X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3010 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What a great stay!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thanks for choosing Generator London. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

86%

Very good hostel, but a bit expensive. Breakfast was not that good, even if it's only £4. The fact that you need to pay for anything extra (included for the locker room to leave your luggage) is a bit frustrating, knowing you pay your night a good amount of money already However, very clean and extremely safe hostel !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. It's always great to get the comments and suggestions of our guests so that we can continually improve the services and facilities we offer. I hope we will be seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Great place to stay. Plenty of things to do.


100%

The hostel was fabulous!!!!! Great deal for London. I had a broken arm and emailed them requesting a bottom bunk and they accomadaTed me. Great service and friendly staff.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, with a variety of different communal areas


89%

Tucked away in a pretty quiet area of town, just a few minutes walk from a metro station. Friendly, helpful staff, no kitchen, but they have a cafe/restaurant with pretty good though limited selection of food. Everything was clean. Good security, have your keycard ready. Only one complaint: there's a piano located in the cafe area, and late at night drunk people bang on it loudly from time to time at 2am, woke me up once or twice. Overall great stay! (1 week)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback and thank you for choosing Generator London. It's great to hear that the team here impressed you and that we were able to create some memorable experiences of your time in London. I have noted your feedback about the Piano also ;-) Thanks again and see you soon, Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

66%

The showers is really bad, some boys uses the girls showers, and my room don't have windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your feedback and suggestions. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but your comments will help us improve the service we offer all of our guests. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

69%

This hostel is very easy to get to from the airport and is centrally located to pretty much everything. The wireless internet is really good and you get coverage throughout the hostel. The common room is very trendy. The 6 bed room was so small that not every could fit their luggage in. This hostel is way overpriced and everything costs extra. The elevator was broken when I checked out so I had to carry heavy bags down 4 flights of stairs. A kitchen or at least a microwave would have been fab.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks fro your feedback after your stay with us here in London! I was disappointed to read that you faced a few issues, in particular the elevator. We do hold a maintenance contract and try to get it back up and running, within safety guidelines, as soon as we can. Apologies for any inconvenience you faced. I hope we will see you back at Generator again in the future and thanks again for choosing us. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Thought breakfast was rather pricey! Other than that, lovely location and interior! Would go back and stay in a heartbeat if I were back in London!

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your suggestions and feedback with us. It's great to hear from you and I hope we will be welcoming you back to Generator London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

83%

The internal staff were all extremely helpful, welcoming and friendly. Good value for money at the bar/café. Security were nice and gave peace of mind, bar one security member who was particularly unwelcoming and rude. Could do with better heating arrangement as room was freezing, however, we did get extra duvets which did the job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your great review after your recent stay with us at Generator London. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to continually improve the service we offer. We hope to see you again soon Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

83%

Excellent hostel with a few minor irritations. Paying 40 pounds for a small 4 bed dorm seemed steep. Security guards are annoying. Guests should be told at check-in you need to show your card key.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your great review after your recent stay with us at Generator London. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to continually improve the service we offer. We hope to see you again soon Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

83%

Rooms are on the small side and pretty expensive (That's just London for you). Security on the door the whole night makes the place safe and the bar offers anything you could want. Close to Kings Cross metro which basically means everywhere is accessible with 30 mins.


46%

This hostel is very deceptive in the way it presents itself. The location is great but that is just about it. The staff was very rude - especially a guard outside who harassed me. They make you pay for almost everything - lockers, outlets to charge your phone, things that many other hostels have for free. My sheets were dirty and the hallways smell pretty bad. If you have the chance to get an AirBnb instead for a similar price I would recommend that instead! Overall 3 or 4 / 10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I was disappointed to read your review after your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us improve the service we offer. We offer large social spaces with many power outlets for laptops, tablets and mobile phone charging. I apologize if you felt any of our staff were rude, this is not what we would expect from our team. Please feel free to contact us if you wish to talk more about your experience. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Team

86%

Good hostel. Reading lights would be useful but otherwise all very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. We hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

The staff went out of their way when the first room we had been allocated was too noisy for us. It would be suitable for the younger ones who were staying up late for the music evening. We were given a quieter room in another part of the hostel and the staff were extremely helpful and very polite! Will definitely return again. Great place to stay. Lovely safe, friendly, clean, comfortable and welcoming place to be.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that the team were able to accommodate your requests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

77%

Very bad breakfast, don't pay it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for your feedback. I have already passed this along to our head chef for consideration. We hope to see you again at Generator London soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

83%

Great location, short walk to multiple zone 1 tube stations. Really nice and new place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your great feedback, we really appreciate all of our guests comments and suggestions. We hope to see you back at Generator London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

86%

A kitchen would have been great! Breakfast is slightly expensive. Rooms are nice and staff is very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for your feedback. I will be passing it along to the whole team here. We hope to see you back at Generator again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

Great place, atmosphere and staff! I recommend it!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for your review after your stay with us. We hope to see you at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

77%

Comfy beds, awesome location, showers were a bit gross and there wasn't anywhere to hang my clothes. Also, need plug sockets next to beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Many thanks for your review after your stay with us. We hope to see you at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback