X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2016 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

we living in the room for four people,it is all fine and comfortable,but our room can hear noisy music in the night,not very quiet:(,our room number is 123.


86%

Good location literally down the road from Central station. Some nearby restaurants and bars. Good transport links from the airport and around the city. Security guard on the door 24/7, internal bar etc. 6 bed dorm for a weekend away on the beer :)


94%

Great hostel facilities. Loved the bar area. The best security set-up I've ever seen, but with one MAJOR drawback. 10am is not a customer-friendly checkout time in any city. It seems that the traditional Midday checkout has crept back to 11am in many hostels, but Generator goes even further than that to 10am. In a city that's known for it's nightlife that's just crazy. It basically means you are being deprived of your right to stay in bed for 2 hours of what your stay should have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying with us. 10 am is early that is true but we want our guests to be able to check in to the rooms as early as possible. For the people who like to sleep in we offer a late check out which changes the check out time from 10am to 1pm which you can try during your next visit. We hope to see you again, all the best from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Overall was a pleasant stay apart from that they advertised double beds online and only had two twin beds pushed together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is good to see that you had a good stay. The procedure for the room allocation will be reviewed by us to maximise the comfort. I hope you will soon visit Generator again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

I stayed here one night because I wanted a good connection to the airport and train station. It's fine, but better for groups. No kitchen, 10 am checkout, and the tables are low and awkward to use a laptop on. There are hostels with more character in Hamburg, and St. Pauli is a better neighbourhood for bars/food/street life, but this is closer to the Reichstag & old town. Neighbourhood is a bit rough, probably why there's a doorman. Badshah is a good, cheap Indian restaurant around the corner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I have read your comments about the area. Unfortunately not a lot we can do about it, but we try to give you a good feeling inside the hostel, what is why we have our security on board. The mentioned tables are a good hint. We will change them to maximise the comfort! Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Hostel was huge and commercial. Clean, each room has a washroom and separate shower. Each floor has individual male and female shower/washroom as well. Bar in hostel was cool, happy hour drinks 2,50! A little bit more difficult to meet new people as the hostel is so big. 2 min walk to bus station and main train station Hbf, 40 min walk to Red Light District, 15 min walk to town hall area. Good wifi, interesting hostel design, nice patio out back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for sharing your impression. We are happy that you liked our design and our happy our in the bar. We hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Area around the hostel is a bit sketchy, but the security is great and otherwise the location is extremely convenient. We stayed in an 8 person room and it was very large with lots of storage under the beds. The shower in the room was very small, but there are bigger ones down the hall that aren't quite such an... experience. If a return trip to Hamburg is in my future I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Pros : Super close to the central train station and the metros, value for money, clean & tidy,excellent wifi connection ! , the usb plug points by the bed side, cool bar and a nice cafe inside. Cons: 2pm check in (not a big -ve, but after a 12 hrs flight, waiting for another 2 hrs can be quite difficult), no kitchen ! Overall a great stay.. Would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that you would recommend Generator. Hope to see you soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Hebering Assistant General Manager

97%

common areas great, staff at reception professional, but dorm small and toilet/shower in the dorm REALLY TOO SMALL!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for yoru review. I am very happy about the amount of points. Unfortunatlely I am unable to change the shape of the rooms or the bathrooms. We are in a very historical building and there are a lot of restrictions in terms of installations. Hope it will not prevent you of coming back soon. Yours, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Big hostel, decent atmosphere, bar attached where you can have a few beers and socialize, rooms are good but the shower/bathrooms ensuites are a joke, I'd just wait and use the one normal shower per floor, I had a good time here


74%

Having a security guy on the door didn't give the best impression of it being a friendly place, and the disinterested staff on reception only backed this up. The room was fine except for the toilet/shower, which can only be described as being similar to a portaloo. I would stay again based on location and price, it does offer good value for money, but I wouldn't book a room with ensuite bathroom as it was tiny and not worth the additional cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I really regret that our team was not able to convince you with the service offered. That is deinately something we will pick up internaley. I am very happy that you would give us another chance in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

Just to add another comment about the bathrooms, they are tiny! Like airplane bathroom sized, And not cleaned very often, which really put us off in addition to the size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We know about the small size of the bathrooms. Unfortunately there is not a lot we could do about it, because the building is protected, due to his historical backround. The cleanliness is something we def. will have a look at. I appologize for the inconveniences. It would be great if you give us another chance in the future, so we can prove that things have changed. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I give this hostel five stars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to see that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

66%

Okay hostel for short stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

It was my second stay at the Generator Hostel in Hamburg and everything was totally fine. Nice hostel rooms, I especially love the socket and usb entries for every bed, so you don't have to awkwardly wait until you can charge your phone/laptop etc. Room was clean, staff was nice, location is perfect right next to the train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you had a good stay. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

74%

Dodgy location but that's to be expected when it's so close to the train station. Got my shopping bags searched to make sure I wasn't bringing food into the rooms. Slight overkill and rather invasive.


86%

Pros: Great hostel, one of the best I ever been. 24 hs security and you can't get in without a key. It's 200 mts from, Hauptbahnhof (HBF) train station and from ZOB bus station. Good breakfast for €4.9. Excellent beds, with individual light and plug. Wifi in the room! Big lockers. Clean room. Cons: Some people say small bathrooms, it's true, but you have bigger outside the room. The worst thing here is the staff. Bad faces, bad attitude. It looks like they were charge per word spoken. Poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions. I am glad that you have mentioned so many positiv points, but I deeply regret, that our major "plus", the team, did not leave a good picture. Please be asured that we will take the necessary actions to improve the service. As I am unable to turn back the clock I hope you will give us another chance. You are always welcome at Genertor. Yours, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

More like a hotel. Very nice. More than what I expected!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that we overexcited your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

66%

I was in a "mixed dorm" with 8 beds. It ended up being me (female) and seven other males for three nights. Not exactly mixed. Everything else was fine though. Nice and close to the Main Train and Bus Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. It is a good point you are mentioning. I regret that you felt inconvenienced by the mixture of the guests in your dorm. We work on an improvement on this. It would be great if we can welcome you again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

This is a Generator hostel done right (unlike the Copenhagen one). Wifi was great, laundry a reasonable price, staff were super friendly and very helpful, the bar always had a good atmosphere, there were separate showers and toilets outside the main room, and the hostel in general was worth the money. Had a fantastic time here, and will definitely stay here when back in Hamburg! Would be nice if there was a reasonabley priced breakfast though..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is great to see that we were able to convince you of Generator. It would be nice to see you soon again in Hamburg. All the best for your travels. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(153 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback