X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3179 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel was very good. The price was affordable and the bar was so cool. It was located very closed to the central station, which was really good. However, I think the security team should do something to avoid noises. On Saturday night, I couln't sleep because people from room 115 had the music so loud that the walls were vibrating. That happened from 5,30 to 6,45 so it was terrible, in addition, they did the same the previous evening.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank your very much for visiting Generator Hostel Hamburg and also for leaving a comment on Hostelworld.com. The next time just call the reception letting them know about the noise and we will do something against it. ;) We hope that you enjoyed your stay anyways. Best wishes from Hamburg, Niklas Peschel, reception Shiftleader

89%

Very busy hostel with lots of rooms. The location is perfect and the rooms were very well cleaned and looked after.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank your very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Do not miss Generator on your next visit to Hamburg. :) Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, reception Shiftleader

86%

The bathrooms were very small and the lock on the shower door did not work

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and for staying at Generator Hostel in Hamburg. We know about the situation with the bathrooms. Therefore we placed bigger, public bathrooms on every floor. :) Just check them out the next time. :) Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Reception Shiftleader

100%

Awesome hostel, one of the best yet!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW! 100% thank you very much for this wonderful review! You are always more than welcome to stay with us. :) Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Reception Shiftleader

74%

Just like others have said, the toilet and shower are both very small. However, the location is great as it is right next to Hamburg Hbf and has great security as each person has a safe under their bunkbeds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review and also for staying at Generator Hostel Hamburg. :) There is a bigger, public bathroom on every floor which you can always use. Hope to see you again in one of our hostels. Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front office Shiftleader

86%

Would be nice to arrange a small kitchenette, at least a microwave oven and a kettle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review! Our development depends on the reviews of our guests. Thanks for helping us! We would really like to see you again in one of our hostels. :) Best regards, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

74%

The hostel was easy to find and next to the train station. It was quiet and an overall good experience.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks very much for your kind review. :) We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Generator Hostel in Hamburg. We would like to see you again soon in one of our hostels. Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

97%

Amazing place!! Good bar, good price, fantastic location and nice facilities. Would stay there again without hesitating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you very much for your kind review. You are always more than welcome to stay with us. :) Kind regards, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

91%

The bathrooms are incredibly small. Would be good if the staff would explain more about the facilities on arrival. (share bathrooms, etc)

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks very much for your review on Hostelworld.com. Your opinion helps us developing. We would really like to see you again! Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

69%

Small bathrooms and rooms. Staff aren't as helpful as you would expect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for staying at Generator Hamburg. It is not good to hear that our stuff was not able to satisfy you! We hope to see you here again to make things better! Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

100%

Great place to stay in the center of Hamburg, I didn´t have to look for it too much after leaving the train station. Staff was helpful and there is a bar if you want to drink and party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this 100%! This is amazing! We wish you all the best, wherever you go next! :) Best regards, Niklas Peschel, Front Office SHiftleader

66%

Larger city hostel (more hotel style), run as a business, but does have a lively bar. The check in time is miss leading and I was worried I would not be able to check in after 8pm but there was no problem checking in at 11pm, it would be better to update this on the information page and this is a reason for a lower score in the review

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for staying at Generator Hamburg and for giving a feedback. :) Thanks for helping us in our development. Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front office SHiftleader

83%

The staff was really nice but when we arrived there was a huge queue which took us 40 minutes and it was quite unclear at that point. Too little staff at some points was a problem.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest thanks for staying with us and for leaving a comment! The next time just ask our team. They will give you a free coffee in case of waiting that long time. ;) Best wishes Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

100%

Very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you very much for your kind review. :) We would really like to see you again soon in one of our Hostels. Best wishes, Niklas Peschel, Front Office Shiftleader

86%

Super friendly staff, happy to chat and give advice when ever it's needed. Great bar, close to public transport and good food.


86%

Really good hostel would recommend to anyone! We went over new year so it was a bit pricy but other than that it was great.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was alright. It's a chain hostel and it's huge. But that's not necessarily a bad thing. Only problem is the bathroom. Not only does it not have soap so you can wash your hands, they're actually smaller than a small airliner bathroom. I am 6'2" and I couldn't raise my hands to wash my hair and there's no way you can dry yourself in that little vertical coffin they call bathroom. It feels like it was put into the room as a plastic cabin later on.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is located right in front of Hamburg station, and is easy to find. The facilities were okay but the toilet and shower are surprisingly small. The staff were polite but not necessarily friendly or pleasant. They gave me a form in German to fill out, so I asked whether they have a form in English. One of the staff didn't even look at me and said "NO"... It was okay in general, but I wouldn't want to go back necessarily, unless I have to.


60%

Generator Hostel Hamburg has an average price regarding the other hostels in town, a good location, since it is near the main trains station, which gives you access to everywhere in town. Unfortunatelly you'll spend a way more than the average price, since it is not allowed for you to bring food from outside or cook (they don't have a kitchen for you to use) Towels are not available for renting as well, they sell it. They don't have locks too, so be prepared to buy it from them as well!


94%

Located right next to the Hauptbahnhof. There were bins in the room to put belongings but it would be better if locks were included. They could maybe use more people at the desk. Had to wait a bit to check in due to the high number of people arriving.


(205 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback