X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3188 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Given how many people there were at the hostel, I do think there were enough staff, check in was super slow. This seems strange for a hostel. The bathroom are really small and the shower heads dont move either so it can get a bit messy. During the night it did get quite warm and being unable to open the window made it quite tricky. The location was great, the staff were friendly, facilities are good, security was tight given the proximity to the station. USB charging on the beds are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for giving us your feedback. Whenever you are in Hamburg again, come and see us. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

54%

Disappointing stay! The shower door and the door to the toilet was broken, so that you could not lock the doors. The shower door you could not even close. There are no additional possibilities to shower as in the dorms so this was a especially poor condition for a mixed dorm . Note for girls: mixed dorms are only designed for guys. Extremly tiny sinks and space in the bathroom. Not much space to change or for making yourself ready. Not what i did expect regarding the money you pay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the scores and the comment. I regret that your room was not in a good condition. We have fixed the problems. A little hint about the bathrooms. We have bigger shared bathrooms on every floor, where changing is not problem. Hope you will visit us again Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

66%

Good location right by train station. No towel rental and tiny bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I would be delighted if we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

80%

Stayed here for a couple of nights, really close to bus and train station, food in the bar is avg,


57%

Good things about this hostel. Nice clean rooms (quite small) but with plugs etc by the bed. Unfortunately the staff are a major let down for this place, unfriendly and confiscated our alcohol upon checking in, baring in mind we are all late 20s adults. Upon protesting we were threatened with a fine sheet - what hostel has this? Sneaking in beers is stressful unless you want to pay lots at th bar. It's also quite big and impersonal to meet others. The bar is full of locals. Wouldn't stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. That alcohol has been banned from the rooms is due to some guests were drinking heavily in the dorms and these private parties were disturbing other guests. Therefore we had to stop that and implement the procedure you have written about. The alcohol will be returned to the guests whenever they leave the building. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

Beds were comfortable with chargers and lights. Staff was rude and condescending and didn't seem to care at all about customers. Our bathroom ran out of toilet paper and wasn't never restocked, so was it cleaned either? They do have larger bathrooms on each floor, but the women's on my floor was out of order, so it kinda defeats the purpose. Also, breakfast is a huge rip off!!! Do not buy!! There is a penny market right around the corner you can get super cheap food at. No atmosphere either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the comments. I regret that your stay was not to your convenience. Have you seen the new sticker, where we ask to contact the reception, if you would like to have cleaning? That is an initiative to increase the comfort. Furthermore we have changed the offer of the unlimited breakfastbuffet to meet more the needs of our international guests. It would be great if you chose Generator again for future visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

89%

This is definitely the hostel to stay at if you are staying in Hamburg. It's across the street from the train and bus station and has a nice atmosphere. It's a typical Generator hostel, so you won't have a kitchen to cook food, but they have some decent deals on food and drinks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice comment. I am very happy that you left satisfied. If you ever return to Hamburg, please visit us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

Overall, good value for money and good location. Very small bathrooms. Need more washing machines and dryers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback and the suggestion to have more washing machines. I have to say it rarely happens that both are occupied. Still I will discuss possibilities to increase that particular service. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

97%

This place is pretty awesome, has a real youthful vibe going on. Oh, and the beds are amazingggg - they were so comfy, felt like being at home. Staff were really nice and helpful. Common area was sick, heaps to do. Place was very clean, and there is staff working around the clock to keep the place in shape. I found the prices for food and drinks in the hostel quite expensive, especially seeing as it was a hostel for young backpackers :S

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for the nice review. The prices were based on the Hamburg market and we try to keep them below the other bars. Still we have two happy hours to even drop them to a minimum. It would be great if you chose to stay with us again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

60%

Checking in was not the friendliest. I did not understand exactly what they were saying and then they laughed about it. I wanted to speak to them in german and they kept trying to make me speak in english. I wanted to practice my german. It was as if i was offending them for speaking in german. I'm a bit rusty but my german is good.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review and the comment. I am sorry that you felt badly treated. That was not the intention. Our team is very international and we also have team member who speak better English than German. I suppose that you met one of them. Still I understand your frustration and would like to apologize for that. I would be delighted if you would chose Generator also for future trips. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Directly opposite train station, very social hostel with lots to do and a public cafe. Doorman in the evening, key cards for room access. Reception open late. By far comfiest duvet and pillow of an interrail trip. Only minor issue was a slightly squeaky bunk bed but that it pretty much universal in hostels so no real complaint here :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the nice review. Would be great if we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Everything was good. I wouldn't stay here again just because of the prices but it was a nice hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for giving us your feedback about your recent visit. Our prices change a lot in between the seasons. So please do check out out our rates on your next trip to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

69%

In the 6 people bedrooms there is no air conditioning, we had to open the window all night. In the 3 nights I stayed in the hostel, our room, with 6 people inside at all times, was never cleaned, including and especially the bathroom and shower room. Overall, I believe that, for 6 people, the room and bath room should be bigger.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry that we were not able to fully convince you of Generator. Still I hope you will visit us again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

91%

Great hostel, brilliant location - right near the Hauptbahnhof and Shopping area. Large rooms, good internet connection, large common areas. Food was average to say the least and bathrooms tiny, extremely hard to move in (I struggled as a 5'1 small build female) but they were the only negatives.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. The "little negatives" are also important to us, because we will work hard to improve them. You will always be welcome in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

83%

The staff was not very friendly. The hygiene was at the top level. Great location. Huge hostel - more like a hotel. A lot of people. Difficult to socializie with the other guests. Overall a great hostel!!! I can only recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review and the recommendation. Still I regret that our team was not able to convince you. I will discuss that internally to improve the service. I would be delighted if you visit us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

Very clean and polished hostel, since Generator is a chain. Nice to have security at the door as well. In terms of location, it was nice to be right near the train station, but the area in the other direction was a bit sketchy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your stay and the comment. The area has developed a lot in the past years to the better, still we have every day security in house to make sure our guests and the team are safe . Whenever you are around again, please see us. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

sometime after housekeeping the floor will still remain some hair or dust

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I have to apologize for the weak performance of our cleaning team. We are working on an improvement. Hope to see you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

94%

Location is perfect for travellers who are new to Hamburg. It's super close to the train station and very easy to find. The beds are super comfortable. Some staff were extremely hospitable, others were just so-so. Perhaps ue to Generator's size, they can't be as attentive as other hostels. The bathrooms are tiny, and you just have a half a sink. But otherwise, it was okay.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for the kind feedback. I am really pleased that we were able to leave such a good impression. Whenever you are around again in Hamburg, please come and visit us. In the Meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

We weren't totally in love with this hostel. It was right next to the main train station, which is convenient but also not exactly the nicest area. It wasn't as clean as most Generators, the hallways smelt a little funky. Our room was so, so hot in the mornings even with the window and curtains closed - like unbearably so! Staff wasn't as friendly as other Generators I've stayed at. Nonetheless, the bar and restaurant on site were fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review. I regret that you have not been totally convinced by us, Even though the bar was to your satisfaction. We will work on the points were we have been weaker. It would be great if we get the opportunity to welcome you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

74%

GOOD: Busy HUGE hostel with lots of space. Breakfast costs about 5euro but its pretty good and nice and convenient. Location is absolutely amazing. Literally a 30 seconds walk to both the main train station and the main bus station. BAD: They quadruple (4X) room prices for FRI and SAT nights which I find very offensive, Ensuites in rooms cannot fit a human (smaller than airplane toilets), even hobbits would struggle to fit. Bar and reception is almost always understaffed.. Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for the review. We often hear criticism about the bathrooms and we agree that these are not large. When we three years ago renovated this historic buildings,we had a lot of restrictions to follow.Nevertheless,we wanted to offer the convenience of a bathroom in each room and have therefore decided to take the option you experienced. Also we have installed larger bathrooms on all corridors. It would be nice if you would chose to stay at Generator again . Sven Heberling

(191 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback