Hostelworld.com

Generator Hostel London

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3,738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3,738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
82% 3738
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Massive hostel! Plenty of activities and a bar, cafe and chill-out area. Close to the tube so easy to get anywhere in the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

Most staff are rude (not all) Travel staff helpful Stinky drains in showers Tiny room Can not sit on bed without hitting your head No private light for each bed, so lights are turned on constantly throughout night Great location Great pub crawl Not enough power outlets in rooms One security guard was quite rude Beds need private curtain like other chain hostels

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Super nice hostel. Has all of the amenities that you could possibly need, and is super close to Kings Cross Station for easy transit to the many attractions around London. Clean and great security lockers under the beds that fit a large backpack, a small one and several other small items.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.1

I've stayed here a couple times now and find it to be a superior London hostel - which are generally quite hit-or-miss. I was in a six-bed dorm which was clean and nice, though a bit hot in the evenings and two of the bunk beds were very close together. There are plenty of bathrooms for the floor (3rd) though apparently they are bad on the upper floors. The bar and common area is nice and separated from the rooms, so it's not too loud even though there are people partying on site. Recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.0

Please be alert when you check in - we booked two beds in a 10 room dorm, but the staff on duty checked us in to a 13 bed dorm instead. She was very unfriendly and changed the room for us only after we complained. The fifth floor female toilet has a problem with its flushes. It was constantly dirty. Generator London does not have individual power sockets & lamps near the bed. There were not enough sockets in the room. The bright side is that its location is superb.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
6.9

If hostels with a communal vibe that lead to making new friends are your thing, then this hostel isn't for you. It definitely ticks all the necessary boxes but it's just so big that it feels pretty impersonal. It was quite clean and while the staff don't go out of their way for you with recommendations etc, if you ask for something they're quite obliging. The bar is good during happy hour. Be careful of the type of crowd it attracts though, definitely a younger crowd into partying a fair bit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
7.4

Was there in the summer and stayed in a basement room. As there is no air conditioning, the rooms were warm and damp feeling. The facilities were clean and maintained well. The staff didn't appear very approachable and didn't offer up any information about the surrounding area on check in. The location is great as its close to the tube and the surrounding neighbourhood had interesting shops and restaurants. I was satisfied about my stay but didn't find it to be anything extraordinary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
6.9

This is a BUSY hostel. The check-in desk is pumping & can take a while to speak to someone. Things didn't go super smoothly - when I checked in I found my bed still unmade from the last guest and there was a problem with my keycard entry halfway through my stay. The bathrooms are functional but basic and though it looks like the pictures, the shared spaces had some wear and tear. I'd recommend it to budget conscious travelers - if you can handle large groups of teenagers running around at times!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

This was the first hostel I ever stayed at and it set the bar very high for other places I've stayed. Definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
7.1

Too many people...too noisy...people keep come in and go out from the room at 3am. I can't even sleep :/ but the location is very good!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.