X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Girassol Hostel Reviews

Rua Purpurina 199 F, Vila Madalena., Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
118 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Girassol is pleasant enough but quite cramped. It's small and there's no real common area, so opportunities for hanging out and meeting other people are limited. It's probably the best neighborhood in SP for backpackers, though.


100%

Welcoming staff, all of them were thoughtful and very friendly from my arrival till I leave. Atmosphere is calm and clean, it makes you feel like you are at a friend´s home. I had a lovely time at dinner, when Lucas (one of the staff´s) cooked an amazing fresh pasta for all the hostel guests and some other Brazilian who joined us, that was a good opportunity to socialize. Rooms are not so big but are finely comfortable. Good breakfast. Equipped kitchen. Nice place to stay in SP!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was really nice to stay in Girassol Hostel! It´s like be in home! Lucas is very friendly e knows a lot about places to visit, specially the beautiful north coast of Sao Paulo, that is not so turistic and have fantastic beaches, like Maresias beach and Boissucanga beach! Amazing!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

They double booked us and didn´t tell until we arrived. Then the hostel´s manager was very helpful in finding a new hostel, but did NOT give us back the deposit. He told us he will pass by later at our new hostel to give us the money, but he never showed off.


100%

We found the hostel really friendly and relaxing and the location was excellent. Lucas the manager was so helpful and friendly and went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable, he even drove us to the ferry to Ilha Grandhe when we couldnt make the bus for a very decent price and gave us a guided tour along the way! The kitchen was very clean and user friendly. I would highly recommend this hostel!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A great hostel it's only small but lukas does a great job is entertaining you, he has many ideas of what to do and see, even will cook dinner for you if there's not to many people staying. Rooms are small and tight. They try there hardest to keep the hostel clean but when it's full everyone should learn to do there bit. It's a great area to stay there are many restaurants and bars make sure you ask about the samba bar, it's tiny but great caprihinia and live music


100%

I stayed in girassol hostel for one week and it was really great; The hostel is very cheap, it's located in the center of Vila Madalena which is a very cool neighbourhood, and the atmosphere was really nice. Lucas is very helpful, and makes your stay a lot easier; he is really a great host.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel to stay

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a wonderful stay at Hostel Girassol- it was the best hostel we had stayed at so far on our South American trip. This was due to the homely atmosphere of the hostel- we didn`t feel like we needed to tiptoe around, we felt very much at home and like others have commented, Lucas is the best!! He really does go above and beyond to make sure your stay in Sao Paulo is really comfortable!!!

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The place is really small. There are no places where you can sit and have dinner. The included breakfast is coffee, toast and butter, not more. The bathrooms are really dirty. Location is good and staff is really nice,

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Lucas and the rest of the staff have managed to create an excellent atmosphere in the hostel, it really feels like a family, The supermarket is literally 10 minutes away and there are plenty of bars and cafes in the area. The hostal lacks a bit od common spoaces but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. In the kitchen you're sure to find other travellers that can give you tips for the next steps of your travels. -curro-

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool! This is one of the best hostels I've ever been in the world!! Besides good structure, the staff are really nice and helpful, I could feel like at home!! Congrats Lucas! I will always come back!

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is the best hostel I’ve stayed at so far. The place is nice, clean and in a great and handy location for tourism. Also money friendly. Beds are comfortable and breakfast all day is great! Staff are incredibly friendly, kind and helpful, there’s no better way to make you feel like home. Lucas, the manager, is one of the best people I’ve met, always open to help and give handy tips to all the foreign. Totally recommend this place; it is worth your money, time and enjoinment.


86%

Lucas is what makes this hostel.... He a fantastic staff member and is full of info about Brazil top to bottom... Oh and other south American countries.


94%

Great hostel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff and location. In the middle of Vila Madelena and easy to walk to bars, restaurants, shops and metro. Tiny hostel, full of character.


57%

No English speaking staff on at any point in the entire 3 days of our stay. We booked in for a 4 bed dorm which does not exsit at this hostel and had to get a portugese speaking guest to explain that we were not paying the 4 bed dorm room price (which they expected) when we were staying in a VERY cramped 8 bed dorm. Very small with very limited communal areas but free washing machine and dryer which was great.

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was our home away from home!

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A small, quiet hostel in a great neighbourhood, with lots of great cafes, bars and restaurants. Close to the metro system. Staff were really helpful. It was an ideal place to chill in the hectic city that is São Paulo.


83%

This hostel is located in one of the best areas in Sao Paolo and is a great place to explore all that Sao Paolo has to offer.


(81 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback