Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2029 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2029 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Gilligans is very clean with great facilities and good security. The 6 bed female dorm is standard with a lovely balcony area and an ensuite shower and toilet. The kitchen is well equipped and clean and the laundry facilities are decent. The hostel has a great, lively atmosphere with events taking place at the bar next door every night. It would have been nice to have recycling bins in the kitchen as lots of tins and plastic bottles were thrown away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Aug 2017
8.3

Had a big room with a big balcony, nice and clean and pretty quiet considering the club here! Kitchen was clean and common areas on each level are so good, Found the staff mostly pretty young and rude, especially the girls serving the sangria, Lockers in rooms are tiny, not big enough for laptops. Always huge queues at reception too, had to wait a good 20 mins to check in, and the shuttle bus has nothing to do with the hostel, so when we rang to book it we couldn't. Good for a party experience

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thomasstevenbanks7061
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

The best hostel on the East Coast. Without a doubt! It's a party hostel so if you're in Cairns and not wanting to party, it's not for you! Hope I get the chance to come back some day!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.7

Very good place to party if you're looking to relax then you are in the wrong place. Wifi is $2 per night and I stayed in 2 different rooms on the second floor and couldn't connect for more than 1 minute before it drops off. Bar is really good and swimming pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bethanyjanderson535
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Reception staff are really nice and help with everything, the nightlife is amazing and even if you just want to stay in and sleep you can't hear the music

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
9.4

Awesome vibe at this place, really fun events going on every night. Some rooms are loud, I stayed in 3 different ones and one the music like shook the beds, one it was loud but not bad, and one was quiet. So luck of the draw I guess! Great value for money, and in the perfect location. The $5 meals are also awesome. Only complaint is they will pick you up from the airport for free, but they won't take you there. So that sucked. And the lockers are tiny, won't fit a laptop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jul 2017
9.1

Rooms are really nice and modern, beds really comfortable. The carpets did smell a bit but I only noticed because I happened to have my head on the floor at one point which i assume it many people make a habit of doing. Security is really tight, they will search your age for alcohol on the way in after 8 and will ask to see your room key before you come in. Don't expect sleep, this is a party hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jul 2017
9.1

Loved Gilligans! Fab hostel- loads of space in rooms and bathrooms were great!! Everyone was super friendly!! Communal areas and kitchens are great! Wifi was super fast! Only annoying thing was that you have to pay $5 to store your bag after you check out so if you don't leave til later that day which seems a bit cheeky!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
8.6

I've been here for a couple of nights, the location is really Central, the staff professional, brand new structure,zi rooms bar and pool,thestel proposes lot of service and organize events 7/7. Days that's why is almost impossible sleep but if you're in holiday or a party persone that's part of the atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
8.0

Great place for access and activities such as Great Barrier Reef diving, Cinemas and mall shopping. Live entertainment during the nights in a very clean, healthy environment. Room doors are secure and there are personal lockers available where one can use their own key lock. Shared baths are modern and daily well kept by staff. Using the HDMI port on the larger screens in rooms, we enoyed full playing movies during evenings from our personal devices. Checkout: smooth w/costs as quoted.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.