Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,851 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,851 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Generator Venice Located at Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice.
Generator Venice
Italy
Venice 19 30133 Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca
84% 2851
45.4258275 12.3358665
Generator Venice
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
6.3

Location is very out of the way from everything, 40min boat from the train station. Boats are expensive so it was hard to keep leaving since there is nothing around the hostel. We were only in Venice for 12 hours so can't really say we got the full hostel experience. Rooms are very small and crowded, pretty expensive for what we actually got. But good atmosphere with a nice bar/lounge area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Enjoyed my stay at the Generator Venice. The facilities are very modern and nice. The only thing to consider is that you have to take the waterbus to get to and from the hostel as it's located on Giudecca island. It doesn't take long to get to the main Venice islands, but the waterbus costs 7.50 euros each way. I recommend getting a Venizia Unica tourist pass (http://www.veneziaunica.it/en/e-commerce/services), which allows unlimited rides for whatever time period you purchase it for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Aug 2016
4.3

DO NOT STAY HERE! I was robbed 3 times in 2 days here, from within my own room. The first 2 times were insignificant electrical accessories but the third time time someone broke into my LOCKED suitcase and took everything valuable while I was downstairs for breakfast less than 30 minutes. Your belongings are NOT SAFE here! Even if you take precautions and lock them up. Worst hostel experience of my life, and I have stayed in a LOT

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is awesome! great location, away from the crowds and very quiet. Awesome vibes- great place to meet travellers... had a great time here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, What a very touching and rewarding review ! We are delighted to read the description you made I will pass through your comments to the team we hope to welcome you back soon Best regards Venice Team

19th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place! Its on another island in the south. But its really close to a vaporetto stop, which basically has ships going to everywhere. There is a pub on the ground floor where you can watch different sport games. The staff is really friendly and helpful. There is AC in the rooms and everything is really clean. I really like the small details such as you have your own LED light. It feels like home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, What a very touching and rewarding review ! We are delighted to read the description you made I will pass through your comments to the team we hope to welcome you back soon Best regards Venice Team

19th Aug 2016
8.6

Doesn't allow outside food, forced to buy food inside. Nice location and close to water taxi stations. Great otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

First time travelling by myself as well as first hostel experience and I absolutely couldn't fault it!! Didn't want to leave - amazing atmosphere, great music and staff and bar area. Lovely decor and such a good vibe. Will definitely be recommending!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LaurenMartin1
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.7

Generator was a great place to stay in Venice with a location easy to get to via the public boats. The facilities were great, however it lacked a hostel feel as the common room was more of a huge restaurant. I wouldn't recommend the buffet breakfast, as it wasn't very good value for money and other things on their menu were much yummier for a better price. Otherwise considering the high price of Venice, it was a lovely place to stay for a few nights if you feel like splurging a little.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
5.7

You need to factor into the cost of staying here the cost of the ferry tickets.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review we are happy to see that you loved our hostel. The hostel is located on Giudecca's island, few minutes by boat from the city center, we suggest to all the guest to purchase a ticket that covers the length of the stay in order to save money and that allows you unlimited travels in Venice We hope to welcome back here soon. Best wishes Venice Team

  • LilithAnnH
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

I stayed in a 16 person dorm, it is so cramped. Very little space to get ready etc. Also bring a padlock for under your bed. Overall great hostel just a shame there was no cooking facilities as Venice can be quite expensive, although the food at the hostel was quite cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.