X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1882 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The WC and bathroom are really too small....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , thank you for your comment on Hostelworld.com. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

It is near to the central station, rooms are nice and the beds are sooo comfortable. Shower and toilet was really small that is the only cos I can say about the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the great review. I am very glad that your stay was comfortable and to your satisfaction. It would be great if you chose to stay with Generator in the future. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

great chill out area with lots of tvs and a bar... but no kitchen! beds were roomy and comfortable. the hostel is near the train station so lots of shady characters hanging around.. just be aware!


69%

I only stayed here one night and as a stopover stay this place does the trick. It is very close to the central station and within walking distance to the main shopping district. However, I probably wouldn't want to stay here any longer than I did. It is definitely a party hostel (free drinks when you arrive, many drinks specials etc) and the area in which it is located is pretty seedy. It's very big and very impersonal and the staff were nonchalant and a bit cold. It was fine for 1 night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your stay and now for your review. I regret that we were not able to convince you totally of Generator. Especcially we as team always try to make you feel home, but I have to apologize that we failed on that on this stay. I would be delighted if you give us another chance in the future. You and your friends are always most welcome. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

94%

I stayed at the 6bed-female-dorm. Very clean, quiet, tiny shower and toilet but private in the room! You feel the movements of the person in the upper bed. Staff is ok, lounge is very nice. Good Wifi everywhere. Location: next to the main station.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Liechtenstein
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the good review and that you are sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that your stay was to your satisfaction. Whenever travelling next I would be delighted to welcome you back at Generator. Either in Hamburg or in one of our other properties all over europe. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

the hotel is very good everything is nice and clean, the downside is the reception staff they are not helpful at all they are arrogant and feels like they own the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I regret that your team was not able to convince you during your stay and I apologize that you left with such an impression. Our aime is to provide the best service and I have taken the liberty to take your comments into our regular service meetings to discuss internally were we can improve that. As I am unable to turn back the block I hope that you will give us another chance. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Asst. General Maanger

91%

Everything was okay, except for the price. It was during the holidays, but for a hostel, even though we had our own room, it was a bit too expensive.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are always looking at the market & the season and we try to have the moste adequate price. I regret that were not able to convince you with our value for money and I hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

94%

Great modern bright hostel conveniently located next to the trainstation. Showers are really small and right in the middle of the room which is less optimal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you gained a good impression of the Generator Hamburg. Unfortunatly the showers are nothing we could change in such a historical building with all the restrictions we have to obtain. We would be delighted if this does not prevent you of booking again Generator in the future. You and your friends are always welcome. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Asst. General Manager

83%

Really nice ambience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your positiv feedback. I am glad that you like Generator and I would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

89%

New building...small bathrooms. Otherwise pretty good!


74%

Another hostel that looks like hotel on the common areas. Very unfriendly, staff treat you like you are bothering them. Little connection or reason to with other guests. But very safe. Beds were comfortable and room was spacious, but the toilet and bathroom were incredibly small. It was impossible not to bump in everything in it, just terrible. The location is excellent you can see it from the central station.


74%

Shower room and toilet is clean but tiny. WiFi is good. Location is near train station and convenient.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

breakfast ok location near station perfect the sourronding ist full with prostitutes, dealers, poor black africans - its part of our world - i had no problem - but not s.th. for everybody bathroom is very small and for 6 persons quite - lets say - uncomfortable price - 27€ per night in 6 bed doorm is quite expensive.


86%

clean and good location. computers were handy and wifi was good throughout. bar was fun and great to meet people. location close to train and bus statiom was excellent


91%

Right near the central station. Good value for money. Nice bar downstairs. Bathroom in room, albeit small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you have made a good experience with us and I would be delighted to welcome you again, whenever you are next at Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

More a hotel than a hostel. it's actually way too big so it's cold and harder to meet people. Nice looking place but the shower in the room was tiny

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I really regret that we were not able to convince you 100%. It is right that with our 684 beds we are bigger than others, but with our bar and our café we have tried to create places where you can still experience what a hostel is about - to meet people. I would be delighted if we get the chance to welcome you again in the future. You are always welcome at Generator. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

80%

Overall it was a good chain hostel with good facilities, lots of different chill out areas around the hostel. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We are glad that you liked Generator Hamburg and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

hThe rooms and facilities are very clean and the entire hostel is very well equipped and safe. They could probably do with more people at reception as there was always a massive queue in the reception area so took ages to get stuff done. The location is good as it is right next to the train station but I didn't find the centre the nicest place in Hamburg. There may be other hostels in nicer areas to chose from if you are having a long stay but if it is just a transit night this place is perfect.


80%

Great Location, right next to the train train station, perfect, if you come with a lot of luggage. The rooms were ok, nothing to complain about, but the toilet and shower was like you are on a boat. Somewhat charming in a weird way, but pretty small. Staff was really friendly and helpful at any time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad that you had good stay with us. In particular it really great to see that our team left such a good impression. Whenever you travel next it would be great if you chose Generator again. All the best, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Absolutely perfect in every way. Kind and nice staff. New, clean and convenient facilities. Not busy bathrooms. Electric appliances available in good way. Decent breakfast. Hopefully visit Generators again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback