Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Although it's famed at the party hostel, the rooms and facilities were so nice and clean - it was a welcomed surprise! If you're travelling in your own it's a bit difficult to meet people outside your room as the club/bar are so party party. Overall I stayed about 6nights here and it was really good - would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Super comfy beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • georgiamay27
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.0

Great hostel for partying so huge so many people, the bar and club is pretty good and central location. Lacked facilities kitchen was a bit of a mess and had hardly any cooking equipment. Very clean rooms were crammed but that's what's expected. Atmosphere weren't great, people weren't the most friendly but not the hostels fault. Pool area nice , definately not one to miss if traveling Ina. Group/ partying

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • namamill1071
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Place was nice, but there were baby cockroaches in our room all over the place in our room. Besides the cockroaches the facilities were fine

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
7.4

Party hostel. Excellent meal and drink deals, didn't use the kitchen facilities. Glad I only booked two nights as I was visiting cairns for a course so needed to be functional. If I was to come back to Cairns for a holiday I will definitely come stay at Gilligans and will recommend it to my friends :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Loved my time at The Attic! The staff was super friendly and helpful and, the hostel had good location and security, and there was a really inclusive atmosphere to the place. I was traveling this leg of my trip alone and found that I always had a group of people from the hostel to drink a beer with on the deck/go out, to hike and explore during the day, or to be lazy and watch movies in the tv room. Definitely staying here again if I'm ever back in Auckland!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st May 2017
8.6

Was worried that it would be too much of a party hostel, but I was wrong! The rooms were perfectly quiet at night and I was able to sleep with no problems. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every morning as well as he common areas. Staff were great, especially when I had cockroaches in the room (don't let this out you off). They sprayed them immediately then offered to change rooms. Great location in town. Only booked three nights but have stayed for two weeks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
7.1

Good facilities. It's definitely a party hostel, so look elsewhere if you want a good night's rest. It's very easy to meet people to go out with. A few issues: 1) The service desk takes forever for check out and check in. 2) I stayed for two days and my room key stopped working 5+ times. 3) Wifi was very slow, which was incredibly annoying because you have to pay for it. Many nearby hostels have free wifi... Overall, decent hostel as long as you know what you're getting into.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel for party with the bar, the pool and the night club.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • magda_ja6708
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
7.4

Good atmosphere, excellent beds. Good location and great party there. Nothing is free, you have to pay for wifi, water, to enter the hotel bar, etc. I found 3 cockroaches in the bathroom in my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.