X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2470 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Amazing hostel!!! However rooms and toilets were always in a mess.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! It's great news to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Generator Lonodon. Our apologies if you felt the toilet and bathroom facilities did not meet your expectation on this ocassion. We have a housekeeping team dedicated to bathrooms, and I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping Manager. Thank you once again for your feednack and see you soon.

80%

Lots of building happening at the moment, but not too much of a problem for us. Breakfast-not worth it, shouldn't even have to pay. Good location between the two tube stations, we walked a lot easily also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking some time to share your comments after your stay with us in London. As you mention we are having a bit of a make over and we're really excited about all our brand NEW facilities like the bar and cafe areas. Sorry you felt breakfast didn't meet the mark during your stay, if you have any feedback or suggestion we'd be happy to take them. Just drop us an email. Hope to see you soon and Best Wishes from London

63%

Massive hostel, doesn't have a homely feel and is hard to meet people. I was on the fifth floor which was disgusting (i think they will renovate it soon as they are doing fourth floor now. They are also renovating so there was a lot of noise and the lift was also out of order. My room was filthy and very aged. bedding was ok... It also smelt terrible. Have stayed in many hostels before... There is much better quality for lower prices in Kensington.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear that you feel we have not met your expecations on this ocassion. I would be more than Happy to discuss this further if you would like to contact me by email on nathan.roberts@generatorhostels.com I look forward to hearing from you Kind Regards Nathan Roberts - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Great place to stay if you don't mind sharing with ransoms! Great wifi. Excellent atmosphere. Not just a hotel but a restaurant/night club and chill spot!

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Hey, Thanks for your great feedback. Many of our guests love meeting new people and say that our recently re-vamped chill out spaces, Bar and café are a great place to do this. Its great to hear this was the case for you. Hopefully we’ll see you back with some friends really soon Thanks again Best Wishes

57%

Booked for 2 nights in a 10 person dorm, however we were placed in a 14 bed dorm right next to reception. Wouldn't have been a problem however at 2 am both mornings when the internal bar we were awoken as security conversing very loudly on their walkie talkies all made their way pass our door and window. In addition to this there was construction going on throughout the hostel also effecting quality of sleep, and forcing us to use showers on another level. Not worth the £30 each per night

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I’m disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied during your stay with us. We are, as you have pointed out, having a make over to bring Generator London up to a great new standard with some exceptional design led communal spaces. I am sorry to hear however that this may have disturbed your stay with us, and that you were frustrated by corridor noise. I have passed on your views to both our Night Manager and the team looking after the upgrade works. Thank you once again.

80%

Big hostel. Beautiful common room, nice bar n good atmosphere. Good location. Walking distance to Waitrose supermarket and St Pancras train station. Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. I enjoy my stay. It would be nicer if the shower place for boys were cleaner. Wifi only works well near the reception.


97%

The only reason I marked it down was because it was super loud due to the remodeling while we were there. Other than that, this place is awesome. Can't go wrong with the Generator chain of hostels.


74%

Very big hostel, biggest I've stayed at so far. Little bit annoying WiFi was only available on the ground floor, especially when you are staying on the fourth floor. Security was good was asked for ID each time I entered the area. The bar seemed a little dead when I visited it but that may have been because there was a festival on which most people (me included) went to. Could of done with a few more power points in the room considering it was a private room. Only 2 in the entire room.


71%

No kitchen/fridge. Not the biggest fan of the showers. Only 3 of the 8 security boxes in our dorm actually worked. Does have quite good entertainment each night in the bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving your comments after your stay. Our 24hr Duty Managers are always on hand to help solve problems like the concerns you raised with security boxes. I hope you managed to find some assistance while with us. As we offer a full café and bar food service we don’t provide self catering facilities but we do however offer great value food and drink options everyday. Hope to see you again soon Safe Travels

91%

very great hostel, location is amazing- walking distance from kings cross. super helpful staff and great rooms. they were undergoing renovations at the time of my visit and they seemed to be about 30% done and the new bar and cafe looked great. cant wait to go back to london next time and stay at the new facilities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Austen, Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished bar and cafe. The new look hostel will be completed by the end of the year and we look forward to welcoming you back. I will ensure I pass on your compliments to our team as they always try and go the extra mile to exceed our guest expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at Generator London Warm Regards Iman - Guest Relations

77%

Overall, The Generator is a good hostel. It's annoying how there is construction work going on there all the time though. Because of this, the wifi was down for 2 days that I was staying there, which was really annoying. Also, I was staying on the bottom floor - so I'm not sure if this also happens on the other floors - but whenever someone uses the sink in their room, it makes a huge noise throughout the whole of the bottom floor. So yeah it's hard to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alannah, Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at Generator London. Our new look hostel will be completed by the end of the year and all our facilities will be upgraded to ensure they meet the standard for our guests. Thank you for your patience during this time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Generator London in the future. Warm Regards - Lenny Hughes GM

66%

great location but not enough toilet and shower facilities on each floor, in fact there were no female toilets at all on our floor. room was very very hot. toilets very dirty, corridors very dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments. We are in the process of upgrading our bathroom facilities and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I am sorry to hear that you suffered from the unexpected heat wave in London and I hope that you managed to find some relief. I assure you our housekeeping team work tirelessly to keep our guest areas as clean as possible and I will pass on your comments to ensure the standard is maintained. Warm Regards - Lenny GM

86%

Very nove hostel! First of all, excelent location, then, great staff, very helpful, extremely kind. The only problem ia the room. It was clean and the bed is confortable, but we stayed at a 4 beD private room and it was VERY small. The bathroom is clean, but the shower area is small and tou see the water cover your feet! Besides that, everything was fine!

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Our room was great. The hostel is being remodeled and ours was one of the newly finished ones. It is a good thing the rest of the rooms will be new again soon. The staff and facilities are great.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Arden. It is great to hear you were able to experience one of our redesigned rooms. The restyle of Generator London is a really exciting project which enables us to update the building's facilities. All our rooms are being rejuvenated with design-inspired energery associated with every Generator stay. We look forward to showing you around our new-look Generator soon. Lenny Hughes - GM London

89%

They were renovating at the time of my visit. I stayed on the fifth floor but to use bathroom or toilet facilities we had to go to the fourth floor. Location is very close to Russell Sq tube and there are shops and restaurants in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Aisling. At Generator we're setting out to transform the hostel experience and for this reason work has been under way to redesign our London property. This involves upgrading our bathroom facilities and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. We offer facilities on all other floors for your convenience. I am glad you benefited from the central location and I hope you were able to experience all London has to offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Lenny Hughes - GM

83%

Was a nice central place and the staff were very friendly and helpful with answering questions. The only negative was half the facilities were out of order (I.e showers, vending machines, computers etc) and they were in the middle of construction near the bar/lounge area. Place looked old, but they kept it reasonably clean. Stayed in an 8-bed mixed which was spacious but no privacy curtains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lawrence. I am sorry to hear that some of our facilities were not available for you during your stay. Work is underway to update the building's facilities and improve the experience we are able to offer those staying with us. We now offer ensuite rooms, a cinema area, funkier bar and a great cafe and chill out space to relax and meet fellow travellers. Thank you for your patience during this time and we hope you will visit our new look hostel again. Lenny Hughes - GM

51%

They r still building the site, hammering and machines noise whole day, showers ridiculously far away from room, too many restrictions about food and drink, etc etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are aware that our hostel is looking a little frayed around edges. Work has been underway since January to restyle our London property. All activity is being carefully phased to ensure our guests continue to have an enjoyable stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to showing you around our upgraded London hostel soon. Lenny Hughes - GM London

77%

Expensive for single rooms, showers weren't great (no hot water one day, floor of shower completely water no where dry to put towel etc) staff great, massive hostel!


100%

LOVED THIS PLACE - at night it was very secure and the guards did an amazing job keeping me safe while not being overly protective of the place - the bar area was very cool at night - did not even need to leave the hostel to get a "Bar" feel - but it was still quiet in our hostel. Showers and bathroooms was also very clean and the staff was great! Very close to Kings Cross (Harry Potter) and the other train station - this helped a lot with our huge packs carrying around! Definitely recommend!!

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Its great to hear that we have met your expectation during your stay with us in London. Our location and security is something we pride ourselves on, so the team here will be delighted to hear that. Also our housekeeping team will be thrilled to hear that there efforts are paying off. We hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for your positive feedback. Best Wishes

77%

Great location and close to the tube and the centre. Small rooms, but great for the price. Some toilets and showers didn't work or were blocked, but great hostel for a short, quick, cheap stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your comments. We appreciate all of our guests feedback as it helps us improve our service for all our future guests. We are currently having a make over at our flagship property in London and many of the concerns you have raised here regarding toilets and bathrooms will be addressed in this make over, as well as supplying our guests with some awesome new facilities and communal spaces. Best Wishes

(1652 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback