X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2144 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good position, good service, I would reccomed it!


89%

unbelivably good location really close to train and bus station! and facility was perfect even though in the room shower and toilet were too small I can use another shower room outside my room so it was no problem at all


89%

One of the better hostels I have stayed in. Excellent location and love the solutions in the doorms

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Great location, great security. Everything was very clean. A lot of comfortable places in the hostel where you can hang out and relax. I would definitely stay there again and recommend is to my friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. It is nice to see that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you again soon, or your friends. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

100%

The only downside of this hostel is that the bathroom inside the room is just so tiny but there is the bigger in the hallway

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a good time with us. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Great location right at the center, comfy beds own plug next to the bed and excellent wifi, didn't like that there was no kitchen but I knew that going in for a short stay is great

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a good stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Generator Hostel is highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that your stay was how expected it to be. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

77%

Know exactly what to expect with Generator and had a pleasant stay. Somewhere between a hostel and hotel. Great location - walking distance from everything touristy in Hamburg! Facilities are great - wifi is powerful, separate power board for each bed, a toilet and shower in room and free city walking tours leave directly from hostel. Unfortunately laundry facilities are quite limited in comparison to the size of the hostel. Overall, a nice stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your value feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. You are always welcome. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Mananger

80%

Thr showers in the room waa extra small. I could not even move inside

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. Yes it is true that our bathrooms are not that big. We wanted every room to have their own bathroom. that nobody needs to go out in the morning to take a shower. Additionally to that we also have shared bathrooms on each floor with more space and a hairdryer. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

57%

First impressions mean a lot to me and when I arrived the check in lady was rude, snappy, miserable and unhelpful. We then made our way up to our room to find we had been placed on the top bunk of 2 beds with people already in them, as we are travelling as a couple it made life very difficult. The beds had dead skin and toe clippings all through them, we slept on our own towels they were that disgusting. Otherwise an ok place to stay, I wouldn't go back though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I really regret what happened to you. I will do def. a follow up on the incidents you have mentioned. As I am unable to turn back the clock, I would be delighted if you give us another chance. You 2 are always welcome at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

I put security in average because the luggage store room is not watched by the reception. When I went there it was around 10am and a lot people checking in and out. In the entrance hall, really not in good order. Though the room is locked, it seems any one can access to it. The other parts are good. Really close to the Hbf, It's clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We regret that you had the feeling that it is unsecure. In the moment we are working on a solution. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

The hostel stay near from Haupbanhof, excellent!!!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Hostel is ridiculously near the central train station. It stands out and is so much easy to find. Lovely spot! Really convenient for travellers. 100% I will stay here again if I ever come back to Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

97%

This hostel probably has the best bunk beds. They have plugs and even USB ports attached at the end of the beds so you can be within distance of your phone without having to get out and finding a plug. Pia and Jane were really cool people to talk to and the other staff were friendly. The location is great, especially for people getting off at the main station as the hostel is literally across the street. I would definitely come back to this hostel when I am back in Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good time with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again in generator hamburg. Best wishes Martin Major

77%

Was an average hostel. Run like a hotel and so you don't really get that hostel feel. Staff always seem very moody. Nice lounge area to relax. Every single person that comes here always goes the wrong way to the bedrooms first, up the stairs. Get a sign!! Also brought late checkout only to be woken up by staff to checkout. They didn't know I had purchased late checkout. Defeats the purpose a little. Beds were super comfortable, everything was super clean. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. With regret I had to learn about your experience. I apologize for the disturbance in the morning. We are working on an improvement. Also the “moody staff” is something we will check up to indentify what was going wrong. As we are not able to turn back the time, we would be delighted if you would give us a second change. Best wishes Martin major Front of House Manager

80%

Fine hostel in general but I found a couple of small details annoying: If you don't have your own towel you cannot rent one but have to buy a whole towel, which not something a backpacker with little luggage space is happy to do. Under the dorm beds there were some kinds of lockers but you needed to have your own lock to be able to close them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. It is true that you can buy those item here with us and we are sorry that you did not get the information before. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

71%

My friend´s wallet was stolled in the common area of the hostel, while we were playing foosball. The location of the hostel is really good, but anyone can get inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for your loss. We have a security guard staying at the front door and checking for key cards, so not everybody can get inside. We would be glad to get some more details about the whole situation. Since we are not able to turn back the time, we would be delighted to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Problems with keycard - it didn't work properly, staff had to re-code it several times. Bathroom IS tiny, but if you are of regular height and weight it's ok. It's a hostel, not a spa ;) Great cocktails!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that you tried our cocktails in the bar. We would be delighted to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Generator is perfectly located! Just across the street from the bus station and the train station and where all tube lines pass. The atmosphere is really nice and it's really clean. Breakfast is not included but you can pay €4,90 for their buffet (coffee/juice/bread/cheese/cereal...). The only negative thing is the really (r e a l l y) small bathroom. Also, the staff is not that welcoming. I would definetely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your value feedback. We are sorry that you had the impression that the staff is not welcoming. We will defiantly investigate further in that case. Thank you again for letting us know. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Just next to the train and bus station! It was super easy to find it. There is a security person always at the entrance, there is a bar with food and drinks all the time and great environment! The beds were nice and you actually feel with privacy due to the type of beds. Internet was great everywhere, and they even have computers for everyone to use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy that you explored our hostel and enjoyed your stay. We would be even more happy to welcome you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(154 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback