X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2047 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel is right off of the bus/train stop which is awesome but when we got off the bus there was a bar fight across the street, two police were walking towards the hostel, and there was a security guard in the hostel: not a good neighborhood despite the convenience. There were practically only old people here. Maybe two 20 year olds in the whole place. Despite that, it's the cheapest one in the area and right off the bus stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you liked our hostel. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

71%

A guy took my bed and he was not willing to change back to his bed. The staff is then ask me to change to another bed. However, I do not think I should be the one to change the bed. Also, the bathroom is EXTREMELY small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had to change your bed, unfortunately we thought it might be easier for you to just take a new bed, instead of waiting till your bed has been made again. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

This hostel, whilst central, was very close to less than desirable elements only down the road. The rooms themselves are extremely well set up as is the eating area and the common room area. I would definitely stay here again or any generator hostel and will be strongly recommending this chain to friends and family.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, wow, that is a fantastic review. Thank you. You and your friends are always welcome at Generator. Yours, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

The facilities are good, bed is clean and comfortable. But the bathroom in the room is sooooooo small that I can hardly turn around or bend myself. Someone kept opening the window although it is December so it was very cold during the evening. But the location is great and the wifi works steadily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the comment. I regret the experience with the bathrooms. Unfortunately there is not a lot I could do about it. I hope you will not turn away from Generator. We can offer much more. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

I had read reviews about how small the bathrooms were, I agree...they're are a tighter squeeze than an airplane bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your rating us that good. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg -Front of House Manager

89%

Good location, right across from the main station. Very clean hostel, nice beds and rooms however showers/toilets very small almost like port-cabins within the rooms. No pool table was a disappointment however Foosball table was an acceptable substitute.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy to see that you had a good time and we are already working on a entertainment program for the evenings. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

they have restaurant so they dont want you to bring food , there is no kitchen. great location, right opposite of hbf.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is true that we have no guest kitchen and we are sorry for that. We have different kind of menus in our bar and also in our cafe. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes -Front of House Manager

91%

literally right across from the main station. as a female travelling alone it was safe and central, just what I needed. The Sandermans free walking tour advertised in the lobby was a great way to meet people and they pick you up right from the hostel! would definitely stay again if I return to Hamburg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the time with us, we hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

80%

everything is perfect except the bathroom is excessively tiny

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. It is true that our bathrooms are not that big and we are sorry for that. We thought it would be better to give every room a own bath, so that you don’t have to walk across the floor to get a shower. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

we living in the room for four people,it is all fine and comfortable,but our room can hear noisy music in the night,not very quiet:(,our room number is 123.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you had problems during the night. Our reception is 24 hours open, if you have any problems the next time please let us know. We would be happy to help you. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Good location literally down the road from Central station. Some nearby restaurants and bars. Good transport links from the airport and around the city. Security guard on the door 24/7, internal bar etc. 6 bed dorm for a weekend away on the beer :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

74%

Have to agree with other reviews on this one. Reception was sometimes quite rude, also there were also some nice people there. Totally depended on the person. And the bathrooms were really the tiniest I ever saw. Had to open the bathroom door to reach the sink. Tip: There's a bigger bathroom in the hallway,though thats only 1 bathroom for around 20 rooms. For the rest everything was allright. Breakfast definitely wasnt worth the 5 euros though. Definitely better than Generator London and Berlin


94%

Great hostel facilities. Loved the bar area. The best security set-up I've ever seen, but with one MAJOR drawback. 10am is not a customer-friendly checkout time in any city. It seems that the traditional Midday checkout has crept back to 11am in many hostels, but Generator goes even further than that to 10am. In a city that's known for it's nightlife that's just crazy. It basically means you are being deprived of your right to stay in bed for 2 hours of what your stay should have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying with us. 10 am is early that is true but we want our guests to be able to check in to the rooms as early as possible. For the people who like to sleep in we offer a late check out which changes the check out time from 10am to 1pm which you can try during your next visit. We hope to see you again, all the best from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Overall was a pleasant stay apart from that they advertised double beds online and only had two twin beds pushed together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is good to see that you had a good stay. The procedure for the room allocation will be reviewed by us to maximise the comfort. I hope you will soon visit Generator again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Very stylish and modern hostel, it was clean and had good security. The staff were helpful and the bar/common area was cool.


83%

I stayed here one night because I wanted a good connection to the airport and train station. It's fine, but better for groups. No kitchen, 10 am checkout, and the tables are low and awkward to use a laptop on. There are hostels with more character in Hamburg, and St. Pauli is a better neighbourhood for bars/food/street life, but this is closer to the Reichstag & old town. Neighbourhood is a bit rough, probably why there's a doorman. Badshah is a good, cheap Indian restaurant around the corner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I have read your comments about the area. Unfortunately not a lot we can do about it, but we try to give you a good feeling inside the hostel, what is why we have our security on board. The mentioned tables are a good hint. We will change them to maximise the comfort! Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Hostel was huge and commercial. Clean, each room has a washroom and separate shower. Each floor has individual male and female shower/washroom as well. Bar in hostel was cool, happy hour drinks 2,50! A little bit more difficult to meet new people as the hostel is so big. 2 min walk to bus station and main train station Hbf, 40 min walk to Red Light District, 15 min walk to town hall area. Good wifi, interesting hostel design, nice patio out back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for sharing your impression. We are happy that you liked our design and our happy our in the bar. We hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Area around the hostel is a bit sketchy, but the security is great and otherwise the location is extremely convenient. We stayed in an 8 person room and it was very large with lots of storage under the beds. The shower in the room was very small, but there are bigger ones down the hall that aren't quite such an... experience. If a return trip to Hamburg is in my future I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Pros : Super close to the central train station and the metros, value for money, clean & tidy,excellent wifi connection ! , the usb plug points by the bed side, cool bar and a nice cafe inside. Cons: 2pm check in (not a big -ve, but after a 12 hrs flight, waiting for another 2 hrs can be quite difficult), no kitchen ! Overall a great stay.. Would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that you would recommend Generator. Hope to see you soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Hebering Assistant General Manager

97%

common areas great, staff at reception professional, but dorm small and toilet/shower in the dorm REALLY TOO SMALL!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for yoru review. I am very happy about the amount of points. Unfortunatlely I am unable to change the shape of the rooms or the bathrooms. We are in a very historical building and there are a lot of restrictions in terms of installations. Hope it will not prevent you of coming back soon. Yours, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(144 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback