X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1939 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great lobby and helpful front desk employees. The location is great-right next to the main train station. The bathrooms are VERY small and the lockers in our room were broken. Otherwise good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. I regret that your lockers were broken. I have already informed engineering to check that. I hope you will visit Generator soon again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Stayed with 8 people and everyone thought it was fantastic! Thanks

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the great review. I am very happy that you had a good time in Generator Hamburg. When travelling next, just think of us again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Very handy location near the Hbf and very modern. Not a fan of the en suite in the room I was staying in, it was so cramped and awkward I used the bathroom outside the room instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback on Hostelworld.com. We are happy that you had a good time. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

91%

Excellent facilities. Had to put up with 5 drunk roommates arriving at 3am due to the no-curfew policy, but I guess you take the good with the bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad experience in a dorm. During the night we have Security in the house, next time just let us know and we will try to help you. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

Nicely designed modern building, comfortable beds with power outlet and even USB power outlets at each bed. Clean and quiet at night. Great location at the main station while not too loud on the street. Absolutely tiny bathroom and shower in my 6-bed dorm. Reasonable continental breakfast for 5 euro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the Generator Hostel Hamburg and I am especcially happy that the team was able to impress you. Whenever travelling next, I hope we will be able to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Great location. Storage drawers under the bed rather than lockers make the rooms very spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank your for sharing your impressions with us. I am glad that you found the underbed lockers good and that you recommend us. Whenever travelling next, you are more than welcome at Generator. Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

91%

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and thank you for everything. We found the bathrooms in the room quite small and hard to use. We were glad for the extra bathrooms on the floor but they weren't always free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank your for your feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Near to bus station =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

The communal area is large, friendly and you have access to free computers... I asked a member of staff where was good and 20minutes later she'd circled a load of interesting spots on a map and how I can get to each... 48 hours packed full of highlights. A few complaints about the size of the bathrooms on here... they are small, real small, but how much space do you need in there?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you liked Generator. I hope you will chose to stay with us in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Good hostel. But dont have kitchen. You cannot make your breakfast because the hostel dont offer any space for that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. Yes we do not have a kitchen. But to offer still a good service we have a reasonable priced breakfast with a good choise. Hope the missing kitchen will not prevent you of booking Generator in the future. You are always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

I was incredibly impressed with every area of this hostel. Your needs are catered for completely. The bed set up is perfect, frosted glass on 3 sides giving you some privacy, and above your head there's a panel with USB, charger and personal bed light facilities. The hostel is visually outstanding, the staff beyond helpful, the location perfect for getting around. And to top it all off the room was cheaper than I'd expected. This hostel is absolutely a look in. Bravo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for feedback on Hostelworld. It is really nice to see that you had such a good time in the Generator Hamburg. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

94%

Very nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. We are really happy that you had a good time and that rated our staff with 5 from 5 points. You are always welcome. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

74%

Overall a good stay. Located very close to central station. You can often find some dodgy people hanging outside the hostel but the hostel has a doorman and good security so not too much of an issue. Showers in the rooms are tiny and make for an interesting experience (come with your legs shaved girls). I would recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were satisfied with our security as it’s really important to us that our guest feel safe and secure! We would be happy to welcome you again soon! Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

Be prepared to bring a towel (6,70 euros here and you have to buy it, no renting); the staff is super helpful and friendly; rooms are very clean; located 2 min walk from bus station and main train station, so because of that there isn't much to do around it-have to walk far or take metro to get to bars/restaurants; wifi is great; Bfast not included but lots of options throughout the day and great coffee.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your fantastic review. I am very glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. I would be delighted to welcome you soon again in Hamburg or another Generator. All the best for your travels Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Good base location for exploring Hamburg, around a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of town. Rooms are clean with comfy beds. No kitchen unfortunately, but they do have a bar & breakfast you can buy. Will be back for my next stay in Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your positive comment. We are happy to see that you had good time with us. You are always welcome in the generator. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

I was only there for a night since that's all I could book it last minute for. However, the only thing separating this hostel from a hotel is the option to pick bunkbeds and the closet they call a bathroom. It looks like a hotel, feels like a hotel, and functions like a hotel. The staff was efficient and nice, the shower was decent, and the beds were comfortable. The location is great. Get off Hamburg HBF, walk outside and look to your right. All in all, good stay.


86%

The beds were extremely comfortable, but the shower (at least the one in my room) was annoyingly small. There is a pub that belongs to the hostel, so it's a good place to meet other people, especially if you are traveling solo. Also, they do not rent towels, they only sell them for a higher price.


89%

The location, the bedroom, the breakfast were just perfect. Evething ok except for the tiny bathroom. The bathroom en suite was too small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to convince you with our lacation, bedroom and the breakfast. The bathrooms are really a little small, but were the only possibility to have ensuite in every room, when we redesigned this very historical building 2years ago. I hope this point does not prevent you of staying with Generator in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Perfect location!! Just next to Central Station


89%

A very nice hostel ideally located in Hamburg! I strongly recommend it!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(137 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback