Hostelworld.com

Girassol Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4
Girassol Hostel Located at Rua Purpurina 199 F, Vila Madalena., , Sao Paulo.
Girassol Hostel
Brazil
Sao Paulo Sao Paulo 05435030 Rua Purpurina 199 F, Vila Madalena.
62% 280
-23.5533854 -46.6901779
Girassol Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
5.1

Not quite what we expected. The staff was acomodating but it was very dirty, breakfast wasn't great and the staff passed out drunk at night. Good location though, close to a store and great restaurants

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • charlottehundahl
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2016
2.0

Don't go there! Fresh breakfast - no! whitebread and butter.. Overall expenrience was bad. Dirty room, beds and the toilet and bath were not clean..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Feb 2016
2.0

The site says 24hr service. We caught a bus from Paraty to São Paulo and due to flooding it got delayed by 4 hours. Forcing us to arrive at the hostel after midnight. There was zero staff to meet us and after ringing constantly on whatsapp to let us in the owner then tried to say we were a "no show" and our beds were filled. After trying to get the deposit back he said we couldn't have it and we left disgusted and appalled with no bed and no sleep. Disgraceful and not at all understanding.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2016
9.7

An amazing location, a little small but that way also you are in touch with the other hosts... I had a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2016
4.0

Very bad experience. The worse hostel I've ever been. My reserved room was not available for the first nigh. I had to sleep in another building on a 2 sq meters room completely dirty and bad smell. After that I moved to my room on the hostel, with an horrible smell, no windows... During all night no staff people at the hostel. A lot of noise till 4am, music, an no one to complaint about. Only the hosts were at the hostel during all night long. An horrible experience I had these days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2016
8.9

The staff were excellent and the hostel is located near lots of nice restaurants and bars ! Really close to the metro as well which is great for getting round São Paulo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jan 2016
10.0

Truly amazing, like a little family :) the best welcome to South America

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2016
3.4

Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was bread, crackers, and butter. The dorms for 8 only had 4 lockers so I could not lock my things. The beds were old and too close together. The room should of held 6 at most, not 8. Dirty bathroom, dirty lobby.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2015
6.0

Though the staff was really friendly, and the location in a great area, I was disapointed with what I got for that price.I had a single room, which was basically a partitioned section of the open area, a closet, it is like you are sleeping in the kitchen.I did have a window but there were no curtains.They did not clean while I was there, only at the start. The others sharing my flat (we were across the road, not at hostel) did not have windows and weren't happy, atmosphere bad as a result.Shame!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Dec 2015
2.6

The worst accommodation I have ever stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.