X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3440 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Only stayed three nights, and I would stay here again for a short period of time. didn't spend much time at the hostel but ate there once and it was good food for a decent price. Stayed in a 8 bed all female, which was pretty small so could be a bit uncomfortable at times but the beds were nice. The one downside was that the beds did not have personal plugs, and there were only a few on the desks, so one could not charge their phone if they needed it for an alarm. Overall good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

97%

I wanted somewhere without a loud party scene so for a couple nights of getaway and work, and this was exactly what I wanted. The place is massive and you will still find all sorts here, families, older travellers, the residents and young wild backpackers. The bed and the showers were both wonderful, staff was friendly, and there's a security guard at the front at all times so you do feel safe and know that this isn't some cheap ill maintained party hostel.


77%

It's worth to stay when in travel in London. The location of hostel is situated at mid. of city. We can go anywhere we want. Walk to King's Cross Station, it's less than 10 minutes. Then we can get on "EuroStar" to France. However, there's no kitchen in this hostel. We can make any food ourselves. As U know, living index is quite in London. It can save money if we can make food by ourselves instead of eating at restaurant outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

71%

Shower facilities were poorly maintained


77%

Was fairly nice, but very big and loud. Probably a good place if you want to meet people and party, but not if you are looking for someplace quiet.


89%

the best hostel that I stayed, very good place

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

83%

All things good. Too bad the elevator wasn't working though.


86%

Really like this hostel. Central, clean and value for money. Just suits me for my needs as sometimes i'm in for work.


100%

Lovely place

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

good location and security but too expensive for only one public toliet and shower room for a floor and small domitory

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Myself and 2 others stayed at the Generator recently and I had actually stayed here 7 years ago and was excited to return. The people I met at the hostel were fun and the reception was helpful. However, security was very rude to one person in our group and made us feel uncomfortable walking by afterwards. In addition, we saw a few nice in the bar area and when we told staff, no one said or did anything. On top of that, we did laundry and our clothes came out selling like mold afterwards.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Huge commercial hostel.Very nice beds and toilets/showers. Bit too commercial though, for instance there is no kitchen to cook in, you have to buy meals off of them. Security is excellent though.


83%

The hostel is quite amazing: it has a Philippino restaurant, two bars, a disco and the front and cab of a red London double decker bus! The only drawback I can see is that there do not seem to be many toilets and shower facilities unless many of the rooms are en-suite.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Having a shop and travel shop were very helpful. Small rooms. Felt secure Staff was very helpful and courteous. Clean. Party scene Gets the job done.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

As an older, mobility impaired customer, it was great that the hostel had lifts, but they need to do something different about their disabled entrance. The evening "door man" ignored me for quite awhile, and no one responded to the buzzer by the door on any of the three days I stayed. When there's no doorman, I was either shouting up to guests going in to ask the desk to let me in, or calling through the window of my room to ask someone to let me in. Also, did room 20 have a homeless man there??

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us at Generator London. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

94%

Great place to stay nice atmosphere, great staff very helpfull, location is perfect, will visit again.

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

89%

Second time I've stayed. Great hostel. The staff are amazing, pretty good location with a 5 minute walk to multiple train stations. Room could have been a tiny bit bigger as the bunks were so close it was hard to squeeze a person down the middle. Good in the hostel was also gpod for the price you paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

71%

Breakfast ... The cart for transporting the clean (?) plates, trays etc should be wiped of at least

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

97%

Overall I had a great experience. The staff was really nice, the manager was a tad hostile and could have been friendlier, but I understand. The only thing I would change is to have the rooms smell not so sterile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

97%

Great location. Staff very friendly and cheerful. Good bar and good bar staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks so much for your great feedback, we'd love to see you back at Generator London again soon. Thanks for choosing Generator London, Best Wishes, Nathan Roberts - Generator London

(2093 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback