Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
6.0

Great location, the bathrooms were clean with enough showers to not have to wait as well as good water temperature and pressure. Unfortunately, I was not too impressed with the hostel in general. There was no individual power sockets or lamps by your bed, no air conditioning in the rooms only a few fans in the room. As you can imagine, sharing a 8 person dorm with no AC during a heatwave made it very difficult to get some sleep. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.0

Very clean and has a nice atmosphere in the bar and common areas. The rooms are a little bit small but other than that not a bad option given London hotel prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
6.3

Great location and clean! However I don't recommend it for the summer due to lack of air flow in the rooms, lack of AC and not being able to open the windows. I.e. Outside may be 70 degrees and the room feels like 90! I was in London during pretty hot days abdcthe room was hell. Fans were all "taken" (I wonder how many they actually had) and was impossible to have the windows open. I love le the fact it was clean! I'll return but on winter or fall months.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mkfberwick
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved The Generator London! Such an amazing place! Everyone is so nice and take there time to know you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Generator Hostel- One of those chain Hostels without much character. There is no A/C and we stayed during a heat wave. There were not enough fans for us the first 2 nights but on our last night we got a lot more rest with the fan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Generator's have more of a hotel feel with dorm sleeping rather than the sense of community you find in smaller hostels(which I prefer). The property is great, staff is always friendly, location was okay. Great signing, made it easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are happy that you had good use of our location and that you thought it was easy to find. We are thrilled that you had a good experience with our great friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes - Generator London

9th Jun 2017
7.7

Facilities in the room could be better, there was no individual lights and plugs

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, unfortunately we do not have an outlet bu each bed but we do have plenty all around our common areas and a charging station right next to the reception. We hope you enjoyed your stay anyways. Best wishes - Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
5.4

First of all, the room i was located on the lower level is utterly unbearable. Every night you can hear club music, it doesnt have any bedside lamp/light nor usb/socket to charge your electronics, and the security box is located right beside the entrance door that every time i get something theres always the chance of getting hit by the face when someone enters the room. Everything in this hostel is just badly set-up and uncomfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room - next time please do not hesitate to come see our reception team working around the clock just assist you with any issues. Thank you for staying with us. Best wishes - Generator London

  • isiRHS
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Jun 2017
8.9

Great location! Close to Euston, King's Cross and also covent garden, Oxford Street are in walking distance but there is no busy street near by so you can get a good night's sleep. The beds were really comfortable. The food in the bar is only average but all in all a nice hostel. We will come here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback We hope we have you staying with us again soon regards from GEN LDN

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.7

Very good hostel honestly. I also paid a great price for an expensive city like London to stay there. However a few minor things: feel like they try to charge you there: food and drinks are way too expensive in the hostel, and there is no kitchen for you to cook to save any money. Also I am pretty sure a guy in my room had stolen my iphone charger before he left, so I came to the reception asking to borrow an adapter for half an hour however they would not let me borrow but selling for 5 pounds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's great to get your feedback and see that you had a good time in Generator LDN, we are sorry to hear about you charger usually we always try our best to help you with this kind of situation, we'll share you experience with our team and work harder to make sure you have the best time on your next visit. We hope to see you soon

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.