X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Venice Reviews

Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1226 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was clean and easy to checkin and out. A little lame that maps were 0.5€ But that's just because all the other hostels had them for free.


80%

The building and the facilities were amazing, but only one staff member was so friendly that I felt comfortable asking more questions. The others just did their minimum. The beds were great though and I slept extremely well. I took the 4.50€ breakfast, which was a disappointment. Nevertheless I would recommend the hostel for its location and facilities!


74%

Expensive but you're close to all the main attractions. My adapter wouldn't work in any of the bathrooms so I had to blow dry my hair in my bed. Bathrooms could be cleaned more often, especially with the amount of people sharing them. Also wish they had more activities available to meet people, not ideal for solo backpackers. Overall it was a decent stay and would recommend if you're wanting a close location. If you want a better experience, find something on the mainland and take train in.


86%

The breakfast buffet was too much for what was given. Better breakfast can be found at local bakeries for the same price or less. The milk for the cereal as warm, and it would be better if there were scrambled eggs, or hard boiled eggs, or better bread with a toaster and Nutella/peanut butter or something else for those who don't like jam or protein for vegetarians.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review We are disappointed to hear form you that the breakfast doesn't meet your expectation, we offer different kind of breakfast, like italian breakfast with cappuccino orange juice and croissant or scrambled eggs and bacon We hope to welcome again in Venice soon Kind regards Venice Team

89%

Nice place to stay, probably one of the best hostel I ever been ! Good atmosphere, well located, the only bad thing: not enough bathroom for everybody !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review after your recent stay in our hostel. We are delighted to hear from you that you enjoyed your time with us. We are disappointed to read your comments concerning the bathrooms, we have more than two bathrooms in each floor We hope to welcome you again in Venice soon Safe travels Venice Team

94%

Easy to find hostel located an easy water bus ride from the main city and square. Staff was nice and friendly. The common area is set up in segregated areas with chairs so it was more click-ish and we didn't meet many new people. But it was a nice, clean hostel and would definitely recommend for the price in the amazing city of Venice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your impression after your stay in Venice We are thrilled to hear from you that you enjoyed our location - just 5 minutes by waterbus from the city center. THank you again for your comments and for recommend us, we would love to welcome soon in our lovely city Best wishes Venice Team

91%

Pros: Great receptionists overall, fun vibe, good mix of old and young, very clean rooms, beautiful sitting area on main floor, comfortable beds Cons: Breakfast is absolutely awful (packaged meat/cheese dumped in a buffet pan, canned fruit cocktail), laundry machines work off/on, loud music if you're on the first floor, hard to get to when Vaparetto service is on strike. Would I stay again? Absolutely, but I would stay in a room with less people, and I wouldn't pay for the breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review after your stay in our hostel We appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and they will be shared with the team.We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast, we do offer a wide rangemeal during the breakfast time We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

94%

The hostel is amazing! Very cool atmosphere with a great bar and a very friendly staff. Best place to chill after a whole day wandering around the city. Totally recomended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, wow, thank you very much for your wonderful review, glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us We hope to welcome you again soon in Venice Kind regards Venice Team

83%

Some staff were excellent - some a bit less interested . Very clean and quiet and great building . Would stay again . Food and bar very good . Linen of excellent quality .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank your for sharing your feedback after your recent stay in Venice glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will chose again our hostel for your next trip in our lovely city Safe travels Venice Team

91%

Very good hostel. Staff fantastic!! Room clean Breakfast was ok but simple The toilet in the common area was dirty and only one was working... Localization is a bit complicated, is better by the vaporetto ticket per day, so you can go and come back to Piaza Sao Marco as many times you want

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the kind feedback. The property is located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking the Basilica della Salute and St Mark's basin. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. Our team is looking forward to welcome again in Venice We hope to welcome you back again. Safe travels

94%

First time lone traveller, middle age woman. Thought I'd come to the wrong place at first, as I arrived late, downstairs had the appearance of a nightclub full of young things! Everything was very clean, furnishings and fittings new, beds comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful and always present. The bar/restaurant looked great, was reasonably priced. A great base for exploring Venice.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Exactly as advertised. Not very easy to meet other travelers. Only thing is the bathrooms are a little dirty. Other than that, it was good. 16 bed dorms are well organized so you don't realize you are sleeping in a room with that many people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review after your stay. We are disapoointed to hear from you that was not so easy to meet other people, we do have a chill out area and a bar that are the ideal place to socialize. The standard of cleanliness you reported is not a representation of our standard and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have cause we hope however that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome again soon Kind regards Venice Team

89%

In a great location. Good value for money. The food was nice and the staff were helpful. The luggage area was not so safe as the door was wide open when I left my bag in there. Considering people not staying at the hostel can go to the bar and eat I was a little concerned. The room was nice and the beds were comfy. I would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review after your stay with us. Glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay, we will discuss you comments concerning our luggage storage to focus on the information mentioned We would love to welcome again in Venice in the near future Best wishes Venice Team

91%

Had a great stay at The Generator. The downstairs atmosphere was great. Great food and lots of selection from the bar! Breakfast was plain - but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review after your stay in our property in Venice. We are pleased to hear from you that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you loved our lounge are, we hope you will choose again our chain for your next trip in Europe Safe travels Venice team

63%

v.over priced hostel. staff was inconsistent-woman who i checked in with was pretty unhelpful/rude whereas some of the guys had much better customer service. beds are way too close together-you can barely fit a body inbetween them and lockers are drawers beneath the bunks so you have to sit on someone elses bed to even access them. clean but not thoroughly-i checked in and my bed still had the old linen on it and it took an hour just to fix that. hopefully i dont have to stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review after your stay in our property.We apologise that you felt our staff were not as helpuful as you would have liked as we focus a lot on customer service.We are displeased to read your comments and we would like to investigate further if you have the rime to contact our Ops Manager and discuss on a more personal level.The email address is keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com In the meantime take care and thank you again for the comments Best wishes Venice Team

86%

Really big chain feel, so don't expect the same atmosphere and interaction you'd expect from a regular sized hostel. The staff was very professional, and helped out if you had specific questions. Room wise- very quite at night, which was great. They have a bar/DJ in the lobby, but I didn't hear it from my room. My second night, there was a room of 16 eight year olds next door screaming and going crazy until 2am, so that sucked. A little expensive, but worth it to me to be that close.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your impressions after your recent stay in our property. We apprecciate all the comments both positives or negatives as they really help us to improve our facilities/services We hope you will chose again our hostel for your next trip to Venice Best wishes Venice Team

80%

The hostel itself is beautiful, but it's in a really inconvenient location being on the Guidecca Island. The staff weren't very pleasant especially for the amount you pay. I have booked Generator Paris for my stay there and after staying here in Venice, I'm debating changing hostels. Not awful though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review after your stay in Venice. We are disappointed to read that our team has not meet your expectation,everyone is trained to make guests welcome. We do apologize if you experienced any issues,please feel free to contact us directly so that we can better understand what happened during your stay. In the meantime, we are hope to welcome you again and give you a clearer idea of who we are and what we want to give to our guests. Kind regards Venice Team

66%

Beds are comfy as hell, but they need to get their priorities straight. A beautiful exterior is great but you really need to get the basic necessities right. The showers are somewhat clean but nowhere to hang clothes or change at all, for a 16 bed dorm room, when 2 girls are in the showers there's no way anyone else can use the washroom facilities. Wouldn't stay here again if I had a choice. Strip away the pretty exterior and you've got a bad hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Geust, Thank for sharing your thoughts after your stay in Venice. We appreciate your comments concerning bathrooms, they will help us to focus on a better quality of service We hope to welcome back in our property for your next trip to Venice Best wishes Venice Team

86%

Cool hostel. I'd stay here again, if I ever went back to Venice, which I won't anyway... But seriously though The Generator Hostel Venice: put some damn locks on your bathroom doors. Costs what, about €50 to do the whole building...? Step your game up a bit.


86%

Super clean hostel and great location on Giudecca just opposite the Piazza San Marco, easily accessible by vaporetto (perhaps the best thing about Venice!). It was nice that the hostel offered breakfast and dinner services for the guests' convenience (although I made use of a nearby grocery due to food allergies). It would have been nice if there had been kitchen and/or laundry facilities, but my stay was still great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank very much for sharing your impressions following your stay. It is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay adn the services was matching your standards. We do have laundry facilities, is located on the first floor and with a small fee you can use our washing machines and dryers. We hope to welcome you back in the future in our beautiful city Best regards Venice Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(183 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback