X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1716 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The generator Hostel was brilliant. The scale of the building and the execution of sleeping space is slightly clinical, but it delivers everything you could want for a short stay in a great city. The staff were excellent, approachable and friendly from the outset and were great for providing any tips or information needed. Apart from the staff the greatest asset of the Generator is the large social space on the ground floor which includes a bar and restaurant.


97%

The place was perfect except the en-suite bathroom is too small. Its impossible to do use the sink because the shelf gets in the way of your head!


71%

Not the cozy hostel, more industrial than that, more like a hotel. Which is fine, just be aware of that. I do not speak German and when trying to speak English the staff frowned on me at several different times. Still, great for groups, okay for lone travellers.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Meh. Generic, but hey, thats what you get for booking a chain. Was not informed about where and how to buy breakfast, and no one seemed willing to answer my question.


97%

The room is clean and spacious. The bathroom a little small but It's okay for us. Staff are nice and the atmosphere in the bar is so good during the World Cup match! And the luggage storage is free! So fab:)


97%

Only stayed one quick night, but it was a perfect stop right by the train station for the next morning. The bathroom was very small though (the shower made you feel like you were in an airplane bathroom).

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Bathroom is too small, loud and dangerous people out of the hostel. I don't recommend this hostel.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very noisy room right near doors that slammed all night.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is really modern and is located almost in front of the central station, near to the city center. It is easy to reach the main touristic sites by foot or by train, but it is also a chaotic part of the city. The facilities are very goog, but it is a very big building and there is not a particular atmosphere. I found really strange that you have to buy a lock if you want to protect your baggage.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The place is clean, but very very loud - the noise is a mixture between music people screaming and the noisy street. Impossible to sleep without earplugs. The staff is very nice and friendly. The Value for money is, unfortunately, not given to any point. Far too expensive!


83%

Good iternet access, friendly staff, could do with more choice for breakfast but it's easy enough to pop out to a cafe :)

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Standard chain hostel. If you want somewhere with good facilities and a nice place to sleep, this is it. however, it's not the most sociable of places in terms of their common area. close to main train station, shops, restaurants etc.


100%

the best hostel...


80%

The location of the hostel couldn't be better, our room had a nice view and the only uncomfortable thing was the really tiny bathroom. The staff at the reception was nice, but there was a really grumpy security guard at the entrance that always checked that each and everyone of those getting inside had a key (even though we needed the key to pass through two separate doors before getting to the rooms). So it was a pain in the ass one time one of us forgot the key inside the room.


97%

Great hostel right next to central station so it doesn't get any closer to the action. Only complaint is that the room showers are Way too tiny. You can barely turn around in them. Otherwise great :)


83%

Amazingly convenient location. So much fun to be had! Great place to meet new people and chill or use as a home base in Hamburg.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Security: I several times experienced that my own group and others were let in the door without using their key card or even showing it to anyone- it was also easy to get to the elevators without using the key card because you could walk in behind others. Facilities: The shower in the room did not work- the water was cold and there was no pressure. However, we used the shower in the hall instead and this was very satifying.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great set of people with good guidance. The staff prepared Portuguese soup on the last day of my stay. Good music by fellow inmates :). Good location

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The restroom in the hostel is really small. Other than that is acceptable.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was really nice and the staff always helpful for places to see, things to do, getting around etc. especially the night staff and Martin! Close to everything and right outside of the train station.


(91 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback