X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2377 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Great location for the train station. The keys to the rooms didn't always work and we asked at reception who weren't very helpful, they gave us new cards but these still didn't always work. The plug sockets beside the bed didn't work and again reception were useless. Too much noise in the corridors at night and we were up early for another train so that was annoying.


86%

Bar staff was rude. Asked for two empyy glasses for two girls I met at the hostel for water. Those two girls ended up bringing in their own alcohol and drinking it outside ofthe bar. I was confronted by bar staff and berated, then asked to leave. The point is that it wasn't me drinking and if they had an issue then they needed to take it up w/ persons they have the issue with. I'm not a guardian or responsible for other ppls actions. They were rude and still asked me to leave. Terrible service.


71%

Bed was comfortable, USB and plug in the bed area was great, rooms were small, but lockers were a good size. Bathrooms left a lot to be desired in size (en-suite) and cleanliness (public). Atmosphere is geared more towards the parties and young crowd - thus the place is LOUD. But price is decent and they have free wifi and computers for you to use. Watch your change at the cafe, had a barista try and charge me 2.50 euros for a drink that was clearly listed as 2 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. I really regret the issue at the cafe. We will work on clearifing that, as it absolutely does not reflect our standards and the service we want to provide. I would be delighted if that incident does not prevent you of booking Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Great experience, super easy to get around

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for the amazing scores given. If you are travelling arround Europe, I hope another Generator gets also the honor to welcome you or if you are coming back to Hamburg, we can be your host again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

The Hostel is located just around the corner from Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, giving a really central location for accessing all the the city-centre sights and amenities. The building overlooks the Steintor Platz, and the main bus station is over the road, so there are people and traffic going past the building at all times of day, so you may find you need to close the windows to keep the sound out. The six-bed room was clean and a suitable size for six people. The en-suite WC and showers are small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for sharing your impressions with us. You have not mentioned the Generator Bar? Maybe you want to try it out on your next visit to Hamburg. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

what a nice hostel, 7 stars beautiful dorms amazing showers superclean and amazing staff ,ihave over 20 years travellexperience but this place one of the best , gonna stay here next time in hamburg , was in the city many times , but never stayed here , after this experience ,t his gonna be my house next time in hamburg , also breakfast was super with coffe thea bread etc.etc thank you all the staff!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a lot for max. points. Looking forward to see you next in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

I dont like the 2 nights minimum booking. I was forced to get 2 nights even though I just stayed there for the weekend Saturday and Sunday.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great scores given. You are always welcome at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

really comfortable beds, loved the USB charging ports in each bed. ensuites are so small it's ridiculous & the shower was bad, but the communal bathroom on my floor was great. ridiculously overpriced on the friday night. location is convenient for the stations & shopping, not so much for the night life. common areas are decent. staff weren't overly friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recent stay and the comments you have left on Hostelworld.com. Unfortunately there is not a lot we could do about the bathrooms, but it is good that you found the bigger once on the corridors. Hope to see you soon again at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Very good location. Bed is comfortable. Only one thing not good is the toilet. Too small. One person can just stand inside. Very inconvenient to wash tooth or face. But considering the price and location, still worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Good to see that the service, the location and the cleanliness were rated with max. points. Whenever travelling next Generator will be happy to be your host. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Just outside main station which is perfect and close to all other manner of things, needed a key card to get into rooms so was good security, food was okay there, but everything else was perfect, good clean rooms, fantastic staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the comments. I am glad that you had a good stay in the Generator Hamburg. Whenever travelling next, Generator will be there for you. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Small washrooms, yes. But not too big of a deal. Overall, good time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. Hope to see you next at Generator. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

Even though I did only stay for one night and didn't make use of any of the facilities offered, I really enjoyed Generator Hostel. Modern, great location (right next to the Hauptbahnhof - Main station), spotless and friendly staff. A clear recommandation!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the fantastic review. I am happy that we were able to convince you of Generator. Hope to see you next. Sven Heberlng Assistant General Manager

86%

Nice hostel. Very new feeling and up to date. Great location for bus and train stations. Staff wasn't super friendly, but nothing too negative. Neighborhood is a bit iffy but they have a security guard at the front door to compensate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We will try to work on the most important point, the friendliness. Sorry that we partly failed on your recent visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Nice hostel cool atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review on Hostelworld. Good see that we left such a good impression. Hope to see you next at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

The only negative about this hostel is the really tall bartender who seems to think he's too cool to give proper service. Stop playing on your IPhone, people are waiting!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Many thanks for your review. I regret the experience you have made at the bar. I have already taken the necessary actions to prevent this of happening again. As I am unable to turn back the clock I would really appreciate if you consider of staying at Generator in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

The location is good if you want to be by the central station, otherwise it is at a fair distance from the main attractions. However, Hamburg is very easy to get around in so it didn't cause much problems for me. The staff is friendly but not overly so. The three nights I was there, the bar area was basically empty so I was glad to have met some people in my room to hang out with. The roll + coffee deal in the morning is very nice and well-priced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. It is really appreciated. Hope to see you soon again at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Very good place to stay ! Easy to find, very close to the central station. Open 24/7. Clean and secure. Breakfast for 4.90 every morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review with max. points. It would be a pleasure for us to host you also on your next trip to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Super convenient location, large hostel, pretty clean. Comfy beds. The ensuite bathrooms so not actually fit a human person, be warned. Luckily the additional bathrooms on each floor had a real sink and a nice shower! Staff was helpful as well. You have to log in to the wifi each time you use, but the easy location makes up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice review. It is always fantastic to see when the team can convice our international guests. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

51%

Staff were rude and unhelpful. I had to wait 2 hours after the check in time to get in my room. The staff said they'd let me know when it was ready, they didn't and were very rude when I asked about my room. Bathrooms are tiny, airplane size and it's very difficult to maneuver in them. Location is good next to the train station but on the other side is very dodgy and sketchy with questionable people. Will not stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I really regret the experience you have made. It is our major aim to provide outstanding service and I appologize that you gained an impression that is totally opposite. We will definately take necessary actions to prevent this of happening again. As I am unable to turn back the clock I would be delighted if you give Generator another Chance. Regards, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

89%

Generator Hostel belongs to the new and large hotel&hostel generation. Simply great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I am really happy about the good scores you have given us. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(140 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback