X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3041 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice hostel, perfect for short stays and young people. The spaces (bedrooms, bathrooms, showers) are very tiny, especially for the toilet/showers, you don't know where to put your stuff to take a shower and two people are already too many. Also, a bit annoying the fact that, as all doors (bedrooms, bathrooms, showers) close automatically (if you don't hold them from closing) starting from 5:30/6 am, the hostel becomes VERY loud and if you're a light sleeper, it's hard to keep sleeping.


89%

Got put into a 13 bed dorm even though i booked a 10 bed dorm well in advance. Unsure why this was as if i wanted to stay in a 13 bed or more i would have booked it and at that rate. Wish i was told about the breakfast option on checkin and paid in advance i didnt realise this until someone told me the day i checked out so was eating at cafe down road. Everything else was great. Could it be possible to get a hook inside the showers too to hang valuables (room card etc) when showering


94%

Clean room, awesome staff, the bar at night was very fun to drink at. Overall great place to stay


94%

My only complain is that there's only 1 elevator in the hostel and sometimes it's used by the staff to move stuff around, also the breakfast card is a trap shouldn't have bought it LOL. Other than that, great hostel in general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your review after your stay! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we appreciate your comments and suggestions. See you again soon at Generator London. Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

Great friendly staff who were very helpful. Great bar where the drinks are cheaper than when you're out in town. Security 24/7. they overbooked, but compensated by giving us a new (bigger) room.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback after your stay with us. It's good to hear from you and we hope to see you back in London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

69%

Was quite a nice hostel but be prepared to wait ages for anything here. Everyone checks in at 2 and it took the lady 25 mins just to check us in, I felt sorry for all the people lined up behind us. We waited 45 minutes in the line for breakfast and others waited much longer. Also make sure you take your card out with you, the security guard tried not to let us in because we didn't take our individual room keys out, nobody told us this! Other than that, hostel was nice, woukd go again


97%

modern, clean hostel with bar and everything you might want and need in a great location... however... whoever designed the showers- especially on the ground (first) floor- deserves a big slap! Will take someone with long hair forever to wash hair under those silly showerheads- and those who don't want to will get them wet anyway, no privacy whatsoever and on the ground floor if you step out of the shower and someone opens the door to the toilet/showers everyone in the hallway gets an eyeful.


54%

The room was extremely noisy at night, because the club kept screaming all night long. The heating system didn't work, making the room super cold at night. The toilets was far from our room, and what's worse, not enough hot water for shower. One of the safeguard was not friendly at all. Otherwise it was generally good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I was disappointed to read some of your feedback after your stay, as we aim to achieve a top notch service for all our guests. We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure the team here gets to see your comments. Thanks again for choosing Generator and we hope to see you again soon. Nate - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Have stayed here several times and certainly will again! Best hostel ever!!!


100%

Loved it! My first hostel experience and the bar scene was awesome, bathrooms were clean, the people staying seemed friendly too. The security guard at the door was also very attentive. I highly recommend this place based on location, cleanliness, and friendliness of other visitors

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

80%

Too big, Kind of wanna be backpacker/Globetrotter atmosphere. Can't escape the chiiling music...but anyway, a Lot of places to hang around.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback, it's good to hear from you and I will pass along your comments to the team here in London. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

89%

It would be great customers can leave their luggage free. I'd like you to fix space to leaving it somehow.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

What a great stay!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thanks for choosing Generator London. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

I love Generator Hostels. Not as good as the Barcelona location but it was still an amazing stay. Beds were clean, new, and comfortable. Felt like I was sleeping in a hotel. Staff was really nice. They let me print things and charge my phone for free. As for the price - you won't find anything cheap in London so just be prepared to pay a premium wherever you stay. FYI: lockers only fit locks with thin handles. Overall I highly recommend this hostel. Everything was so clean!!!


86%

Very good hostel, but a bit expensive. Breakfast was not that good, even if it's only £4. The fact that you need to pay for anything extra (included for the locker room to leave your luggage) is a bit frustrating, knowing you pay your night a good amount of money already However, very clean and extremely safe hostel !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. It's always great to get the comments and suggestions of our guests so that we can continually improve the services and facilities we offer. I hope we will be seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Great place to stay. Plenty of things to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your feedback, It's great to hear from you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

The hostel was fabulous!!!!! Great deal for London. I had a broken arm and emailed them requesting a bottom bunk and they accomadaTed me. Great service and friendly staff.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for completing a short review with your feedback and comments. It's great to hear from you and We hope to see you back at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Great place, with a variety of different communal areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for completing a short review with your feedback and comments. It's great to hear from you and We hope to see you back at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

89%

Tucked away in a pretty quiet area of town, just a few minutes walk from a metro station. Friendly, helpful staff, no kitchen, but they have a cafe/restaurant with pretty good though limited selection of food. Everything was clean. Good security, have your keycard ready. Only one complaint: there's a piano located in the cafe area, and late at night drunk people bang on it loudly from time to time at 2am, woke me up once or twice. Overall great stay! (1 week)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback and thank you for choosing Generator London. It's great to hear that the team here impressed you and that we were able to create some memorable experiences of your time in London. I have noted your feedback about the Piano also ;-) Thanks again and see you soon, Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

66%

The showers is really bad, some boys uses the girls showers, and my room don't have windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your feedback and suggestions. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but your comments will help us improve the service we offer all of our guests. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback