Hostelworld.com

Generator Hostel London

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 3,596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 3,596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
81% 3596
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

I had a great time, staff is very friendly, and the travellers say its the best hostel around (the world). I felt very secure also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and got on well with our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes - Generator London.

28th Apr 2016
7.1

Missed a shower cabin and too many things could be included in the price, such as Padlocks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.6

Stayed there for one night. Just needed a bed to sleep in after exploring London. What I got was a comfortable, clean bed in a 10 bed room. The vibes at this place are great. Would recommend it to anyone coming to London on a low budget for two days or 1 week or 3 weeks. It's just great there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had time to relax in our chill out room or bar. Hopefully you can stay with us for a bit longer next time you are in London. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.9

Stayed a night there, went to toilet around 3-4am. couple rushed in the door and i said no, he said he forgot his card. Return from toilet, they went bed no.4 and making out with noise and disturbing my sleeping time. I told them to keep it quiet as we need to rest in a good but loud tone manners and they silence for a while and continue with lower volume. How can you let someone who dont stay there go in to the place and disturb other people rest time. email n fb the staff but no replies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are very disappointed by the experience you have described. We have security outside during the night checking that the only people coming into the building are guests of ours. We would like to discuss this further with you if you can please email us on London@generatorhostels.com our manager will get back to you. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Probably the nicest hostel I've stayed at. Very clean rooms and spacious. Great facilities and the staff from reception to security were all very welcoming. The location was perfect and I'll deffinatly stay again. If your looking for somewhere that gives you great access to London then this is the place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! It is fantastic to hear from you. We are thrilled that we could be a part of your London holiday and that you were able to explore the city easily. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
4.9

During my stay at the Generator the staff were very rude, unhelpful and unfriendly. My dorm room was on level 0, and the toilets on that level did not work properly, as well as the showers being cold. My room had only four plug outputs for all 12 of us in the room. The common "chill out" room near reception played music very loud, so it was hard to find a spot to skype my family. Just generally not a great environment or atmosphere to be around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have not been advised that there is an issue with the toilets on level 0 thank you for bringing this to our attention, this will be looked at right away. If you would like to discuss something further with us please do not hesitate to contact us directly and a member of our management team can discuss with you. Best wishes - Generator London.

19th Apr 2016
7.4

Really, really liked the common areas and location of the hostel, but our room was right below the breakfast room above...and a piano. A piano people thought was a great idea to play at 3:00am. Without being stopped. I'm all for a great night out, but I'm also for a good night's sleep. Maybe don't stick twin private rooms right below a piano. My friend and I loved the overall atmosphere, but had a terrible nights sleep. In the end, what's the point of a hostel being cool if the night is

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed that you did not get a good nights sleep, ofcourse in the middle of the night we would hope our guests would respect noise levels and do have our security around to enforce this. Your comments have been shared with our night manager to keep an eye on. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.6

We booked a double room for two nights at this hostel. Room was clean and nice, common area was comfortable and spacious and breakfast was good. Cons: toilets were clogged most of the time and there was very little space outside the showers to hang your clothes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for getting in touch with us after your stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we really appreciate the feedback about the clogged restroom facilities. These will be passed along to our Housekeeping Manager. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Generator again soon. Best Wishes, Generator Team London

  • Marilyn86
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.9

We had a lovely stay at Generator Hostel London. We travelled to London by Eurostar, so the hostel's location (near King's Cross/St. Pancras) was ideal. I've stayed in London on multiple occasions, and this was my best hostelling experience so far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes – Generator London

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.6

Good location between Kings Cross and Russell Square stations. The fact that you have to pay for a bottom sheet is beyond ridiculous, I would understand a doona, but not a bottom sheet. Note that there is no kitchen, not even a microwave so no chance to cook gor yourself. Very clean and plenty of toilets and showers. Good size lockable lockers for every bed, not many power sockets though. Would stay again but might just bring my own bed sheet :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your feedback. All our sheets are included and we do not charge for these, apologies if there was some confusion around this. We are pleased that you enjoyed our close location to Russell Square and Kings Cross stations and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes - Generator London.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.