Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns Located at 57 - 89 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 57 - 89 Grafton Street
84% 1645
-16.9242593 145.7755494
Gilligan's Backpacker Hotel & Resort Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.3

Good place, bit of a party hostel but rooms are fine and linen is clean and the kitchen area is immaculate. The 4 dollar meal is awesome and the location couldn't be better for the balance between town and lagoon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.4

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and there was plenty of room for everyone. There were small lockers to keep your valuables in but it could have done with bigger lockers so you can put your while bag in it. The girls I shared with were friendly. Gilligans has a great bar and nightclub attached which were really good fun. It may be quite daunting at first if you are by yourself but I went on a pub crawl and made friends on that that I went out with. The facilities in Gilligans were great too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
7.7

Pros- Kitchen/lounge on each floor Overwhelming travel desk and tours everyday of the week Bar/club with drink deals Cheap meals Large pool Great location Quiet rooms considering such a party hostel Cons- Lockers are too small - about the size of a mailbox House keeping was seriously lacking Kitchen closes at 10:30 pm and the food storages lock Awkward bar events that were just sad/desperate such as wet t shirt contests and jello wresting

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Overall we were happy and Gillian's did everything we needed it to. Good party place but it's not just backpackers, there are a lot of big sports teams there at weekends. Wifi didn't work in our room but was good in communal areas. Some staff good some were quite rude. Security lockers were really small but good for passports and wallets etc. Looked after us when we had an issue. Kitchen could do with more utensils, pots and pans. Overall would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.4

Booked one night here and couldn't stay a moment longer. Gilligans is good for groups and if you're looking to party but wouldn't recommend for solo travellers or even groups of two as it is more like a resort than a hostel. They charge you for pretty much everything - pretty sure they would charge you to breathe their air if they could. I found the overall vibe to be quite pretentious. I just don't think it was my cup of tea but good luck to everyone else!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Nov 2016
5.1

Overall it's an ok hostel but defo not party like people make it out to be. Rooms are a rubbish size for 8 girls sharing, one set of plugs at other side of room and one mirror for all! Cleaners didn't even clean the rooms really, a little hoover on the floor that was it. $4 meals were awful and clearly leftovers in a bowl. At check out staff extremely rude, said we had been undercharged and threatened if we didn't pay they would charge anyway and didn't even give an apology for THEIR mistake!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Good clean place to stay, don't expect the staff to be very happy though. Good facilities, great bar and food prices as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Massssssively huge hostel, like literally more like a big hotel. Club downstairs can be heard in rooms sometimes, but since most people book it deliberately for partying, that's not such an issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dalysean937514
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time. I had no problems with the staff and they were all friendly. It is definitely a party hostel and wouldn't recommend anyone who is looking for quiet or peaceful time to go here. But if your travelling and looking to party it is definitely the best place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

This was a really social, fun, party spot. It's perfect if you want to party, meet new people and have lots of fun. It had tour desks right inside the hostel making it really easy to book tours and the bus would pick you up right at the front doors for every one I went on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.