Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,538 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,538 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
83% 1538
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
6.9

Good place, way to big for meeting people. Very much just get half naked and party atmosphere. But not a bad stay, rooms and facilities were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
7.4

If you're in your 20's and like to partiu go for it, otherwise...run!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.4

Was the second time I stayed at Gilligan's and unfortunately was not as good as I remembered - there was lots of stuff left in the rooms (food, glasses etc) although to be fair the cleaners wouldn't know what belongs to current guests. It is certainly a good place to stay in terms of location, activities and partying! Something on every night, and close to the other main bars. Beds don't have individual lights or plugs which would be nice, but otherwise are comfortable enough. Overall decent!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
8.3

Gilligan's backpackers was very good, particularly for its low price. It was within a good location and seemed to attract the youngish traveler's. They were able to assist me with all of my inquiries. Definitely recommend staying at Gilligan's.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel is perfect for those looking for a good time. It seemed as though everyone wanted to party. The bar was great and the facilities here were nice and clean. I didn't like the power plugs were across the room from my bed. and if you want peace and quiet you will not get that here. There is a nice cheap market next door and short walks to everything. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
3.7

I have stayed in around 45 different hostels all over the world. I have never had a worse experience at a hostel. I've never rated a hostel below an 8 on hostelworld before so I'm also not one of those people that is impossible to please. As a bar and a pool and a club I have nothing wrong with Gilligan's. As a place to stay its awful. Stay in another hostel (Njoy was personal fav) and party at Gilligans because its a blast. However, the staff is rude, condoms are everywhere, no chance 2 sleep

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2016
4.6

More like a nightclub at a hotel. If you just want to party stay here. If you want more of a hostel vibe find somewhere else

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel. Bathrooms are so nice! Rooms have a balcony which was super convienient. Everything is walkable. The bar and pool are amazing! Would highly recommend this hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.4

If you want to party, Gilligan's is the place to be. There's 24 hour reception, drink and food deals in the bar and a fun atmosphere generally. If you want to relax and have a quiet stay, this isn't the hostel for you though. The place is kept really tidy despite the carnage and I met some lovely girls in my dorm. Overall a fab stay and I would definitely return, only things that could improve it are plugs sockets by beds and more mirrors in the rooms! 8 girls and 1 mirror is not ideal!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.7

It is the party hostel so see that as a negative or positive! If your room is pool side then you will hear music till 3am, attracts the young and very messy travelers who will explode their backpacks all over the room! Great swimming pool and bar facilities, lots of people and excellent location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.