Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Mar 2017
8.9

The toilets tend to not flush in the basement and my room was stale with no ventilation, only a fan and two sets of fire doors in the hallway which prevented any fresh air. Only downsides, everything else was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
5.7

Security staff were extremely rude. The room was super super small, too pricey for what we got. The common areas were fine, but in general all the staff was really rude. They charged you for everything! Keeping your luggage (5£), having a towel (5£) and the heater didn't work so I was freezing at night! Terrible experience! I would never recommend a Generator Hostel!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and have shared your feedback with our team to discuss. Best wishes - Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
7.1

Great place, no self-cook kitchen, so you have to buy their slightly over priced food, which was nice or you have to find a restaurant out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.1

London Generator was a lovely stay. The rooms were small, but cozy and secure. The lounge areas were nice and conducive to socializing. And it's super close to the Russel Square station, Kings Cross, and St. Pancras. The only negative about the entire hostel was the staff at the bar were sometimes quite rude and unhelpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
5.7

It took 3 trips to the desk to get me a bed that hadn't been slept in (they did offer 2 free beers for the mess). Night 2 our key stopped working and we had to get a new one. The real issue is that it's not near anything and the fact that there are no lights or outlets in each bed is kind of a deal breaker in this day and age. Overhyped and the facilities need an update. We stayed at the generator in Barcelona and they have better facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, please accept our apologies that your room had not been cleaned when you arrived, we did have a system error that day which some rooms did not show on our departure list for that day. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • rosstastic2855
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel. Amazing facilities , friendly staff and a lively atmosphere. Bar food was cheap and tasty and it was a very clean place. Loved it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Nice Atmosphere, but there was no bedlamp or socket by the bed. So you can't charge your phone or camera near your bed. Slept in a shared room underneath the bar which is open til 03 am - it was pretty noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, apologies that the bar was loud. Our events manager has been made aware of your review and will be discussing this with our DJ and bar team. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
4.0

Many big groups of Italian and Spanish travelers packed in rooms, talking all night until 5.30am when I had to shut them up myself. Thumping dance music can be geared into early hours from the bar downstairs. I was on 3rd floor. Room tempreture was 4 degrees at night, can see cold breath, no heating. Given no towel, had to take one from cleaning cart. Toilets were worse then a dirty protest at a zoo. Every toilet blocked with dirt, overflowing. Insecure changing in showers. Place is awful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations but thank you for letting us know the reasons why. Our security do regular patrols around the corridors please accept our apologies that they did not hear the noise to ask them to be quiet. We have heating in our rooms and always have a staff member who can go to the room to check it is working correctly, we are unsure if you spoke to our reception as they would usually send someone. We also have a few portable heaters that we can place in rooms if there is an issue with the heater. Towels are only included with our ensuite rooms which is why this was not provided for you. For our other rooms guests can purchase from our travelshop. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
7.1

I was generally happy with my stay here. Unfortunately I wasn't aware until I got there that there was not a general use kitchen. Eating out for every meal ate into my budget more than I had anticipated. So, heads up to anyone thinking of staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for sharing your feedback. Best wishes Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
4.6

Have been staying in hostels for past 2 months and this was by far my worst stay. Bathrooms were dirty - toilets clogged all 4 days, hand dryers don't work, no soap. Towels only for purchase, not rental. Dorm rooms were extremely over crowded - trying to fit too many people into one small space. Staff was very neutral - not helpful or very friendly. Locker room was useful on arrival day but expensive. Too many schools/groups staying here, lobby was always over crowded and staff always too busy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations but appreciate you letting us know the areas we could look at improving.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.