Hostelworld.com

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
84% 1441
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel if you want to meet people and party, might not be as good if you want to sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
8.6

As a single traveller I chose Gilligans as it is known for being to meet new people. I found that due to it being so big, everyone had their own groups and not the easiest to meet people. However, amazing bar area, great kitchen facilities and security couldn't be better! Not the place to go if you wish to sleep and relax! Great location, especially for greyhound bus. Good travel desk that is extremely helpful. Overall I really enjoyed my time at Gilligans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

Great stay at Gillian's, clean and sociable rooms. Fun club downstairs and good kitchen facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
4.0

No one told you this is a night club with beds, if you want to be partying all day and you don't matter if people who not are in your room will be entrying all the time (one of the guys in my room lost the wallet) what will provocate your belongings will not be safe (the security staff is nice and they do a really good job, but obviously they can't control this) They also have good promotions in dinner and drinks, but definitely I won't recommend stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th May 2016
10.0

So everyone knows giligans is the place to be! I found that there isn't really that much to do in Cairns but staying at giligans makes it worthwhile!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
6.9

If you're a 19 year old backpacker this place is perfect for you. Otherwise it's really loud and the people who we shared our room with were very rude. We were there 4 nights and each night there was someone else being loud and obnoxious. Also, there's wet tshirt contests at the bar. I thought that went out of style 10 years ago. I found it a little bit disturbing to have very young girls doing the contests and older men watching. location is good and it's pretty cheap but not the best

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.4

Really good if you want a party. If you want to sleep, the music is on till 5 in the morning some nights. Overall a good hostel experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.9

If you like to party this hostel is for you! There are so many people about all the time and it's a really good place to socialise of a night time! The night life is so much fun, always packed no matter what day it is, however if you want a 'quite one' it's quite had to get one as you can still here the music from downstairs. Apart from that, a very good hostel to be in. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Great place. People tend to complain about this hostel and that you are not meant to stay more then a couple days. I stayed a week and could of stayed another month. Everything about this hostel is great. I understand if you are not the type to want to party all the time that this place may not be your first choice. But if you are a keen traveler. There is no where better to stay in cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
6.9

Good hostel if you want to get hammered 24/7. The hostel is very noisy on an evening because of the club but this is to be expected. Both rooms I stayed in were very messy as people were just there to get drunk and didn't really care. Besides that the hostel was kept very clean. The kitchen never seemed to have enough utensils for everyone. I wouldn't recommend staying here as you can go somewhere cheaper and still use the club. if you pay for Wi-Fi you could spend over $30 a night here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.