Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

If you want a party hostel, then 100% come here! They're is stuff on every night throughout the week, and quite cheap drinks! It's a good laugh, and a good ending to my east coast trip! My room was quite damp which meant it was hard to dry stuff, but if you hang it outside on the balcony it's all good! I could still sleep perfectly fine during the night too, not too loud

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Nice rooms, most comfortable beds I've slept on in 7 weeks of hostels. Air con was amazing in the rooms. I was on the street side and I could hear the music and partying a bit - I've heard if you're on the pool/bar side it's insanely noisy. Definitely everything you've heard about this being a party hostel is true. Kitchen facilities on every floor. The pool is really nice, the bar is great. Very nice hostel overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.9

From what I had heard about Gillian's I was expecting to get no sleep at all and I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed for 5 nights and slept absolutely fine each night. The rooms were decent and having a balcony was a plus. The bar had entertainment each night which was amazing. Overall a really good experience at gilligans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.1

Was a great place to stay for a couple nights. This is definitely a party place and if you value your sleep then this isn't the place to stay but we knew this and had a great time! A little bit of everything to suit everyone! Live music, cheap drinks, night club and good atmosphere. Very clean place, big rooms, nice pool! Thanks for a great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

Gilligan's is the best hostel I've stayed at so far. Deluxe rooms are well worth the extra money, nice break from the usual hostel dorms. Although if you want to sleep maybe try somewhere different, definitely a party hostel. Food was awesome, drink offers helped, Live music was wicked. Pool and club were great too. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Favourite hostel up the east coast! We were nervous to stay here after all the reviews about noise and not being able to sleep but we had the best sleep here!! The beds are massive and so comfortable! Admittedly it was loud at night but you know that when you book so it didn't bother us! This was a hotel so clean, great atmosphere, there's something on every night! Had to pay for wifi but didn't really use it! Security are really nice here too, only downside is the poor facilities in the kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome party hostel, always something to do. I heard reviews about not being able to sleep with the club downstairs but I honestly slept fine! Depends where you are I think. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Overall my stay was good. The place is huge, like a hotel. Rooms were clean, staff was nice, laundry facility was decent, kitchen had everything you needed and LOCATION was perfect. 5min walk from marina, 3min walk woolies, 5min walk esplanade, 8min walk to the central mall and so close to everything. The only downside was the atmosphere for me, it could have been because of the low season but i found it to be very cliquey and I found it hard to meet new people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.3

the beds where the best ever! AC in rooms! 24h security! Free pick up airport! This are good points! Bad are: no atmosphere! no introduction where to find something! Just a mass of people! partly unfriendly staff - espiacelly some cleaners! lots of 18-19years people! 2$ for wifi! Kitchen equipment is the worst ever! Less space in the fridge! I didn't use the 4$ dinner or the party Mallorca atmosphere opposite the door!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Best way to end my time in Australia. It's a bar, restaurant and nightclub. They have their own travel agent and own tours. Great staff, clean showers, decent size rooms. You can sleep here to lol despite what others may say, you don't have to go out. If yourather room is at the frontime of the hostel where ours was it's fine. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.