Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
85% 1730
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Tons to do. You'll meet loads of people. Nice beds. Nice to have balconies on the rooms. Be prepared for super drunk people to bang in your room. My room balcony had a roof under neath it filled with thousands of cigarette butts and used condoms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Great apart from the mouse from the night club. Well furnished

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Giligans is by far the nicest hostel I've stayed in. Everything was very clean. The the kitchen stove tops weren't the best but there was a kitchen on every floor which was good. I found it very easy to meet people. The pool and bar are awesome. The beds are very spacious and rooms were really quiet and air conditioned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Had a great time at Gilligan's! Got to meet a bunch of great people and they had amazing facilities. Also close to the city centre so most things are walkable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice rooms with balconies; kitchen is alright (but sometimes there are birds flying around); nice Aircon, even tho I was freezing sometimes; the parties/entertainment downstairs are great! Always free drinks and sometimes free pizza and the backpacker meals for 4$ are good too! I especially love that they always have a vegetarian option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel, even next to the nightclub the noise wasn't noticeable. Good facilities such as kitchens, chill out areas and pool. Handy meal offers for budget travellers. Nice rooms with enough space and good bathroom setup all separate units. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrewlochrie
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.3

This is a nightclub not a hostel. Pros - comfortable bed Cons - plays loud music until 3am, has a poor atmosphere due to it being to big and loud, it has a main focus of getting people to buy expensive alcohol, states no drugs or drink in rooms yet heard reps joking about this, kitchen has birds flying around, staff really impersonal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Best HOSTEL! Probably one of the best hostels I have stood at Thus far! I Love everything about it. Great and Friendly staff. Perfect location, this Hostel is full of entertainment there is never a dull moment. The AC in the rooms are Awesome. The rooms are clean and the Hostel itself is too. Let's talk about how delicious the food is; and they always have good deals. I LOVED this place ! Thanks a milliom XOXO from New York City !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
8.9

Could easily stay here at least a week. Massive hostel always something going on. Kitchens are good, bar and pool are good. Only downside is paying for wifi and the tiny lockers don't fit small padlocks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Gilligan's is always a great hostel! Great atmosphere, clean and comfy rooms, top location and endless fun at the bar! The only downside is the almost total absence of plugs in the room. I really don't understand how is it possible not to have a plug next to each bed in a hostel. In the 4 bed dorm we had just 2 plugs for the whole room, one inside the wardrobe and one next to the sink. Which is not so safe, since anyone in the room could have access to your devices charging.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.