Hostelworld.com

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,480 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,480 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
83% 1480
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2016
5.1

There were cockroaches everywhere in our room. We got switched to another room and there were still cockroaches. Crawling on the ground, crawling up to our beds, in the bathroom, in the shower, everywhere. Was not impressed at all. I'd recommend trying a different hostel or just doing a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.6

Dignity and class is something you won't find at gilligans. The parties are alright, provided that you are completely hammered. If not, you will only shake your head at the view of half naled people embarrassing themselves and theowing up all over the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
6.0

A nice hostel, but poorly operated.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • claudiarack
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.3

Crazy hostel, don't stay here if you just want to relax, you will end up going out every night. Bar downstairs is pretty decent, free champagne for girls a couple of nights and pool area is really cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
6.6

Room was very dirty. The ac did not work well at all. Sure the atmosphere is good, but you can easily stay at a better hostel and then go to gilligans at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2016
6.9

If you're looking for a party hostel this is the one to go to, really good night life because that's what the entire place is centred around. My room wasn't particularly clean and it smelt really bad. The security guards are on a massive power trip, they're rude and aggressive which is pretty unnecessary most of the time. The kitchens were never very busy though as there's one on each floor which was good. Pretty average overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.1

Huge hostel which wasn't particularly clean and offered little privacy or facilities. Staff are mainly travellers and don't really care that much. There's a nightclub downstairs so you will hear that every night. Good location and free airport transfer was nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Gilligan's hostel is a good choice to stay on a couple of days in Cairns. There is clean, good attention and their crew are really supportive. I enjoyed my experience and I would recommend to everyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
8.0

Great hostel, clean rooms, good facilities including a great club. Though ants in the kitchens - lots of them in the food storage units so had to store our food in dorm. Fridges also broke down during our stay and we lost our food - staff were really good & reimbursed us however there wasn't much communication-cleaners moved the warm food in to other fridges & didn't tell guests so people didn't know that their food might have gone off- I only found out by chance. Would stay again though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
5.1

The airconditioner didn't work so I went to recepción and ask them if they could do something about it, they told me that I had to wait until the next day. I sleep 4 hours because my room was realy hot and damp.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.