X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Reviews

Storkowerstrasse 160 (Off Landsberger Allee), Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2113 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

On arriving at the hotel we were told the servers were down so we could not check in. But they did not offer us to use the bathrooms or anything, we were only given a free drink. When we got checked in at 10Pm the room was very basic but had stains all over the bed sheets, the lockers weren't useable so there was no security. The showers are dirty and awful. They could give better directions to the hotel also, we were told to get off at central station when we could have got off at ostbanhof

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Had to change rooms due to a mess up; in first room despite the guy telling me that the locker was very big and would fit my suitcase in(leading me to buy a padlock for it) the door was far too thin for my suitcase, in the second room the locker was under the bed and wasn't able to open due to a wall in the way! I think lockers should always be a given- without having to buy padlocks. There isn't enough sofas in the lounge area, and you really need to sort out the teeny tiny toilet stalls!!!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Our stay was really nice and we did enjoy it. The beds were comfortable and the ATM machine on the ground floor was really helpful. The wifi however wasn't very good and you could only get it on the ground floor so for us being on the 4th floor wasn't very good. The bar never opened when it said it should be open with no notifications saying when it would open. The breakfast wasn't worth the money we paid at all but despite this, we did have a pleasant stay.


89%

It was a really big hostel so it had more of a hotel vibe. I really enjoyed the lobby areas and bar!


77%

Very similar to a hotel. Facilities are super clean and well-managed with clean sheets every day. Downside is that you need to go downstairs to receive wifi and the main lobby is spaced out with metal furniture - not the cosiest thing. Definitely worth your stay if you're interested in just hanging out with your own friends or having a space to retreat into - but not a space for meeting people easily or relaxing. Still a great stay!


40%

Not in a good location at all. No where to eat or nothing to do around at all. Highly recommend not staying here if you want to be close to attractions/ main areas of Berlin.


63%

Out of 8 lockers in room, 7 of them are broken, staff tray to sell payable lockers, no toilet paper for 2days...


77%

check-in take a lot of time. no problem to check-out

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for giving us a feedback. I'm really sorry that your check- in takes a lot of time. Thank you for your advise - our reception team will try to improve the service as much as we can. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Front Office Supervisor

86%

Big hostel, seems like to many young people stay here, good bar, the internet just works in the common room, comfortable beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for taking time to write us such a good feedback and we are really happy to hear that you had a great time with us. We hope to welcome you again at Generator Berlin. Best wishes - Melanie, Front Office Supervisor

57%

Fix showers, longer shower curtains. The toilett/showers where closed for cleaning like 3 out of 5 times i walked by, but they where not that clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you very much for giving us a feedback. I apologize for the circumstances you had with our housekeeping department. We hope to satisfy you at your next stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Kind regards, Melanie, Front Office Supervisor

89%

Stayed over easter weekend. Close to landsberger allee train station huge bonus and a short tram/train ride away from party district freidrichschain. Very large and busy hostel. Lots of school age kids running around even near the bar for what looked like a school sport event? Loud and annoying. Had a double room with ensuite which was good for the cheap price. Also gets serviced every day. Food at kitchen had run out of salad and burger was dry, snitzel burnt. Not a satisfying meal.


83%

Stayed at a twin private room. Room was clean but small. Atmosphere bit disappointing for a hostel but overall value for money is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks a lot for writing us a feedback. We are happy to hear that you had all in all a great stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We hope to welcome you soon again. Greetings from Berlin - Melanie, Front Office Supervisor

54%

The location is fine, although you can't walk anywhere. The bathrooms were pretty terrible and the showers incredibly small. The only spot with wifi was in the lobby which was always packed with no place to sit. Because there were so many people online the internet always cut off, which I was relying on to plan my trip, as I was only there 3 days. The price was not bad and the rooms decent, but next time I am in Berlin I will look for a hostel with better atmosphere

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for giving us a feedback. I'm really sorry that you didn't feel comfortable while you are staying at Generator. In the last months we did some renovations and we even got a new internet provider to improve our wifi service. I hope we can convince you of the benefits of Generator the next time you are in Berlin. Best wishes - Melanie, Front Office Supervisor

77%

There were lots of school age children, which was totally fine, but i think the bar could have been more of a focus point to get adults together and foster friendships etc. because in the rest of the hostel sometimes you felt like only teenagers were visiting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in the Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg so much. We hope to see you again and make yourself feel comfortable once more. Take care and best regards. Ronny Spilka, Front Office Supervisor

91%

exselent for us, near swimming pool

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located out on the Ring in the NE section of Berlin, but as the S-Bahn is just a two minute walk away, it's as easy as hell to get anywhere in Berlin you desire. The staff (save for one chap) were courteous, friendly, and helpful, and the pub downstairs was fun. My only complaint is their refusal to allow you to bring in outside food, especially considering how ridiculously expensive their kitchen was. Nonetheless, I would have no problem returning in the future!


71%

Staff is friendly and very helpful The wifi connection was poor, and was only working on the ground floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We fully agree with your comment about the wi-fi and would like to tell you that we will be installing a completely new system over the next few weeks to improve the situation for all our guest. We hope you will come and test it soon! Best regards, Sabine, General Manager

91%

If you can stand living in a dormitory for 8 this is the bargain in Berlin. Less cords for recharging electronic gadgets to trip over this time. Your bunkmates will leave their gear all over the place but that is not the staff's fault. Sometimes one needs to put the lights on but there is no way to dim or only light up your corner. This isn't a place for light sleepers or the intolerant. I suggest Adlon Kempinski for the moneyed . Generator is slowly being renovated for the better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. This, of course, we take very seriously and will make sure that not only the price is attractive, but also to ensure the appropriate service. I hope we get another chance to be able to convince you of the benefits of Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Best greeting from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

83%

Good, but quite crowded hostel. Good location, enough facilities and poor WiFi access. Great and very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for taking time to write us a feedback. It's nice to hear that you had a great time with us. We are pleased to tell you that our wifi system will be renew in the beginning of 2015. So at further stays it will be working like expected. Greetings from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor



View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback