Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
5.7

The tiles were filthy and the carpets smelt and looked dirty also. Haf if the men's toilets were shut off meaning there were no troffs. The dining area was also dirty. They clearly either don't have enough staff or they just don't care.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
8.0

The place is really big and crowded but they keep it very clean. The rooms are huge so there is place enough to leave the luggage and even if you share the room with more people, it is not stressful. It is far from the city centre, but well communicated. Ideal if you want to have direct connection to Schonefeld airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your awesome review! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

15th Jun 2017
8.3

Pretty far from the center, but if you take the M5 you get there really quick. Staff is super nice and helpful and there is a great sale to hangout. It is big so there is a lot of people, especially school groups but you don't notice it. Bathroom were all the way down the hall so that was annoying and the elevator didn't really work, but I would stay there again for the price. Also if you're looking for a place to stay really close to restaurants don't stay here...you have to take the metro

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
5.4

Facilities were lacking for such a huge hostel. Not a good place to go as a solo traveler, difficult to meet others. Mostly I was discouraged by the fact that they placed me, a woman, alone, in a room with 7 men. The staff did nothing to remedy this because I had paid for a "mixed" room. Was told that I should pay for a women's dorm next time, as though people aren't entitled to comfort and safety unless they pay more money. I ended up leaving three days early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.4

We only stayed a couple of days but they were good. Easy to reach with public transport, good facilities and the staff was nice at the front desk. It is a huge place with many people, the bar downstairs is decent with a good outside seating area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
7.1

The hostel is huge complex, and as such it kinda lacks the cozy feeling what backpackers usually seek for. The room was also HOT, it was like sauna in the morning. Connections were quite good. But staff was really nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.9

Understandably, the location isn't near the city center. But that was pointed out before booking. Still not a big deal since it is right next to a tram and train station. Everything else was fine except that the showers and toilet stalls are quite small. Not much room to move around in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
4.3

The only thing that this hostel has going for them is the facilities. But they rent it out to local events so you're not even getting chances to meet other travelers! So the atmosphere is always dead. Many families stay here, so I guess it might be good for them. The people outside at night are SO loud, and the rooms are hot, so you have to keep the windows open but the sound will keep you up. Spend a little more to go closer into the city and away from this terrible hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lilymayhemming
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.7

Clean rooms and nice bar area but way to big for my liking but friendly staff and no real problems :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jun 2017
5.7

No kitchen and half the food to buy advertised doesn't exist - have to eat out/can't save money on food. Can't stay in hostel bar past 12. Super overpriced buffet breakfast (it's just bread with ham and cheese for 6 euros). Some staff are nice, others rude. I was made to stand in front of reception post-shower, not in proper clothes, while people checked in and a cleaning lady held all my belongings because reception messed up my bed number with no explanation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.