X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glen Nevis Youth Hostel Reviews

Fort William, Glen Nevis, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
101 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

no charging plug in the dorm.


86%

No power points in the rooms is a major pain. Get some power points in the rooms and the place would be outstanding!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Need to encourage some more thinking of others in the car park - several cars were blocked in.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

staff were fab!


77%

You need put wifi!!! :)

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel


83%

Good place to stay for climbing Ben Nevis and many other routes.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Pros: is at base of Ben Nevis, has a decent kitchen Cons: cockroaches. No electrical outlets in the rooms. Cockroaches. And no lockers in the rooms.


86%

There was a fee, by the hour, to use the internet. The hostel is also over a 30 minute walk from the town. There's a bright green exit sign illuminated in the rooms, so make sure to bring something to cover your eyes with. It's a nice location though: close to walks and quiet. I slept well. There's also a fee for breakfast, and there are no lockers.


80%

Excellent location and the rooms are not over crowded.


86%

weird reception times.


97%

It was a nice hostel and perfect location for hiking Ben Nevis but that was all. But I don't mind walking to/from Fort William however I can see that being tiring for most. The staff there were excellent and very helpful and friendly. The room and the hostel was decent and what you needed. My only main issue with this hostel (and all other Scottish Youth Hostels) is there isn't free wifi. This is a large detriment to travellers in this era. Even the buses in Scotland have free wifi now.


71%

Price is a bit high for the value they provide. It's such a nice hostel and standard is good for young adventurers but the price is a bit too high.


77%

basic accommodation but has all the facilities that you would need

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

great location for walking ben nevis but nothing to do in the hostel no tv available whilst the world cup was on no games room like the Snowdon yha has and the atmosphere would have been better in a morgue and the bins outside were overflowing with rubbish strewn over the floor .we stayed in a room of 13 beds with only 2 plug points

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

After a 8 hour drive, 6 of us arrived to find that they weren't expecting us

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

A very nice hostel, good location for climbing the Ben, great facilities and friendly staff. I did think the lack of plugs in the rooms was a pain and that wifi should have been included in the stay. Could do with more of a social hub, but overall it provided me with everything I needed. Just remember that you may not get signal on your phone!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

My friend and I loved it here! No wifi but that was fine with us. We did lots of hiking and the kitchen is huge! Definitely want to go back.


77%

Overnight prices are now comparable with B and Bs and chain hotels like Premier Inn and Travelodge where you get private rooms and en suite facilities. This was my third stay at Glen Nevis, the previous times being in 1958 and 1989. The great advantage of youth hostels is the informality, the camaraderie and the interesting people you meet - it is this that retains my loyalty.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great service from ass manager removing tick

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback