X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Reviews

Storkowerstrasse 160 (Off Landsberger Allee), Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2056 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

If you can stand living in a dormitory for 8 this is the bargain in Berlin. Less cords for recharging electronic gadgets to trip over this time. Your bunkmates will leave their gear all over the place but that is not the staff's fault. Sometimes one needs to put the lights on but there is no way to dim or only light up your corner. This isn't a place for light sleepers or the intolerant. I suggest Adlon Kempinski for the moneyed . Generator is slowly being renovated for the better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. This, of course, we take very seriously and will make sure that not only the price is attractive, but also to ensure the appropriate service. I hope we get another chance to be able to convince you of the benefits of Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Best greeting from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

83%

Good, but quite crowded hostel. Good location, enough facilities and poor WiFi access. Great and very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for taking time to write us a feedback. It's nice to hear that you had a great time with us. We are pleased to tell you that our wifi system will be renew in the beginning of 2015. So at further stays it will be working like expected. Greetings from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

34%

No internet wifi connection, that was annoying cause I could not manage to meet my friends over there for 3 days.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

WiFi signal sucks!

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for writing a feedback. We are absolutely aware of the problem with the internet. Because of this we will renew the whole wifi system in the beginning of 2015. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

34%

My phone was stolen from the room within 30 of arriving into the room. I already noticed no copy of the passport is made, so the criminal could check-in with a false ID. Atmosphere was horrible. Long corridors and TL lights. As I was staying for one night, I did not feel the urge to take a shower, also reluctant to go to the toilet. Showers and toilets are in the same "bathroom" however, beds were fresh and quite good internet is a unicorn. many speak of it, no one can catch it


66%

Everything was good except the showers were erratic in temperature. I wouldn't touch anything, and it'd be scalding hot and then suddenly turn icy cold, just to revert to boiling water again. Bathrooms in general were unclean. The breakfast was also a 4 euro microwaved omelette, which didn't really seem to make sense. But the staff/reception were really great. Keycards worked. Right next to transportation station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. I want to apologize for inconvenience you had with the hot water supply. Now warning signs will point that our mixed tap is not available from time to time due to construction work on the water pipes. I hope in spite of the fact that you had a pleasant stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Greetings from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

89%

Except for just having wifi on the reception, the hostel has a GREAT benefit cost.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I’m very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We will renew the whole wifi system in the beginning of 2015. So it will work to your satisfaction at your next stay. Greetings from Berlin, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supervisor

100%

nice rooms, great staff and reasonably priced. the only thing i would suggest would be to add at least a microwave since there's no kitchen at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very thankful for your feedback. It's nice to hear that you had a good time with us in Berlin. Thanks for your note. I will suggest that in the next meeting. We hope to welcome you soon. Best wishes, Melanie Gottschalk - Front Office Supverisor

91%

We are really pleased with staying at your hostel It was really clean and comfortable. Except of showers!!!! Extremally hot or cold.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I didnt like location which was not good. It was far to center. You need to use train. Rooms was so clean. Staff was nice. Hostel have a lot games such as billiards but of course you have to pay money.


86%

Wifi is really bad


66%

nice place.. but too many people ..


69%

During construction parts of the lounge are closed. Heavy noise makes it impossible to talk. Breakfast "coffee" is made from instant preprodruct with probably a few coffee beans. Generator is charging for the luguage room, whoch they didn´t last year.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a pretty good hostel, but the wi fi signal didn't reach our room. O hostel é bom, mas o sinal do wifi não chegava no quarto


89%

It is a beautiful hostel, very modern and new. It is very big and with lots of people. However people don't speak with each other and they all stay in groups, probably because it is so big.


63%

Okay hostel if you just want to sleep for the night. Not many opportunities of socializing. Lockers in the room are not lockable. All lights turn ON by a single switch. SO if you are on the upper bunk bed and someone drops in late at night, not only do you wake up, but the bright lights will be hard to escape.


69%

Was a little annoyed that work was being done without any prior notice. Sanding walls down whilst eating breakfast and having asthma is not good! Could have been pre warned. Wanted to chill out downstairs and the sound of drills and the smell made it that I couldn't. Bar was why I booked and that didn't even stock wine. And was literally just the bar and couldn't access other areas. Otherwise good stay and no other complaints. Just wished I was pre notified about the amount of work going on.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

There is no kitchen, only cafe. Hostel is large with restaurant and disco. More about making money, than providing true hospitality. No atmosphere. Probably good for students looking for disco. Not for me. If i stay at hostel, i expect a kitchen. I don't have a budget for restaurants and cafes all day.


97%

It was good for what it was. A place to sleep, meet people and just simply relax. The only complaint I may have, is that the Wi-Fi had some trouble, as it kept disconnecting my phone, but I do believe that was a known issue, so I hope it get fixed.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have stayed at this hostel on many occasions and always enjoyed it, the location isn't completely central in Berlin but once you get a hang of how the trains and trams work it isn't a problem. The staff are fantastic and very helpful and the bar has great offers on food and drink every day. There is a great Italian restaurant with fantastic value food and drinks 100 metres away and a Mexican restaurant even closer. Highly recommend staying here if visiting Berlin


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback