X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Venice Reviews

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2025 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I spent two nights at the Generator Venice in a 8 person mixed dorm and had a blast! My roommates were amazing and we all got along and had a good time. The staff was also extremely helpful with explaining the water taxi system and helping out with any questions we had. My only complaint would be that the bathrooms could be improved. The water in the shower barely came out and there weren't many outlets in the bathroom.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It would be good to have somewhere dry to sit clothes while in the shower

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank for your review, we will share your comments with our HK Manager in order to ameliorate the quality of services We hope to welcome you back here in Venice soon Best wishes Venice Team

91%

Had a great stay at Generator Venice. Fun place. Fun people. Good staff.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great comments following your stay with us in Venice, its always amazing to hear that we’ve made someone’s stay in Venice really enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Venice Team

100%

Better than expected! But the transport with vaporetto is almost equal or more expensive than the room price :D

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing you review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved our vibe. We suggest to all the guests to buy a ticket that covers the length of the stay in order to save money. With the travelcards you can visit also the amazing island of the lagoon -Murano and Burano. We hope to welcome you back really soon Best wishes Venice Team

89%

Hostel is amazing and really good for meeting people. However, there are no guest kitchen facilities so not great for self catering. It is also located on Giudecca which is both a good and bad location depending on what you want to do. It's great if you want to be in Venice and you're planning on using the Vaporetti to get around. It's average if you want to save money and get around Venice on foot as you will have to get a boat to the hostel anyway.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing you review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved our vibe. We suggest to all the guests to buy a ticket that covers the length of the stay in order to save money. With the travelcards you can visit also the amazing island of the lagoon -Murano and Burano. We hope to welcome you back really soon Best wishes Venice Team

89%

Nice atmosphere here, rm is clean and comfortable . Location close to san macro square . Value for the price to stay in venice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to past your review, we are thrilled to hear that you loved our atmosphere and location We hope to welcome you back here in the near future Kind regards Venice Team

91%

Using the vaporetto it's just two stops from Saint Marcos square and in the morning there're nothing like wake up and leave the hostel lobby and see Venice in front of your eyes. It was also impressively clean - I didn't feel I was staying in a hostel except for the relax and easy going atmosphere and of course the price! Really recommend it!

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely feedback ,great to hear that you loved your stay with us! We will be delighted to welcome you back in Venice soon best wishes Venice Team

94%

Great to have a hostel in beautiful Venice across the river from St Marks Square

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you loved our location We hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice Team

83%

Read a bit about the staff not being particularly friendly just before I went, but everyone was lovely that I dealt with, so kudos for that. Was a bit worried about staying in a bigger dorm room (16 beds) but honestly it was fine, had a great stay and the hostel was clean. Don't worry about being on Giudecca island, the vaporetto's are really easy to use and arrive every few minutes through the day & every 15ish minutes through the night. Plus the view to Venice from the hostel is stunning :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you loved our staff and our amazing location! we hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice Team

94%

I enjoyed my stay in this hostel immensely! The Venice location definitely lives up to the standard set by the people behind the Generator hostels. Location was not the most convenient, but it was a short ride to basically everything in Venice. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, wow, thank you for your amazing review, we are thrilled to read your amazing comments, we hope to welcome you back here in the near future Best wishes Venice team

86%

A very good hostel. The only problem was that there's no kitchen, so we have to eat from their restaurant. There was not a big problem because I stayed for just one night, but if it was for more nights it would be bad.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your recent review Great to hear you liked the the hostel and enjoyed your stay. We concentrate on providing guests with great food and beverage options so that is why there is no self catering kitchen. Hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

91%

really really nice and clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your fab feedback, we are glad to hear that you loved your stay with us We hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice Team

63%

It was a nice hostel to sleep but far from everything and you can't bring in your own food or drink.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review we are disappointed to read that you didn't like our location, the hostel is just 5 minutes by boat from St.Mark's square. We hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice team

86%

Generator hostels are always a good option to stay in. Downers were having to pay for breakfast and no kitchen, you'd think they could at least make brekky free as we're not allowed to eat food from outside the premises. Besides that had a good time and met some great people. Beds are comfy with personal power socket and lamp, bathrooms clean and showers hot. Good wifi. Would stay here again. Also, super cheap grocery store 200m down the path, beers 50c, wine 1.50 euro :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely feedback ,great to hear that you loved your stay with us! We will be delighted to welcome you back in Venice soon best wishes Venice Team

86%

Really great location. Easy to get to and a great view in the morning. There was a good atmosphere for those in groups, I think solo travellers will struggle as everyone is in their groups. Food is great at a good price. Very modern and trendy. Bed was comfy and even though it was a huge dorm, there were only a few of us in there. Beds could be better placed than directly under the beams, kept hitting head!

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great comments following your stay with us in Venice, its always amazing to hear that we’ve made someone’s stay in Venice really enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Venice Team

83%

Location is.not that good, but if you buy a 1or 2 day ticket is fine. The staff was nice, except for the guy at the reception and the guy in the bar, there were very arrogant and rude. The food served there was not that good except for the pizzas. Veey small rooms for a 10 female dorm, not much space. But is a good hostel, I will recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We welcome all feedback as it gives us a great indication of how we can improve our services/facilities, so we would like to thank you for sharing yours with us. If you wish to talk about any aspect of your stay further please feel free to email our Ops Manager at: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com Best wishes Venice Team

86%

Really fresh decor and a cool hostel with a good vibe. It was clean and functional for traveling and offered a decent buffet breakfast which was 4e per person. Didn't live that it was on Guidecca instead of the main part of Venice because that required an expensive water taxi fare every day. But if you can deal with that, then it is a great hostel to choose.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review after your stay in Venice. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

86%

Great location bc it's far enough to relax but close enough to St. Marco square

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you loved our location We will be thrilled to welcome you back here in the near future Best wishes Venice Team

77%

Only thing worth noting about this place is you'll need to pay an extra seven or so euro every day as its on a different island to the main attractions. That said, its a really good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay We hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice Team

94%

Great hostel with a great vibe. The only negative thing is its location - not inconvenient per se, but it'll cost you 7.50€ to leave the island (or get to the island) via waterbus unless you buy a pass!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing you review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved our vibe. We suggest to all the guests to buy a ticket that covers the length of the stay in order to save money. With the travelcards you can visit also the amazing island of the lagoon -Murano and Burano. We hope to welcome you back really soon Best wishes Venice Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(234 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback