X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Reviews

Storkowerstrasse 160 (Off Landsberger Allee), Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2167 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel was right next to train station and so location was convenient. Staffs were pretty efficient and quick despite a lot of people waiting. Price was good and overall stay was good.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Shower wasn't the best and was kinda dirty, and the beds were quite bad, but everything else was great. Pretty sweet atmosphere, good happy hour and good staff. Only bad night was when the bar was rented out for an event and we (the residents) couldn't get in...


37%

Let's just say that this is a motel with bunk beds. The beds were clean which was great but everything else was sub-par. The toilet smelt like pee all the time, the walls were so thin the slightest sound from the corridor can be heard in the room and the staff was not helpful. Check out time is at 10am but this was not mentioned to us when we checked in. Everything in this hostel shouts 'we want you to have fun' but 'don't bring your own food'. Overall a very disappointing experience.


49%

Location is in the middle of nowhere. The bathrooms were disgusting. The men's room reeked of stale urine. WiFi was slow and didn't work in the rooms. The bunk bed in the dorm was flimsy felt like it was about to topple over.


69%

We got in late off the train from Amsterdam and just needed a place to crash. We paid €19 so were happy enough. The rooms are decent with lockable lockers (bring a padlock). However the WiFi doesn't reach the rooms which is a huge bummer. Furthermore, this place is HUGE. Bear in mind that it might not be too easy to meet new people! The showers were sub-par. The location isn't really close to anywhere notable, you'll need to tram to it from Berlin Hbf (central station).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for writing us such a good feedback. We are glad you find us well and enjoyed your stay. We hope there is another chance to welcome you again. Greetings from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

71%

Staff told me I have to wait15mins more for chick in, but I saw some people chick in already...it's not enough staffs in front.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you had a great time. Sorry for the impression you had with the check in. We try to improve the service and do the check in as good as we can and on time. Best wishes - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

57%

I really did not enjoy the location or the atmoshpere. The showers did not exactly offer much privacy. Just a curtain that does not stay closed. If you shower here, people will see you naked. The hostel was completely filled with drunk 15 and 16 year olds who went around the halls pounding on peoples doors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi dear Guest, thanks a lot for giving us a feedback. I'm sorry for the circumstances of your stay but I hope that we will convince you of the benefits of Generator at your next stay. Kind regards - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

77%

Rooms were big and comfortable, showers unbearable either freezing or boiling. Wifi only worked on ground floor. Overall atmosphere was good lots of people in beer garden drinking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for giving us a review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Generator berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We hope to welcome you again quiet soon. Best wishes - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

94%

This place is unreal. We checked in and were told we couldn't room together but would see if they could shuffle some other bookings around and got it done in the end. Saturday was a all you can eat BBQ for a few €. The bar out the back had cheap beers and the night club was priced really well also. Great atmosphere for meeting people. Only downside was the breakfast which was super average for what you pay but there are cheap eats around the corner. Would definitely stay again if in Berlin!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for giving us such a great feedback. We are really glad to hear that you had a nice time at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We see us soon then. Greetings from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

80%

It's very close to the metro station. The 8-bed female dorm room I was staying in was quite big. There are lockers, and you need to bring your own padlock. There are also smaller lockers for hire - for keeping your passport and money in. My room was on the 7th floor and it was incredibly hot, so we kept the windows open all night, but the outside of the hostel was really loud, so it wasn't the best situation. The bathrooms are always clean. Oh and the lift - it's the slowest I've ever seen.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for your review. It is nice to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

54%

I missed a kitchen for the use of the guests, which I found is usual in Hostels throughout the world. Lowest point though was the incredibly dirty toilets and shower facilities. On the other hand, rooms are very spaceful and ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to write us a review on your stay. I just can apologize for the circumstances of your stay. That is not the service we would like to offer. We will take your review as possibility to improve our housekeeping service. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

69%

found most staff a little rude. toilets were disgusting. even when freshly cleaned, smelled like they were mopped with toilet water. rooms very hot.


74%

Clean, secure, conveniently located, and wifi works well in common areas. But it's more like a massive budget hotel than a hostel and attracts huge groups, so although the bar/lounge/biergarten are nice, the atmosphere sucks if traveling alone or with a friend (unless you like being surrounded by hordes of bros and sorority types on their way to the latest EDM festival). Also they hike up prices based on occupancy, so I had to leave when my $20 bed went up to $40 overnight. Decent though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for taking time to give us a feedback to your stay. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

71%

I had high expectations for the facilities of this Generator Hostel due to having stayed in the Paris location, but this one isn't quite as nice. There wasn't a bathroom in my room, and the closest one was a bit of a walk all the way down the hall. There weren't electrical/USB outlets on the bunks that I remembered at the Paris location, so that was a bit of a bummer. The WIFI only worked down in the lobby. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful though, they were happy to help with whatever.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for writing us a feedback. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Paris just opened this year and is a modern hostel. We hope that you remain loyal to Generator company in future. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

60%

This is an ok place if you are a young partier. Only wifi in the lobby where there's a very loud & obnoxious basketball arcade game blasting almost constantly. Tons of student groups coming through. Ensuite bathrooms are like ones in airplanes with a very tiny shower. Lockers were expensive & one was broken, almost locking our stuff inside. Kitchen was closed off most of the time so you couldn't get coffee or water. Pluses: friendly enough staff, hostel close to U-Bahn. Felt like college dorms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you a lot for your review. It is nice to hear that you all in all enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry for the circumstances you had during your stay. For your next stay please don't hesitate to use the fridges at reception if you would like to have some snacks or cold drinks. Our reception is open 24/7 to help you with opening hours for the kitchen or directions to nice restaurants. Kind regards - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

54%

Very out of the way of the city centre, got fined by public transport just finding my way there. Reception staff are friendly but bar staff not so great - quite lazy, refused to take my plate to the kitchen after Id had dinner so had to take it myself, and vibe wasn't the best either just a bit childish and young but still very very very loud. Wifi doesn't reach room and overall was pretty disappointed, but clean and good facilities and cheap and ok to access on trains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for writing a feedback. It is good to hear that you had a great stay. We will consult our bar team and we will take your review as the chance to improve our service. We hope your next stay will convince you in total. See you soon. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

71%

Very nice in terms of facilities but not much of an as big and far out from the centre of Berlin and any restaurants /bars

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you so much for your great review. We are happy that you liked your stay at Generator Prenzlauer Berg so much and hope to see you again really soon. Take care and best regards.

51%

Wifi basically non existent, bathroom small and dirty, no good vibe and the staff are basically rude, good location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks a lot for taking time to write us a feedback. I'm sorry that you did not feel well with us. We hope that we get another chance to convince you of the benefits of Generator. Best regards. - Front Office Supervisor

51%

Accidentally booked this Generator hostel confusing it for the one in Mitte. Place is enormous (over 900 beds) bathroom in the dorm looks like it's taken straight from an airplane lavatory. Nothing interesting in the area so always have to train somewhere else. Was there during heatwave and on 9th floor, no aircon so felt like I was suffocating in the middle of the night. Arrived after check in time and still had to wait an hour to be checked in by staff. Wifi only in the lobby.


77%

Bedrooms are like a sauna but other than that it was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible. Best wishes from Berlin - Melanie, Ass. Front Office Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback