Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

The experience at this hostel is great. It's easy to meet people, whether alone or with a group. It's a party hostel, people go out every night so sometimes if you want a night off it's hard to sleep before midnight. The hostel has $2 per day wifi but it works well so.... 1st floor has the most residents and the kitchen is constantly gross and seriously lacks utensils (about 2 spoons for context). I ended up moving food to the 3rd floor which is much cleaner and quieter and well supplied.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.3

Rooms were clean, really central location and fun place to be! Drinks offers every night too

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
6.0

Not really impressed. I have stayed at other hostels that were much nicer for the same price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location, great staff great atmosphere, just aircon could do with a service mould growing on the vents and could smell it in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

This is one of the more expensive hostels in town but it is THE place to be. Had the best time here. Extended my stay, thats why I had to change rooms. People in first room had just turned 18 and were very noisy, people in second room were more my age and I LOVED THEM SO MUCH! Went out almost every night and had the best time. This hostel is all about tanning and drinking which is awesome fun. The $4 meals are such great value and drinks are cheap too. Loved every second of my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

This is a good hostel - beds are big, comfy and don't creak. The kitchens are big. Only downside is the evening "entertainment" which is more akin to Magaluf or the like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

Gilligan's is the most well known spot in town. It's also perfectly central. You can walk to the grocery store, the beach, the marina... nearly anywhere you want. The rooms were clean and my roommates were the best!! The only downside is how loud the club is at night (closes around 3am). BRING EAR PLUGS. And a night mask if that's your thing. Highly recommend if you can deal with the noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel is great if you're coming to cairns for a holiday! Lots of drink specials, and friendly people! Rooms are also the cleanest rooms I've ever seen in a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.9

A party hostel. Very much feels like a hotel, bar and pool is amazing. Hard to meet people as a solo traveler though! Staff were nice and friendly, rooms very nice and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Great place if you intend to party all week long. Nice pool, great $4 dinner deal, cheap drinks too! Downside is there's no free wifi :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.