Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

What a cool spot. I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
5.7

This hostel was a disappointment for the amount I paid. No guest kitchen, no laundry, no free breakfast (4.50 breakfast not good) and the washroom 1st floor was cramped and always leaking from everywhere. You're not supposed to have food in the rooms which is not great for people on a budget. The staff were friendly enough but I feel there could be a lot more special events or benefits offered. My blanket was stained (although it has cover still gross) and no hooks to hang clothes. Not great....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.3

Excellent hostel on the island facing San Marco, a short boat ride away. Staff very helpful and food options good value. We will search for Generator in future as this is the second one we have stayed in and been very happy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Next time I'm in Venice I will be booking here again. No. Complaints at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
2.9

The main problem of the hostel is there is no kitchen to make your own food. They wont even let you use the microwave. You cannot drink in the hostel as they want you to just buy the drinks from their bar, which is not that cheap. People sit on the emergency stairs to drink their own booze because there are no cameras there. Location is decent you get a good view when you get out of the hostel, but you cannot walk to the main island. You'll always have to take the water taxi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.6

Nice, clean hostel with a relaxed atmosphere and a friendly staff. My two friends and I stayed two nights in a 16-bed dorm. The room was clean and each bed has a charger and nightlight. The location isn't ideal, as there are not a lot to do on Giudecca, but other than that we had a nice time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Our stay was phenomenal! Would recommend. Trying to stay at other generators while traveling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Feb 2017
6.0

Everybody stays here, but it's like the dorms are so big you don't actually meet anyone. There is no kitchen or communal areas other than the cafe downstairs (which was meh at best). Also you'd think for such a massive, purpose-built hostel they'd have FUNCTIONAL SHOWERS!!! I didn't have a single hot shower while i was there! I later found out that it was because i was on the top floor and by the time the water reached the top it was always cold. Would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and tell us about the things that you didn't like, we work hard to remedy all the problems that our guests may encounter. We hope to see you soon again Best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel perfectly located in Giudecca island, only a few minutes from piazza San Marco by vaporetto ! The bar/restaurant/common room on the ground floor is very well decorated and welcoming! The rooms are pretty big with 15 beds but they are really comfy and give you a private space with your individual light and plug. Some bad points: you have to make the bed yourself, which can be adventurous if you are on the top bed, and also the water was often cold. Good place overall!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.7

The staff is amazing and was really helpful from check in to check out. The rooms are very cramped with little room between bunks to access the lockers below. The wifi was awful in our room which is unfortunate for travelers who rely on wifi while abroad. I feel like it's a hostel that did the minimum amount of effort for guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.