Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel with friendly staff and fun travellers to meet and hang out with! It was the perfect location - could easily explore venice by day and I came back to the hostel for drinks each night. Wifi worked well throughout the hostel, and I slept fine in a 16 bed dorm. The only downside I would mention is the price of the bar food (seemed to be frozen/microwavable) and drinks... but that is to be expected in Venice I guess. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
8.9

This is the second Generator Hostel I stayed at on my trip. The Hostel is super cool and trendy and nice staff. The location is a bit far out from the main areas, but its an easy water bus (30 min or so.) The location besides that is fine- the water taxi stop is pretty close to the hostel- like 3 minutes so I felt safe walking. I booked last minute so I got the mixed 20 person room so no en suite bathroom and the bathrooms were kinda gross but not terrible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
6.3

Our stay at Generator wasn't great. Our female only dorm was quite dirty, the bunks need a wipe down, private bathroom was horrible, drain in the shower was blocked, meaning turning it off every 20 seconds, and there was never any toilet paper. Dorm door didn't close properly - security risk. The location is okay. Also, the fact there was a male sleeping in our female only dorm was ridiculous!!! Why?!? Though, if you're a single traveller looking to meet people the bar downstairs is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, I was very disappointed to read your comments after your stay with us. We strongly believe in our customer care, so please accept our sincerest apologies that you had a poor experience.We would love to have you back at Generator Venice so that we can restore your faith in the Generator brand. Our mission is to provide fantastic budget accommodation and to help create great experiences and memories in Venice. I really hope to be able to personally welcome you back and please do feel free to contact me to discuss anything further. Best Wishes Generator Venice Team

  • bcabalqu
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
9.1

First and foremost the staff is amazing. Incredibly kind. The location is not ideal at first. Being new to Venice, you would not expect the cost of public transit to be so expensive making the experience a bit underwhelming. I did appreciate that the hostel was away from the tourist. I would highly reccommend that they brief their guests with the public transit culture there, and include reccommendations on the type of transit card to buy for guests to maximize their enjoyment at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review we are happy to see that you loved our hostel. The hostel is located on Giudecca's island, few minutes by boat from the city center, we suggest to all the guest to purchase a ticket that covers the length of the stay in order to save money and that allows you unlimited travels in Venice We hope to welcome back here soon. Best wishes Venice Team

14th Aug 2017
9.4

Staff was very welcoming and helpful. They really went the extra mile to help me out with shipping a bag home and I could not be more appreciative!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for this review. Glad to have helped you out with your luggage. Hope to have you again in the future with us. Best regards Generator Venice Team

11th Aug 2017
7.4

It's weird that there's no guest kitchen in the hostel. The price in Venice is so high... and the WC is not clean at all. However, an air conditioned room and the location of the hostel are the best thing of it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest,Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us.We take on board all guest feedback and suggestions and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to continually work with our guests to improve the service and facilities we provide. Your comments will be shared with our team here. I’d like to thank you for choosing Generator Venice and I hope we will see you again in the future.Best Wishes, Generator Venice Team

10th Aug 2017
8.0

We enjoyed our stay here and the staff was relatively friendly. The bed arrangement is a bit tight but outlets in beds were a nice touch. Hostel doesn't have much of a vibe and the bar is fairly low key. Overall still one of the "cooler" places to stay in Venice. Be warned, it is a bit tough to get to from the airport. A bus and long water ferry ride are necessary to get to it. Also, you'll have to take a ferry to get anywhere or do really anything because this isn't on the main island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to see that you loved all the great things we have done to make our hostel the best in town. Next time in Venice do come and say Hello. Best regards Generator Venice Team

10th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel is lit. The place is incredible, the bar / reception is probably the nicest place I drank at in Venice, and it has everything you could want. Food, drinks etc. Great area to meet people. The staff were extremely helpful with everything, even hung out with one late with a group the last night. The rooms are clean and the aC works really well. Met so many people, would totally stay again. Thanks for the good times and drinks Nandoo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your great review. You seem to have made the most out of your stay in Venice. We are proud to see that we had an important part in making it even greater. Hope to have you again in our hostel. Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Amazing place and only a 10min boat trip to central Venice. Great facilities and the staff are really helpful to answer any questions. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for this and thankyou for pointing out how close to the city center and the main attractions we are. Our staff will be very happy to read your review. Thank you again and hope to have you with us in the near future. Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.7

Air conditioning in our 16 dorm room was broken which made for a very uncomfortable few nights and was not fixed by the staff during our stay. Showers were very small with no room to put your clothes etc. Good atmosphere and everywhere was clean and tidy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion about our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you hav some issues with the AC and that we weren't able to fix it during your stay. We will share your review with the appropriate department to see what happened and make sure this doesn't happen again in the future. Best regards Generator Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.