X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Hamburg Reviews

Steinorplatz 3, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2470 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Generator Hostel is highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We are happy that your stay was how expected it to be. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

77%

Know exactly what to expect with Generator and had a pleasant stay. Somewhere between a hostel and hotel. Great location - walking distance from everything touristy in Hamburg! Facilities are great - wifi is powerful, separate power board for each bed, a toilet and shower in room and free city walking tours leave directly from hostel. Unfortunately laundry facilities are quite limited in comparison to the size of the hostel. Overall, a nice stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your value feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. You are always welcome. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Mananger

80%

Thr showers in the room waa extra small. I could not even move inside

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. Yes it is true that our bathrooms are not that big. We wanted every room to have their own bathroom. that nobody needs to go out in the morning to take a shower. Additionally to that we also have shared bathrooms on each floor with more space and a hairdryer. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Hamburg Martin Major Front of House Manager

57%

First impressions mean a lot to me and when I arrived the check in lady was rude, snappy, miserable and unhelpful. We then made our way up to our room to find we had been placed on the top bunk of 2 beds with people already in them, as we are travelling as a couple it made life very difficult. The beds had dead skin and toe clippings all through them, we slept on our own towels they were that disgusting. Otherwise an ok place to stay, I wouldn't go back though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. I really regret what happened to you. I will do def. a follow up on the incidents you have mentioned. As I am unable to turn back the clock, I would be delighted if you give us another chance. You 2 are always welcome at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

86%

I put security in average because the luggage store room is not watched by the reception. When I went there it was around 10am and a lot people checking in and out. In the entrance hall, really not in good order. Though the room is locked, it seems any one can access to it. The other parts are good. Really close to the Hbf, It's clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comment. We regret that you had the feeling that it is unsecure. In the moment we are working on a solution. We would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes Martin Major Front of House Manager

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next » last »
(145 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback