X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2724 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent hostel choice in Bloomsbury! Felt very safe and clean. The facilities were nice enough- I'd recommend doing your laundry elseware! It took forever and there was a spot around the corner I saw later. But a great choice overall!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Amazing location and really good security- however at times felt quite like a school camp, all ages allowed so quite a few school groups around! Good vibe in the bar thurs/Friday nights, if you're looking for a party hostel however id definitely recommend elsewhere. Also 4 bed dorm incredibly small- barely room for two people to stand comfortably and the rooms can get REALLY hot!


86%

The women's bathroom was a shambles. The toilets were always clogged (poor plumbing I presume) and some showers were broken and only produced cold water. If they fix these issues, 10 out of 10.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was godd Nice Facilities, near by tube station, clean room

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location, good room and a good bar downstairs. Staff were rude and shower facilities were ordinary. Wouldn't recommend staying here.


83%

Very good all in all. would definitely stay again. but four pound for a towel?

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location - few mins walk to the metro. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was impossible to get any sleep but that's expected in a way. The room didn't look like it had been swept or vacuumed at all in a while but the actual bed area was clean. If you book early enough then it's good value for money but it is costly compared to some other hostels I've stayed in with more homely features.


57%

I felt a bit like getting into a carcel. It`S reasonable that there is a security at night, but I expect them as well as the personal to treat me like a paying customer. The room was absolutely mini and hot. No way to open the windows. At the entire floor you could count 4 showers for I guess min. 20 rooms with 4 people. How were these calculations done? Something good to state: the location for London was just perfect. Actually everything in walking distance.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel in London, big hostel atmosphere. Super new and modern. Everything was very clean. Bar there has a good vibe, but because of on site bar and kitchen you can't cook your own food or drink your own drinks. Staff were always helpful and the doorman was hilarious. More expensive than most hostels I've stayed at, but it's London and you get what you pay for.


66%

The hostel is ok. You get exactly what you pay for. Very annoying are the loud-closing doors. Even at 12 o´clock was a lot of traffic. Therefore the average rating. Staff was very nice and helpful.


86%

Rooms could be larger, there was hardly room for one person to move around, let alone four!


89%

The hostel is very big, five floors, with an enourmous common room where you could see the World Cup matches and a lot of people. The staff is very professional. The only minor issue I had is that the bathrooms are not very clean sometimes, and there is no place where to put your shampoo or soap in the shower. It is very close to the British Museum and relatively close to Trafalgar Square and downtown.


100%

This was our(me and my friend's) stay at a hostel, we were a bit unsure about it at first, we did not have high expectation at all. Nevertheless, the Generator was great, it is close to town, the staff is very pleasant, and the room we were staying in was fresh. When we came home at night, the security was top notch, and I was very pleased. There were many things we could do there, the late night pizza was very appreciated and the exclusive bar/club was also nice. We will most definitely return.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The toilets on the 4th floor were clogged every day.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall okay experience. Nice facilities, always somewhere to hang out. Good atmosphere with the World Cup games. Good little storage bin under the beds where you can lock up your things. However toilets in the ladies room were always clogged and our trash was not taken out of our room for several days. I was in a 4 bed and the rooms were very small, only room for the bunks. Other issues I had were not the hostel's fault: only male roommates in a mixed room (I'm female), snoring roommates, etc.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice hostel. Nice, big, comfortable and clean common areas. Bar and restaurant available in ground floor, with big television screens (perfect for football world cup). Bad points: a lot of additional fees like storage of luggage before checkin, breakfast or padlock (if you forgot your own). There is wifi but not any shared computer.


77%

The location was fantastic, close to Russel square station and within walking distance to King's cross and Holborn. The rooms were okay. Could have been more hangers to hang your clothes and towels. The bathrooms and showers were not as clean as I wished and there could have been more bathrooms on each floor instead of one. The staff varied in service, some were very helpful, others (especially those who didn't speak english well) weren't great. The price for Sat night was too expensive!


94%

If the fees include breakfast that will be perfect.


80%

The Generator Hostel provided what it promised! A 10 min walk from Kings Cross St Pancras station (you can pretty much catch any train from there), a 10 min walk to the British Museum and situated in an area that is populated mainly by university students so there is a youthful feel around the neighbourhood, its safe, and plenty of affordable trendy cafes and restaurants to choose from!


80%

The hostel was beautiful and had a great atmosphere and vibe however the bathrooms left some cleanliness to be desired.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1780 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback