X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1958 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Be prepared to bring a towel (6,70 euros here and you have to buy it, no renting); the staff is super helpful and friendly; rooms are very clean; located 2 min walk from bus station and main train station, so because of that there isn't much to do around it-have to walk far or take metro to get to bars/restaurants; wifi is great; Bfast not included but lots of options throughout the day and great coffee.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your fantastic review. I am very glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. I would be delighted to welcome you soon again in Hamburg or another Generator. All the best for your travels Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

Good base location for exploring Hamburg, around a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of town. Rooms are clean with comfy beds. No kitchen unfortunately, but they do have a bar & breakfast you can buy. Will be back for my next stay in Hamburg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your positive comment. We are happy to see that you had good time with us. You are always welcome in the generator. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

86%

I was only there for a night since that's all I could book it last minute for. However, the only thing separating this hostel from a hotel is the option to pick bunkbeds and the closet they call a bathroom. It looks like a hotel, feels like a hotel, and functions like a hotel. The staff was efficient and nice, the shower was decent, and the beds were comfortable. The location is great. Get off Hamburg HBF, walk outside and look to your right. All in all, good stay.


86%

The beds were extremely comfortable, but the shower (at least the one in my room) was annoyingly small. There is a pub that belongs to the hostel, so it's a good place to meet other people, especially if you are traveling solo. Also, they do not rent towels, they only sell them for a higher price.


89%

The location, the bedroom, the breakfast were just perfect. Evething ok except for the tiny bathroom. The bathroom en suite was too small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to convince you with our lacation, bedroom and the breakfast. The bathrooms are really a little small, but were the only possibility to have ensuite in every room, when we redesigned this very historical building 2years ago. I hope this point does not prevent you of staying with Generator in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

100%

Perfect location!! Just next to Central Station


89%

A very nice hostel ideally located in Hamburg! I strongly recommend it!


94%

the hostel has a good location, right next to the main train station and close to the city center. The stuff is friendly, i liked the atmosphere. The bar is a good place to meet new people and hang out.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. We are very happy that you had a good time with us and that you tried our bar, have you also tried our delicious bar food? We would be delighted to see you again in Generator Hamburg. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

83%

The WC and bathroom are really too small....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , thank you for your comment on Hostelworld.com. We hope to see you again. Best regards Martin Major Front of House Manager

89%

It is near to the central station, rooms are nice and the beds are sooo comfortable. Shower and toilet was really small that is the only cos I can say about the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the great review. I am very glad that your stay was comfortable and to your satisfaction. It would be great if you chose to stay with Generator in the future. You are always welcome. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

great chill out area with lots of tvs and a bar... but no kitchen! beds were roomy and comfortable. the hostel is near the train station so lots of shady characters hanging around.. just be aware!


69%

I only stayed here one night and as a stopover stay this place does the trick. It is very close to the central station and within walking distance to the main shopping district. However, I probably wouldn't want to stay here any longer than I did. It is definitely a party hostel (free drinks when you arrive, many drinks specials etc) and the area in which it is located is pretty seedy. It's very big and very impersonal and the staff were nonchalant and a bit cold. It was fine for 1 night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your stay and now for your review. I regret that we were not able to convince you totally of Generator. Especcially we as team always try to make you feel home, but I have to apologize that we failed on that on this stay. I would be delighted if you give us another chance in the future. You and your friends are always most welcome. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

94%

I stayed at the 6bed-female-dorm. Very clean, quiet, tiny shower and toilet but private in the room! You feel the movements of the person in the upper bed. Staff is ok, lounge is very nice. Good Wifi everywhere. Location: next to the main station.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Liechtenstein
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the good review and that you are sharing your impressions with us. I am very happy that your stay was to your satisfaction. Whenever travelling next I would be delighted to welcome you back at Generator. Either in Hamburg or in one of our other properties all over europe. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

the hotel is very good everything is nice and clean, the downside is the reception staff they are not helpful at all they are arrogant and feels like they own the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I regret that your team was not able to convince you during your stay and I apologize that you left with such an impression. Our aime is to provide the best service and I have taken the liberty to take your comments into our regular service meetings to discuss internally were we can improve that. As I am unable to turn back the block I hope that you will give us another chance. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Asst. General Maanger

91%

Everything was okay, except for the price. It was during the holidays, but for a hostel, even though we had our own room, it was a bit too expensive.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are always looking at the market & the season and we try to have the moste adequate price. I regret that were not able to convince you with our value for money and I hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

94%

Great modern bright hostel conveniently located next to the trainstation. Showers are really small and right in the middle of the room which is less optimal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you gained a good impression of the Generator Hamburg. Unfortunatly the showers are nothing we could change in such a historical building with all the restrictions we have to obtain. We would be delighted if this does not prevent you of booking again Generator in the future. You and your friends are always welcome. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Asst. General Manager

83%

Really nice ambience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your positiv feedback. I am glad that you like Generator and I would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager

89%

New building...small bathrooms. Otherwise pretty good!


74%

Another hostel that looks like hotel on the common areas. Very unfriendly, staff treat you like you are bothering them. Little connection or reason to with other guests. But very safe. Beds were comfortable and room was spacious, but the toilet and bathroom were incredibly small. It was impossible not to bump in everything in it, just terrible. The location is excellent you can see it from the central station.


74%

Shower room and toilet is clean but tiny. WiFi is good. Location is near train station and convenient.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(142 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback