Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
83% 1507
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel is the perfect place if your looking for a party scene. But if your looking for a chill place, this place will be your nightmare. The beds were not comfortable, and the place was loud. Again, it depends on what your looking for. But if your a party person, this is probably the perfect place. Otherwise, avoid!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

The actual hostel is amazing. Like a hotel. Great facilities. The parties are insane and a must do. Only gave the hostel an average 'atmosophere' because the bar is so full of locals, particularly at weekends so it's harder to meet fellow backpackers than normal. That said the weather wasn't great when we went so I guess normally there would be lots more backpackers lying around the pool in the day time whereas that didn't happen when we went. Music is loud but could still sleep easily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.1

Gilligans was one of my favourite hostels of my travels, in an amazing location and had good facilities pool and bar etc although the pool is freezing. I wasn't there to party so was worried about the noise but it wasn't bad at all but I was on the third floor so maybe that's why. The ensuite type rooms were a huge bonus in my eyes as it feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Reception were helpful. Only downside is that you pay for wifi!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.4

The receptionists are always so warm, inviting and informative! Chris is the absolute best! It was our first night in Sydney and we really were able to organize our trip better thanks to them. Free wifi and free breakfast in the morning is great. Security Is very present, video cameras everywhere and not complaining!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
9.7

The staff were very accommodating and facilities were excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
9.1

Really fun and social hostel! Everyone is there to party, the beds and rooms are nice and its really clean. Very secure (key cards to get in everywhere), Gilligans club is right next to it which is really fun. On the expensive side but you get discounts for the club so it kind of makes up for it. Nice ensuite bathrooms, a good kitchen on every floor (although not many pots and pans etc). Definitely good for a few nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.3

Gilligan's is THE place to stay in Cairns. The facility itself is more like a flashy resort/hotel that's trying to emulate Vegas...not so much a hostel. It's big so it may be difficult to meet people, but we had a great group in our room, which was nice. Reception was highly unfriendly, however, and there was little security. Stay here if you want to party, and bring a lock for your bag.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.6

We had a great stay here and a lovely 6 bed room but we did hear horror stories from other people we met who had a really bad experience (rowdy people with no respect for others) I would recommended but like anywhere it totally depends on the people you get!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
7.7

A good hostel if you're in Cairns for a party! I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights + had tours booked for early in some of the mornings + in hindsight it probably would've been better to book someone more chill where you were guaranteed to get a good sleep. Could always come to Gilligan's for a night out but stay at a different hostel if your preferences are more to see things during the day rather than have massive nights out every night. Good kitchen areas but overall a pretty huge hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Everything was great! Always something going on so you'll never get bored :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.