Hostelworld.com

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
85% 1394
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2016
6.9

Good hostel if you want to get hammered 24/7. The hostel is very noisy on an evening because of the club but this is to be expected. Both rooms I stayed in were very messy as people were just there to get drunk and didn't really care. Besides that the hostel was kept very clean. The kitchen never seemed to have enough utensils for everyone. I wouldn't recommend staying here as you can go somewhere cheaper and still use the club. if you pay for Wi-Fi you could spend over $30 a night here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
9.7

Fantastic stay. Nice big 4 bed rooms. Wish there were larger lockers though. Fantastic bar and pool area. Highly recommend a stay. One of the best hostels I've stayed in Australia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

One of the lights didn't work in my room which made reading difficult - otherwise I had a great time at Gilligan's! Six bed mixed female dorm with ensuite and balcony! Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Really cool place; the pool alone was worth the stay!! Cool bar, but definitely a huge popular nightclub. It was a little loud in the rooms, but really not too bad. The kitchen was laid out well, each floor had one so people usually weren't piling up on top of each other. Bathroom in the dorm was very practical too, made it easy to share with roommates. Would definitely stay again when I come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.9

You get what you expect. Gilligan's is one big party. If you are going on trips then don't expect a good nights sleep as the music and the guest don't allow for this. But who goes here and expects that anyway. Best party hostel I have stayed in along the east coast. Kitchens on each floor are good but still do get very busy however are clean as are the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Fab stay at Gillgan's. Pretty much everyone you meet up the east coast stays here. Hostel is luxury compared to what you've been staying in! Night life was great, didn't want to leave ever!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.4

Definitely the party hostel of Australia. I would stay there for definite if I come back. Goes up in price over the weekend and everyone goes there to party.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
7.1

Wi-fi does not work inside the dorms, which was very frustrating. You will struggle to get to sleep on Friday and Saturday nights due to the huge tunes reverberating through the resort. Rooms were well air conditioned and the place was very clean. Double check the tours that you book through the Gilligans travel company as some leaflets stocked had the wrong times, were out of date etc, which resulted in us missing some of our other planned tours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
4.6

I did not complete my time at this hostel due to the poor level of cleanliness. I am well travelled and use to the standard that comes with budget / hostel accomodation. However, this hostel was far from the standard portrayed on their website. Firstly, my room contained inflated condoms sprawled around the room, no room for luggage, the shower had about 15 old shampoo containers and razors, a huge amount of mould and scum, and benches that could not be seen due to left overs from past guest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Such a great hostel! Everything about it is great. Only downside is have to pay for wifi and there is no soap in the bathrooms. Also can hear the bar from certain rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.