Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
83% 3874
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
8.3

I've stayed twice here. The room is ok value but the basic breakfast is cheap and skimpy... if you want actual breakfast, make sure you do their most expensive option otherwise you basically get an overpriced cup of coffee with a small bite... and I mean small, on the side. Staff helpful but in both stays they sent me to an unclean bed. That was resolved easily though. The last thing is, there was some shady business going on in my dorm at night. Thats part of the risk though, I guess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

Everything about the hostel was great except for the actual room we had. It was a private room for very little money so I didn't expect much but it had two windows that literally lead into the garbage room inside the building. The light flickered a lot and it was super hot in there with no ventilation. Also throughout the night you can hear doors closing constantly. The place has a cool atmosphere for hanging out just not ideal if your expectations are high for the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.0

Great large hostel, I was quite ill when I was here and was able to catch up on sleep and rest even in a 12 bed dorm which was great. The room was very cramped, almost too cramped to walk through. Great location in central london

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • KSUDN0924
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.1

Generator London is a nice hostel. Location is very good. Its near Russell Square and Kings cross station. Both on the Picadilly line which goes directly to Heathrow airport. The rooms are okay. I stayed in a female dorm for 6 nights and decided to extend my stay. Unfortunately, all the female dorms are booked so I was forced to book the mixed room. It all went downhill from there. I had the unfortunate experience of sharing the room with all guys. I don't feel safe at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Overall, a good hostel in a good location, close to Kings X. Just remember to bring your own towel and padlock as £5 each is fairly steep, particularly when towel was not brand new. No lockers in shower room on my level, and heavy security at night time unfriendly and unwelcoming. Strange arrangement of not letting guests in front door after a certain time meant guests having to use a fire exit to gain entrance. Never book a room on ground floor as was up most of the night with late revellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
6.0

They have some major issues with their air conditioning system. Theres no exhaust in the bathrooms making it very humid in there, VERY. You can contact a mechanical engineer like myself and it will be taken care of ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.3

The good: location was central. The bar and hangout room were nice. The wifi was strong. The bad: The showers were pretty small. Hard to say how common this is but it seemed like most people there were families. There were a lot of middle aged people and a lot of 13-16 year olds. There were also a lot of large groups. This all made meeting people difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are disappointed you found it hard to meet people and have shared your feedback with our team here. As it is school holidays in the UK and Europe we do have a few families with us at the moment. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel itself was nice. The rooms were small however were fine you're only sleeping there! Only 1x small lift to accommodate 6 floors of rooms! The female bathrooms on level 5 were pretty horrendous.. The toilets didn't flush properly, therefore there was constantly toilet paper and other sitting in the toilet and the doors to these toilets didn't even lock at all as the door wasn't aligned properly. Only 4 of these as well as 4x showers which made rush hour in the bathroom a long

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Once again, a fabulous stay at Generator. It's inexpensive, clean, and the staff are always friendly and helpful. My only comment would be that the showers are a little cramped, and a more spacious changing area would be brilliant. If you are a forty something such as myself, don't hesitate to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.9

The greatest Hostel I have ever been to. Great atmosphere and facilities. Prices of food are not cheap, but you have a lot of other options nearby, and it is also near to the Rusell square underground, and King´ Cross. Great value for money, highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, it is great to hear from you! Yes we agree it is fantastic to be so close to two underground stations, perfect for exploring the city. Best wishes - Generator London.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.