Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
8.9

Lovely location but required €30 extra for 48h vaporetto pass. It doesn't have facilities I've had in every other hostel such as a refrigerator to store food or a place to eat or drink food you've purchased elsewhere. (They only want you to eat their food/drink inside their facilities; otherwise they advise you to sit outside on the ground.) They made a bit of a deal when I asked for a fork, and I didn't even bother to ask for a corkscrew or glass for the bottle of wine I'd bought.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

THE BEST HOSTEL THAT I STAYED EVER: Everything is perfect, nothing negative...Rooms are very clean and with AC 24h. Bathrooms are also very nice, with hot water, and in every floor you have toilets. Common area is awesome, very easy to meet people, and the bar is open until 3am. They have different type of breakfast, my recommendation is to buy omelet (they have vegetarian option is well). Staff is super friendly, especially Sara from the reception and Francesca from te bar. Thanks for all! :*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Great people work here. The place is great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Accommodation inside of Venice is expensive, but my stay at the Generator was well worth its price. The hostel had a very social bar, it was clean, and although the room had 15 other people in it, it felt more like a 4 person dorm because of the good layout. Only 2 downsides, the showers lacked some privacy and you do have to get a water bus to the hostel which is fairly costly, but I enjoyed taking it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jjurgovan5292
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.9

Really would much rather just have stayed on the main island. The location is really inconvenient and the amount you have to pay to take the water bus to the main island and back will be more than enough to book a hostel on the main island. When I went the employees who ran the water busses were on strike so I spent half of my time trying to figure out how do get to this hostel. It's a nice clean hostel but the location is too inconvenient. Not worth it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are really sorry that you didn't appreciate the location of our hostel. We are just in front of the main city square, just 5 minutes away by waterbus. The best way to move around in Venice is by buying a multiple days waterbus ticket that reflects your stay. Hope to have you again in our hostel. Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
9.1

Could not recommend generator hostel enough! It's got such a fun and lovely vibe and full of other travellers so great for meeting people. I stayed in a 16 bed which I was sort of dreading but you barely notice how many people there are as the rooms are set out in a really clever way so you have privacy. The staff are really fun and helpful and it's very easy to get to from the main island, just two stops on the vaparetto. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for the review. We are really happy to see that you could make the most out of you stay with us in Venice. Hope to have you again with us. Best regards. Generator Venice Team

13th Jun 2017
8.6

Generator is a sterile, antisocial experience, first and foremost. There are no organized activities, the common areas revolve around a bar that serves the greater community not just the hostel. But the rooms are immaculate, the location is excellent (just bite the bullet on buying an unlimited ferry pass for the five minute ride to get across the harbor to Venice proper, the on site restaurant was also nice it was just weird all the tables were reserved for groups. So I had to eat on a couch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for getting back to us after staying in our Venice hostel. We highly appreciate our guests opinion because it shows how we are doing our job. From your review it seems we are in the right tracks and this is really satisfying. See you again soon in Venice Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • mulls
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.9

Good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean. Only downside the air con wasn't cold and it was 32 degrees!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for you review. We really appreciate our guests opinion because it helps us improve ourselves and our services. Best regards Generator Venice Team

11th Jun 2017
7.7

Over all a good place to stay in Venice. Was not very happy with the wash rooms, but decent value for money to stay in Venice. Great location !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maddyewing__22
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.9

New and fairly large hostel. Great common space and atmosphere for meeting people. Bar is very affordable. Right on the water opposite Saint Mark's square, so it provided really great views looking onto the city - particularly at sunset. Must take a water bus to get to hostel from the main land, but they do offer passes with discounts for youth. Rooms were very clean and very secure. Compared to other hostels, it may seem pricey, but seems like good value for venice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for getting back to us after staying in our Venice hostel. We highly appreciate our guests opinion because it shows how we are doing our job. From your review it seems we are in the right tracks and this is really satisfying. See you again soon in Venice Best regards Generator Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.