X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2572 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great place to stay. It's worth it.


91%

best location


94%

Please provide hand soap in the toilet without any charges.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. We appreciate your request and will discuss it internally to improve our service to the maximum. We already provide free soap in the bathrooms on every corridor. Would be great if you visit Generator soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

Nice and close to the central station but a bit far from the nicer parts of the city. The hostel was clean and bright and the staff were mixed - some very friendly and helpful some very rude. Key cards could be tricky to use but the reception could sort it out generally

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comments about your recent stay. I feel really sorry, that our team could not impress completely. We will continue our ambitions to become the best hostel in town and therefore we will use valuable comment. Whenever you are around I hope you will visit us again in the future. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Decent hostel, pretty far from the nightlife area but it's easy to get to with a metro stop just outside. Comfy beds and good wifi throughout

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback . Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

best hostel. clean, friendly staff, security was great. bar was crazy and general atmosphere was amazing


83%

The construction of the room is great but the door handle was broken to the toilet due to collisions of the doors. When reported to reception, happy to help but maintenance came up and almost disregarded as they was nothing that could do...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the comment you have left after our recent visit. I have noted your point and will work on an improvement. Would be great if you check it out on a return visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

The hostel is located just by the Main Station, which is really smooth. The surrounding area feels a bit unsafe, especially during the evening/at night, and the door to the hostel seemed open to "everyone" Our room was nice and clean, with a very small bathroom. Felt more like a hotel. Great beds. Staff were quick and friendly. The price was a bit too high, especially for a regular weekday. One of the elevators were out of order which caused quite a queue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent stay. Security is something we really care about, what is also the reason, why we have, other than all other hotels/hostels in Hamburg, a security guard at the door. That you gained the impression that the door is open to everybody, made me feel worried. Please be assured that we will def. pick up on that point. Whenever you are around again, we will be happy to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

a very good place to stay, very convinient location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for all the maximum points. We will be there for you also for future trips to Hamburg. Cheers, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Very nice hostel located very close to the main station. Facilities were good, room was tidy and the atmosphere was pretty. A little noisy at night with lots of guest's, but not too bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent visit. Good to see that we were able to impress. Generator will be happy to be your host again - either in Hamburg or in one of our other exciting destinations. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I was very pleased with my stay. The hostel was extremely clean and the location couldn't have been better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Maximum points in all areas. WOW! Thanks a lot for the fantastic rating. Hope to see you soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great hostel although the bathroom was incredibly uncomfortable! Literally the bathroom is smaller than in an airplane!!! The water from the shower when on goes outside the shower area and gets everything wet. Good thing extra bathroom was outside so we could take proper showers. Right across from train station but not in the best area, always lots of gypsies out. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean.


66%

We stayed in double ensuite for 3 nights. The walls are paper thin, and the doors makes alot of slamming noise. Woke me up several times in the night. Also the staff and management were upright frustrating. No one had a clue about anything and was often rude and unhelpful. Not the least professional AT ALL! Just to order some food and coffee was a challenge. Out of 6 of the staff we encountered, only one girl were remotely helpful. Clean room and close to trainstation was the only positive thing


63%

Some staff member, particularly the females have a serious attitude problem. Every request i asked for seemed to be the most difficult thing in the world for them. Staff morale really needs to be picked up there, it is very apparent there is an issue. Also was enjoying a coffee by the bar and staff were bickering about management and how they are overworked.. the guests don't need to hear that. Such a shame based on the location.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank your for sharing your impressions with us. I regret that the issues have been passed on to you, but I have also to say that we will work hard on them, because the satisfaction of our team has the same importance than the happiness of the guests. Whenever you are travelling next I hope your will consider Generator again to be your home away from home. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Lovely, big modern hostel. Each bed has its own power sockets and light. The bar/social area was really nice! Drinks and food were a good price for us! Right next to the train/bus station and most central attractions. Free walking tours everyday. Free wifi too! Only downsides to it were the showe and WC were tiny, and being the size that the hostel was meant there was no communal kitchen for ourselves to make our own food


97%

Great location right in the town and next to the station. Staff very helpful and polite. The lift available was slightly small due to one not working, so guess this couldn't be helped. Rooms were great, beds extremely comfy, and the plug sockets connected to the end of the bed were a bonus. Would definitely recommend this hostel


77%

It was Good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Hope to see you next @ Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Ensuite bathrooms and toilets are so small. There are bigger shared ones at the common area but they are not that clean. Location is not so far from the main attractions. Lockers are great, you can even put your backpack in it. Other than the bathroom thing this is a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for writing your comments. The bathrooms are really a little smaller, but when we insert a hostel into this very historical building (even the Beatles have been here before!) we have to respect a lot of restrictions. Our aim was still to have the comfort of an en suite in all rooms and we decided to install the units you have seen. Hope it will not prevent you of staying with us in the future. You are really always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

This was an average large hostel, I only stayed one night so I can't really comment on the social atmosphere. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the location was extremely convenient! The wifi was good even in the rooms which were clean. The bathroom in my room could have been cleaner though. There was urine on the floor when I arrived and it was there until I left which means they either don't check/clean daily or they don't do a very good job..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that the cleanliness was not as expected. We have now set up a systeme where you can contact the reception at any time and we will make sure the areas will be cleaned in time. Hope to see you again at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

A very excellent hostel in a great location - couldnt be better

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(171 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback