X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Germany Hostel Reviews

Block -D-6F/D2,Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Excellent location, but tiny rooms.


94%

Incredible for the price. Great location. Lovely staff. Building's shady as hell but it's still ok. Staff gave me a free upgrade too so big time kudos.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

My comments refer to the 6 bed mixed dorm. Room is a little small but typical of Hong Kong and a 6 bed dorm is preferable to some of the larger dorms with numerous bunks. Room was clean with an onsuite shower and toilet also clean. Bed was comfortable and i was not disturbed by other guests. Lifts in Chungking Mansions are crowded and slow but this is not the fault of hostel. One has to accept this inconvenience when staying in a large block.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Clean and tidy, friendly staff


71%

Just like all the hostel of all Hong Kong, small, small and small……….But, the room looks clean and new. The location is good, near metro station. So, if you wanna save some money for accommodation, it's good choice.


60%

Do not expect too much.


97%

Clean and safe and cheap. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Everything on doorstep. Located right on Nathan Road and 5 minute walk to the harbour. Ideal for backpackers.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was pretty standard; clean, comfy beds, hot water. All the staff were super friendly though! Randeep in particular was very helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job, I'd definitely recommend this hostel purely for the staff :)

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I stay in dorm room, room and bed is new, very comfortable. location very good. But bathroom door no lock so everyone can open and if you want to extend your date staff said you should book online.


86%

The hostel offered the genuine chun king mansion experience. The room was clean and well maintained. The staff was really friendly and helpfull. The sheets and towels were changed daily. If you are looking for a low budget place to stay in hk, germany hostel is worth considering. Do not expect a four star hotel because it is not. None the less, worth the monet. Complementary wifi, phone to hk landlines and tea and coffe.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly & helpful staff, especially Cynthia.


74%

Location couldn't be better and staying in chungking mansions really isn't all that bad. The rooms are not small for hong kong standards and the beds are great. We had some difficulties with increased rates when trying to extend our stay, but the hostel is still quite cheap. It's a place i'd definetly stay again.


40%

There was a dead rat in the window of the corridor. The room wasn't available when we arrive so they changed us to another, and the next day they didn't have our room again so we had to leave our things outside. They told us that the personal of the hostal would bring them to the room when it'd be available... but when we arrived in the night our luggage was still in the corridor. Under the bed where some shoes of the last person that was in the room..so I guess they didn't clean it


77%

Dav and Johnny are really helpful, if you are looking for budget trip, i would recommend this hostel

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The bathroom is very dirty, full of fungus. The air quality is very bad and moist. no hair dryer, no toilet tissue some spiderweb, ...


97%

We had a great stay at Germany Hostel. We travel to Hong Kong quite frequently and this will be a place we will stay again for sure! I had originally booked two rooms but our friends had to cancel the day of. We were able to cancel the room with really late notice and keep the room we needed, all for a very very reasonable price. It was wonderful (and unexpected) to have such understanding from a hotel when cancelling a room at 7pm. Would recommend this place to anyone staying in Chung King!


34%

awful stay...between drug dealers and other strange people..


37%

It's very poor things are at this hostel. Dirty, ugly and unsuficiency. This place is not safety for all

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry for your high expectation in staying a USD10 budget hostel. You should also consider the free hi-wi, free coffee, tea, microwave, aircon in the heart of the city which is accessible to all transportation (mtr, bus taxi just right outside the bldg). You should have to consider how much you pay in Hong Kong. Hongkong is a very expensive city. You have also check with our previous feedback. Maybe you expect a 3 star accomodation is a USD10 price budget hostel.

83%

Thanks a lot for Staff's kindness!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Exceed my expectation. Will stay next time. Thanks Mr. John.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(44 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback