X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3229 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved it! My first hostel experience and the bar scene was awesome, bathrooms were clean, the people staying seemed friendly too. The security guard at the door was also very attentive. I highly recommend this place based on location, cleanliness, and friendliness of other visitors

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

80%

Only a short walk to the train station. During the day there was a door man and at night there was somebody standing near the property asking for key cards. The common area was spacious with lots of different areas to sit. I loved the design of the whole place and the quirky decorations. My only issue was with the room. It was very different from the photos they advertised. I stayed in a 4 person room and it was so small. Other than that I had a good stay.


80%

Too big, Kind of wanna be backpacker/Globetrotter atmosphere. Can't escape the chiiling music...but anyway, a Lot of places to hang around.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback, it's good to hear from you and I will pass along your comments to the team here in London. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

89%

It would be great customers can leave their luggage free. I'd like you to fix space to leaving it somehow.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

What a great stay!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thanks for choosing Generator London. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

I love Generator Hostels. Not as good as the Barcelona location but it was still an amazing stay. Beds were clean, new, and comfortable. Felt like I was sleeping in a hotel. Staff was really nice. They let me print things and charge my phone for free. As for the price - you won't find anything cheap in London so just be prepared to pay a premium wherever you stay. FYI: lockers only fit locks with thin handles. Overall I highly recommend this hostel. Everything was so clean!!!


86%

Very good hostel, but a bit expensive. Breakfast was not that good, even if it's only £4. The fact that you need to pay for anything extra (included for the locker room to leave your luggage) is a bit frustrating, knowing you pay your night a good amount of money already However, very clean and extremely safe hostel !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. It's always great to get the comments and suggestions of our guests so that we can continually improve the services and facilities we offer. I hope we will be seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Great place to stay. Plenty of things to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your feedback, It's great to hear from you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

The hostel was fabulous!!!!! Great deal for London. I had a broken arm and emailed them requesting a bottom bunk and they accomadaTed me. Great service and friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for completing a short review with your feedback and comments. It's great to hear from you and We hope to see you back at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Great place, with a variety of different communal areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for completing a short review with your feedback and comments. It's great to hear from you and We hope to see you back at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

89%

Tucked away in a pretty quiet area of town, just a few minutes walk from a metro station. Friendly, helpful staff, no kitchen, but they have a cafe/restaurant with pretty good though limited selection of food. Everything was clean. Good security, have your keycard ready. Only one complaint: there's a piano located in the cafe area, and late at night drunk people bang on it loudly from time to time at 2am, woke me up once or twice. Overall great stay! (1 week)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback and thank you for choosing Generator London. It's great to hear that the team here impressed you and that we were able to create some memorable experiences of your time in London. I have noted your feedback about the Piano also ;-) Thanks again and see you soon, Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

66%

The showers is really bad, some boys uses the girls showers, and my room don't have windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your feedback and suggestions. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but your comments will help us improve the service we offer all of our guests. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

69%

This hostel is very easy to get to from the airport and is centrally located to pretty much everything. The wireless internet is really good and you get coverage throughout the hostel. The common room is very trendy. The 6 bed room was so small that not every could fit their luggage in. This hostel is way overpriced and everything costs extra. The elevator was broken when I checked out so I had to carry heavy bags down 4 flights of stairs. A kitchen or at least a microwave would have been fab.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks fro your feedback after your stay with us here in London! I was disappointed to read that you faced a few issues, in particular the elevator. We do hold a maintenance contract and try to get it back up and running, within safety guidelines, as soon as we can. Apologies for any inconvenience you faced. I hope we will see you back at Generator again in the future and thanks again for choosing us. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Thought breakfast was rather pricey! Other than that, lovely location and interior! Would go back and stay in a heartbeat if I were back in London!

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your suggestions and feedback with us. It's great to hear from you and I hope we will be welcoming you back to Generator London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(94 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback