X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Germany Hostel Reviews

Block -D-6F/D2,Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
360 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

There are a few things this hostel does extemely well: - really helpful and nice staff. Harry and Peter were extremely kind and helpful. - fast wifi Other than that, this is a hostel in a pretty old and decrepit building. The bathroom wasn't great, but it struck me as one of those bathrooms that never looks clean no matter how clean it really is. But with the location and wifi and good staff, I'd call it a good deal for your money, particularly in HK.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is my second or third trip to city and second time to stay with them. I like their service and kindness feel at home. In a different country wifi free is a great and must now a days. I would like to recommend them to other to stay with them again and again


83%

I was staying there for 2 nights, and the staff Raj and Garry was very nice, they were always trying to help. Overall It was warming, and good choice to stay at the Germany Hostel. Also, It is in the center of Hong Kong, nice location, very easy to find.


80%

Good hostel !!! Happy to met Preet from the staff of the hostel !


83%

Place is super clean and the staff are pretty friendly. The Building seems chaotic at first but the people are pretty warm for the most part. Hong Kong means tiny rooms on the expensive side but at least these are methodically clean. Raj the floor superintendant is very helpful. And the overall location is pretty fantastic. Overall good way to experience Hong Kong

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Deep at the reception is very friendly and helpful. All other staff are nice and warm for you to feel at home. Guest house is equip with cctv and very safe. The upgrade me to single room free of charge and garry help me my laundry. Owner very good.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Although my room looked nothing like the photo's on this site it was still a very good stay. I arrived early and they changed the bedding so that I could get in. Clean towels and beds were made and changed daily. I was in a 6 bed dorm with an en-suite wet room, the beds were solid and there was a wee fridge, tea/coffee, cracking air con. Downsides - no lockers, only a wee safe big enough for a laptop and electronic, no room key so the doors were left unlocked.


83%

I've been 3 weeks in this hostel and I highly recommend it. Rooms are clean, all facilities included, high speed internet and staff people are really welcome and friendly ready to answer your need at anytime. Thanks in particular to Cristy, Loevy, Kevin, John and Sherie


94%

The location is very close to trains stations and ferry to macau and china Free coffee tea is offered with fast wifi all the public areas. Two exits block D and block E to help us to exit and enter the property proper 24 hours cctv security is provided for guest safety Very good staff management especially Sherrie john Kevin always there to help us We look forward to stay again whenever we come again to tsim sha tsui


94%

The hotel helped me to finish my shopping sight seeing in hong kong the staff is so nice especially john deep preet help me setup my room thanks to mgmt staff They have two exit block D and block E to enter and check. Out they help me to keep my luggage after checkout

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the ladies at reception are very sweet, the dorm is clean and comfortable, bathroom so .so.the hostel lacks of facilities


74%

It's was a good place bit it wasn't really the german hostel. The company has a lot of hostel, so I book in German hostel but I sleep in another one, with the same quality. No problem, just a little confused. My bed wasn't clean enough. I've been in a lot of hostel in Chungkim Mansion and this is one of the best

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the hostel was well run and the staff were really proactive in trying to help me. hari washed some of my clothes and chris let me stay late on the last day while waiting for my flight. it was a great place to be away from the chaos of chungking mansions ground floor

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Raj is the man! He catered to all of our needs and was SUPER helpful. Not only did he offer free laundry services but he gave us the scoop on things to do around the hostel. If you stay at Germany Hostel, ask for Raj.


89%

The Hostel is ideally located to the place that I've visited in Kowlon area. The staff is very friendly and helpful especially Ms. Sherie, Love and Cris. They made my stay in HK very memorable. Ms. Sherie gave me all the info that I need being the tour guide of the group. The rooms are good enough for a budget conscious like me. I am strongly recommended this Hostel for a backpackers like me. Worth the stay for a budgeted traveler. Thank you German Hostel

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The ceiling was 50 cm over my head when i was sleeping (i cannot sit in my bed). To access my bed, i have to put my foot on the bed of someone because they put a single bed in the corridor between the two bunk beds. No hot water in the morning. Staff is ok but not that friendly.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hello everyone.I come from Europe, Serbia. I traveled to Hong Kong for visa purpose and stayed in Germany hostel for two nights.Bed was very clean and very soft which I like a lot. Staff was really good. Anything I needed they helped me to get it. Raaj was really good and very friendly. Made me feel like I was home. Hostel is very near star plaza a beutiful seaside walk zone where you can go and enjoy one of the finest sea side views in the world :) Next time I go to HK will book there again.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Beds had brown and yellow stains and small, black hairs on it. Toilet and shower was not clean. Air con was leaking.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff was nice and helpfull although they failed to fix the TV which I mentioned and they promised to fix. This had a fridge in the room whereas most hostels in Chun King Mansions have it only in the common area. Overall, it was good.


100%

My stay at the hotel was excellent. Very cooperative and friendly staff. Especially Dave I hold in high regards. The overall atmosphere was great and this has been my best experience of staying in the Chunking Mansions. Highly recommendable!

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback