X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1829 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Right near the central station. Good value for money. Nice bar downstairs. Bathroom in room, albeit small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you have made a good experience with us and I would be delighted to welcome you again, whenever you are next at Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

More a hotel than a hostel. it's actually way too big so it's cold and harder to meet people. Nice looking place but the shower in the room was tiny

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I really regret that we were not able to convince you 100%. It is right that with our 684 beds we are bigger than others, but with our bar and our café we have tried to create places where you can still experience what a hostel is about - to meet people. I would be delighted if we get the chance to welcome you again in the future. You are always welcome at Generator. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

80%

Overall it was a good chain hostel with good facilities, lots of different chill out areas around the hostel. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We are glad that you liked Generator Hamburg and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Great Location, right next to the train train station, perfect, if you come with a lot of luggage. The rooms were ok, nothing to complain about, but the toilet and shower was like you are on a boat. Somewhat charming in a weird way, but pretty small. Staff was really friendly and helpful at any time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad that you had good stay with us. In particular it really great to see that our team left such a good impression. Whenever you travel next it would be great if you chose Generator again. All the best, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Absolutely perfect in every way. Kind and nice staff. New, clean and convenient facilities. Not busy bathrooms. Electric appliances available in good way. Decent breakfast. Hopefully visit Generators again.


100%

Clean nice staffs and good location. But the young girls and boys from the Netherlands for hockey competition were very noise during the night. But it's not hostel's problem

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Wished that the washroom booths in the dorms were bigger in size


80%

It was hot in the rooms. Stayed there mid August.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice staff, rooms are clean but small. The bathroom is really small and we barely fit inside. The beds are very confortable. Its right next to the train station but it looked a little bit dangerous outside in the night. Therefore the big security guard at the front door. Breakfast is ok, nice bar.


91%

Stayed here 4 nights, and was not disappointed, cant think what all the complaining people in previous reviews are on about. Ok, the one criticism would be the small bathroom and toilet in the room (6 bed dorm) but it is a hostel not a hotel and actually the windows DO open, I had no problems with hot temperatures as the room was always well ventilated. Friendly, helpful staff and good bar area. Wifi very good also. A "free" walking tour leaves from the hostel each day which is a great way to me


89%

Wunderbar


77%

Stay was good except a lack of air conditioning meant that the rooms were incredibly hot during the day and night. Had they designed better windows for more ventilation, the stay would've been great but sweating out a litre of sweat every night definitely ruined the stay for me.


94%

Very close to the main station.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Was alright, bathroom was way too small so ended up flooding the whole bathroom and flowing out into our room. Only stayed one night but was very unwelcoming so wouldn't want to stay for much longer


94%

Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The only thing is that they close the balcony in the evening and you have to go outside to smoke. Which is quite inconvenient when your room is on the 4th floor.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Shower and toilet in the room were very small. It also got really hot in the room; the windows could not be opened any further.


74%

Room was super hot and toilet and shower are really tiny. Locker room was reallly packed, no floor anymore and the staff wad okay. Stayed there one night, dont know if i would recommend staying longer than that.


80%

Great location being literally opposite the train station making it easy to get around. The rooms were very very hot to the point that it was difficult to sleep/ you would wake up drenched in sweat! Even just some fans or being able to open the windows more than a crack would have been nice! Always very busy at reception making it difficult to ask for advice.


94%

Complete hostel, a few steps from train station and not far away from the main attractions in Hamburg. The breakfast is good and the place offers all kind of facilities one may need....


89%

This is a really professional hostel, that feel like a Hotel sometimes. The rooms have enough space, the same I cannot say from the bathrrooms (ensuite) that are extremilly tigh, making even a task such as brush your teeth a big effort. Just use the bathroom in the corridor, much better. The security is really high. The facilities are really good and modern, the bar has average prices, and a good athmosphere. Unfortunatelly the hostel is a bit pricy, but overall it's really good.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(120 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback