Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
84% 4091
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nicolelankist2048
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel very close to King's Cross. The atmosphere is fantastic with a great bar, fun activities, and good food. Our room was very nice and the showers had amazing water pressure and hot water (rare for some hostels I have stayed in recently). Very nice place and planning to stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely comments after your recent stay with us here at Generator London. I'm thrilled to hear that we have met your expectations and I do hope we will be seeing you again at Generator in the future. Best wishes Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.4

Great location, good rooms and great value for money given how expensive some of the other london hostels are.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • esenyn9522
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
4.9

First day: error system - they move me in another room; second day- the new room smell like a dirty toilet. They put me in another room where was very cold (outside it was -4 degree). The stuff told sent me a guy to repear but unsuccesufull.; next night same situation: cold like a hell. Breakfast: i m vegetarian. They have just cheese, ham, butter, jam, milk. U have to pay for everything: english adaptor for cell phone, key locker, for the box to put your luggage when u leave. :(((((

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.6

Loved my stay at Generator. Good location and close to the tube. Good atmosphere, movie room and bar. Rooms were clean and good facilities to lock away bags. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Jonathan was so helpful in assisiting me with how to use the tube and get to the places I wanted to go. He went above and beyond to help me which was really nice as I've never visited London before and was travelling alone. Will definetly come back to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely review after your recent stay with us here in Generator. We are really glad that our staff was helpful and we will make sure Jonathan will hear about it :) All the best Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.9

The place looks good and the staff is nice and friendly but the room was small and a bit noisy at night. The one thing that would prevent me from returning there is that there were few toilets (so I had to walk all the hallway in the middle of the night till I reached them), these were quite dirty and wet all the time, there were no shelves or chairs where to place your stuff, which made it really unconfortable, and sometimes the water was not warm enough for a proper winter shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! It is really good to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Generator London! Our staff is doing their best to create a positive vibe and provide our guests with great service! Your comment about bathrooms have already been passed along to our maintenance and housekeeping team. Also, we are currently working on some improvements in our shared facilities so we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you in our hostel again to show you how we have improved! Best wishes! Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.0

Toilets constantly blocked Easy to get a key for anyone's room but hard to genuinely get into the building Great location But pretty poor hostel overall when compared with others of a similar price in major cities across the world. I wouldn't recommend staying here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations but thank you for giving us the opportunity to make improvements. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Perfect location, unfortunatelly qiute noisy because of the underground. Do not eat there. There are plenty oppurtunities of cheaper and better food in neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you have experienced some problems during your stay. We will make sure our management team will be informed about all issues. Best wishes Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
2.0

Som veľmi nespokojná! V hosteli som nespala lebo okolnosti sa inak vyvinuli . Keď som sa na další den pozrela na účet bolo mi stiahnutých z úctu 30£ ! Písala som im tam aj e-mail no len ignorancia sa mi vrátila naspäť. Verim ze mi peniaze pošlete naspäť inak Zvolim iné sily!!!!!!! We didn t sleep in your f´cking hostel ! Why you take my money from my account?! I advise you to give my money back as soon ,as possible ,because if no i give it in a criminal complaint. My e-mail you've ignored.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Can we please ask you to send an email with all the details to our reservations team. We will resolve this issue as soon as possible. Regards Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2016
7.4

hostile staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't have a pleasant experience with our staff. Your comment has been already passed to our Reception Manager. Kind regards Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel itself was good and surprisingly very clean for the amount of people and activity that goes on daily. This was my first hostel experience and I'm not sure I'm interested in doing it again (specifically if I'm traveling by myself) but I would definitely recommend this one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was your first hostel experience. Thank you for staying - we hope to see you back again sometime. Best wishes - Generator London

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.