X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2463 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Security was great, they had a guard by the door all the time. Some times they opened the door for me without seeing the card but i guess they knew who i was after going in and out a couple of times. Location was great! Very central, only 1-200 metres from the central station. Only downside was that it's located next to some bad streets (mainly Steindamm). I didn't feel it was dangerous just very dirty. Staff and cleanliness was great. Anna in the reception is so nice to talk to.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for sharing your impressions with us. The area arround us is hard to influence for us, but it is good to see that you appreciated the security we have on board. Whenever travelling next Generator will be there for you. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

I booked a mixed dorm but it was me (one female) with five men. I understand it's 'mixed' but having at least one other female in there would have made me feel a lot more comfortable. Also all good hostels these days do breakfast included. If this wasn't a last minute booking I would have probably looked for somewhere that did this. Bad staff weren't very friendly and the front desk were unhelpful when our tour guide disappeared before we left for the free walking tour.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. There are many points we have to deal with and I am glad that you let us know about them. Generator will be there for you, whenever you travel next. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

The hostel is right by the station and ubahn so even if it isn't close to the popular night areas, it's easy to get to them. Definitely a hostel for groups, not as easy to make friends as a solo traveller here as in other hostels. The guy who checked me in was very grumpy but the other staff made up for it - helpful and friendly. The ensuites are tiny (smaller than a plane) but the bathrooms on the corridor are great and clean with no queue if you get them around 6ish.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for giving us your feedback. We are in process to make the place a little more cosy what should help to gain new contacts. Check it out on your next trip to Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

77%

lockers were broken

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I regret that the lockers were broken. I will def. follow that up. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Great atmosphere in the hostel, tiny bathrooms in the rooms but larger public ones if privacy is needed.


74%

The hostel is very big. It's clean and the staff are nice. A lot of school groups go there, and it's very busy in the bar area, but they have games and social things to do at night which is nice. It's right next to the train station too! Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the nice comment. Good to see that you liked Generator Hamburg. Hope to see you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Good hostel, in the downtown near the station with full of fastfood. Unfortunately seats and table to eat or work are in common area where check in happens which is a little bit unconfortable, and music from the bar is very aloud. Small showers and toilet in the rooms with design uneasy to use but each corrridor has a common bigger one for male and one for women. A good choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recent visit and the feedback. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Great location and cool hostel. Mainly for groups not really solo travelers. Clean and modern with a big bar and common area. Right next to main train station.


51%

i really disappointed with the hostel since the staff was really rude. I have to wait for almost 2 hours until 4 pm just to check in to my room. The staff doesn't even apologies for their mistake and the way they talk was very harsh. Please change the staff at reception as they give the first impression to the hostel. The key card always problematic and sometimes i cant enter the hostel and my room. I really looking forward for all the events that was organise by the hostel but it never happen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. There are many points we have to review, to improve the service to a the level we want to present. Sorry that you did not experience that on this this occasion, but I hope you will give us another chance in the future. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

Check in is at 1500 (3 PM) not at 1400 (2 PM) as advertised. I arrived at 1400 on the train and tried to check in at 1415 (2:15 PM) and was told I had to wait until 1500, so I sat and waited in the lobby. Staff were not friendly which seems to be an ongoing issue at this hostel. If your looking for a place to sleep this place is OK, if you want more go somewhere else. It wasn't until 0100 when the people in my room chose to stop talking and drinking and turn off the light. Overall experience meh

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. Sorry for the confusion with the check in time. Also I need to appologize for the leak of service. It is good that you let us know about the points so we can stop the issues. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

Great staff they were very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for the fantasic comment and the scores. Generator Hamburg and its team is looking forward to your next visit. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Generator was pretty cool. The room was very clean and the staff friendly. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't really move around in. All in all it was worth the money and I'd probably stay in it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for comments on your recent stay. I am especcially happy about the friendliness of the team you have mentioned, because that is our major goal. Hope Generator can welcome you also in the future. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Checked into a 8-bed room on a Saturday not realizing that the other 7 occupants were alcoholic Brits! They drunk beer, bourbon & vodka with coke in the room. Came back more intoxicated at 4am, woke me up, shook my hands and kept their nuisance until 7am! Changed my room and came to know that these group of Brits were regulars on weekends. Some other punks and rowdy ones watching a live EPL game on Sunday would definitely made house guests running through the door exit when a goal was scored!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I regret that your room companions were caring that less. We have a clear rule, that no alcohol is allowed in the rooms and our security tries to get people to follow the rule. Hope the incidents you experienced do not prevent you of coming again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Asst. General Manager

94%

Stayed in this hotel because I need to get early to the airport, It is a really nice Hostel but a little bit overpriced during the weekends I think

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your recent stay and the feedback. Good that you liked the Hostel. The prices depend on the season, so you could make a good deal, so keep an eye on us when travelling next. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Overall great stay. Highly recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for the nice words about us. See you next at Generator. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

Great location for the train station. The keys to the rooms didn't always work and we asked at reception who weren't very helpful, they gave us new cards but these still didn't always work. The plug sockets beside the bed didn't work and again reception were useless. Too much noise in the corridors at night and we were up early for another train so that was annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the time you have spent to give us your feedback. I regret that you had an issue with the technique in the hostel and will definately follow the issue up. Í would be delighted if you now do not turnaway completely from Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

If you like a big hostel this is the place to stay. The facilities are nice and the beds are comfortable. Only steps away from both the bus and train station you can get anywhere in the city in under 15 min. For those who like the intimacy of a small hostel, this is not the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks a lot for the review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Bar staff was rude. Asked for two empyy glasses for two girls I met at the hostel for water. Those two girls ended up bringing in their own alcohol and drinking it outside ofthe bar. I was confronted by bar staff and berated, then asked to leave. The point is that it wasn't me drinking and if they had an issue then they needed to take it up w/ persons they have the issue with. I'm not a guardian or responsible for other ppls actions. They were rude and still asked me to leave. Terrible service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the time you have taken to give us you valuable feedback. If you had no alcohol with you I really regret that we asked you to leave and the way you have been asked is definately not the way we aime to treat our international guest. Be assured that I will follow up the case. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

I would definitely stay here again. Public areas are large and have a good amount going on. Everything was super clean! The location is really great and super easy to get to when arriving by bus or train station. Cons: - bathroom is pretty small. If you're tall you're gonna have a bad time. - it seemed like 80% of the hostel were young kids 10-13 years old. Wished there would've been an older age group.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice review. We will be there for you on your next trip. Not only in Hamburg, but also in many other exiting destinations. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

71%

Bed was comfortable, USB and plug in the bed area was great, rooms were small, but lockers were a good size. Bathrooms left a lot to be desired in size (en-suite) and cleanliness (public). Atmosphere is geared more towards the parties and young crowd - thus the place is LOUD. But price is decent and they have free wifi and computers for you to use. Watch your change at the cafe, had a barista try and charge me 2.50 euros for a drink that was clearly listed as 2 euros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. I really regret the issue at the cafe. We will work on clearifing that, as it absolutely does not reflect our standards and the service we want to provide. I would be delighted if that incident does not prevent you of booking Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

(149 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback