X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Venice Reviews

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1162 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

The staff were very unpleasant to deal with- don't let them charge you for anything besides the room ahead of time because if you don't like the breakfast and want a refund they will refuse you. Also very unhelpful with getting around the city and if you want a map you have to pay for it. This is the typical experience I've had in chain hostels, and this one is no different. Also, don't come here if you want a friendly atmosphere.


74%

Good location one stop from San Marco. Nice place and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Many thanks for having shared your review online after your stay with us. We are delighted to read your comments, we will share your review with the team, they will be thrilled We hope you will chose again our hostel for your next trip in Venice Safe travels Venice Team

63%

This was better than some Generator hostels in that it was easy to meet people in the bar. However the lack of privacy in the showers and no kitchen make it poor value for money. Also my room (101) was right above the bar so Friday night I couldn't sleep while the music from downstairs carried straight into the room. Also you have to pay a ridiculous amount for the ferry to get to the main island -it's so expensive if you can find somewhere on the main islands book that instead.


89%

I had a great time, the lounge area and bar are really great. Especially loved the bar staff :) had a blast

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your review. It's glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are satisfied with our staff We are looking forward to welcome back soon in Venice Best wishes Venice Team

94%

It was easy to reach the hostel from the train or bus station. And rooms with sea view could look across towards S Marco Basilica and the Clock Tower! Excellent place away from the tourist hordes and just one convenient boat stop away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your review after your stay with us. It's glad to hear from you that you enjoyed our location and our view from our hostel We hope you will chose again our hostel for your next trip in Venice Best wishes Venice Team

89%

Hostel was great! Breakfast was 4€ extra but all you can eat. Place is new and beds really comfortable!! If anyone is staying here for a few days and under 30 ask for the rolling card when you're buying your vaperatto ticket. It is the only way to get to and from the hostel and is only 24€ instead of 7€ each trip, plus you get discounts on other things in venice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for take the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us We are delighted to read that you liked our hostel and our rooms! Rolling Venice card is the best option for people up to 29 years old for visit Venice and the island We hope to see you again in Venice soon Best wishes Venice Team

20%

Charged my credit card and had me pay in person, I didn't notice the extra charge on my card until after I left so now i am out $65 dollars.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Many thanks for your review after your stay in Venice. We apologize for any possible inconvenience. Reservations are regulated via clear terms and regulations Stated on the website. Please get in touch with the management so the issue can be looked into and eventually reverted back Look forward hearing from you soon Best regards Fabio Moccia

71%

Everything about this place felt like a hotel to me except for the fact that you share a dorm room. Pros: clean, feels safe. Cons: location means you have to buy a spendy vaparetto pass, thin walls, hard to meet people as a solo traveller, lacking atmosphere and hospitality.


94%

Great place - loved the vibe and decorating. Beautiful view across the water and easy to get to by boat


91%

The only hostel I have ever stayed in where I dropped a top in the corner of the bathroom and there wasn't even a dot of dust on it. I'm talking spotless. Lovely rooms with views, friendly staff, cheap food sold all day, good bathroom arrangement (separate loos and showers in dorm, plus extra outside), easy to find. Only small negatives - not on main island so you have to pay for the boat, and because it's big, not necessarily easy to make friends. Thanks for everything!


80%

This is a terrific hostel, but considering the price it should be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

71%

I was disappointed as I stayed in generator hamburg and had an amazing time - I was expecting big things! However this time the common area was filled with school trips... Hardly any solo travellers (not the hostels fault I guess but the facilities attract large groups and the result is less personal). They also charge extra 2 euros city tax pn. Breakfast is 4€ and consists of stale roll, ham, cheese, tinned fruit & yoghurt. However, beds are insanely comfy - despite 16 man dorm, best sleep yet!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

100%

Great hostel, it's on a separate island though, which is fine. Make sure you buy a rolling Venice pass for the water bus to save money.


91%

Pros: Comfy beds, clean shower Good location near piazza San marco 24 hour common area w cafe/bar, easy to meet fellow travelers Nice staff Felt comfortable as a female traveling solo Cons: No privacy in the women's showers No free breakfast A bit far from the main train station, 30-40 mins on vaporetto

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Venice. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

100%

Generator in Venice is the best hostel I've been to so far. At first I wasn't sure about the location, since it's across the water, which eventually turned out to be absolutely perfect. The view outside my dorm (8p) was breathtaking all day long. Great atmosphere and bar, and the staff was amazingly kind. Definitely recomandabke and even worth a second visit!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience online after your recent stay in Venice It's amazing to hear your comments and to read that you loved your stay with us We would love to welcome you again in Venice or in another location of our chain in Europe Best wishes Venice Team

94%

Just a short boat ride away to the main island of Venice, and it offered a great bar/restaurant atmosphere. DJ night on friday was perfect since we didn't want to venture off the island. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms, and overall a great couple of nights in a beautiful city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after your recent stay in our structure It's glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will chose again our hostel for your next trip to Venice Safe travels Venice Team

74%

The facilities were nice although no private showers. The staff was generally nice and helpful and the view is beautiful! The boat ride to the hostel is rather pricey at 7 euro for one way and it takes a while to get to the main islands at night. There is also an extra fee for people who are not members of a hostel program (I don't remember which one).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. The Generator Venice is located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking the Basilica della Salute and St Mark. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. We suggest to our guest to buy a ticket that cover the length of the stay in order to save money We do hope to see you again in Venice soon Best wishes Venice Team

89%

Just a few minute boat ride from the heat of venice. Staff is very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat. Nice area to lounge downstairs. Rooms are nice with high ceilings. Mine had a beautiful view of the water and sky line. Definitely would stay there again


91%

I had a good time in this hostel. The staff is very firendly, helped me whenever I needed. The facilities are very good. confortable bed, lockers in the room, showers always had hot water (could have more pressure but ok). The location is good, but its not on the main island, so be mindful that if you dont buy the boat pass for the length of your stay you're looking at 7 euros fare for each ride. Overall good hostel, would come back no problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the kind feedback. The Hostelis located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking the Basilica della Salute and St Mark. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. We hope to welcome you back again. Safe travels Venice Team

83%

A good hostel. Close to the boat stop. Comfortable bed. Stylish ground floor. It's expensive but new and modern, better than old cheap HI.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(166 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback