Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
84% 4198
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
6.9

I love travelling and I have been in many hostels around the world but The Generator was the worst experience from any hostel i have stayed in. When we arrived the room was smelly and the drawer under the bed was dirty. Next day I did a complaint and Bianca was excellent. If I had business I could invite Bianca to work for me, but Last night we were enjoying the "sorry" drink and listen to the music and use our mobile phone in the bar when the DJ ask us to leave that table. Too much mistakes!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Very good Hostel to stay in London, well located and easy to go from airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are happy you had good use of our location and had a nice stay with us. Thank you for staying - we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes - Generator London

16th Jan 2017
9.1

Brilliant Location & Hostel but Lacking Plug Sockets Near Beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, we are working on it! Until then we also have plugs under the seats in our café and chill out room. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.6

This was my second time. Because when i first used this hostel it was really good and the atmosphere, people are good. And the hostel is located nearby station, Tesco. So i recommend this Hostel. Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are happy you had good use of our location and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying - we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes - Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel, location was really and staff were really friendly. Only issue was that there very few plug points for charging phones etc in my room and none were near the beds. Overall though I'd definitely return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, unfortunately there is not an outlet for each bed in the rooms but we do have charging station next to reception and plenty of outlets in all the common areas. We are happy you enjoyed our location and had a good experience with our really friendly staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back. Best wishes - Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
5.7

Room extremly small for 10 people, very dirty and leaking from the cealing on the beds. Toilets have not been working for 4 days so we had to use the ones one floor under us. Reception staff very rude and useless. Bar and restaurant were good and the food was very tasty. Good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback - your opinion is very important to us. We are sorry you felt that way and has sent your comments through to management. Thank you for staying with us. Best wishes - Generator London

4th Jan 2017
8.3

I was just coming from the Generator Paris so I think that experience influenced my perception of this Generator location. Decor and facilities on ground floor (lobby, bar, restaurant area, etc.) is very nice, well decorated, nice bar. There's a pool table and more than enough lounge space, which was cool. I really disliked my room: while it was decently clean, it was a tiny room, smelled and had bunk beds. I had paid for a private room and would've preferred a full bed to myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Yes Paris is newer than us so you would have noticed some differences. Your comments have shared with our management team, we hope we can have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

I only stayed here for one night, but I have zero complaints! Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay - we hope to welcome you back again soon!

31st Dec 2016
10.0

The best hostel i ever been!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.4

The location was the only positive thing about the hostel - very close to Russell Square tube station. The negatives: 1) There is NO heater in the room. The hot air only comes via a ceiling vent a couple of hours a night. When I complained, they said they could provide me with an extra blanket. That is not the point - It should NOT be cold in the rooms. 2) The toilets are very dirty, and locks are mostly broken. 3) The showers have only a curtain, and you hang your stuff outside it. Good luck!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.