X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Germany Hostel Reviews

Block -D-6F/D2,Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
351 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Place is super clean and the staff are pretty friendly. The Building seems chaotic at first but the people are pretty warm for the most part. Hong Kong means tiny rooms on the expensive side but at least these are methodically clean. Raj the floor superintendant is very helpful. And the overall location is pretty fantastic. Overall good way to experience Hong Kong

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Deep at the reception is very friendly and helpful. All other staff are nice and warm for you to feel at home. Guest house is equip with cctv and very safe. The upgrade me to single room free of charge and garry help me my laundry. Owner very good.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I've been 3 weeks in this hostel and I highly recommend it. Rooms are clean, all facilities included, high speed internet and staff people are really welcome and friendly ready to answer your need at anytime. Thanks in particular to Cristy, Loevy, Kevin, John and Sherie


94%

The location is very close to trains stations and ferry to macau and china Free coffee tea is offered with fast wifi all the public areas. Two exits block D and block E to help us to exit and enter the property proper 24 hours cctv security is provided for guest safety Very good staff management especially Sherrie john Kevin always there to help us We look forward to stay again whenever we come again to tsim sha tsui


94%

The hotel helped me to finish my shopping sight seeing in hong kong the staff is so nice especially john deep preet help me setup my room thanks to mgmt staff They have two exit block D and block E to enter and check. Out they help me to keep my luggage after checkout

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the ladies at reception are very sweet, the dorm is clean and comfortable, bathroom so .so.the hostel lacks of facilities


74%

It's was a good place bit it wasn't really the german hostel. The company has a lot of hostel, so I book in German hostel but I sleep in another one, with the same quality. No problem, just a little confused. My bed wasn't clean enough. I've been in a lot of hostel in Chungkim Mansion and this is one of the best

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the hostel was well run and the staff were really proactive in trying to help me. hari washed some of my clothes and chris let me stay late on the last day while waiting for my flight. it was a great place to be away from the chaos of chungking mansions ground floor

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Raj is the man! He catered to all of our needs and was SUPER helpful. Not only did he offer free laundry services but he gave us the scoop on things to do around the hostel. If you stay at Germany Hostel, ask for Raj.


89%

The Hostel is ideally located to the place that I've visited in Kowlon area. The staff is very friendly and helpful especially Ms. Sherie, Love and Cris. They made my stay in HK very memorable. Ms. Sherie gave me all the info that I need being the tour guide of the group. The rooms are good enough for a budget conscious like me. I am strongly recommended this Hostel for a backpackers like me. Worth the stay for a budgeted traveler. Thank you German Hostel

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The ceiling was 50 cm over my head when i was sleeping (i cannot sit in my bed). To access my bed, i have to put my foot on the bed of someone because they put a single bed in the corridor between the two bunk beds. No hot water in the morning. Staff is ok but not that friendly.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hello everyone.I come from Europe, Serbia. I traveled to Hong Kong for visa purpose and stayed in Germany hostel for two nights.Bed was very clean and very soft which I like a lot. Staff was really good. Anything I needed they helped me to get it. Raaj was really good and very friendly. Made me feel like I was home. Hostel is very near star plaza a beutiful seaside walk zone where you can go and enjoy one of the finest sea side views in the world :) Next time I go to HK will book there again.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Beds had brown and yellow stains and small, black hairs on it. Toilet and shower was not clean. Air con was leaking.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff was nice and helpfull although they failed to fix the TV which I mentioned and they promised to fix. This had a fridge in the room whereas most hostels in Chun King Mansions have it only in the common area. Overall, it was good.


100%

My stay at the hotel was excellent. Very cooperative and friendly staff. Especially Dave I hold in high regards. The overall atmosphere was great and this has been my best experience of staying in the Chunking Mansions. Highly recommendable!

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Everyone at the hostel was very nice and accommodating. Love, Cris, Deep and Harry in particularly were very helpful and attentive to the guests. They often spent the time to have a conversation to make you feel at home and were very on top of having the rooms clean as well as helping with luggage. Overall the hotel's central location and the staff make it a great choice for people visiting Hong Kong.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A last minute choice. If you know the mansions then you got a good one here. Everything I needed included in room. Staff on hand for any problems.


83%

The staffs was nice and helpful, especially Dave and Kristin.


74%

Good location! The hotel is good for traveler on a budget! Its a small dorm but with hot water and a hairdryer which is good when its cold outside! raj offered us to wash our laundry for free and it was so nice to have after weeks good smelling clothes! If its the first time that you travel by yourself its maybe a bit scary in the entrance area, because you have the feeling you're in little india and they're trying to sell you EVERYTHING! All in all! good! Reception stuff is also very helpful


74%

The dorm was surprisingly small, but comfortable and the wifi was great! The staff were kind and helpful. Cris and Love were the one who welcomed me warmly on my check in time. Harry was the guy I met pretty often and he was helpful. During check out time there was a little misunderstanding incident but John (along with Cris, Harry and Love) was really wise and all four of them made great impressions toward the problem :)

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback