Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,865 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,865 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
83% 3865
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • KSUDN0924
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.1

Generator London is a nice hostel. Location is very good. Its near Russell Square and Kings cross station. Both on the Picadilly line which goes directly to Heathrow airport. The rooms are okay. I stayed in a female dorm for 6 nights and decided to extend my stay. Unfortunately, all the female dorms are booked so I was forced to book the mixed room. It all went downhill from there. I had the unfortunate experience of sharing the room with all guys. I don't feel safe at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Overall, a good hostel in a good location, close to Kings X. Just remember to bring your own towel and padlock as £5 each is fairly steep, particularly when towel was not brand new. No lockers in shower room on my level, and heavy security at night time unfriendly and unwelcoming. Strange arrangement of not letting guests in front door after a certain time meant guests having to use a fire exit to gain entrance. Never book a room on ground floor as was up most of the night with late revellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
6.0

They have some major issues with their air conditioning system. Theres no exhaust in the bathrooms making it very humid in there, VERY. You can contact a mechanical engineer like myself and it will be taken care of ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.3

The good: location was central. The bar and hangout room were nice. The wifi was strong. The bad: The showers were pretty small. Hard to say how common this is but it seemed like most people there were families. There were a lot of middle aged people and a lot of 13-16 year olds. There were also a lot of large groups. This all made meeting people difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are disappointed you found it hard to meet people and have shared your feedback with our team here. As it is school holidays in the UK and Europe we do have a few families with us at the moment. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel itself was nice. The rooms were small however were fine you're only sleeping there! Only 1x small lift to accommodate 6 floors of rooms! The female bathrooms on level 5 were pretty horrendous.. The toilets didn't flush properly, therefore there was constantly toilet paper and other sitting in the toilet and the doors to these toilets didn't even lock at all as the door wasn't aligned properly. Only 4 of these as well as 4x showers which made rush hour in the bathroom a long

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Once again, a fabulous stay at Generator. It's inexpensive, clean, and the staff are always friendly and helpful. My only comment would be that the showers are a little cramped, and a more spacious changing area would be brilliant. If you are a forty something such as myself, don't hesitate to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.9

The greatest Hostel I have ever been to. Great atmosphere and facilities. Prices of food are not cheap, but you have a lot of other options nearby, and it is also near to the Rusell square underground, and King´ Cross. Great value for money, highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, it is great to hear from you! Yes we agree it is fantastic to be so close to two underground stations, perfect for exploring the city. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Good value thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Had a great time day trips easy to plan and pub crawls were on point - bit disappointed on the last night had random people in and out of our room and my charger stolen but other than that had a ripper time would defs come back and stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, we are so pleased that our travelshop was able to help you book your tours while you were here. Sorry to hear someone in your dormitory stole your phone charger. Best wishes - Generator London.

2nd Aug 2016
9.7

I really don't have anything bad to say about this hostel. It's well organized, clean, has a great vibe, offers so many services to its guests. The cafe and bar area are just bonuses. There's only one bathroom with several toilets/showers on each floor, but I never found myself waiting for one. There's a lively, music atmosphere going on in all the common areas, but the bedrooms are completely quiet and peaceful. You can choose to socialize or keep to yourself. Close to Kings Cross. Recommen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to hang our in our common areas. Hopefully you can visit us again soon. Best wishes - Generator London.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.