Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2017
8.3

Once you know how to find your way to "The Generator", overall it is a very good place to land yourself if you are travelling alone. The beds are firm the staff was kind and helpful, the other guests were very respectful of others, the food you purchase is of great value and there is lots of room and a variety of spaces within the lounge to work, socialize or chill. Cool vibe. Be prepared for cold showers and wet floors in bathrooms and bedrooms. Flipflops a must.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Venice Team

16th May 2017
9.1

Fantastic hostel! The staff is super friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere is lively and infectious. Had a great time sitting along the water with a glass of wine surrounded by other young international travelers. FYI: Towels cost 3.50 Euro to rent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here and totally recommend it!! The location is amazing and very easy to reach at any time of the day! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hostel has a very chick atmosphere. The beds are not as comfortable and it can be quite noisy in a 16 people dorm but that is expected. The bathroom facilities only have one sink which sometimes can be tight but nothing too terrible. Don't forget to bring your lock for the lockers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
8.0

Very social hostel chain with popular bar scene and great social space decor. My top bunk always had mysterious black dust from...somewhere. Otherwise, great restrooms and view. Hostel is very close to a vaporetto stop, and is only 2 stops from Piazza S. Marcos. I really liked security when it came to luggage storage. They have cameras in the bulk luggage storage area and small lockers available for 1euro/6hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
7.1

General stay was OK. Zitelle is a cute island and close to central Venice. Lack washroom facilities. Only 2 female toilets and 2 showers on my floor (first floor) for 75+ guests. No getting ready space - very small and untidy. Washrooms hardly cleaned - if so bare minimum. The washroom soap dispenser remained empty my entire stay. Got yelled at by staff for using handicap toilet for no reason. No que, no handicap/or special guest in sight, no one was waiting. She just wanted to "clean it".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team in order to fix all the problems you point out in your review. We hope to have you again in the future. Best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
8.3

Had a really really lovely stay in this hostel. The decor is cool and the beds are comfortable and clean. Some staff members were lovely and helpful and others were a bit rude. The location is not at all an inconvenience, only a short water bus from the main island. Found it really easy to make friends as a solo traveller and the hostel is right on the canal. A really great stay, I would go back in spite of the cold showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the kind feedback. The hostel is located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking the Basilica della Salute and St Mark. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. We hope to welcome you back again. Safe travels Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2017
7.7

Good hostel overall! A little far from everything but met some great people here. Had some issues with the staff arguing over simple things, but after standing my ground they were reasonable and apologized. It's kinda far from the centre and it's expensive to get the day pass (20 euros), so that's something to note as you do need to take the boats too and from.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback after your Generator's experience, it's always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed the hostel and the stay. Our hostel is located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking St Mark's basin. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. We hope to welcome you again in Venice soon. Best wishes. Generator Venice Team.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2017
7.1

Generator Venice is in a great location. Just a quick boat ride to St Marc's or 20 mins to the bus/train station. It's a nice modern hostel with a good atmosphere for meeting people and hanging out. I did find some of the staff were a bit rude when I checked in and gave me minimal information about the place, but other staff were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were shared with the whole floor and weren't very clean. They also don't have a kitchen to cook for yourself which isn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Venice Team

13th May 2017
7.4

Not a great place for meeting people, also weird that it's a big hostel chain but they have no tours or events of their own nor do they advertise any, no free maps either. Location is alright, not on the main island but super close to the vaparetto stop and you can just hop on for free. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of ppl. I was in a 16 bed dorm and it wasn't bad, the beds have a lamp, outlet, little privacy wall thing plus s big locker underneath that can use any size lock. Good wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
6.3

The hostel common area in lobby is quite big, nice and friendly. The breakfast is in line with the money you pay (4.5 Euro per person). The prices for drinks in lobby bar seems fine compared to other places around. Easy access to the boat stations and just 2 stops away from San Marco which is heart of the Venice. Very nice overview to the channel available in private rooms. If you get a bed in a dorm, expect a very limited area for moving in and out compared with what you see in the photos.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.