X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glendaloch Youth Hostel (Hostelling International) Reviews

Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Glendalough, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
318 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome staff!!


97%

This was a really great place to stay.The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.Would definitely return.No negatives to add the location was amazing too.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Warm welcome and Delicious breakfast! (with a capital D!)

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This is a very good hostel. Unfortunately, it is suffering from lack of maintenance. Internal walls are damp from water seeping from shower cubicles on other sides of walls, broken electrical sockets, etc. In a 10-bed dorm, there were only 4 lockable lockers and one electrical double socket. In this day and age, there should be a double socket for each bed, and secure facilities for charging mobile phones and other devices.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel in the middle of the nature. Beds and showers are clean and the breakfast is cheap and good. The staff is very kind and the surrounding is very beautiful.


91%

A beautiful location in a nice landscape, close nearby the round tower. Friendly staff. The night before this YH was full booked, but I can stay in the depedance in Laragh. A good idea! I have travel on my bicycle through beautiful Ireland. Glendalough has made a huge impression on me. I am lover of ancient monuments.


54%

I felt like the staff was doing me some extraordinary favours when I asked some kind of information, like wireless pass code or even a restaurant number for booking. The mattress I slept on was horrible the room was really dirty. The location is perfect though for the ones which want to visit the park.


71%

It's great that there is a hostel located at Glendalough. Facilities were nice. Given the amount of rain the area can receive it would be good to have more hooks in the room for hanging clothes.


89%

Great looking building in a beautiful location. Quiet, calm atmosphere.


80%

we had a nice time, the wheather was disappointing


60%

The hostel is surrounded by forest and a few miles away from the city which makes it a good spot to calm down. It is very close to the famous lakes. Hostel itself is quite big with spacious rooms. Cleanliness was actually fine but there were spiders everywhere on the walls! Staff was quite unfriendly. We didn't really felt comfortable. Nevertheless, we probably would stay again as there are not many hostels around and location is good for hiking.


91%

Perfect location for hiking. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel in an amazing location. Rooms clean and good breakfast.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Accommodation: While it is expected to be basic, we were disappointed in the cleanliness on arrival. The carpet was stained dirty and if hoovered was done badly done. There was cobwebs and spiders all over and around the ceiling which unsettled our 8 year old daughter. This necessitated us in cleaning the walls and ceilings ourselves ( this is reflected is scoring an average above as cleanliness is hostel outside of room was good). Staff: Excellent. Very child friendly.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We enjoyed our stay in Glendalough Youth Hostel a lot!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Breakfast was burned and not worth the 8 Euro per Person. Room was full of spiders. Bed must be 100 years old. The area was absolutely great for walking, running and swimming.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The bedding was the worst from our stay in Ireland


91%

nice hostel, it schould exist more in compareble quality

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very comfortable hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful! Just a thought, the drying room could be a bit bigger! Otherwise great facilities! Great to have the option of buyingt a breakfast, but nice to be able to self cater also! Location fantastic only five minutes walk to hotel! will definitely come back again! Jennifer

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We spent a lovely time on our family holiday Great atmosphere Just one negative comment , the hostel could do with a little facelift

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Glendalough Hostels

Please give us your feedback