Hostelworld.com

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Generator Venice Located at Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice.
Generator Venice
Italy
Venice 19 30133 Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca
84% 2552
45.4258275 12.3358665
Generator Venice
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2016
5.4

Very unimpressed with this hostel. The staff were not very helpful and it felt like you were being a hassle if you asked for anything. Shower facilities were very inconvenient as there weren't enough per floor and there was nowhere to get changed, there also weren't enough sinks. Wifi was horrendous throughout the hostel. Overall the atmosphere didn't seem particularly welcoming. A short vaporetto ride to the main island which was fine but only hourly after midnight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Wuffybrother
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

Absolutely stunning hostel. Superb atmosphere and incredible location, across the water from St a Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace!! Pricey but could not have asked for a better hostel experience, everything was perfect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, It is wonderful to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with all our team here in Venice who are all thrilled we could be a part of your Venice adventure. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, Venice team

23rd Jun 2016
2.0

My flight was unexpectedly cancelled due to the french strike. Obviously out of my control, the airline was more than considerate & gave everyone full refunds back. I was really excited to go here because the hostel looks beautiful. After all the stress, I emailed the hostel explaining that I had to cancel & why, they were EXTREMELY unhelpful and still charged my card anyway, despite stating I was going to use their refund to book with them at another location. I will never book with them again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

The location of the Generator is amazing, a quick boat from all the touristy stuff so it's quiet and not crowded at all. Nice spots to hang by the water. Got vibes from the staff that they weren't super friendly , but they were extremely helpful and gave lots of ideas and transport ways to get around. Get the multiple day boat pass if you are staying there. Amazing sunsets and a great place to hang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
2.6

The floors were disgusting, there was a potent stench throughout the room, the staff was rude, and the location is too far away for the price I paid. This place was the most expensive hostel I've been in, and it was so disappointing. I left two days early because I was so miserable there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay here in Venice. It’s always good to receive feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve the service we offer and understand what it is we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. We are very disappointed to read your comments and understand that we have failed to meet your expectations in some areas on this occasion. Please rest assured that this is not the level of service we would expect and your comments have been passed onto our reception manager and discussed with our team. Best Wishes, Venice Team

20th Jun 2016
8.3

Good hostel! The staff was nice and helpful. Not much of an atmosphere there at the hostel, but it was a nice downstairs areal with good beer and other drinks. Location is pretty good, as it’s just a boat (bus) ride away from the other Islands. Would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

19th Jun 2016
9.7

I can't say enough about this hostel. Staying here made my trip, such a great place to meet others. The only downsides are the are only 2 bathrooms per floor, but it was never a problem. Generator was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, It is wonderful to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with all our team here in Venice who are all thrilled we could be a part of your Venice adventure. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
8.0

The location is great and convenient to visit Venice. The facilities are good except the bathrooms: not enough of them at the 2nd floor and they need a bit of renovation too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay with us. I’m very happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us so much, it is a pleasure to host guests like you. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.4

The hostel is across from the main part of Venice which makes it a little more tricky to go out at night as you have to wait for the ferries but the views that you get in the morning are stunning! Some of the staff were a little unfriendly at this hostel, you felt you were a hassle to them! But apart from that a really nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jun 2016
6.0

This hostel would have been so much better if the atmosphere was more friendly... unfortunately the staff were the most careless I have seen. The cold attitude of the staff seemed to make the bar area cold and impersonal. The positive is that it is very clean and modern with good potential (maybe have some events or a something in common areas or a tour). Also keep in mind it's expensive to go to the main areas from this hostel, so be prepared to spend 7 euros each way, or 20 for a full day.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your experience with us I was sad to hear that we had perhaps not met the mark on this occasion and would like to hear from you if you have any further feedback at all, you can contact us directly by email Please rest assured all of your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and I’d like to thank you once again for getting in touch. Best Wishes, Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.