hostel is beautiful and clean. It's set in a good position, in front of the train station and close to the shopping aerea. Although this, the staff is unfriendly and too serius for a hostel. They didn't give any information about the city, events or somethingelse interesting to do in Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the detailed review. I really regret the experience you have made and I apologize for the leak of serivce! You can be assured that I will investigate the issues and will also take care the this will change. I hope the mentioned points will not prevent you of coming to Generator in the future. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

66%

The hostel was loud, crowded and chaotic on arrival. Security guard not vigilant. Booked a room with a double bed and ensuite. The "double bed" was two single beds pushed together with a small gap in the middle and the "ensuite" a small, plastic shower, toilet and wash basin combined unit. Small room. Very disappointed. The hostel is admittedly extremely well located to the metro station and could be fun if you're out to party all night, but not if you're tired and looking for a place to rest.


97%

We really really liked this hostel!! It's in a perfect location for getting the UBahn everywhere. We went for my 21st birthday and the staff there made sure we had a good time! Big shout out to Tania and Louisa for helping us with everything they were very friendly and helpful :) Will definitely come back to Hamburg as it's epic!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great feedback. Especcially I appreciate the nice words about our team members. They will be passed on. Looking forward to your next visit. All the best. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

My personal experience here was pretty damn perfect. I stayed with a friend who was messed around a bit, but I get the feeling that this was an isolated incident and was very pleased with my own personal experience. The location is ideal, right next to both train and coach stations, with plenty of local alternatives in terms of food and drink if you fancy venturing beyond the hostels own facilities! If you want to see what Hamburg has to offer then this is the ideal HQ. Very good price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to read your comment. We are glad that we meet your expectation. we are looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Had a really nice stay at this Hostel. We moved from a 8-mixed dorm to a 6-girls only dorm. Staff was really friendly and very helpful. Great location, near the train station. Had a real good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to read your comment, we are looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

One of the best hostel experiences I have had (and I've had a few!). The location is perfect and couldn't be easier to find or get to. Thanks to Jane who made us feel extremely welcomed and went above and beyond to help us have a great trip (she also has a fantastic bum). Unbelievable value for the facilities and the mattresses look new so offer a really comfortable sleep :). All in all very happy we chose this hostel and would be more than happy to stay here again - keep up the good work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to see that you liked our hostel and also our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

80%

The breakfast was slightly expensive, the rooms were ok and the bathrooms in the rooms where tiny. So small that I could not turn around in them. The shower was too hot and fluctuated in temperature, but since the shower was so tiny you could not go any other place but stand under the boiling water. The common area was nice with a 24 hour café, food was great in the bar area. Location is good near public transport, but a slightly rough area around the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. Unfortunately we cannot do a lot about the size of the bathrooms, but the temperature of the water should not fluctuate. Our Chief Engineer is currently checking the problem. I apologize for the inconveniences caused. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Hamburg. Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

Nice hostel. Gentle staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. See you next time. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Great location, literally across the road from the central station and the bus station. Staff really helpful, I stayed for 2 nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Bathroom was like you were on an aeroplane though but there is a shower down the hall. Bar on site was great, fun atmosphere and good communal areas to chat. Bar crawl was lots of fun as was the walking tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you had a good time with us and also enjoyed our bar. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

It is a very nice hostel with nice staff and a nice atmosphere. Would go there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good time. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

20%

Very nice Hostel in the center of the City, very good staff and very clean.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Great stay, right beside the main station. And the train right outside goes to all the best places in HB. Bar in there is really slow for service as is the front desk. I would say you are better going out for a beer/food.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I really regret your experience with the speed of the service. I will def. follow up on that. As I am unable to turn bach the clock I now hope that it will not prevent you of staying again with Generator. We are always there for you. Regards, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

74%

Nice location directly next to the Main Station

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. But the greatest is to read that you very fully satisfied with the team. That is our personal major aime. Whenever travelling next, I hope you will visit Generator again. All the best, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

The security card doesn't work very well when you try to go through the main entrance. It's nice to have the meeting point for the walking tour directly at the lobby. The bathroom in the room is too small. Great to have own sockets and USB plugs for each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you had problems with our main entrance. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

First generator experience, absolutely delighted. Perfect location, staff were lovely and friendly, and helpful. They were understanding of our late Saturday night and gave us late check out at our leisure on the Sunday morning. Bar man wasn't exactly on his game, a trying complaint in an overall great weekend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you had a good time with us. We would be happy to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback