Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sophiejpech4292
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
6.6

Confusion with booking, was put in 12 bed dorm when booked 8 had to move rooms after 2 nights when arrived in 8 bed dorm fellow hostel patrons advised that half the room had been empty the whole time so not sure why we were put in a 12 bunk to begin with, was almost charged to store my Baggage while swapping rooms. Staff not friendly, too much traffic for staff to handle.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Positive: - Nice and clean rooms - free lockers in the rooms - enough bathrooms who are clean - overall friendly and helpful staff - awesome common area - good Location (close to almost everything) Negative - complicated System for Lockers when you arrive before the Check in starts - no kitchen - no pluggers at the bed Resume: one of the best Hostels in London I have seen so far (and that was many). I can really recommend this hostel! Thanks to the Generator Staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Maja, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. The additional feedback you have provided is important to us and will be considered for future developments. Regards, Generator London

  • holzz
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.1

Hostel was amazing, only let down was some of the food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Holly, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much whilst here at Gen London and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for the honest feedback and we will look into the issues you have addressed. Regards, Bec Gen Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.7

The staff was both very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had great options and was reasonably priced. Bathrooms and dorm rooms could have used a better cleaning. Laundry facilities were excellent. Costs to store your luggage once you've checked out/before you've checked in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
6.9

No kitchen facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with having a kitchen, this is not a service that Generator offers. However our cafe is open from morning until night with great and affordable options. Best wishes - Generator London

  • mattanderson995
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

All and all such a good hostel , small rooms but to be expected, descent staff and good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your awesome feedback about our hostel! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and facilities. Best wishes - Generator London

  • jessicamgrove2312
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
5.4

This hostel isn't consistent with its sister Generator in Amsterdam. It doesn't supply towels to dorms, but does for private rooms, and towels are only available to purchase, not rent. The bathrooms were filthy for an entire day, from morning when we left, to after 9pm when we got back. The men's had sheets and towels everywhere in the bathrooms and the overall bathrooms were filthy, you wouldn't want to touch the walls.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. All of our Generator hostels are unique and different than one another, and depending on the city and type of building, what we are able to do with our space can sometimes be limited. I'm disappointed to hear about the cleanliness of your room, as this is not the norm. I hope that our 24 hour team was able to help you with these issues. Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
7.7

My partner and I stayed here for just over a week. Absolutely fantastic location, located right near two major train stations surrounded by lots of little cafes and even a local shopping centre. A very clean hostel. The only problem with this hostel was that our 4 room dorm had hardly any space to move around in, it was constantly stuffy despite having a fan and for some reason my bed got remade 3 times over the course of our stay which was a pain. Beds were semi-comfortable. An okay all rounder

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel, this is the flagship hostel for Generator. Great staff, and several facilities and amenities. The property is very well maintained. My only issue with the place is that it's a big hostel, which means slightly more difficult to chat with new people and meet strangers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • setkun
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
8.6

First staff I met at the reception wasn't so nice. I arrived at dawn instead of midnight because of a delay at the airport. He asked me why I was checking in late with a confrontiational as if I had breached a contract. (Later realised that it wasnt even a big deal.) Overall, the staff were very pleasant including the cleaners. The place was very clean and they had good facilities for socializing. I would definately stay here again. Ow and the location is very good too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.