X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2711 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Hello traveler female! This review is for a female traveler /Camden party goer: I stayed at the girl dorm which was great. The price is fair and the atmosphere is young and good. To the staff supervisor: please add a bench at the shower. We have nowhere proper to put our stuff. also- can you get computers to rent? Overall it was great. I didn't like one stuff member who was giving me an uncomfortable feeling: a girl with glasses at the reception. Overall it was nice.


100%

It's the best hostel that I have ever been in Europe!! All organized and clean! Staff really helpful and friendly. It's near to everything, especially from the London main station: st. pancras. All nights there are parties at the bar, which is really cool. I strongly recommend this hostel and I'll be back soon.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Wow! Thank you so much for this amazing feedback! It's so great to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you will totally be coming back next time your in town! Keep spreading the #genlove and we will see you again real soon! Best wishes Nate - Guest Relations Team

71%

great location, friendly staff, large and anonymous, rooms ok but not very comfy (nothing to sit on except the floor or crouched on the bed, barely anyplace to hang clothing, slightly smelly), shared bathroom large but not in full working order (toilets that don´t flush, showers with only very hot or cold water, flooded floors and again, no hooks). So: ok for a night or two, but I wouldn´t choose it again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in certain areas, and would love the opportunity to chat in more detail. Please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to chat. On a plus note it's fantastic to hear you like our team, as service is something we pride ourselves on here at Generator. Best wishes Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Very elegant and central to metro and bus system. I would have liked access to a refrigerator to store my purchases and a microwave or electric kettle. Hosteling is about saving money on certain areas and it was difficult to soon food because there were no provisions for it. There is enough space in this hostel for them to install a small kitchen for guest use.


49%

Well... The 3 room private dorm should be renamed 3 person shoe/sweat/sauna/bikram room. No air con in the room. No room to put your belongings. We ended up checking out within 30min. Manager was nice enough and very understanding to give us our full refund. We moved to a hotel in a better area and for a lot cheaper and a lot more nicer room. Ppl travelling on their own it's probably fine. But 3 grown blokes it just wasn't gonna cut it. Rant over

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback guys! I actually remember you and I can appreciate the feedback and that it probably wasn't what you were looking for. Hope you managed to enjoy the rest of your time in London, and next time your in town let us know and we can look at other room options for you to give you some extra space. Hopefully it won't be quite as warm after sumer! It's been totally unexpected and very unusual to get such hot weather in England! Nate - Guest Relations Team

83%

Extremely large hostel (900 people!) but with great facilities and within a 10 minute walk to Kings Cross. Top notch security, nice bar area. 8 bed female dorm had plenty of powerpoints and reasonably sized 'underbed' lockers. More like a hotel than a hostel. Key card access. Good for one or two nights, but I'd choose somewhere smaller for a longer stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your wicked feedback. Big #genlove from London and hope we see you again soon. Best Wishes Nate - Guest Relations Executive

80%

Very good atmosphere and in a great location. Rooms are very small (4 person mixed dorms) and get very hot during summer time.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was great except the bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for your review, I will pass on your comments about the bathrooms to the team here. I hope we see you in London again soon and have a great summer! Best Wishes Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

Probably the best hostel I stayed during my trip. Very organized, beautiful with a great environment to stay and meet people.


94%

No fully opening windows or airconditioning in the room but over all it was a great stay !

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Great to hear from you after your recent trip to London! Apologies about the windows, but its a Health and Safety feature we have to have in place for the safety of all our guests. I hope we see you again in London in the future. Have a wicked summer! Best Wishes Nate - Guest Relations Executive

89%

The Generator is a really nice hostel. Very clean, up to date and comfortable. The only issues we had were the set up and space in the 12 bed female dorms. Also the security is EXTREME. No front door access after 7pm with security guards everywhere! My friend forgot her keycard in the room and they asked her a million questions and were very rude to her about making an honest mistake. Otherwise, the stay we had was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for your thoughts after your stay with us. It's always great to get feedback from our guests. I'm sorry you felt the security was perhaps a little overwhelming, but I'm sure you can appreciate with over 800+ people in the building the safety and comfort of everyone is a number one priority. I do hope we see you again, and hope you have a great summer! Best Wishes Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

Pros: Common amenities are great — restaurant has good food for cheap, nice lounging areas and perks like laundry, storage lockers, ATM, etc. Wifi in entire hostel. Cons: 5th floor was sweltering in low 80s/high 70s. We politely requested a fan several times and never got it. We booked months ahead but were stuck on top floor, far from bathrooms. Ladies bathroom toilets broke daily but fixed quickly. 3 of 4 showers ice or fire hot. Only four plugs in a four-bed room. Mattresses uncomfortable.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed here during the summer time


49%

no conditioning in a room, impossible to breathe, staff didn't react to our requests to give us a fan or repair ventilator; only hot water in the shower, wasn't possible to take a shower;

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed at the generator last year before the renovations, and stayed in quite a large room. This year, the new room I stayed in was so cramped that I could barely move, which was a big disappointment. The chillout room with cushions and power outlets downstairs was excellent. The staff were very friendly, helping me organise a couple of tours I wanted to do. Decent atmosphere in the bar. Showers were either too cold or too hot, but the bathrooms were good otherwise.


74%

The staff were not very friendly. The room was very small and no one came to clean it during the 7 days I was there.


91%

Its been a fantastic experience. Truly nice place.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked the layout of the hostel and the surrounding area. I enjoyed the amenities (bar, cafe, etc.) and really liked the atmosphere of the hostel overall.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

One of the most dirty hostels I've stayed at. bathrooms were putrid. no chargers next to the beds and dirty rooms. nothing was clean and reception staff dismissive. im glad I moved after one night.


97%

This is probably one of the best hostels I have ever been to. They had high standard on security with several guards walking about. I booked a room for two using hostelworld.com and it turned out we got a room with bunk beds. Travelling with my girlfriend I would rather have a ordinary double bed. They had rooms with double beds but none of these where available. The entire first floor had a bar, café, tv room++ and where a nice place to spend the evenings or have a drink or a meal.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(147 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback