X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2006 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Overall was a pleasant stay apart from that they advertised double beds online and only had two twin beds pushed together.


83%

I stayed here one night because I wanted a good connection to the airport and train station. It's fine, but better for groups. No kitchen, 10 am checkout, and the tables are low and awkward to use a laptop on. There are hostels with more character in Hamburg, and St. Pauli is a better neighbourhood for bars/food/street life, but this is closer to the Reichstag & old town. Neighbourhood is a bit rough, probably why there's a doorman. Badshah is a good, cheap Indian restaurant around the corner.


74%

Hostel was huge and commercial. Clean, each room has a washroom and separate shower. Each floor has individual male and female shower/washroom as well. Bar in hostel was cool, happy hour drinks 2,50! A little bit more difficult to meet new people as the hostel is so big. 2 min walk to bus station and main train station Hbf, 40 min walk to Red Light District, 15 min walk to town hall area. Good wifi, interesting hostel design, nice patio out back.


94%

Area around the hostel is a bit sketchy, but the security is great and otherwise the location is extremely convenient. We stayed in an 8 person room and it was very large with lots of storage under the beds. The shower in the room was very small, but there are bigger ones down the hall that aren't quite such an... experience. If a return trip to Hamburg is in my future I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Pros : Super close to the central train station and the metros, value for money, clean & tidy,excellent wifi connection ! , the usb plug points by the bed side, cool bar and a nice cafe inside. Cons: 2pm check in (not a big -ve, but after a 12 hrs flight, waiting for another 2 hrs can be quite difficult), no kitchen ! Overall a great stay.. Would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that you would recommend Generator. Hope to see you soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Hebering Assistant General Manager

97%

common areas great, staff at reception professional, but dorm small and toilet/shower in the dorm REALLY TOO SMALL!!!


74%

Having a security guy on the door didn't give the best impression of it being a friendly place, and the disinterested staff on reception only backed this up. The room was fine except for the toilet/shower, which can only be described as being similar to a portaloo. I would stay again based on location and price, it does offer good value for money, but I wouldn't book a room with ensuite bathroom as it was tiny and not worth the additional cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I really regret that our team was not able to convince you with the service offered. That is deinately something we will pick up internaley. I am very happy that you would give us another chance in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

Just to add another comment about the bathrooms, they are tiny! Like airplane bathroom sized, And not cleaned very often, which really put us off in addition to the size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We know about the small size of the bathrooms. Unfortunately there is not a lot we could do about it, because the building is protected, due to his historical backround. The cleanliness is something we def. will have a look at. I appologize for the inconveniences. It would be great if you give us another chance in the future, so we can prove that things have changed. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I give this hostel five stars!


66%

Okay hostel for short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

It was my second stay at the Generator Hostel in Hamburg and everything was totally fine. Nice hostel rooms, I especially love the socket and usb entries for every bed, so you don't have to awkwardly wait until you can charge your phone/laptop etc. Room was clean, staff was nice, location is perfect right next to the train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you had a good stay. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Pros: Great hostel, one of the best I ever been. 24 hs security and you can't get in without a key. It's 200 mts from, Hauptbahnhof (HBF) train station and from ZOB bus station. Good breakfast for €4.9. Excellent beds, with individual light and plug. Wifi in the room! Big lockers. Clean room. Cons: Some people say small bathrooms, it's true, but you have bigger outside the room. The worst thing here is the staff. Bad faces, bad attitude. It looks like they were charge per word spoken. Poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions. I am glad that you have mentioned so many positiv points, but I deeply regret, that our major "plus", the team, did not leave a good picture. Please be asured that we will take the necessary actions to improve the service. As I am unable to turn back the clock I hope you will give us another chance. You are always welcome at Genertor. Yours, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

More like a hotel. Very nice. More than what I expected!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that we overexcited your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

66%

I was in a "mixed dorm" with 8 beds. It ended up being me (female) and seven other males for three nights. Not exactly mixed. Everything else was fine though. Nice and close to the Main Train and Bus Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. It is a good point you are mentioning. I regret that you felt inconvenienced by the mixture of the guests in your dorm. We work on an improvement on this. It would be great if we can welcome you again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

This is a Generator hostel done right (unlike the Copenhagen one). Wifi was great, laundry a reasonable price, staff were super friendly and very helpful, the bar always had a good atmosphere, there were separate showers and toilets outside the main room, and the hostel in general was worth the money. Had a fantastic time here, and will definitely stay here when back in Hamburg! Would be nice if there was a reasonabley priced breakfast though..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is great to see that we were able to convince you of Generator. It would be nice to see you soon again in Hamburg. All the best for your travels. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Maybe just work on your directions from the train station. It's right next door to it but most people I stopped to ask, didn't know where it was

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for providing us with constructive feedback. We are sorry that you had problems to find us. We would be happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

The hostel is great! I think is the best i've been so far. The reception and bar have a great atmosphere. Rooms are clean and a detail is that you don't have to pay for bed linen, make the bed or take the sheets with you when you check out. The only thing is that the bathroom and shower are super small, but they are inside the room, which is nice. Overall i'd defenitely recommend this hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a good time with us. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

The toilet and the shower were very small.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. It is true that our bathrooms are a little small but we wanted that every room has it’s own bathrooms so that our guests don’t need to go on the hallway to use them. We would be happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hostel. It's right near the train station, pretty close to everything. It is clean, has a good atmosphere, and also has a strict quiet policy in the rooms themselves, so you can sleep early if you want to or stay out late and come back in and go to sleep. The bathroom was a bit small- about the size of an airplane bathroom, but for a couple nights it is not bad.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your comment. It is really nice to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

We absolutely loved the bar staff, including Pia. She was the most welcoming and friendly person we encountered in the hostel. Most of the front desk staff weren't very welcoming, however. On multiple instances I stood waiting to be acknowledged and they wouldn't even look at me- even though there was no one around. I hated to have to say "excuse me!" just to get them to look at me. Other than that we absolutely loved the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, It is pretty good to hear that you liked your stay with us, especially the bar stuff.About the reception we can only apologize and say that it is usually not our standard and we will work on that. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards Luisa Heist Shiftleader

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(151 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback