X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Generator Venice Reviews

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
605 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It is really easy to get there from the station or Saint Mark Square by boat 4.1 and 2 respectively. The rooms are clean, the staff is kind and the atmosphere is great (there is a bar in the hostel where you can meet people from other countries). A really good place to stay.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The only downside was that the breakfast was quite sparse for €3.50 a day, and the food from the canteen was pretty awful. Other than that, it's literally the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

When I went to order food from the place, the lady took forever to take my order, complete it x and ring it. On top of it she burnt it and I had to wait for another. Very unprofessional. I did like the location because you can see St Mark's Square from some of the rooms!


74%

Lack of laundry and ironing facilities was a bummer :(

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear C thanks for the review. We have 24h staff that is ready to answer every question and come in support of all the guests needs. Generator Venice does have a 24/7 laundry facilities on the first floor and as stated into the area, we can also provide the ironing facilities. We hope this issue has not cause too much discomfort and hope to welcome you back all the best Fabio Moccia General Manager

89%

The Generator was the best hostel we had stayed at! the air conditioned rooms and more private beds in the 20 person dorm was nice. The bar and food was great too! Only thing was they always seemed to be understaffed so it always took a while to get a drink, food, service, etc. Also, be aware that the breakfast is advertised as much nicer than it is. It is just like every other hostel, some corn flakes some bread some ham some cheese and some canned fruit. Overall, a good stay!


74%

It was good, it was clean, but bad wifi


91%

This hostel is amazing for meeting people. Great location, beautiful view. Staff are great. I was there during a festival, and they were offering a buffet dinner for 30€. I didn't want to participle, and was annoyed that they didn't have a regular menu during this time, and wouldn't allow me to bring outside food in. The area was too full to get a table anywhere, so I had a really hard time eating. Still, a very positive experience overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A thank for sharing your feedback. Your comment will be shared with all the team. You have stayed on the very special day for the Giudecca Island, where it is a tradition for all of our guests and local to eat outside overlooking Venice. It's a pity that you have had problem in finding a place to sit, but I have taken on board your comments, never the less we are delighted that your experience with us was positive. All the best Fabio Moccia General Manager

86%

This hostel is on the island Giudecca -- about a 3 minute vaporetto ride to St. Mark's Square...DEFINITELY purchase a vaporetto pass (24hr, 36hr, 72hr, etc.) if you'll be using it frequently (which, you will for sure if you're staying at this hostel--vaporetto is the only way to the main parts of Venezia), otherwise each ride is about 7euro.. The rooms in the Generator were super clean and had great privacy -- air conditioning blasting which was great in the summer heat! Kinda expensive though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear R, thanks for sharing your positive review on your star at Generator Venice. It's great to hear that you have a comfy stay and you've enjoyed the air-co, which is by the way in every room in the hostel. Great TIP for the fellow travellers: It is always better to buy the vaporetto pass based on the lenght of your stay in Venice and make the most of it by visiting even the island of Murano and Burano. Safe travels Fabio Moccia General Manager

77%

1. Wifi works well throughout the building 2. Air conditioning is great 3. Bathrooms - there are enough, but the showers are of the see through screen type 4. Laundry facilities 5. Atmosphere is decent 6. Staff need to work on communication - nothing was explained unless I asked first! 7. One of the guys at the bar (Italian guy? avg height, brown hair, beard) would almost refuse to serve you unless you were female 8. You must catch the ferry (7 euro) to get there


97%

Excellent brand new hostel. Highly recommend staying here.


74%

This hostel was pretty good. It was clean. If you are young and looking for a hip hostels that provides ample opportunity to party, this is a great hostel for you. If you want a more laid back atmosphere maybe not as much. The location took a bit of time to get to using a bus taxi. It wasn't necessarily bad though... I mean c'mon its still venice.


80%

Something should be done about the lights in the washroom, they are sensored but do not stay on for very long and you cannot keep them on during the duration of your shower which means you are showering in complete darkness. The napkins were not filled either at all during my 2 night stay.


91%

If you can afford to spend a night here then it is definitely worth it! The hostel is one of the most impressive we've been to. Our room had a view out across the water and the hostel bar is a great way to get talking to people in the evening. It is worth noting that the hostel isn't on the main island in Venice so you have to get the boat to and from the hostel. This costs €7 for a single ticket so longer travel passes are worth looking into.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Generator Venice. It is fantastic to hear that the Hostel and its design made a fabulous impact on you and mostly that you love the atmosphere The Hostel is on the Giudecca Island which is very well connected. We suggest to buy not single ticket, but based on you stay so that you can save some money All the best Fabio Moccia General Manager

86%

Hostel is super new and nice! The 16 bed room is cramped and the other people we were sharing with were filthy. Location is amazing - best view of Venice!


80%

The dorm was clean and comfortable, the hostel provided linen and a lockers under the bunks, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, just across the water from San Marco's Square (5 minutes by boat) but on a charming, quiet island slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the main island. The only downside with the hostel was the bathrooms, there were few showers/toilets and no locks to the shower door so privacy was not guaranteed.


86%

Rooms were super clean and modern. Though the restroom had leaky showers but that wasn't an issue. Staff weren't particularly helpful or friendly but did the job. Location wasn't fantastic either but ferries ran every twenty minutes during the day so it wasn't too much of a hassle to get around. Overall well worth the price and would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear M, thanks for posting a great review to share with fellow travellers. All you comment have been taken on board. Safe travels Fabio Moccia General Manager

86%

The hostel was located on the residence island which made it more quiet and less touristy! This was very nice when you needed to get away from the main island. I thought the building was really cool and had awesome decor! The bedrooms were also really great!


71%

You definitely get a bang for your buck. However, some tips: the stop's name on the ferry is Zitelle. Take a picture of the schedules and arrive 5-10mins early to get on bc they often arrive early and depart early. This is esp important at night when the next one comes in 35min to an hour. The hostel says something different on the brick but it's the only hostel there so easy to find. The property is modern and quite beautiful. I did run into a lack of paper towels but everything was clean.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest thanks very much for sharing your positive feedback and travelling tips with other travellers. The Hostel has re-opened on June 2013 after a full renovation, all the interiors are design led where everybody can meet, socialize and have a good time. We are located on the Giudecca Island and within minutes you can get to St. Mark square. Vaporetto runs 24/7, but at night every 35/40 minutes, whilst during the day every 10 min. Regards Fabio Moccia General Manager

97%

My sister and I loved Generator Venice!!..we stayed in the double room with private bathroom and it was stunning. The hostel is directly opposite the main heart of venice and is extremely easy to access by boat. The view from the hostel is also very beautiful. We only booked for 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer. I would definitely recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for the stunning review! We look forward to seeing you next time. Ciao from Venice Fabio Moccia General Manager

80%

I loved this hostel! At first I thought it was a rather expensive place to stay, especially because of the boat bus you will have to take to get there, but after staying here, I believe it is the best place to be. It is right on the other side of the water, so you can get away from the hectic touristic area of San Marco and just see actual Italian life going on. Also the hostel is amazing; great atmosphere, awesome chill out area, lots of people, and personally, perfect location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(189 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback