X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Glendaloch Youth Hostel (Hostelling International) Reviews

Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Glendalough, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
218 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The Wifi wasn't working. Fortunately, on the second day a member of the staff gave us access to her own wifi. The hot water for the showers wasn't working neither, quite annoying when you spend your day walking in the mountains. Nevertheless, excellent location to access the trails. Complete kitchen. Very clean. Lovely living room at the entrance with fireplace.


86%

Gelndalock is a stay worth!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Despite seeing a large crowd of students outside on arrival, my stay was perfect, as everyone was most socialble, including all the staff. The weather was cold at that time of year (mid-March), but the hostel was quite warm, and radiators in the six-bunk room I used, were left on all night! The manageress went out of her way for everyone to ensure there were no problems.


60%

room not clean and very wet


89%

The location is amazing and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a great stay.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The toilets and showers didn't work properly and were very dirty. It was freezing in the room. The lockers weren't not safe at all.


80%

The kitchen is fabulous.But the hostel needs an upgrade of some of the facilities that are ancient, was very difficult to have a shower: the button to press the water is obsolete and doesn't last long,the water was cold even after it was running for a while. The insulation of the building is poor and even if the heaters were on full there was a lot of heat dispersion. A cat spleeping on the hall sofa and with no little window to get out is not an igienic experience and someone could be allergic

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a very enjoyable stay. The only thing I would comment on is the showers. On saturday morning the water was lukewarm at best. Also the button for the water switches off after 2 seconds so had to hold it to get any proper shower. These really need to be upgraded.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great night in Glendalough!


74%

The showers took a lot of time to heat up and you het to press the button for quite a while to get it to a decent temperature. But the bunkbeds were great and I loved that, for a change, the shower was separated from the toilet!


86%

Overall, a very nice and comfortable stay, but I wish they had made it more clear that breakfast is not included. Good to know for next time, though!


89%

Twin Ensuite for 15 euro, unbeatable deal. Bit of mildew in the bathroom. Nice kitchen, good common area and loved the cats! Wish the luggage room was more secure. Anyone wanting to spend a night in Glendalough, this is your place.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Good hostel if you want a bed for the night before a days hillwalking. Cooking facilities were fine but got a little busy at times.


71%

Staff need to be more available for ALL their shift. Remember to set example with behaviour!! MORE information & literature available about things to do & how to get to places. eg. Park & ride to Dublin. More attention & care with appearance outside Hostel.


71%

Pros: Close to all the sights of Glendalough 24 open kitchen for self-catering (except 11-13.00 closed for cleaning) Cons: Expensive wi-fi (was not working at time of visit) Lockers in rooms do not close fully so not very secure (although room is accessed by keycard) Showers: no temperature control and they do run extremely hot

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

The beds in this hostel are horrible! I have been at a lot of hostels around the world and these are the most uncomfortable creeky beds I have experienced.The springs dug into my back while I slept. The staff was fooling around one night and set off an alarm for fun and were yelling into the loud speaker.. It was not pleasurable. But it is cheap and so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was fine. 8,50 € pPpN is unbeatable.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is really high value for money (even without WIFI)/


97%

We had a lovely stay very good value for money. Staff were lovely. We will be back. Thank you

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location,great price.However: 1. Building - Quite an old building, loads of people staying all the time therefore not that clean/safe/quiet. No sleep the first night! 2.Bathroom - No towels but you can rent them for 1 euro each. Only 1 bathmat for 8people so it gets wet and nasty quick! For hot water you have to press the button for 2mins. It seems to be hard to flush the toilet as i was the only one who mastered it! 3.Breakfast - i wouldnt call toast and cereal a continental breakfast!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Glendalough Hostels

Please give us your feedback