X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3190 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I stayed here during the Olympics and I was very unimpressed. This time with the remodeling and upgrades fine, the place looks and is great. Good job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback - we are so pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Courtney – Guest Relations.

83%

Overall an awesome experience! This was my first time staying in a hostel so naturally I was slightly worried but was pleasantly surprised. It reminded me of a college dorm room and everyone was very friendly. The bar at night was a great place to meet people and the free walking tour was awesome! Security was tight at night and made you feel safe. Defiantly will be staying there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback - we are so pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Courtney – Guest Relations.

100%

Definitely stay here again, walking distance to Covent garden, British museum

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments after your recent stay with us. Your feedback really matters to us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in the near future. Best Wishes, Nathan , Guest Relations - London

94%

Need more bathrooms and less beds in the rooms. Or bigger rooms


86%

The hostel is really nice, there are lounges, places to party, it is really close from the Russel Square Underground station and also from the St Pancras International Station, or King's Cross, where many underground lines pass. The only negative things were that the bathroom is too far from the room, because there are plenty of rooms. And also the noise of the parties that happen inside the hostel, it is possible to hear from the room I was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments after your recent stay with us. Your feedback really matters to us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in the near future. Best Wishes, Nathan , Guest Relations - London

83%

Great location to explore London. Close to a major station. Dorm rooms were pretty basic but had a sink, which is handy. Best part was the full service bar starting around 5/6pm. I'd stay there again.


89%

Great social hostel! Excellent location! Loved my stay at Generator! Only thing to improve on are the bathrooms. All 4 ladies toilets on my floor were blocked up in the morning; and the showers are too short and lacking a proper door, and nowhere to put your clothes to keep them dry while you are showering.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your wonderful feedback after your recent stay. It's great to hear from you and we can't wait to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan Roberts, Guest Relations - Generator London

86%

The Generator was a really big hostel. The hostel was very clean and you could see cleaning people roaming around all day long. It is expensive, however it is worth the money because London is expensive but the hostel gives you a nice place to stay. Make sure to get a shower early enough, towards the middle of the day, they run out of hot water!!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments after your recent stay with us. Your feedback really matters to us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in the near future. Best Wishes, Nathan , Guest Relations - London

100%

Place was perfect. Excellent crowd. Two thumbs up!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review! See you again soon. Nate - Guest Relations, Generator London

94%

We stayed here for 4 night and that was awesome we had à disabled friend with us. I booked a 4 bed room it was big for her to move in the room she had a special bathroom for her totally adapted the security was nice the staff too. It was a really great Journey and if we travel in Europe and that we have the possibility to stay in a Generator Hostel we will go here! The inside is really beautiful every floor was great!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Overall I cant think how you could do much to improve on your existing package.I would certainly stay at Generator again and recommend you to my friends. The only point you might want to look at is that the fire door just before room 015 in the basement has no visibility panels in it so someone will eventually get clobbered by the door. Best wishes, Chas Lipscombe

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The facilities and staff were fantastic. This place is humongous, so as a solo traveller found it a little harder to meet people.


66%

Room would be bigger is better , staff is not that friendly

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice, new facilities. Great atmosphere. Location is alright, close to tube station. Great wifi. Definitely would stay again.


97%

Really good hostel! It seems to be absolutely enormous! Facilities and location were great. Only criticism is that check in took quite a while.


94%

one of the nicer hostels that I've stayed at, everything ran like clockwork and the atmosphere was great


63%

There is queue in front of the ladies bathroom. In order to take a shower, you have to wait half an hour. The room I stayed was so small for 4 people. The security and cleanliness is good. Not a suitable place for people seeking quiet places just to sleep, partying hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review and comments after your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Generator London again in the near future. Thanks again for choosing us and see you soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Possibly the best hostel I have staying in in years. Only thing not available here that others have are a few computers with Internet access for those who don't carry around laptops. Perhaps a nice to have one though. Keep up he incredable work!!!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your lovely review and comments after your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Generator London again in the near future. Thanks again for choosing us and see you soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

80%

Hostel was in a perfect location, right near Russell Square tube stop and within walking distance of King's Cross and Euston stations. The atmosphere was sociable and friendly. Security was excellent. I paid $100 AU for a night, which I thought was overpriced for a private room - which ended up being a room with a bunk bed and no ensuite. However, London is expensive in itself and I doubt I would have got a cheaper deal in a hostel elsewhere of the same quality. I enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your lovely review and comments after your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Generator London again in the near future. Thanks again for choosing us and see you soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

66%

Well run, clean, and nice hostel...but very industrial and lacks of personality. Helpful and nice staff, but only at a minimum. More of a hotel feel than hostel. I'd prefer something a bit smaller with more personality, charm and fun. But at Generator you will find a nice and clean bed/bathroom for a good sleep or a lively bar downstairs for a party. Not the most social atmosphere though...maybe too big?

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Firstly can I thank you for getting in touch after your recent stay with us here at Generator London. It's great to hear from you and we really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope we will see you back again in the near future. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback