Hostelworld.com

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy
Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,286 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,286 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
Generator Venice Located at Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice.
Generator Venice
Italy
Venice 19 30133 Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca
85% 2286
45.4258275 12.3358665
Generator Venice
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Apr 2016
9.7

The hostel is in quieter part of venice. The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was great. The big lockers provided per person was great. Separate toilet facilites outside of the rooms was a big plus (atleast to me). There is also a supermarket nearby which is helpful. Highly recommended. I would recommend to buy 2 or 3 day travel pass from the airport as you will be constantly using vaporetto to travel to the main attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Excellent hostel right across the river from the main square. Very fun atmosphere as there is a bar downstairs. I stayed on the first floor and could not hear the music so that was perfect. Happy helpful staff good beds and mostly clean bathrooms. I would definitely stay here again and reccomend it to my friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.9

Great rooms! It was just slightly inconvenient to get to the main island from the island that the hostel is on. But the atmosphere was great. Restaurant and bar on first floor of hostel was super useful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the kind feedback. The hostel is located on the Giudecca Island, and overlooking the Basilica della Salute and St Mark. The hostel is just a 4 minutes ride from the center, and it is very well services 24/7 by different vaporetto lines. We hope to welcome you back again. Safe travels Generator Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

The lobby, bar, and restaurant are certainly more like a boutique hotel than hostel! Awesome area to hang out in. Bought the youth Zaparetto pass from the train station for €20 and this was such great value - not just to get to the hostel on Giudecca but a fabulous way to tour Venice, hopping on and off as we please! Bedroom with 16 dorms was massive, but was still roomy enough for my huge bag to sit on the floor. Bathrooms could have been bigger - no room to hang or sit anything in shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

The worst part about this hostel was the staff. Particularly the reception staff - very rude, not warm, and not hospitable. The girl who was at the front desk didn't greet me for a minute while I was standing right by the desk waiting. No smiles at all, very cold. And then she even raised her voice at me a few times when I asked about checking in. Honestly, I'd fire her. The WiFi is pretty slow, too. The rooms need to be dusted - very dusty. They make you make your own beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your comments after your recent stay in Venice. Guest feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it helps us improve our service and facilities for yourself and all of our future guests. We are sorry to hear that you thought our staff were not very nice. Our staff are trained to make guests welcome and I’m sure if you got anything other than warm greetings it was not intentional. Our apologies if you experienced any inconvenience We will share you review with the whole team here in order to ameliorate our quality of services we hope to welcome you back here in another occasion best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.1

Para el precio debería estar más limpio (polvo por todos lados), tener secador de pelo, computadores (muy importante) y estar más cerca. Es costoso tomar todos los días barcos para cruzar a San Marco.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola, Muy agradecido con tus comentarios, realmente es de gran ayuda cuando nuestros clientes comentan y destacan algunos aspectos de Generator Venecia, como puede ser la atencion del personal. Esperamos verte de nuevo en Venecia y gracias por el tiempo que has dedicado a compartur tu experiencia tras tu estancia en nuestro hostel. Un saludo Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
6.3

Very large hostel on Giudecca, overlooking San Marco square. Remember you will still need to spend up to 40 euros (if over 29) on a 3-day Vaporetti pass. Has restaurant, bar and laundry facilities, and can meet fellow travellers. Not terribly expensive by Venice standards but still a lot relative to other European cities. Also charges for laundry (3.50 euros per wash/dry) and towel rental which seem a bit of a rip-off. Some staff unhelpful and couldn't be bothered - borderline rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter and be assured that it will be passed to whom it concerns. Regards Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.3

The hostel it's self is amazing the staff are great a really good hostel to go to if you want a nice few relaxing nights the only downside is the location it is on a separate island and you will need to buy a water bus pass that can get a little expensive but other than that would defiantly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great comments following your stay with us in Venice, its always amazing to hear that we’ve made someone’s stay in Venice really enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Venice Team

  • laurenRADler
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I think Generator Venice was a perfect spot. It was on Giudecca across from the main island but the views were incredible. Our private room looked right out on the water and gettin around was very easy on the water bus. Wish we could've stayed there longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and great to see all the positive comments. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.1

Bathrooms are terrible. Not convenient for changing and they're not that clean. I know there's a lot of people using them and they get dirty fast, so they should definitely have more bathrooms/showers. Everything else was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We welcome all feedback as it gives us a great indication of how we can improve our services/facilities, so I would like to thank you for sharing yours with us. we hope to welcome you back in Venice soon Best wishes Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.