Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4,184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4,184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
84% 4184
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
9.1

Brilliant Location & Hostel but Lacking Plug Sockets Near Beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel, location was really and staff were really friendly. Only issue was that there very few plug points for charging phones etc in my room and none were near the beds. Overall though I'd definitely return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, unfortunately there is not an outlet for each bed in the rooms but we do have charging station next to reception and plenty of outlets in all the common areas. We are happy you enjoyed our location and had a good experience with our really friendly staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back. Best wishes - Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
5.7

Room extremly small for 10 people, very dirty and leaking from the cealing on the beds. Toilets have not been working for 4 days so we had to use the ones one floor under us. Reception staff very rude and useless. Bar and restaurant were good and the food was very tasty. Good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback - your opinion is very important to us. We are sorry you felt that way and has sent your comments through to management. Thank you for staying with us. Best wishes - Generator London

4th Jan 2017
8.3

I was just coming from the Generator Paris so I think that experience influenced my perception of this Generator location. Decor and facilities on ground floor (lobby, bar, restaurant area, etc.) is very nice, well decorated, nice bar. There's a pool table and more than enough lounge space, which was cool. I really disliked my room: while it was decently clean, it was a tiny room, smelled and had bunk beds. I had paid for a private room and would've preferred a full bed to myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Yes Paris is newer than us so you would have noticed some differences. Your comments have shared with our management team, we hope we can have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

I only stayed here for one night, but I have zero complaints! Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay - we hope to welcome you back again soon!

31st Dec 2016
10.0

The best hostel i ever been!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.4

The location was the only positive thing about the hostel - very close to Russell Square tube station. The negatives: 1) There is NO heater in the room. The hot air only comes via a ceiling vent a couple of hours a night. When I complained, they said they could provide me with an extra blanket. That is not the point - It should NOT be cold in the rooms. 2) The toilets are very dirty, and locks are mostly broken. 3) The showers have only a curtain, and you hang your stuff outside it. Good luck!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.4

I had a really good time staying there. A hostel I can absolutely recommend to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.3

Stayed here for one night in between christmas and new year. I work in a hostel myself, so i know what to expect from a hostel stay but this was pretty crazy, drunk people running around screaming. Staff at reception were lovely though, and told me I was in a female dorm. I've never really bothered about mixed or female dorms before but it was absolute heaven, so clean and tidy and no snoring haha. I'd just had surgery that morning so needed to rest. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
7.4

The hostel had a great atmosphere and we all danced away the night in the bar. The staff were really nice, creating a personal experience! Just remember to bring your own towel as it is 5 pounds to rent one! Sometimes the bathrooms on the 5th floor were flooded and the toilets didn't work, however they were always fixed by the morning. I would also maybe recommend that the hostel invest in a common area computer or something as I didn't have access for Christmas! However I enjoyed it very much!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.