Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed here three nights and would have stayed weeks more. The location is one stop from San Marco Square and the main Venice attractions. The hostel itself is very clean, bright and has a hotel feel to it. It was like €12 a night, which is ridiculously cheap given the quality of the whole place. Also, there's a pizza place over the bridge as you turn left out of the hostel. It's €11 for a huge pizza and a full-size beer. Sad to leave Venice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

Pretty good place. Thursday night it was pretty loud downstairs and was sort of annoying for those of us trying to sleep. But the location and price can't be beat, and the staff was helpful too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.9

Fantastic hostel, great experience there. Location requires you to purchase water taxi tickets to go to & from the main island, which adds to the cost (3 day pass = 40€). This was the one major con, despite the place being a wonderful experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your review we suggest you for all our guest to buy a ticket that covers the lenght of the stay, we have taken on board your comments about the bathrooms in order to ameliorate our service we hope to welcome you back here soon Best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
9.4

Very good hostel and for great value. Really lovely rooms, the bar is great. Bed was very comfortable and such a good standard for the price. The staff were really lovely- they were setting up a new system so had to borrow my passport for 30m which they could see I was uncomfortable with (passport=life), so they gave me 2 drink tokens to say thank you! They understand customer service and good will. Only downside is boat=expensive but that's everywhere you stay. Stay here! Its perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay here in Venice. It’s always good to receive feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve the service we offer and understand what it is we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, however we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for choosing our hostel Best Wishes, Venice Team

  • Krystamcdonald
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.4

Had a great stay at the Generator Venice. Staff were very helpful with tips and advice and the place had a really good vibe, would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great comments following your stay with us in Venice, its always amazing to hear that we’ve made someone’s stay in Venice really enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Venice Team

19th Mar 2017
7.4

Cool place expensive bar tho... Wasn't too crazy about having to take the boat every time to go to the other islands but got to meet lots of ppl and overall I had a great time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Venice. We appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Venice Team

17th Mar 2017
6.0

I have stayed in many many hostels and this was a very commercialized hostel. Everything was an extra charge. There was no passion from the hosts, I found out later this is a chain hostel which perhaps explains the commercialization. Breakfast is good value for Venice. Eat elsewhere for dinner, food is very mediocre. Overall, it was an acceptable hostel but I would stay elsewhere if I had to book accomodation in Venice again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We welcome all feedback as it gives us a great indication of how we can improve our services/facilities, so I would like to thank you for sharing yours with us. We hope that you will return sometime in the future. Kind regard Venice Team

17th Mar 2017
7.1

Staff was a little brusque at times, at the "no outside food" policy is a little annoying. Nice building, and chargers / light at every headboard. And my #1 hostel pet peeve: bathroom lights are on timers that turn off in the middle of your shower! Overall a good deal for the money, though you will need to purchase a pass for the water bus. (Discount if you are under 25 or 26, ask at the station).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We welcome all feedback as it gives us a great indication of how we can improve our services/facilities, so I would like to thank you for sharing yours with us. We hope that you will return sometime in the future. Kind regard Venice Team

17th Mar 2017
8.9

This place is super cool. It is mildly inconvenient that you have to take a Vaporetta (water bus), which is kinda pricey, to get to the city center but there's a stop pretty much right outside it so could be worse. The facilities are really nice and modern, the downstairs common area is great for hanging out by yourself or for meeting people. Shower set up is a little weird but not a deal breaker by any means. The beds and pillows were soo comfortable. Definitely would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.0

Really easy to get to and from the main islands. Great staff, great atmosphere. The rooms are a little dusty and there aren't a lot of places to hang stuff up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.