X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International Reviews

Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Glendalough, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
334 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I liked that hostel. Please note that you have to bring your own padlock if you want to lock your valuables (maybe you can borrow some, but I didn´t ask). Staff is very helpful and friendly and it´s a very warm and cosy place. Easy to meet people. Cleanliness is good, though facilities are a bit older, so it´s harder to keep them spotless. Also important: Next ATM is far, far away (some 20 km?). Bring also food in advance. There´s only a tiny little gas station shop within walking distance.


89%

A good value , clean hostel with nice staff and a cat. The lounge area has a wood burning stove and lots of sofas, they have a big selection of DVDs that you can rent and the place is warm throughout even in the depth of January. (we woke up to a light dusting of snow outside.) It could be bettered if they offer a service where you could perhaps rent a posture pillow for an extra couple of euro and complimentary tea, coffee and sugar would make it near perfect


69%

The hostel is close to a lot of the hiking paths in Glendalough, so it is a good location. There is absolutely nothing to do at night though, so don't expect much nightlife. The internet was down the whole time we were there unfortunately.


86%

The only thing was that the breakfast cost seemed a bit steep, so we didn't get breakfast. Otherwise it was great!

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

we"ll be back

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

big hostel, nice area. Clean, old but well kept. Some of the walls (bathroom) could do with some make over. Common area big, right at the entry so not cosy but sofas comfortable. you can buy your brekky for for 4 or 8 EU...There is no shop, unless you walk 2km to the next village. Stuff was friendly but not very welcoming.


63%

Staff member at the counter on arrival very unfriendly. Also disappointed breakfast not included in price. Overall ok, very basic hostel!!!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome staff!!


97%

This was a really great place to stay.The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.Would definitely return.No negatives to add the location was amazing too.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Warm welcome and Delicious breakfast! (with a capital D!)

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This is a very good hostel. Unfortunately, it is suffering from lack of maintenance. Internal walls are damp from water seeping from shower cubicles on other sides of walls, broken electrical sockets, etc. In a 10-bed dorm, there were only 4 lockable lockers and one electrical double socket. In this day and age, there should be a double socket for each bed, and secure facilities for charging mobile phones and other devices.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel in the middle of the nature. Beds and showers are clean and the breakfast is cheap and good. The staff is very kind and the surrounding is very beautiful.


91%

A beautiful location in a nice landscape, close nearby the round tower. Friendly staff. The night before this YH was full booked, but I can stay in the depedance in Laragh. A good idea! I have travel on my bicycle through beautiful Ireland. Glendalough has made a huge impression on me. I am lover of ancient monuments.


54%

I felt like the staff was doing me some extraordinary favours when I asked some kind of information, like wireless pass code or even a restaurant number for booking. The mattress I slept on was horrible the room was really dirty. The location is perfect though for the ones which want to visit the park.


71%

It's great that there is a hostel located at Glendalough. Facilities were nice. Given the amount of rain the area can receive it would be good to have more hooks in the room for hanging clothes.


89%

Great looking building in a beautiful location. Quiet, calm atmosphere.


80%

we had a nice time, the wheather was disappointing


60%

The hostel is surrounded by forest and a few miles away from the city which makes it a good spot to calm down. It is very close to the famous lakes. Hostel itself is quite big with spacious rooms. Cleanliness was actually fine but there were spiders everywhere on the walls! Staff was quite unfriendly. We didn't really felt comfortable. Nevertheless, we probably would stay again as there are not many hostels around and location is good for hiking.


91%

Perfect location for hiking. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel in an amazing location. Rooms clean and good breakfast.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Glendalough Hostels

Please give us your feedback