Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Giovanni's Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2,647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2,647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Giovanni's Home Located at Via sapienza 43, , Naples.
Giovanni's Home
Italy
Naples Naples 80138 Via sapienza 43
93% 2647
40.8515077 14.2536878
Giovanni's Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.1

Giovanni is really passionate about Naples and gave us lots of great information & tips about the city & surrounding area. Good location near Duomo & nice walk to main square and sea front. Giovanni is so caring & really goes out of his way to look after his guests!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.6

We got pasta on arrival but then we had to sit through an hour long talk that wastes the day. You don't really get a choice about this. He wont tell you about anything he doesn't like. 2 plugs in the room and the wifi works only in the common room badly. Can use the kitchen and the bathroom is clean. Beds are bad quality and the top bunks sag badly. Good location but no atmosphere there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mpchodur1588
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.0

Giovanni welcomed us with a delicious pasta which he delightfully shared the recipe. He has a few rules you need to abide by as it is his home and not a party house which everyone respects. There are a couple faults: no toilet seats on the boy's toilets and their bathrooms are much smaller than the girls. Giovanni came into our room and opened our window at 9am (no privacy?). Also, he came into our room at 9:30 while we were packing and told us to checkout when he told us before checkout is 10.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ChloeLawrence
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Aug 2016
7.7

Felt more like a home stay than a hostel, which isn't what we were after. I sometimes found it hard to relax as I felt like we were intruding in his home as his is around almost constantly. Giovanni is very friendly but he is very forceful in what he thinks you should spend your time doing. He repeatedly told me that kayaking (something I love and had booked to do) was sh*t and that I shouldn't waste my time. I also didn't like that there were no lockers or locks on room doors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Muito bem localizado. Duas linhas de metrô próximas ao hostel, mas pode ser fazer a maioria dos passeios sem precisar utilizar transporte público. Há um terraço maravilhoso que se pode pegar sol ou simplesmente descansar. Ao chegar, o Giovanni nos dá uma verdadeira aula de como se andar e conhecer Nápoles. Fantástico. Adorei. Ah! O preço é excelente. Se for a Nápoles, fique no Giovanni.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Incredible hostel made even better by a superb host. If you're traveling to Naples (which you should - it's a very cool city unlike what many guidebooks say), you HAVE to stay with Giovanni. Plan to spend more time in Naples than you would visiting Amalfi/Pompei/islands - there's a lot to do. Also, you have to book in advance because it's a popular hostel, but he does get cancellations often. So can't hurt to give him an email or call in case he gets cancellations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.1

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Giovanni is so friendly and makes you feel so welcome at in his home. Make sure you set aside a good hour to listen to him give you an overview of where to go. If you are lucky he will even make you some of his amazing pasta. Recommend to everyone staying in Naples!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.6

Good hostel to meet new friends, Giovanni is really nice and usually greats you with a meal, if you get there during the day. Careful to take the good path to get there, there is an easier way going by the big street. Giovanni will tells you all about the city, you will want to stay more in Napoli.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Giovanni is absolutely amazing, he makes pasta for anyone who is around for lunch every day, he took me out to see the whole of Naples on his motorbike and we went to a market to pick up fresh fish for the pasta of the day. A genuinely kind hearted, warm man that loves everything about Naples and made me fall in love with the city. It's very safe, and giovanni gives you great detail about amazing things you can do there. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Everything we read in the reviews about Giovanni's home was true! Giovanni is very friendly, provides you with lots of information about Naples and area ;), and his pasta with pumpkin was delicious! He also recommended and booked our next stay for us, which was really nice! I would definitely go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.